218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - Pacific City was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (503) 965-6442
CGID9133

Thousand Trails - Pacific City

Camp Information
Sites
324
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   3   1   9   7   7   10   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$5
We enjoyed this campground which is near, but not on, the ocean. From various places in the campground there are nice views of the water down below. A few campsites actually offer ocean views but they are few in number so no one should come expecting to have such a spot. This is a large campground built on some rather steep hills. Even if a person takes one of the campsites near the entry they will have to contend with either a challenging hike or a drive up some steep hills to get to the Activity Center, pool, mini-golf, etc. For us and most other campers driving in and out from our campsite took several minutes. There are two sections of the campground plus a few seemingly random sites that boast full hookups. Getting satellite in this hilly, treed terrain can be a challenge. Our Internet was poor to non-existent. That was rather frustrating because we could drive into Pacific City – about 3 minutes from the campground entrance and have 4G! There’s a path down to the beach from the campground, but it is pretty steep. Again, Pacific City is close by and there one can park in a nice paved parking lot or even drive right out onto a beautiful beach. Overall, we liked Pacific City Thousand Trails, hills and all, and hope to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$80
This has been the worst campground I have ever stayed at. The staff is rude. The facilities are poor. We stayed here through RPI and are not 1000Trails members. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. The fees they charged us were outrageous. They would not offer a refund after a member of our party got sick and needed to leave. The staff laughed and made fun of us when we asked for a partial refund due to the sick person leaving. The roads through the campground are potholed and rough. The sites are not level. They kept having to close the pool to the point where we got to use it once over 4 days. The playground equipment is either broken or in need of maintenance. We spoke with 1000Trails members who said that since Encore purchased 1000Trails everything has gone down hill. Do not buy into 1000Trails! It is not worth it. Avoid the Pacific City 1000Trails! Awful! Awful! Awful! I don't know how they can be so rude! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
This is a membership park that allows non-members to stay. Hilly, curvy road access once you get off the 101. You need a gate code from the office to enter the park after checking in. Mine didn’t work and I had to walk back to the office in the rain while folks found a way around my rig. Interior roads are paved but very rough and uneven, often too narrow for 2 rigs to pass, with sharp but manageable curves. Internet and TV only at the clubhouse, which can be a very long ways from your site. Satellite dishes everywhere. Sites are carved out of brushy woods and are fairly narrow and generally not pull through. Mine was muddy with the rain, even though gravel. All in all, not a pleasant experience, particularly in the rain. I would not return due to these factors and because pricing which was high compared to the value received. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Worst campsite we've ever been to (State park, forest service, private, etc.). Will not be renewing our Thousand Trails membership. Roads are poorly maintained. Asked for tips on check-in where there may be available sites. Drove around in loops for 1/2 hour until we found one. Not a fan at all of the "find your own site" approach. On top of that, there are many "Private Sites" that you must ask the office to use, but there isn't any cell service, so you'd have to leave the park and come back in to ask. Staff was 50/50. Some were nice; others were speeding around the roads on their golf carts yelling at others to slow down. Lodge, store, swimming pool, play area, golf course were all run down. Beach was not readily accessible. Pads were small. Campfire ring was under my bumper and the table 1' from my trailer with no more space to move. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$3
Great location on the coast near State Park, Dory Landing beach, and Tillamook Cheese Factory. Lots of trees so satellite TV reception can be dicey and Verizon signal weak so I had to use cradle amplifier to work over the Internet. Great Wi-Fi up at the lodge. Sites were narrow but well-spaced and private. Some sites have sewer though most don't and some have cable TV. Nice views and sound of the ocean. Excellent indoor pool and outdoor hot tub. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Not the biggest fan of how Thousand Trails operates their campgrounds. This park will take a reservation and ensure full-hook up; however, when we arrived, it took us over an hour to find a site large enough for our 40' motor coach. Of course it was not full-hook up. The site is ok, but a little small and we had to acquire a fire ring from a neighboring site. Cable is fuzzy and we could not get satellite to work in the trees; however, we did not take the time to mess around with the portable satellite as we only stayed 4 nights. Great view of the Pacific ocean from our site and dump station is convenient to our site – C9. No wifi in park and we did not attempt it at the lounge. AT&T and Verizon worked pretty good with the booster. Deeded access to the beach from the park. Pick up some firewood along the way as the campground sells a small bundle of fairly green cedar for $8. Loved feeding the bunnies that inhabit the park. They will literally run up to you for a carrot. Needless to say, I went through a lot of carrots while walking through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Great location. This TT benefits from the beautiful Pacific City area. Beautiful tall trees at each campsite. The campsites are not "neighbor" friendly. In other words, they are situated as such that you are isolated from your neighbor. I guess in some cases that could be a good thing, but I always like to see and talk to the fellow RV's in the park. The park is big, so unless you want a work out, you'll need to take a car to the rec center or camp store from the camp sites. Most TT parks are old and run down, however this one is very well kept and maintained, bathrooms and showers were clean. Limited satellite service, only a few spots because of the trees, and they don't have cable TV in all spots. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Wow, what a fantastic spot! The upper coastal view sites are just beautiful! Deer in the camp site eating the berries, the ocean below and beach access this park can not be beat! The staff is very friendly and helpful. As a member of 1000 Trails (living full time in these parks for 2yrs+) I must say this is my all time favorite! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$2
