206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Sourdough Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (907) 883-5543
CGID92

Sourdough Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   4   10   10   5   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We loved this park. Our site was very spacious. We parked our 40 ft motorhome and tow vehicle and still had room to spare. Each site is nestled between trees and very comfortable. The park has a cafe that offers reindeer chili in a sourdough bowl .. yummy! and sourdough pancakes in the morning. The staff was extremely friendly - made you feel right at home. Certain sites have better access to Wi-Fi, so be sure to request during reservations. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
They have good level sites with crushed rock for a base. They have evening events with plenty of laughing and fun. There is also a restaurant that serves great breakfast. The people on site were great, very friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was a hotspot that worked OK, but there was no reception at the site. We would say again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Great family RV park. We didn't use the restrooms or the showers, as they were too far from our site. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reindeer chili in a sourdough bread bowl was to die for! The pancake toss was fun too. Be careful pulling in if you have a large RV. A lot of trees! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Very pricy for what you get, $40 for full hookup, good sam price. Not much going on. They offer and promote pancake breakfast. There is no wifi in camping area, there is no cable, and there is no air TV stations, the restroom where we were assigned is closed. Not the cleanest park that we have seen. We would most likely not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
We stayed at Sourdough June and July 2013. Excellent staff; sites are semi-private with native trees and vegetation. This a good, fun place to stay. We will certainly stay again. The sourdough pancake breakfast is good plus the Reindeer Chile at night is really good. Friends recommended this campground, and we are doing the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
Stayed here two different times. Did not consider staying at another park in Tok. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Sites were well maintained, shady, and spread out. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Friendly place with gravel roads and sites sites scattered among trees. Many sites are small but largest can handle big rigs, though they are none too level. Water, sewer, and electricity were all convenient and worked well. Wi-Fi was limited coverage and slow, but at least it doesn't cost extra. We thought it was a bit pricey for what we got. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Although outside of town it is a good choice while in Tok. Spaces are well separated with vegetation/trees. Plenty of room to maneuver. Nightly entertainment provided by Campground Staff and has a communal camp fire with campground providing the marshmallows and roasting sticks. Set in grove of Spruce and Aspens. Staff helpful and very accommodating. Stayed in a back-in site with FHU and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We did not use the laundry or restrooms so can not say on the cleanliness. Sites are very nice with trees between each site for privacy. Our site was very level and generous in length. Stayed here on our trip to Anchorage and stayed again on our return trip to Florida. Best campground in Alaska! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
Wilderness sites. The sites are spacious and set nicely apart for privacy and are treed and shady. The washrooms and showers clean. Friendly and helpful staff. We did not eat here, but there is a restaurant. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We traveled all the way from Florida and this is the best campground of all! When we arrived the owners both greeted us and cut jokes. Our site was 84' long and plenty wide to put all slides out. The pancake toss was fun and the all you can eat breakfast delicious! Best sourdough pancakes ever. BEAUTIFUL park with lots of very interesting historic memorabilia. They dryers in laundry room took 3 rounds to dry, but that is my only complaint. Many people told us to stay here along the way. Glad we did! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Not our favorite place. The sites are not even close to level. Roads are muddy with big puddles. The showers are musty and the bathrooms are not clean. The sourdough pancake breakfast was okay. Not what we expected. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Cold showers. Treed site. Nightly entertainment. Restaurant with Sourdough pancakes and reindeer sausage. Buffet breakfast $13 - we did not partake in the food here. Group atmosphere. Slow internet that kept crashing. Limited internet data use. Wi-Fi hotspot only. We could not access from our campground. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Drove a 31ft RV plus a tow, we had a pull through site so it was a bit more. A bunch of potholes with rain but drivable. Evening show was fun and they do a pancake throwing contest, fun too. Washers and dryers were poor, do your laundry somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Heavily treed and narrow sites, although 40+ foot units towing were able to pull in. Opening slides can, however, be challenging. Owners remarkable and friendly. They also put on a great evening show. Restaurant on site. When raining, some sites (ours) partly flooded. We will stay here on our return trip from Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
If you are looking for the normal tourist trap campground this would be a good stop for you. Sites are wooded but very tight. Big rigs on caravans seem to be the majority of campers. We started to stay here, bought our site and after driving through and finding our spot occupied we decided we would rather take our chances further down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This CG is run by a very attentive and energetic owner. We were early in the season but everything was available as if the CG was full. WiFi only works very close to office, otherwise this CG would rate a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Rate is for back-in 30 amp FHU site with good Wi-Fi. Great RV park with free entertainment during the evenings we were here. Interior roads and sites are gravel, but maneuverability is good. Site separation varies, but is reasonable. Not all sites receive good Wi-Fi, request one that does on check-in if you need it. Road noise is minimal. They have great dinners and breakfasts available if you sign up ahead of time. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We stayed here early in season, before the campground was really open. The staff was friendly. Easy pull through site. We will probably stay here again on our way south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
