218863 User submitted reviews online!!
F. D. Roosevelt State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 61 user reviews. Phone: (706) 663-4858
CGID917

F. D. Roosevelt State Park

Camp Information
Sites
162
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   10   8   9   8   6   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Nice park, nice staff. Well worth the stay. We ended up staying 2 weeks. Sites fairly well maintained. We had one of two 30 amp outlets not working. Called office, within 20 minutes maintenance had it repaired. I stayed in a 40 foot RV and had a fair amount of site options. Great trails. If you need to restock on food, plan on driving 20 minutes to LaGrange. Best grocery options.Local restaurants reasonable. Of course Calloway Gardens very close and a must see. The only negatives of this park is that they do allow tents in 40 foot plus sites, which can limit your options as far as larger RVs go. Also, water pressure very low. My gauge registered average of 38 psi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
We arrived the Saturday before Memorial Day at 12 noon. Park is well situated in Pine Mountain Ga. next to Warm Springs, home of FD Roosevelt's Little White House. He would vacation there to take advantage of the natural springs. Checking into camp is a real treat. The Park Office was built by the CCC (Civilian Conservation Corps) in 1933. Take a moment to walk around the center. Reservations were hard to get for Memorial day but we secured the last Handicapped site #225. Reserve America assured me this was appropriate since the campground was full. I felt better seeing that the other handicapped site next to us remained empty all weekend. Our site was situated directly next to the bathhouse. As for the site: The lights from the bathhouse illuminated our site after sundown. The occasional whiff of Texize wafted into our sitting area. The foot traffic to the bathhouse was minimal. One thing we noticed was the camp hosts checked on the bath rooms three times a day. They were cleaner than many campgrounds we have stayed in. The site was not paved and had the larger aggregate rock bed. Sturdy picnic table and the ubiquitous fire ring. My tRV is 32 ft and my 2500 tow vehicle barely fit in front. The roads are paved in the campground (except camp area # 4) and are one way. The road in front of our site was on the lower side of a curve and folks fly around that corner. If you have children, I would stay away from sites 220- 231. Perhaps it was the clientele this weekend but folks just drove way to fast. The road through camp area # 2 is a little narrow so be be sure to watch your mirrors for your camper's clearance around some of the turns. There are 6 camping sections. There were a lot of tents. Even pull throughs were occupied with Coleman tents. My guess is that 40% of the sites were occupied with tents. The campground is a hikers paradise. There is a nice sized lake with very clear water. You can rent Jon boats or canoes. We really liked the Trading Post that was just a short walk from our site. Ice, bait, camping supplies and they are open til 9! Overall we believe our experience would have been totally different had we been able to pick our site. We will go back just not on a busy Memorial Day weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
Great park. Site #302 was fairly level, 2 Lego blocks under the left rear wheel leveled us. Spacious site with lots of privacy. Very friendly people at the camp store. Having it nearby was great, because the hike to the main lodge was long and steep. Took the hiking trail back to the camp site, which was great, but also took several hours, something to consider when it is hot. The swimming pool wasn't open until Memorial Day, but is also quite a hike. We saw the pool on our way out, and it looks great, very inviting. Another CCC masterpiece. But the main office takes the cake. Make sure you stop and enjoy the view from the terrace there! Will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
One of our favorite parks. They have increased the number of volunteers and it is showing. The water/30 Amp sites are very generously sized. The place is very quiet at night. FDR is GAs largest state park and has over 40 miles of some of the most beautiful trail you will ever see. The park is just a few miles from the entrances to Callaway Gardens and FDRs little White House in Warm Springs. We have stayed here many times and it is one of our favorite parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Good park, we stayed in the older section, the newer sections have the best bath/shower facilities. Gravel lots, plenty of activities and lots of kids though everything was quiet by 8:00pm. What I do not understand was the amount of tent campers utilizing trailer spaces, campground was full unless you were using a tent and actually used a tent space. You have to wonder if the park realizes they are losing money allowing the tents on trailer spots? Definitely will return, we were a little early for the Fall colors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This park was hilly but most of the sites are level the park was clean and the staff was friendly. There was a lake that you can fish in but there was no beach area. The pool was nice but its a mile and half hike to the pool from the campground we decided to drive seeing that we had small kids with us there was room to park your RV in the parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Great park to sit and do nothing. Our kids were able to fish and bike while we kept an eye on them. Easy access to hiking trails also. Our site was clean, maintained, and tree covered. Our travel trailer is 35 feet, so our size kept us out of many of the sites. We were able to secure a pull through site the second time through the park. When choosing a site, you may want to arrive early and mid-week if you are over sized and prefer a lot of choices. