223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Hid'n Pines Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (207) 934-2352
CGID9216

Hid'n Pines Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
257
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$73



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   9   7   8   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$73
Found this CG to be a very clean and neat place, sites were big and easy in and out; we were in site 634. They constantly were cleaning the grounds and restrooms, staff was friendly, well laid out. Trolley to the beach at the entrance $1.00 each way. Will def. stay again as it was a very relaxing CG. Not a lot for the kids to do but ride there bikes and go to the beach. Great place to host your travels around the beach areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
This is a nice and clean park. We looked at each other when we first pulled into our site wondering if we had made a mistake, but it was just different than we are used to. The campground is quiet, and they will enforce that as a rowdy crowd well after quiet hours was bounced out the next day (off went 5 trailers!). I see this as a plus! The game room only has 5 games, but the playground is VERY nice. The snack shack is cheap, and the pool is heated and in good condition. Our dogs loved to be walked around here, and it is a very quick bike ride to the beach; you just need to get up the hill (but then coast down the other side). No kids activities that we saw but I was told things don't get going until July. Other campers/seasonal folks are very friendly, but most of the kids on the weekend we went spoke French as it was Quebec's long weekend. After being away from Canada for 20 years, my French didn't come close to cutting it. The bathrooms/showers are very clean, and the folks here take pride in the campground. They are a little over bearing with the dog rules, but who likes noisy dogs wrecking your stay, so I can understand. Thankfully we have well behaved dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$60
I'm a first year seasonal here and absolutely love it. The park bathrooms, laundry room, pool, and other public areas are always sparkling clean. I'm happy to be here and plan to stick around for some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$75
Overall the campground met my expectations. It is a no frills campground with no planned activities for kids. It rained one day and not have a rec hall or other type of activity as disappointing. What sells this place is the location. It is .9 miles from the beach. However, with four kids and all the beach gear that is required I did not attempt to walk it. We did however walk it one night and the kids were fine. I used the bathroom and showers once and I would describe them as primitive and reminds me of camp when I was a kid. They were however clean. The campsites are tight and the place was full of tents and popup trailers. The staff was friends and security was very important. Wi-Fi is terrible and I ended up using my own air card for my laptop. Did not like the 11am check out. All that said I would consider returning We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$67
Very family oriented campground, clean and well maintained. Most sites had decent shade, but a few like ours didn't. Overall most sites seem average in size for a beach area campground. Wi-Fi worked well. Water, electric, cable TV all fine. Staff professional and friendly. Though place was packed with campers the bathrooms and showers were kept very clean. Grocery stores are near by, but with over 250 sites campground should at least have some small resemblance of a camp store. Web advertised heated pool, but it was as cold as the water at Old Orchard Beach. We enjoyed this campground and would certainly return or recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Nice park, large sites, good security and noise control. Excellent heated pool, a longer walk to the beach than some but still quite doable. Baths OK. One of the better options in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$63
Nice campground. Very big and well maintained. Wi-Fi was good. Mostly campers down from Quebec. Nice place to stay if you are visiting the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
This is by-and-large, a very nice park. It is extremely family oriented, and located just minutes from the beach. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the campground staff and security were present both day and night. There is a nice pool which seemed to be very popular with the other campers, and the Wi-Fi was good. We did not use the comfort station, nor laundry so I cannot comment on those. Our site was a back-in, and was easy to get into, and level. We camped at this park In-Season, and it was very crowded. Everyone around us seemed to be having a good time, and were in good spirit. The only things that I did not like about this park were that the campsites were somewhat close, and that there were so many campfires going that my Motorhome smelled like smoke inside. The park is dog-friendly, and they even gave us tags with our campsite number on them for the dogs. However, while we had ample places to walk the dogs, there was no designated dog run. A fenced doggie area would be a welcome addition for pet owners in a park of this size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We camped here the last week in August. This is considered "off season" so the rate was lower. A great time to go: no crowds, weather is wonderful! This is a beautiful campground: clean, landscaped, everything looks fresh. Site was roomy, level and every site is cleaned between visits. Staff is friendly and available if needed. Bathrooms and showers were always clean and spotless! No charge for showers: individual stalls with separate changing area that had a bench, shelf and hooks for your items, a very nice touch! Very clean laundry room with 8 washers and dryers that looked brand new. Security at night drives through campground multiple times. This campground is a real treat: we will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Hid'n Pines Family Campground is a very well maintained campground. Every campsite is cleaned after the campers leave. Now for the bad new. 1) The Wi-Fi network is the worst I have encountered in my 6 years of full time camping. For example, I tried to download a 44.1kb file and 45 minutes later only 14.3 kb had downloaded. I experienced this same slow speed the entire 5 days I camped there. Here is the funny side of this, if there is one. When you log on to their network they display the following message: ‘Your log in was successful. Internet Access is now Enabled. The network is monitored for excessive bandwidth usage. Automatic speed limiting may be applied. 2) This a pretty pricey campground, and they have the nerve to charge you $2.00 per bicycle if you leave the campground with the bicycle. All you get for your $2 is a tie wrap with a tag on it with your campsite number. It must cost them about 1 penny for materials. They do this for security reasons, which is great, but why do you have to pay for it when you have already paid almost $60 per night camping? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
We camped here over Labor Day weekend so we knew it would be crowded. I can't remember the site number but it was very tight. The road was narrow with a fence on one side and our site on the other. The only way we could maneuver into the site was with the help of neighbors giving direction and the people behind us had to move their tables until we could straighten out. On the plus side, we had really nice people around us. There were a lot of activities for even teens (I find that most CG cater only to small children) and the girls were not bored. They could even jump on the trolley at the front and go to the beach on their own. It is a bit of a walk to the beach but on a bike it was not bad. They had a hypnotist that weekend and that was a lot of fun! Campground was well taken care of and we did not have any problems walking our dogs anywhere we wanted to. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
Rate reflects base rate plus per child fee, and per dog fee. This was a lovely campground. Very wooded--feels like real camping! Huge but does not feel huge. If you go for a long walk inside the park, take the map because the paths are very winding and we got lost walking our dogs! Pool looks crystal clean although we did not use it. We chose this park thinking we could walk to the beach, but it seemed too far once we got there and packed up the millions of accessories needed for the kids, so we drove. Big mistake--parking is at a premium at the beach area. Spots near the beach were going for $20. We found a spot for $5, but we joked it was a farther walk from our parking spot to the beach than had we just walked from the campground. Security and staff very visible. It is a well-run campground for sure. Clean bathrooms, plenty of showers. Fire rings were weird--I think they were drums from the insides of washing machines. Great cable. I would have gladly rated this campground a ten if they had had a shuttle to the beach, because the parking situation at the beach was really a hassle. Everything else was fabulous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
We have been camping here since I was a child. I am 33 years old now married with two children. Great atmosphere, sites are well maintained and spread out unlike some other campgrounds. Staff is friendly and always willing to help if you have questions. 15 min walk to the beach which is awesome. I can't wait to go back next year, and are looking forward to many memories with our children there as well. Thanks Hidnpines... your the best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Nice park lots of shade. Most parking sites have some slope but ours was minimal. Parking is on dirt so be prepared for mud when it rains. Staff show signs of stress (obviously a busy season) - don't for Gods sake place your car sticker on the wrong side of your windshield you will receive a real dressing down if you do. Hid'n Pines is a large complex with many tents. Twenty minute walk to beach. Best restaurant is Anjons. Not on the beach, turn right at the camp entrance and travel to route one, turn right and Anjons is a few miles on the left (opposite Scarborough Marsh. We stopped for three nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com