223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Timberlake Campground and RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (509) 427-2267
CGID9127

Timberlake Campground and RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   8   10   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$38
We stayed here to get away from the trains running along the Columbia River so that we could get a good sleep before a dog show. The owners take pride in the park and keep it clean. They were very friendly at check in and during our stay. The power and water sites are up the hill among the trees and most are not level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This is a very clean remote type park. It looks like a state park, not an RV park. Well spaced, our site has water and power, no sewer, but the dump is on the way out. We will stay there again in the future. The staff were very friendly We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
This is a wonderful, quiet campground. The owner is friendly and accommodating and we felt very much at home. The park is beautiful and meticulously maintained - very clean. Very thoughtfully laid out. We hope to stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
This is a very nice secluded campground covered in trees and ferns. Our site was a challenge to back into but the camp host helps. Very friendly and quiet. Good water and power, Wi-Fi can be spotty but met our needs in checking e-mails. No TV, which I also like. One of our favorite spots and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
Very nice, quiet park nestled in the woods. Good water pressure, electric good, long reach to the sewer hookup for big rigs and they fill up the site. There is no cable TV, no local channels and no satellite connection due to all the trees surrounding the park. If you are looking for a nice quiet park in the woods, this is the place. The rate is for weekly stay then pay metered electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
This is a beautiful and exquisitely maintained site, with a very welcoming host and all we could wish for. It is in the top two of 26 sites we stayed at this trip. I guess it may not be so good if you had kids in tow, but it was lovely for us oldies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is the best RV campground I've stayed at in many years! Host was gracious and even though they are winding down their camping season, he made everyone in our party feel as though we the first of the season there. We honestly would have extended our vacation up there if we only had some more vacation time. I will definitely be back here again. Even though I camped here in a 38' motorcoach, there were site for all sizes here. Even the attention to detail for tent campers was impressive (they had wood chips on the ground for the tents, and an outdoor kitchen where campers could wash their dishes. I almost hate to mention this campground because it is such a gem! I was concerned about the steep hills that I've read about on here. The park is up some steeper hills, but nothing unmanageable. My motorhome traversed all the hills just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
QUIET - CLEAN - BEAUTIFUL...If you are looking for a special campground in the gorge area look no more. We stayed here 10 nights and were extremely happy. We really enjoyed being up on the hill in one of the wooded sites, but the whole park is very nice. The tent camp sites were very secluded too. This was an excellent base camp for our Gorge Waterfall hiking, Mt Hood visit, Mt St Helen visit and an awesome whitewater rafting trip down the White Salmon. We have rafted all over the country and felt this was by far the most scenic trip we have been on. The camp host is very friendly and being a local he can really help you with the local attractions. Lunch and brew at Full Sail in Hood River was amazing. We would not consider staying anywhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Nice owners. The road to our site was steep, but the sites themselves are level. Free Wi-Fi, accessible from the rig. Several miles from the main road, but it made for a quiet evening. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This is a wonderful park. A little off the beaten path, but after you get there, it is well worth the extra few miles. It is like camping in the middle of a lush mountain park. The dog walk area is the best we have ever seen. You can't get TV - or at least we could not. We didn't miss it a bit. The spaces are long and wide. Owner and staff are very friendly. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$39
From Hwy 12 it is a five mile drive uphill on a narrow and winding road. But thus, you get away from the traffic noise in the gorge. Except for some distant train noise this park is super quiet. We choose one of the transient sites right at the office. Lots of room to get in and out there. Not so much if you take a site further back. I found the steep and narrow gravel roads inside the park and the little room to maneuver when backing into a terrace site in the forest challenging for me and my 51(combined length) rig. But it would be very private to stay up there. Lots of trees and greenery between the sites. Sites are gravel. Leveling took one board. Hookups in the back. WiFi was OK. However, the rate is ambitious, and that's why the rating is only 9 and not 10. We'll come back anyway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
This is a park that is in a beautiful setting next to the Columbia River Gorge. Though you can hear the trains traveling through the valley in the distance this is a very peaceful and tranquil park set in the forest. It is a very well maintained and clean park with soft green lawns for the kid and pets to play on and clean bathrooms for discriminating adults. The bathrooms are not fancy but they are spacious and clean. The park has gravel roads and pads that are easy to back into with adequate spacing between pads. It did not look like it could handle big rigs very well and they did not appear to have pull through sites. But check first to see how they can accommodate you. Some pads are closer together than others but the forest helps to add privacy and solitude. Hook ups were well placed and up to date. The managers were very helpful and friendly. The biggest draw back to the park was the gravel road as the park was located on hilly terrain. We were advised to use 4 wheel drive to get up one hill but I don't believe it was necessary. The family next to us had a light weight SUV & a TT and they did not have any problems with traction. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Beautiful setting and friendly staff. Had a problem with leveling. We must do it with blocks, so were moved to another site. Looked at the rest rooms and showers but didn't use, due to charge for shower water. (Just irritates me!) Otherwise a lovely place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This is a private campground that feels much like a US Forest Service campground. It has numerous tent sites in the trees. Campfire smoke was present nearly every evening. Sites are in clusters and, within each cluster, close together. Spacing between clusters is substantial. Everything is gravel. Roads are a bit steep in places, but sites are angled for easy backing. Restrooms are clean, but showers cost a quarter for 90 seconds. Although I heard a few train horns, trains never presented a noise problem. The park is 2.5 miles off the main highway up a paved, steep, winding road that gets a bit narrow in places. Wi-Fi was too sporadic to be useful. Verizon air card worked well, especially with my amplifier. The park is family friendly with a playground for kids. Rate quoted is for a weekly stay with full hookups and includes tax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Level, spacious, graveled sites. VERY quiet! Easy access to Stephenson and environs. Excellent Wi-Fi. Beautiful tent sites for those who would use tents. Reliable utilities. Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff. Will definitely return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