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Park Rangers rarely patrolled the campgrounds prompting a few campers to allow their dogs to run loose through the campsites. Camp store is privately owned, and does not honor “Friends” discounts. Fish Bait can be purchased at Ace Hardware Store in Pine Mountain. Fish were not biting in March. Enter and exit campground from back entrance only, trailer will drag at front entrance across from check-in office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
An interesting park, not without its challenges if navigating a 30 foot trailer. Water and Electric only in smallish wooded sites, many around the Lake Delanor. State employees somewhat brusque but took our money. Nice to see once. We will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Loved this campground and can’t wait to go back. The scenery was just amazing. The sites were level, but be careful, one of the sites that we tried had part of the entrance washed out. Unfortunately one of our tires hit it and did damage to our drain. It was marked with red paint on the ground but couldn’t really see it until after the fact. The campground offered 3-4 activities a day during the weekend we were there. There are many, many things to do in the area. Can’t wait to go back when we can stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This is one of my favorite parks. I am not a boater but like having a lake. And this lake is small with some rentals but no motor boats. We stayed in a 27ft TT and had room enough for another car. The sites are nice and level, but need to be re-graveled and 3-4 needed to be graded. And there are deep ditches on each side of the road makes it hard for backing in. (If it weren't for these items I would have given it a 10.) The bathrooms and showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. They had several parks for kids. Each site had a picnic table, fire ring and lamp post. There were several covered picnic areas throughout the campground for camping guests only, so you didn't have a lot of non-campers tromping around. The lake was full of bass, frogs, turtles and tadpoles: for those of you who enjoy nature. The dump station was easy to get in and out of. I met three personnel and all were very friendly. They have a little store in the campground area that sells all sorts of things like food, supplies, wood, ice, ice cream and nets to catch the frogs and tadpoles I mentioned earlier. There is a shallow spillway that is fun to play in. We were not able to go to the swimming pool: it was not open yet. It had much more to offer but we only stayed two nights. They are located ten minutes from Calloway Gardens as well. We will be returning to this park soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Oh wow how beautiful! This is Georgia's largest state park built by the CCC. There is a seasonal swimming pool called the Liberty Bell Pool. There are hiking trails galore. Just down the road is FDR's Little White House in Warm Springs and Callaway Gardens. The sites are spaced generously apart and we had no trouble with our 39' rig. The lake is small and non-motorized, excellent for fishing. A picnic table and grill are on cement pads at each campsite. We camped in Area B. This park is great and we hope to go back again for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$21
Portions of the campground were closed off this time of year. Our loop looked recently upgraded and was spacious. The road through this loop is narrow, but navigable, and backing in was no problem at all. Each site has electric and water, along with a fire ring and a large, concrete picnic table. At a number of sites, there are gray water drains installed near the road for campers to use. The road into the campground is steep downhill, and the park itself is located on a narrow mountain road in the Georgia hills. There was a mix of pull-through and back-in sites. The trees were not too dense, so our satellite TV on a tripod worked well. Also, there is good broadband internet service and Tracfone worked as well. The campground is about 10 miles from the Little White House and a good location for visiting Warm Springs. The price reflects a 25% discount for "winter" camping. There was hardly anyone here in early February. We stayed here to visit Warm Springs, which can be done in a day or so. Although we don't expect to be by this way again, if we were, we'd stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
