223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort McAllister State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (912) 727-2339
CGID920

Fort McAllister State Park

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   7   9   8   9   9   8   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
I was planning on a no-frills space and that is what I found. We stayed here for one night as we were passing through. The site was spacious, but there was no pad or gravel so we parked the RV on the dirt. I let the toddlers and our dog run around until the bugs started to attack, then we pulled back into the RV where we watched bug after bug try to break in over the next few hours. I had only expected Electric hookups, but was surprised to find a water faucet. Not surprisingly the water pressure was next to none. A spilled glass of milk has more water pressure than the faucet here, but hey, it was a bonus right? The cost to stay here was $30 a night, which seemed a bit steep but acceptable. The other surprise we found was that GA state parks charge a 'car pass', which is $5 per visit. If you are staying here a week, its $5 which helps spread the cost. In our case, it was one night making our nightly total $35, which is what some regular RV campgrounds charge. I cannot really knock this place though, it was beautiful and quiet. I did enjoy our stay, sans the bugs. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes, probably . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
The site we had was very big with a great view of the marsh. We only stayed one night as we were travelling through so I'm not sure about all the amenities. The camp host was very helpful, coming out to show me where the waste cans were when she saw me wandering around with a bag of garbage! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
Nice campground. Use as an overnight stop going/returning from Florida. Some big pull-through sites. Best navigated during daylight hours although we use after hours check-in with the friendly host. Dirt sites and roads, some narrow with low tree branches. No clear sky for satellite reception. Got AT&T cellphone service OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
Another great Georgia park! We loved the huge pull-through site with strong 30-amp power, strong water, and a large table and fire pit. It was extremely quiet this time of the year, maybe not so much during the summer because I'm sure families must love this place. Plenty of space between sites where we stayed (#11). The dump station turnout was a bit tight for our RV. Roads are paved, sites are dirt and mostly level - we did not need our jacks. Several raccoons running around, and my wife was in "bird heaven"! Our Verizon phones and amplified Hotspot device worked great, and we were able to receive many TV channels, which was good since all the trees prevented satellite reception - fine with us! The restroom/laundry building near the camping entrance was fairly new, with clean restrooms and showers, the showers included hooks and benches. The laundry room consisted of one washer, one dryer and a folding table. The other building near the back of the park was older and not in such great shape. There were plenty of roads and trails to keep walkers and bicyclists happy, especially if you included the 1.3 mile access road to the camping area. There was a Publix grocery store about 6 miles up the road, downtown Savannah was about 25 miles away. We couldn't find anything wrong with this place - just what we like and we'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This is a beautiful park with large pull-through dirt campsites on an island surrounded by salt-marsh. The campground seems very popular with boaters as there is a boat launch in the campground with lots of boat trailer parking. There is a separate boat ramp area on the mainland for non-campers. Touring the earth works of the civil war fort is fun, interesting. and scenic. The only down side to this campground was the smell from the paper mill in Savannah was very noticeable the day we were there. The mill is about 10 miles (or more) away, but the wind conditions were just right that day to make it noticeable for several hours at least. When I asked a staff person who was working indoors what the smell was, she said it could be the low tide smell or the paper mill in Savannah. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
We only stayed here for one night. The cost for 1 night is $28, but when you check in they want another $5 for the park fee. Kind of a strange arrangement as I have not seen this elsewhere, where the fee covers the park admittance. Anyway, it would have been nice to have more time here because the park staff puts together a lot of events at the fort. The campground is at the end of a mile long causeway. There are 4 hosts. We met 2 of them and they were extremely friendly and helpful. As we pulled into our spot, there was a raccoon in the next spot, but he was one of many we saw. There were also a lot of deer roaming around. We had not seen this much wildlife in a campground before. Make sure you don't leave any food outside that you don't want the critters to get. The reservations are not site specific so you may end up driving around the loops a couple of times looking for a spot. A big rig and a toad would probably want to un-hook and drive the toad through to scout a spot. The bath house was fairly new(with washer/dryer) and was very clean. Verizon data reception was 3 bars. Received 15 channels on the TV. Would like to come back to see more of what the park has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
This is another GA state park south of Savannah located on the Ogeechee River. The park consists of 1,725 acres, 65 campsites, and earthwork fort, civil war museum, boat ramps, fishing pier, playgrounds, over 4.3 miles of hiking and biking trails, fort tours, and saltwater fishing. The cost is $28 and the campsites are nestled among giant live oaks, salt marshes, and hiking trails. The campsites are very attractive and the campground is peaceful with the birds chirping away. There is a boat dock in the campground for those bringing their boats. The park is home of the best preserved earthwork fortifications of the Confederacy. It is definitely worth a visit. Visiting the Civil War Museum and Fort is an extra fee! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