Beautiful membership CG with access for non-members. I don't understand the previous 2 reviews. Yes, the main road is narrow, but easily maneuvered. Many sites are large and very shady which does limit satellite reception but hey, it is a campground. You can find (we did) sites in several sections where satellite reception is available (we were in C), you just have to look. If in a motorhome, unhook the toad at the gazebo and search for the kind of site you prefer. The major negative for this park is that the view sites are popular and therefore, difficult to get. But, there are spectacular views from the park. Sewer sites are limited but there are 2 dump stations and a honey bucket service available. The amenities are excellent and the beach is just across the road. Nice for walking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
We stayed at this park for a week. We were able to find a site that our large RV (MDT & 40 plus feet 5er) would fit in. Once settled we noticed that the park only has one way in, and one way out. Everyone has to use the same narrow roadway with very tight turns. On check in, they were very adamant about the 5 mph speed in the park (which no one in the park including the staff adhere to). We advised the staff and their answer was maybe we could stand out in the road and try to enforce it. Our worries about leaving this park with the narrow roadway and tight turns came true. When we left, we clipped another vehicle parked on a turn with the rear of our 5er. Glad to be out of here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
I do not understand the high ratings for this park -- they must be from people who have yearly lease sites or are fortunate enough to pull into one of the few "nicer" sites available. This is, by far, the worst Thousand Trails, if not the worst park I have ever stayed in: It is slim pickins' for even a passable site; the roads are narrow and steep with tight turns and one-way much of the way; sites are narrow, small, and unlevel; we can't put out the awning and once the slides are out, there is absolutely no room to place chairs to sit outside; the picnic table is at the back of the site on a slope and resting next to the road and neighboring site; the fire pit went under the RV once we parked; to park our truck so it doesn't hinder traffic ends up blocking any path to the RV (we have to crawl around and through bushes to get to the RV door); there is no sewer hook-up as most sewer sites (and nicer sites) are taken by yearly leases; the water pressure is nonexistent and we have to turn on the pump to flush the toilet; the power fluctuates so badly that we have to run the fridge on gas and the microwave won't even heat water; walking the dog in any open area is a mine field of stickers; low hanging trees block the use of our roof-mounted satellite dish for TV; there is no cell phone coverage; the closest restroom has a sign that says "continued vandalism will result in the restroom closing" leaving the occupants of this area (all without sewer hook-ups) without any facilities. I guess if I had a rig set-up for boondocking this park would be passable, but I don't so the lack of even the smallest pleasure like being able to sit outside my RV makes this Thousand Trails' stay absolutely the worst ever. Can I say anything nice about this park? Oh, yeah. . . the beach is within walking distance (big whoop-ti-do!). Regarding the checked items for facilities available: Out of 350 sites, only 42 have full hookups so saying that sewer is available is more like a lottery winning. And where is there 50 amp service in this park let alone consistent power? We're certainly not experiencing it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a membership facility. Thousand Trails campgrounds are usually hard to navigate through but this place is very nicely marked. They have the best laundry facility and we swam in the warm, covered pool while waiting for it to wash and dry! Very beautiful setting with the ability to walk to the ocean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$1
The staff at this park was extremely helpful and friendly. We wanted sewer and roof satellite so we parked in I section. Had a beautiful view of the ocean and forest. Roads are a little tight, lots of turns but doable. Will definitely return to this peaceful park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This is what camping should be. By far the nicest Thousand Trails we've ever stayed at. Large, clean and private sites; ton's of amenities, great service. Highly recommend this campground to anyone visiting the Oregon coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
Thousand Trail members don't pay a nightly fee. It is a nice park with good amenities. The downfalls are the trail to the beach is pretty rough and many sites are water and electric only. For a short stay, this is a nice park and you can drive onto the beach if you have a suitable vehicle. Some of the turns in the park are a bit tight for larger motorhomes, but certainly a park that is worth visiting. The roads are paved and the sites are graveled. Watch for bunnies! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
The Pacific City Thousand Trails park undulates over the tree covered hills facing the Pacific Ocean. Some sites are low, with easy access to the beach trail. Ours was up high, with a fantastic view (view sites are limited). The staff was extremely helpful and informative. The sites were not huge, but our 40' coach with 2 slides was not a problem, and we still had room for the awning and towed parking. Some reviews have said they were infested with rabbits. We found a few (had to look for them), and no overpopulation. Staff indicated that natural predators now keep their numbers in-check. The beach is close and wonderful for walks. I can see where this park might be overcrowded in the mid-summer. I am sure they have many returning customers. A natural setting, with gravel sites, very clean facilities, and excellent staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
Really nice Thousand Trails with excellent access to the beach. Beautiful area with plenty to do. You can walk or drive to the beach in 5 minutes. Actually, you can drive ON the beach here. When on the beach, keep track of your small dogs as there are many eagles in the area. One swooped down to check out our miniature schnauzer and, luckily, decided she was a bit too big! Facilities are older but in great shape, and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. There are bunnies EVERYWHERE (very entertaining). Spaces for the most part are adequately sized with fair to good privacy. Most people seem to park on the lower C, D, and E loops, but F, G, and H loops are up on the bluffs and some have excellent views of the ocean. They're also closer to the clubhouse and indoor pool. I'd recommend unhooking your Toad and driving thru the park before selecting a site. Great park and a really beautiful area. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com