We camped with a group to bring in the new year. The pull-thru sites are tight in Loop #5 as we had to back out when leaving. Any one in less than a 30' should be fine. We never saw the Host, new crush and run needs to be added to the sites in this loop since the pads hold water very well when it rains, but it is very peaceful. The campground lost water for approx 4 hours so lesson learned was to partially fill the fresh water tank upon arrival. The dump station situation needs to be addressed concerning ingress and egress for the opposing lanes. We will return in the Spring and attempt to get Loop #2 since those have been updated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Beautiful park: very spacious and shaded. Staff is friendly and helpful. We've stayed here 4-5 times over the last year for my daughter's horse shows in Hamilton. The only thing I do find negative is that there is no sewer hookup. For a family of 4-5, depending on who's traveling with us, that can be a problem for a 4 day weekend. There are a few gray dump sites throughout the camp, just get a map at checkin which should show you where they are so you can possibly park by one of them. Super nice hiking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
They do have a small lake, but we heard that effluent runs into it from the sewer plant. There were a lot of mosquitoes when we were here. Sites were not level. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Agree the roads are a bit tight, but I had no problems negotiating with my 40' MH - even back in area 5 which is all 40' sites but has a narrow curvy road. My site did not have a 50amp connection, but had two 30 amp circuits which I have never seen. Maybe if I had the right kind of pigtail I could have used both to give me full power, but it was no issue as the weather was mild. If you are looking for a satellite friendly site, #136 is your best bet. I was able to get on 101W for DirecTV and 105W for internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This is our second visit to this State Park. The campground location is terrific, right on Lake Delanor! We stayed in site #4 with the best views. The campground sites are in very good condition and kept up by a great Campground Host. The interior roads are a bit tight, so be careful navigating through. There is a lot to do at any time of the year. Hit the hiking trails, go horse back riding, ride your bike, or visit the area attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This is a great family campground. Only negative was there were no sewer hook-ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
We spent 2 nights here, our first visit to this area. Section 3 of the CG was closed and there were lots of ruts and potholes from recent heavy rains throughout the park. Rate was $25 per night no matter what you camped in, and they also charged us a $5 parking fee for our tow vehicle! Sites are spaced well and the CG was full the weekend we were there. Much to our disappointment, they allowed someone using a pavilion to set up a very loud karaoke system that could be heard throughout the park for hours and hours. It ruined the atmosphere of the park. Bath houses were clean but only 2 shower stalls per side, one tucked in the handicap toilet area. We enjoyed the surrounding area but doubt we will return to this park. Too expensive for what little it offers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is one of my family's favorite parks for camping. There are lots of places to visit and things to do within an easy driving distance to this state park. The bathrooms were as clean and well stocked. Although the weather was quite hot and muggy our shady site made the visit pleasant. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Normally I'd give this park good ratings, Im sure funding issues are part of the problem, but when you can hire host for a free place to park, there shouldnt be any. Rest rooms were very hot and humid, no air in them at all, showers were not working correctly in the female side..wife let me know of this right away. We will still come back, I just hope they clean up a bit We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
It was our first trip with the trailer and we were lucky enough to find a pull-through site. You could faintly hear the music of the "Fantasy in Lights" which was a nice added touch as we sat around the campfire. Bathrooms were very clean as were the showers and the people at the park office were very helpful. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$24
Nicely maintained state park. Georgia does a good job designing and maintaining their parks. Big level site, right on the lake. Close to Callaway Gardens and the town of Pine Mountain. Nice 15 mile bike trail at Callaway. Quiet at night, peaceful during the day. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We really enjoyed this campground. The hosts and staff were very friendly and helpful. They do a great job keeping the park and facilities clean and in good working order. There are lots of trails for hiking and biking. The site we had was very nice and roomy. There are some sightseeing opportunities in the area but requires a little driving. The sites are laid out by color-coded sizes and can be confusing when trying to choose a site. A plus is they have gray water dump areas. These are gravel pits built throughout the campground where you can dump your gray water; really convenient. The only issue we had were some really noisy neighbors there the first couple of days. The parents let their children run wild with an electric car. Overall though, a great campground and we will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Nice park but needs some attention. Lots of hiking trails and fishing, other activitys close by. A few big sites but tight roads in campground. We used it for a stop over coming home and will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We