About 10 minutes from I-95. Plenty of sites and most of them are pull through. Roads are a little narrow in spots; could be tight for a big rig. Most sites are level, but some get muddy with rain; could use some gravel in spots. Only one dumpster area for the campground; they need more trash cans at strategic intervals. Restrooms were clean. No cable TV but a few local stations were available by antenna. Grocery shopping is a few minutes from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice park that was well maintained. All RV sites are pull-through with lots of space at each site and between each site. Heavily shaded sites with variety of trees and palms. Park has boat ramp and nice docks, including a fishing dock. Nice feature was a washer and a dryer at each restroom. Phone service worked when I stepped outside the canopy of trees; internet service, although a little slow using Verizon wireless device. Drive into Historic Savannah was 40 minutes and to Tybee Island was one hour. The museum inside the office and the tour of the fort was interesting. Enjoyed our stay. Price reflects a 10% senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Very nice campground and staff. We stayed on site 36 which is very large. Had a great time and getting to Savannah is very easy. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Rate reflects 20% senior discount. CG has lots of large level pull through sites to choose from. Very quiet location with almost no noise at night. This is one of our favorite GA state park CG. Several hiking trails and lots of deer in the park. TV via batwing was very good, Verizon cell and broadband both excellent at 4G. Best bet for a cold one is Fish Tales on the road to CG, $1 off during Happy Hour and very good food too. Avoid Augie's unless you like smoke, which it seems almost everyone does in there and then $3 plus tax for domestic bottles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
As far as state parks I've been to just a few and I have to think this is among the better ones. Security was very good. The site was very large and fairly level. The only problems I had were no grass or gravel (bring plenty of outside floor mats), and the trash dumpsters were located too far away. There are grocery stores close by and Savannah is also close by. I would warn people about gnats in this location..certain times of the years it is unbearable..bring plenty of Skin So Soft, the only thing that seems to work. We were not affected by the gnats. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
We stayed in this park for 4 nights after Christmas. We found the hosts very friendly and accommodating. When our friend in a pop up went to ask the host about his hook up he came back with a heater that the host had lent him since it was going to get chilly that evening. The majority of the sights were pull throughs and did require some leveling. Our particular sight faced away from the road and faced the marsh. I especially loved that. We were on the first road of sites and I felt those were larger than some of the other sites. The bathhouse was always clean and had wonderful hot water, however it wasn't heated and it did get cool a few nights we were there. There were palm trees and trees with spanish moss all over the place so it was wonderfully shaded which this would probably prove to be a benefit during the summer months. Didn't have too much difficulty driving the trailer through this park. The historic part of the park is a separate area and you have to pay an additional fee to visit. We will visit this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
Easy to navigate. A lot to see and do in the area. The trees were trimmed so we could get under with our 12'8" high RV and didn't scratch it. Very nice. Would stay again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Our favorite campground. Very well kept. Just love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We loved this place and we will be back. Although it says big rig accessible you will want to pay attention to site selection. Sites can not be reserved (first come first served) so you will want to arrive earlier in the day if this may be an issue. Most sites are pull thru but they are a horseshoe layout that enters and exits on the same road. Once you are in, and until you have to leave, that is a beautiful arrangement as far as we're concerned. It can make it a bit tricky to get out though. This is about as good as it gets in a state park in our experience so far. Did I mention we can't wait to return? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park has nice shady campsites, and is a great historic sight. Make sure you check out the museum and fort. Well worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
This is another fine GA state park campground. We stayed in site #16 which had ample room for our 42' motorhome. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. The roads are paved with sand/grass sites. Some trees need a bit of trimming so go slowly for overhanging branches. Not too much in the immediate area, but only a 30 minute drive to Savannah. Park and campground hosts are extremely helpful and friendly. We've stayed here previously and will do so in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
We always enjoy state parks and this is no exception. The only problem i ever seem to find is the bugs but that can happen anywhere. We felt like we went back in time with all the beautiful oaks. The roads are paved and the sites are large. They have grills and picnic tables at each site. It was kind of far away from the local restaurants, Savannah and things to do but the river is near by. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
An absolutely wonderful Georgia State Park. We stayed in site 37, which is the only back-in site in the campground. The site was fairly level, and was positioned in such a way as to give the illusion of privacy, and being the only people in the campground. The fort was well worth the price of admission, and my three boys loved it. It is about a 5 minute bike ride to the fort from the campsites. There are good trails for trail riding with kids. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