Had a back-in site close to the office where I could get internet service. Grandson picked this one because of the advertised pancake breakfast & nightly entertainment, but after checking in we found out we were too early for the food or entertainment, which would be offered after Memorial Day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We stayed here in a 34 foot 5th wheel for one night and that was more than enough. The WI-FI only works if you go to their building; it does not work at the camp sites. The check in person was more interested in selling the evening dinner menu than giving us information about the park. The park does have trees and the pull throughs are easy to enter and exit. Water connection is at the entrance to the site so a long water hose is needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Easy to find, checkin person was efficient but unfriendly, easy to park, wide and treed sites, utilities at entry end of site (bring long hose and extension as not near utility bay on most RVs), advertises Wi-Fi but only can be had in/near office, cafe, etc., not in rig. (Will be more careful in how I ask the "Wi-Fi?" question in the future. Smile). Glad we only paid for one night. Will stay elsewhere while in this area because of Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This is a nice park with lots of trees which provided some privacy between our site and the next. The site was easy to get into, long and fairly level. There are full hookups with good power. There is no cable and the Wi-Fi doesn’t work at the sites but there is a “hot spot” for it. They offer a Reindeer stew dinner for $10 and a All-U-Can - Eat Sourdough breakfast for $12 but we chose to eat elsewhere. We will return again the end of August. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The staff was friendly! Verizon cel phone worked great, however the Wi-Fi only works at the office. Lots of shade and the gravel, dirt sites are fairly level. The pancake toss was great fun: I won a free $12 breakfast! You have to try their great reindeer chili served in a sourdough bread bowl. Added bonus: good truck and RV washing facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Our experience will probably be different from the majority of those who stay at this campground. But we feel a need to share our situation. First off, the campground and facilities are about average for the Alaska Highway. Obviously, they cater more towards the RV's than to tenters like us. Most of their sites seemed as if they could accept a tent, plus they have some designated tent sites. These, however, seemed to be afterthoughts, and were very tight, with no privacy at all. Our dissatisfaction came in the way were we treated by both the owner and one other host. First of all, they had us down for the wrong date. Even after I offered to show the owner her e-mail confirming our changed reservation, she seemed reluctant to accept the fact. Then we were told (just as we were about to set up our tent) by another host that we were going to have to move to make room for a different party. When I resisted, his only response was, "You can go to the office, and they will refund your money." The owner also seemed in no mood to try to help us out. After insistence on my part that she try to help us out, we were finally given an RV site that had room for a tent. So things worked out OK as far as a site went. But our real concern is the way we were treated. It seemed to them as if we were not important if we didn't drive an RV. In my opinion, this is a very dangerous attitude to assume. It can come back to bite you later on. Due to this experience, we did not stay for the breakfast or utilize any of the other facilities, so we have no comment on those. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Very disappointed in entire facility. The gift store was sparse, we had to wait until the next day to use truck/rv wash as it was broken, breakfast was horrible: cold pancakes, cold biscuits, cold egg mixture. It certainly was not worth $12 each. Wi-Fi was only available at office area. Will not stay there again. I cannot believe it has Good Sam rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
We arrived after Labor Day when leaving Alaska.The cafe was closed and the entertainment was gone. Without these features the price should have been reduced. WIF is only at the office. There are lots of trees for shade and separation from other sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
If you are going to stay in Tok, the Sourdough is the place. It has the most character of any park on the Alaska Highway. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because the Wi-Fi is very limited. Other than that, this is the perfect park with great sourdough bowl soups and breakfast. There is entertainment most nights and a pancake toss for a free breakfast. The sites have lots of trees for extra privacy. We will stay here again on the way out of Alaska. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
The owners of this park come off as people who truly care about camping and are constantly working to improve things around the park. This seems true at first until you are rudely awakened by chain sawing on the site next to yours early in the morning and complain about it. They were un-apologetic and very rude in dealing with us. Instead of apologizing or making any attempt remedy the situation, they tried to get rid of us as quickly as possible and told us never to come back in addition to insulting us as we left. The whole ordeal made them seem utterly unprofessional and un-caring of their customer's opinions. This was truly the worst camping experience we've had camping in the great state of Alaska. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This is an excellent CG. Wooded spaces where you can barely see neighbors. Very helpful, friendly mgt. Fun nightly entertainment. Dinner and breakfasts cooked on site. Compared to the Alaska highway through Canada, where most CG's are just big parking lots with very tight spaces, this is a real treat. Paved walking/biking trail into TOK (1.5 miles) Highly recommend We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
We were lukewarm about this park. It was dusty, cramped, noisy and expensive. They have Wi-Fi but it does not reach the sites; you can sit at a table outside of the office if the mosquitos don't bother you or use the cafe when they are not serving breakfast or dinner. Our site was a narrow back-in with 30 amp electric and water. We got one TV channel. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
This is a fun campground. The campsites are spaced out adequately with vegetation between them and easy access. There are 1.5 miles south of town on the Tok cutoff; so, if you decide to go to town, you will want to drive. Fee-based Wi-Fi is available throughout the campground. Free wi-fi is available on the patio next to the office. The fun begins each evening when the owner, performs a comedy skit and “pancake toss”. Everyone gets two attempts at tossing pancakes into a bucket with the prize being a free sourdough pancake breakfast. Those were the best pancakes I have ever eaten (mine were free). They also serve dinner, reindeer chili or stew in a big fresh homemade sourdough bread bowl with homemade pie for dessert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$29
Fun place to stay, the owner has a pancake toss every night. There is a sourdough bowl meal available in the evening and pancake breakfast in the morning. One TV channel, Wi-fi at the office. We had a nice site, easy to access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Great park. Nice somewhat rustic RV sites. Has evening meal with entertainment and a sourdough pancake breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will return hear in the future. Free WIFI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
A fun place to stay and friendly owner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This is a real nice campground. The owners were friendly and mingled with campers. The restaurant served good food at a fair price. The nightly entertainment was real good at night. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2000
$15
Ok for one night. Has a sourdough pancake breakfast, free videos. No tv reception. We camped here in a 2000` .
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com