camp at this campground often because it is close to home. The campground is well taken care of and the bathhouses in the larger part are new and clean. There is 50amp sites available for those who need them. We stay on the 30 amp sites. The roads can be a bit narrow for the larger rigs but not to the point they are a great problem. Most sites are back in and fairly level depending on the hills near the site. I would recommend this site. It is located near several parks and locations for recreation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This has been one of our most enjoyable camping trips yet! The campground was very nice with a variety of sites. Pros - Family oriented, campsites and bathhouses very clean, hiking trails, Liberty Bell Pool nearby, Trading Post in campground...although seldom open, fishing available, nature programs conducted, pets allowed. Cons - Unable to reserve specific campsites, no sewer hookups. The best thing was having Warm Springs and Callaway Gardens nearby to entertain the kids! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Very nice State Park. Plenty of shady sites and places for kids to ride bikes. We stayed in area #5. Restrooms were clean. There are some small hiking trails and the 23 mile Pine Mountain Trail. Park staff was friendly. President Roosevelt's Little White House is located in the nearby town of Warm Springs. We enjoyed our stay and we will come back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
Excellent campground, set on pretty lake. Large sites, some pull through. Good satellite reception during winter, don't know about summer. Just a few miles from Callaway Gardens and Little White House. Only drawback; can make reservations, but not for any particular site. Must take what's left upon arrival. Would stay here again in winter when I know I can get most any site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$24
This park is our favorite Georgia State Park. We live in the region and try to go as often as possible. There is an abundance of shade trees and the view of the lake is wonderful. Our favorite past time is to hike the trails. The Pine Mountain Trial is very popular to the very serious hikers, though we enjoy the shorter, less challenging ones. Callaway Gardens is close by and offers plenty of day activities for the whole family. There is also the Liberty Bell pool in the park, which is made from rock and fed by cool spring water. The bathhouses have undergone upgrades and were very clean. There are two campground areas. The lakeside sites are very shady. The road in this area is very windy, and could be a little difficult for some of the larger rigs. The other camp ground is near the back gate and though not as shady, is still very appealing. We continue to choose this park over most others hands down! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$24
Very nice and quiet, with sites on the lake. Waterfowl, other wildlife abundant. One large white goose (nicknamed "Fred" by the camp host) had been fed by the people previously occupying our site, and so loitered around our trailer and was very vocal most of the time we were there; we studiously ignored him, and by the end of our stay we heard less honking from him. Would have rated this higher, but the wife found the showers very hard to use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
Beautiful, well maintained campground typical of Georgia State Parks. Paved interior roads are narrow and have some sharp turns. Sites are level. Senior discounts available. We had good cell phone signals for AT&T and Verizon and for Verizon Air Card. A few poor reception TV channels. We will stay here again. Portions of the park were built by the CCC. Some sites are 30 amp, others 50 amp. Our 50 amp site had "50 amp" written in large letters on the power box. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Roosevelt was very pretty and quiet. We camped on one of a few sites that were on the lake. There are plenty of things to do in and around the Park for day trips. Showers were clean and well maintained. If you go in November, you can see the Christmas light show at Calloway Gardens as well as the "Leaves changing" for that part of Georgia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Another great weekend spent at FDR. The Park is clean and the lake is full. Callaway Gardens Christmas light show is up and running. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We have camped at FDR two times and both times have been a great experience. The campground is in the state park and pretty much centrally located to all the area attractions. It is a popular campground so I would suggest making reservations. Although there are no sewer hookups, the dump station is easily accessed. All sites are gravel and dirt but for the most part are fairly level. There is one section that handles larger rigs but I believe you can get any sized rig in the proper sites. Check in is pretty easy depending on the time you arrive. We arrived after the office closed and our instructions were left on the door and were easy to follow. You can not reserve particular sites in this park. If you are coming on fridays, come early as you can because the park will start filling up. When we were there, one of the camp hosts had had an emergency. The second set of camp hosts filled in very well and were around all weekend helping campers. I would highly recommend this campground. It is shaded and is easy to get too. There are two almost brand new bathhouses that are kept very clean. The park is now allowing campfires for the cool nights. Oh yeah, for you tv lovers, you can get the local stations out of Columbus Ga. with your antenna and I saw some satellite dishes being used. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This is a great state park for peace and tranquility. Rest rooms are clean and well maintained. Park does not have cable, WiFi, or sewer hook ups. It has great trails and a small lake for fishing. We visited Warm Springs and FDR Little White House while staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This park has beautifully shaded lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