Once again, Georgia did not disappoint. There were very few campers and the park was very quiet. Sites are large, the handicapped bath house very well maintained, and the park hosts helpful. Would be nice if their wood was drier and not so hard to burn, especially considering that they do not want campers to bring their own wood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
A very nice state park on a tidal river inlet about 10 miles' drive from I-95. Peaceful, no traffic noise. Park was perhaps 20% occupied when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon. Park has a playground and a boat ramp. Kayakers/canoers will love this place. We would stay here again when traveling in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
Nice "rustic" sites. The sites are far enough apart from the other roads you can barely see other RV's, as for each side of you there is enough room not to feel crowded. Sites are clean for the most part, there is no trash just can be blown off from leaves and such from time to time. Never saw the camp host, although I heard him drive by one time. I gave it 8 stars for that fact and the cleanliness of the sites and host not being around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
We spent 5 nights here on site #52. The sites are enormous, very private, and well shaded. We enjoyed the 3 mile trail on our bicycles, loved watching the brown pelicans from their swings, and toured the fort. It's an easy 35 minute drive to get into Savannah. There's a wonderful restaurant about half a mile outside the entry gate, Fish Tales. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$27
Fort McAllister has a great campground, the sites are large but many are uneven and require leveling blocks. The fort itself is about a 1 mile walk from the campground and provides plenty of activity including playgrounds, fishing piers, park ranger led tours and activities. There are also a few nature trails throughout the park for use. Pretty empty in the winter months so plenty of selection and quiet. Staff is beyond friendly and allowed us to check in plenty early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We have stayed here numerous times in our Class-B, and find it an enjoyable location. There is plenty of walking and bicycling, including visiting the old fort, and the sites are generally widely-separated. Verizon Mi-Fi works, but is weak. Bugs can be a problem. Also, if you are coming during a holiday the park will be full and reservations are needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We are local and stayed for four nights just to get away. A perfect place for relaxing and enjoying the coastal atmosphere. Rained a bit and got muddy but drainage was pretty good and it didn't last. Bathroom closest to the water is clean but old and could use updating. The handicapped bath house is new, clean, and not many people seem to use it. I was going to work in Savannah while we were here and it was like having a private bathhouse to get ready for work. We took our boat and were able to leave it in the water the entire visit which is convenient although navigating the coastal waters can be challenging. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We enjoyed the boating, fishing, and kayaking available at this campground. The campsites are spacious and easy to pull in and out of. Unfortunatly we did not have enough power to run the air condition at the same time as the blowdryer and other electrical items without blowing a fuse. Also, the campground staff kept placing tickets on our car for not having a vehicle parking decal although there was clearly one on the windshield. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Nice state park campground, heavily wooded, but if you exercise care it is big rig friendly with many pull-through sites. Bugs were present but Off seemed to keep them at bay. Easy access to the Savannah area. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the park. It is quiet and well maintained. Park staff very friendly and helpful as was the campground hosts. We normally stay here at a time when the sand gnats are kind of bad, but we know they are there and are prepared. Sites are large and clean and well shaded. Fishing is available as is nature trails and Savannah is nearby. Come enjoy this State park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
This is probably a nice campground, but we could not enjoy it due to the many deer flies. They were very annoying. We attempted to go on a bike ride, but had to turn around due to the flies. The sites are nice and large with many pull-through sites. We would probably return to the this campground, but at a different time of year when the flies aren't so bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Nice park in great location. Easy day trip to Savannah. Bathrooms were okay but could use a good cleaning. Wi-Fi available at the office about a mile away. Roads were a bit narrow in the campground but passable. Site was a pull through and level. Boat ramp access available. No sewer hookups but stay was short enough to survive on self contained storage. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
Another great GA state park. GA has some of the best state park campgrounds we have come across in 30 plus states visited. We love the park and the area. Richmond Hill is a wonderful Savannah suburb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Great historical location and the fort is amazing if you like civil war history. We had my oldest son's birthday there and he enjoyed riding his bike. Although the sites were close together, they are located so you have some privacy. We were warned about the bugs, but had not problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