There are a few bends in the road up hill to this campsite but well worth the trip. Very friendly and helpful staff. NO train noise! We stayed on a back in full hook up 50amp gravel site. Clean restrooms and showers. 20 minutes on the other side of river to Cascade Locks. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We stayed here one night on our way to Mt Rainier using a senior discount. This park is a few miles off the 'beaten path" out of Home Valley but it is a very nice park up in the woods. The sites are all gravel and spacious. While they do not have pull-through sites, we were able to back up our rig with a tow dolly/car when we left the next morning. They do not have Wi-Fi. We were able to get satellite TV. The only complaint we had was they have these "soda" dispensers outside the office that are lighted, all night long! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Great place to go if you want peace and quiet. While the roads are a bit steep, it comes with the area. The owner and staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. It's even quiet on the week-ends. The owner deals with noise issues quickly and in a professional manner. Being up and awhile from the road and train noise is wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
DO NOT take motorhomes over the Hood River Bridge from the east. Way too narrow! They shouldn't allow big rig motorhomes across this bridge. Had to almost stop a few times to let opposing vehicles pass. Road from Hood Bridge to campground is full of small tunnels with narrow roadways within. Large truckers will barrel through in the opposite direction with no concern. If you come to this campground, only come from the west. The campground is small and only appeared to have a few sites for larger rigs. They were very close together across from the main office. Office staff was friendly during check-in. WiFi was barely usable during our stay. We connected fine but the internet either didn't work or was too slow to use most of the time. There are no hiking trails that we could find. The playground was small. Our kids were immediately bored with it. Area behind our RV spot, to hang out in, was very small and right next to our neighbors. No privacy. This place looked like it had some nice tent camping spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Good remote campground. You have to drive 3 miles UP a good mountainous winding road. Very well maintained and friendly staff. Sites that are wooded do not have sewer, those with sewer are more like a parking lot. No antenna or satellite reception, internet access was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Immaculate grounds that appear very new. We stayed on sloped site in the trees. The sewer systems were still in development at those sites. You can get Wi-Fi if you are very near the office. The loose gravel most everywhere, made it difficult for the kids to ride up and down the hills. It has nice playground though. A very quiet place. The only downside: showers are additional $0.25 for 1.5 min of water. We stayed 2 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
Note: our nightly rate was reflective of a combination of weekly rate discount and senior rate discount. We stayed here for 16 consecutive nights: which included 2 busy weekends, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Both the setting and landscaping is gorgeous. The campground is located up in the hills, about 3 miles north of the Gorge. You are close enough to the Gorge to have convenient access to all the area has to offer, but far enough away that you do not hear any of the noise from the trains that run along the Gorge 24/7. It is obvious that the owner, takes tremendous pride in his campground. It is beautifully maintained and he takes a very active, hands-on approach. During the 2 weeks we were there: he was there every day, including the weekends, working side-by-side with his employees and the on-site workamper hosts. Since we camped here for a little over 2 weeks we had the opportunity to meet a lot of the campers. The campground attracts an interesting mix of people: fulltimers like ourselves; families on vacation; and also local people looking to get away from town and enjoy some camping, hiking and the outdoors. We were very impressed with how friendly and respectful everyone was of one another. We had no problems during our stay with anyone being unruly or loud. We would strongly suggest reservations if you want to camp here on a Thursday, Friday, Saturday or Sunday evening. This is clearly a very popular destination campground with a lot of the locals from the Portland/Vancouver area and weekends are generally full. Our experience was excellent and when we visit the Gorge in the future Timberlake is THE campground we will stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
The campground owner/ host leaves at 10pm, so there is no supervision for loud/ rowdy folks, and no plans to make changes to that system. We spent two sleep deprived nights there, and won't be back. If you are looking for a park that you can be as loud as you want at night, as late as you want, this is it! If you are looking for peace and quiet and good outdoor time, go elsewhere. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
This is a fabulous park and run by an absolutely delightful staff. They were friendly to the max, very well organized and has created an incredible park in a gorgeous section of forest no far from the town of Stevenson, Wash. which is directly over the river from Cascade Locks. It is a small trip up the hill but well worth the trip. You are out of the noise (and most of the wind) of the river area. Best of all, the park is very new and immaculately kept. I recommend this to those of you who like to camp a bit off the beaten track to find some solitude and beauty. Staff makes your stay comfortable and enjoyable! This is the perfect site from which to enjoy the fantastic Columbia Gorge area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
This park is up in the woods, maybe 20 minutes or so from town. It is not close to the Columbia River, this is both good news and bad news. Bad because every adventure is a bit of a drive, good because all the spots along the river are crowded and right next to the highway and the railroad track (trains run all night and day). The setting is beautiful. The roads are all pea gravel and difficult to walk on (terrible for dogs) and poor for traction. Many of the sites are up a relatively steep hill and if you don't have 4 wheel drive you have to really take a fast run at the hill. Spots are tight and short for rigs over 30'. Wifi only works at the rec hall. Leroy, who owns and runs the place is a super guy and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. Also, the camp is new and Leroy is continually improving the camp with time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
This is a very clean and well-kept campground. The RV Park is 2.5 miles away from highway 14 and therefore very quiet. It is a good starting point for visiting the Columbia River Gorge. We spent 9 days there. The free WiFi is only available near the office, but we could sit in the hall to get an Internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
Located on the Washington side of the Columbia River Gorge away from highway and train noise. Only a year old, it is a very private and secluded park. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Owner will make you coffee in the morning! Great gathering hall with complete kitchen. Level gravel sites, some tucked away in the trees. Great pet area. Recommend very highly and are planning a return trip in October to watch the colors change. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com