Amazingly huge and nice park with 20+ miles of hiking trail, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Great mountain feeling. Friendly staff. Shows signs of steady improvements. Level gravel sites. All sites no sewer, but do have gray water dump pits at every site. Local area is great and the view from the main office is absolutely gorgeous! Word of caution, from main office, it's a very steep and narrow ride downhill to the camp ground. If possible, enter CG from the rear entrance where it's level, leave the rig in the CG parking lot and take the car uphill to the main office. You won't be sorry you did. Overall great CG. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This is a great state park with big rig access. The reason for the lower rating is the fact that the sites need gravel (ours was mostly dirt) and some maintenance, weeds, rusty and broken grills, etc. The roads are tight in all areas. If you have a big rig, stay in area 5, as it is the only area with multiple 50 amp sites. The camp hosts were pleasant and the check in is simple. As with all GA state parks, there is no sewer or cable hook ups. The dump station is adequate at best. This park needs some TLC due to cutbacks in budget. There is no WiFi and the bathrooms are outdated but clean. Callaway Gardens is close by, but there really isn't anything in Pine Mountain. There is a spring-fed pool that is quite popular in the summer. We frequent this park and will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
True camping experience for those wanting to be in the middle of nature. 50amp spots are in area 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
We love FDR State Park. It is secluded and if you go walking down the many trails that criss-cross the park you can begin to believe you are a pioneer. We came here with two teenage girls in February. They thoroughly enjoyed this campground. It is close enough to Warm Springs to easily visit the Little White House and the Warm Springs therapy pools. It is also a good base for those who want to visit Callaway Gardens, in Pine Mountain. It's an older State Park and while they are trying diligently to get it all updated, the upper loop is still behind. The bath house was pretty awful. I don't know what was growing on the walls in the shower. I tried to be brave, really i did. But when i couldn't get the hot water to get hot(remember, it was February) I decided I rather be stinky. Overall, a great park though. It is one of Georgia's most popular parks for good reason. We never felt crowded and there was plenty of outdoors stuff to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
This is a beautiful park at a bargain camping rate. The sites are well spaced, fairly level, and, in winter, give you a view of the deep woods out your window. There are some very nice pull-through sites with conveniently located water and electric hookups. The water here tastes like expensive bottled spring water so its a great place to fill your tanks. The only drawback is the lack of sewer hook ups. There is only one dump site and I noticed it was a little crowded the morning we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
We were there for four days. The restrooms and showers were always clean. Some of the facilities were older but none the less clean. The campsites were spaced well and level for the area. There are lots of hiking trails and wildlife to enjoy. We will be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Sites are level, clean rest rooms and easy access to attractions outside the park. Very nice park to relax in. The lack of sewer connections for us is not an issue. good access to the dump site when leaving. If your staying long term sites 1 and 2 have nice rest rooms to use. Nice trails to walk, and a great lake to fish or just relax by. If you have kids, the wild animal park is a must.. Note: rent one of the parks cars to drive...do not drive your car or truck through the park if you value your paint job.. Callaway Gardens is a great place to spend the day also.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
FDR State Park just recently upgraded area 5 with 50 amp power. About every other sight was converted. We went for a long weekend to go to Callaway Gardens and really liked the campground. If you have a big rig, make sure you check to see if area 5 is open, otherwise the rest of the park is pretty tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