This was a nice state park with the peace and quiet I love. The campground was a long way from the road and the front of the park and is set in a nice patch of forest with marshes around it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Beautiful park. The sites are large and private. We stayed in site 16, the site was close to level, but we did have to make allowances for the tree roots. Local TV reception was fine. Bathrooms were clean. If you like lots of water when you shower, use the older bathroom down by the fishing pier. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Excellent state park campground. All large pull thru sites, spread far apart. Lots of shade. Satellite signal availability iffy, had to use portable dish and 100' of cable to stretch out to open field. Beautiful boat landing. Drawbacks: Georgia State Parks accept reservations, but not for any specific site. Also no-see-ums are out early in morn and late in afternoon, and this was February, about 73 degrees. Still, nice access to Savannah, and for $18 nightly, a good deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The park was alittle out of the way but worth the stay! With all the overgrown live oaks covered in spanish moss,it had a very cozy, old time feel. My daughter said it was "SPOOKY". THe staff was very friendly and the campground was very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Very clean park, nice staff. They had just rebuilt one of the bathrooms. Warning: the showers have no where to put your clothes to keep the dry when showering. Otherwise it was great, few no see'ums. Washer and dryer at both restrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Paved road winds through the trees, sites are sand/gravel and mostly pull-through. Sand gnats were so plentiful the day we checked in that you couldn't take a deep breath, but there was a breeze the other days, so no gnats. Sites are large, with lots of trees, and well spaced apart. There is a brand new bath house, but we did not use it. This park is a bit farther from Savannah, but nice to go back to after a day in town. Lots of good markets, shopping, gas and restaurants nearby. Verizon cell worked well, but aircard signal weak and slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Very nice and very clean. The wife and I truly enjoyed ourselves. The main bathroom is brand new and was immaculate. Everyone was helpful and courteous. There is a brand new boat dock just off the campgrounds. Most of the sites are pull-through sites and there is a separate area for tent camping. The fort and its museum are well maintained and rather interesting. We will camp here again. Watch the sand fleas/gnats! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
A great natural setting with fantastic views. Easy check-in up until 10pm. Very convenient pull-thru wooded sites. The sites have fire rings with sturdy grills for cooking your steaks! Firewood available for purchase. Note that there are no sewer hookups so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
This campground was on an island. All sites were pull thru, however some would have been really tight for a large RV. It was peaceful. While sitting inside (to buggy outside for the PA boy) we saw a pretty doe meander by. Next morning I saw brother Raccoon checking out thievery prospects. This was an overnight spot so we didn't have an opportunity to visit the Fort. It is a little off the Intestate for an overnight stop, but we like seeing new places. I would stay again, hopefully for a longer period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
This was our second visit. The sites are very large, treed, picnic tables & grills. The roads are paved and the sites are dirt/sand. Laundry (one w/d)and restrooms are clean and not too much of a walk. We love this place, but the "no seeums" (gnats) were very much in evidence this time. At the entrance is Ft. McAllister, a Confederate museum and fort. Very special and well kept. It's a very long walk from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$16
Outstanding park, need to spend a couple of nights here. It is not a place to pass through, it is just too nice. Full rate is $20, but 62+ receives a 20% discount. Great for peace and quiet or to explore Savannah. We highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Large treed sites. Roads were a bit narrow but campground is clean, quiet and we will return. After dark check-in is difficult. We are local and it was a good weekend getaway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$24
Almost every site in this campground is spacious. We really loved the extra room, the trees, the campfire and that Savannah was so relatively close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$19
Very nice park with lots of wildlife. Rest rooms were very nice and clean. Fishing pier was at campground for campers and had a boat ramp. Campsite were clean and level with a fire ring and picnic table at every site. Bugs weren't a problem while we were there but it looks like the kind of place were they could get real bad. Not a real exciting campground, but if a peaceful, clean campground off the beaten path with lots of wildlife is your thing, I think you will like Fort McCallister campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2004
$19
We stayed here three nights during the week after Christmas and on New Years Day. The campground is situated among very thick willow trees. Some of the campsites are very secluded while some of the pull-thru's are designed more for those that don't mind seeing their neighbors or those camping in groups. For big rigs, the closely spaced trees could be an issue. But I don't have a big rig, so I couldn't tell. The campsites are dirt, but fairly level. The campground is very quiet and dark at night. The campground, situated on a swamp-like river, is secluded from the park entrance by a causeway that is about 1 mile long. To gain access you must go through an electronic gate. There is plenty of wildlife in this park. The interior roads are well paved. Also, there is plenty of pretty scenery. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$19
Clean bath houses, good paved roads. Lots of trees and shade, but the trees do not limit the ablity to maneuver with a large travel trailer. Most, if not all, sites are pull thru. Water and 30 amp electric are the only hook ups. Dump station easy to get in and out of. Has a playground, fishing pier and boat ramp specificially for campers. Camping area is seperated from the rest of the park by a coded gate. For a campground right on the marsh, I was surprised that the bugs were not that bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com