All I can say is wow! We loved this park and will return. The park itself is Georgia's largest SP and is full of interesting trails. Great shade, large sites, and nice views of the lake. We fished the lake with no luck but had fun anyway. Roads inside are narrow but larger rigs can make it, just take it slow. One thing to note: You cannot reserve specific sites in GA state parks, just a site type. Actual sites are first come first served. Overall we love this park. We camped in a 31 foot travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
Nice campground and nice park. Good hiking. The FDR historic site is exceptional and reminded us how much Roosevelt's terms in office changed the face of America, especially rural America. Most sites are excellent and are selected after registration. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
What a disappointment. After reading all these great reviews, I was really excited to visit this park. To me, it was not near as nice as other Georgia State Parks. They did just put in two new bathhouses and relatively new hook-ups. Some of the sites, though, were holding water even though it had not rained in at least a day. There were at least four sites that were marked with the official "occupied" cards but had no camper or other stuff on them (completely bare sites). I thought you couldn't reserve a site. One of these was a prime site that overlooked the lake. When I inquired to the host upon arrival, he said to find a vacant site with no card. He was very snooty. Guess what? Two of thoes sites remained unoccupied the whole time we were there (three days). I think the host in that loop was saving sites for friends. The activities in the surrounding areas (Little White House, etc) were neat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
We camped here over New Years and really enjoyed it. only problem was we got to the park after dark and had alittle trouble finding a 40 ft. site until we saw the sign for area 5. I am glad that we ended up in area 5 as I like this area better than the others. Callaway Gardens is very nice as was Warm Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
Excellent campground, only thing was some of the sites were tight to get into. Road is narrow, but once I was in the site, everything else was great. Shower and restrooms were almost brand new, and was spotless. Would love to have sewer hookup but don't really expect it in GA State Parks..just wish GA SP system would get a system to allow specific site reservation as we were with a rally group, and was spread out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
I would have given FDR a 10 except for the fact there are no sewer hook ups "like most State Parks in GA" but there is a dump site at the back gate, and the roads are very narrow. There are new rest room and shower facilities built around the sites which are very clean and kept that way. The sites were large with fire rings and picnic benches. Lots of things to do in the area. Callaway Gardens, wild animal park, horse back riding, and lots of antique stores. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$20
We spent a long weekend here and had a great time (2 adults and 3 kids - 8, 6, and 2). One bit of advice, reserve a 40' site. Most of the good sites are 40' sites and all the sites in Loop 5 are 40' sites. IMO, Loop 5 is the best loop... the sites are large and not crowded plus offer plenty of shade. We reserved a 25' site and had a tough time finding a decent site (Loop 1, site 25). (If the campground is not full, you can stay in any site, however, if it's full you must stay in the type of site you reserved). Some of the loops were very primitive with dirt roads and unleveled sites (Loop 3 and Upper Loop 4). The bathhouses were clean and in good operational condition (they are in the process of building a new bathhouse in Loop 1). We rode bikes all through the campground and there are plenty of playgrounds to keep kids occupied. The Liberty pool was not open, but was big and I'm sure would be lots of fun when opened. We also went horseback riding in the park. I thought it was expensive at $30 per person for an hour ride, but my kids had a great time. Don't miss nearby Callaway Gardens. They have miles of bike trails and a beautiful beach that would be great for swimming. Overall, this is a great park and we plan on going back in the summer when we can swim in the Liberty pool and at Callaway gardens. I would have rated it higher than an 8 except the Trading Post store was close (due to staff shortages) and the there was no place in the park to purchase firewood (the campground host didn't have any firewood). Also, the park is well patrolled. I saw park police driving through the campground on a regular basis. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$17
My wife and I camped here Labor Day weekend, we found this park to be very wooded and secluded, with great lakeside campsites. There were lots of hiking trails, bike riding, fishing and boat rentals. The campsites were very accessible and spaced generously from other campsites. The staff was nice and park regulations were enforced (quiet time 10PM-7AM). Bath houses were in need of updating and more shower stalls, but overall, our experience at FDR Park was great and we will be coming back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$16
This is one of GA's most beautiful parks and the largest in the system. The campground offers a variety of sites. We were in site 13 in Area 1, which provided plenty of shade and nice spacing. After exploring the CG further, we decided that Area 5 is the place to go for even more space and solitude. There aren't quite as many shaded sites in that area but there's a nice playground and several of the sites have a view of the playground, which is handy if you have children. There is so much to do in this area that you can't possibly do it all in one weekend. Callaway Gardens is a stone's throw away. Callaway operates The Country Store, about 3 miles from the park. The store includes a restaurant with a breathtaking view and serves up Cracker Barrel style food. The Pine Mountain Trail, in conjunction with connecting loop trails, gives you approximately 30-40 miles of hiking options, including 2 easy ones accessible from the CG. Lake Delanor is scenic and beautiful with plenty of fishing and canoeing opportunities. During summer months, the spring-fed, rock-bottomed pool is open. We saw signs for horseback riding within the park. The Little White House is roughly 12-15 miles away. If you need to pick up some RV supplies or do some RV shopping/window shopping, there's a super RV dealership in Opelika, AL that's about an hours drive away. This park is definitely in our top 3 in GA and we can't wait to return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This was first trip to FDR and we loved it. Stay on site 7 which was across the street from the lake but with good view. Site was gravel but very level. Nothing more front to rear adjustment. Roads are somewhat narrow and there are some drainage ditches that limit ability to manuver into some of the sites. Bathhouse is old but is being replaced with newer ones to be opened in the next month. Bathhouses were clean, just small with limited number of showers and facilities. Close to Callaway Gardens, FDR's Little White House, Wild Animal Safari, horseback riding etc. Will definitely go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
While some of the sites were modernized, there were many in camping area 5 that were pretty rough; dirt, no gravel and not level. However, it appears that Georgia is in the process of updating this park and we were able to find a very nice site in area 5. Visited in the middle of July and expected the place to be full since it was a mid-summer weekend. It turned out that, out of the 20 or so spaces in area 5, fewer than half were occupied. We didn't have another camper within 200 yards of us the whole weekend. Not sure if this is how the place is all the time, but it was wonderful! It should be noted that we were not camped near the lake and lake sites looked more heavily occupied. A stroll around those areas showed plenty of open sites there as well. The restrooms and showers looked a bit older than we had seen at our other Georgia state park experience (Hard Labor Creek), but they were clean and usable. My wife is the finicky one and she didn't turn up her nose at the facilities. The campground - if you exit through the back gate by the dump station - is only a couple miles from Calloway Gardens and this is definitely worth the visit! We were both taken by the butterfly pavilion and the free-flying raptor show was incredible. We definitely plan on returning for a longer stay (only spent one full day and 2 nights there). We'd like to do this in the spring when the dogwoods and azaleas at Calloway are in full bloom. It must be incredibly beautiful then! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Just beautiful! We were here in March and it wasn't crowded. Beware, registration office is on main road across the highway from the CG entrance. You must go to the office first. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
A terrific park. Quiet, nicely shaded, a real feeling of privacy and seclusion. Clean, well-maintained restrooms. Small general store with basic supplies and miscellaneous goodies. Two nice fishing lakes with boat rentals. Lots of wildlife in the area. Surprisingly cool, even in the summer. 23-mile Pine Mountain hiking trail with spectacular view from the ridge. Close to Callaway Gardens and Roosevelt's "Little White House." Callaway always has a lot going on; the display of azaleas and other plants during the Spring is not to be missed. Georgia state parks are always clean and pleasant to stay at; this one is no exception. We've stayed here on numerous occasions and it's one of our favorite places to go when we need a quick get-away from Atlanta. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Lots of families. Quiet at night, except for some noisy Asian geese that honk everytime a fish jumps. Sites have a lot of room between them and are well shaded with oaks (although there is little brush... everyone sees one another with little privacy of view). Bath houses are checked several times each day by the campground host and park maintenance personnel. Water pressure was low in the shower and the showerhead could have been about six inches higher in the wall. Stalls for showers and potties were of older design, cramped, needing some hardware maintenance in terms of doors, hinges, etc. Host is very nice. Law enforcement presence is obvious and gates are locked at night. Payphone at camp store was inoperable and we had to go to the other side of the lake, a bit of an inconvenience. Church services held in a shelter at 9:00 AM from spring to fall. Minutes away from Callaway Gardens, downtown Pine Mountain (small), and Pine Mountain (the ridge) itself. About fifteen minutes to Warm Springs. We would opt for other parks and campgrounds (we've seen Callaway Gardens, time to move on). We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com