214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Raft and Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (830) 964-3613
CGID9218

Rio Raft and Resort

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   10   7   9   9   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
Great centralized park for the tourist area of New Braunfels, Gruene, and San Antonio visit. The park office is very friendly and helpful. They have organized activities all week in club house. Wildlife can been seen in the surrounding fields early mornings and at sunset. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$19
What keeps me from rating this campground a 10 is the restrooms/showers, at least the ones closest to us near the front of the park. The restroom has two toilets, neither of which have doors. The door to ladies restroom doesn't latch, doesn't even have a doorknob, and thus blows wide open with the slightest breeze. The showers room has a toilet, with a shower curtain for privacy. The two shower stalls have a curtain, but you must disrobe and dress without privacy. We had a nice long pull-through site with two large shade trees. We had excellent WiFi, and had no problem finding the southern sky for our DirecTV dish. The roads and sites are gravel, and there are grass areas between pairs of sites. While the campground is "on the river," all the sites that used to be on the river are now cabins. But you can still walk to the river for fishing (which we did). We were here for a busy weekend and then for the next 5 days which were pleasantly quiet. If we come back to this area we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Rate is Passport America. Site was FHU 30 amp and was a good size. The free wi-fi did not work at our site. Cable TV was available at an extra charge. There was a nice swimming pool. The campground is on a river, but only rental cottages have a river view. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
Rate based on weekly rate and also winter rates. We stayed in 53 which is the river site. Beautiful view, staff was great, we had over paid and they brought it to our attention and reimbursed us right away. We rented the 2 sites that are their river sites; sister brought her class C in and camped with us. Fished the Guadalupe for trout. Had a great time and the service was wonderful. They have a new store and office and it is so much better than before. We will spend more time here next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
We stayed in number 32. If you are considering the river site, it is not actually close to the river, and you will have very little room and no privacy. The sites are very close together. The park is clean, staff friendly. The only complaint is that it is 13 miles to I-35 from the camp site, so consider that if you plan to go into town very much. The price was a little elevated. Internet was not very good at site and on my Verizon iPhone. We would consider this place again, but I bet it's crowded after school is out. The cabins are yards away and teenagers a plenty, loud ones. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Stayed here because flyfishing guide launched his raft from here. Plenty of fisherpeople staying here. Nice location to explore Canyon Lake area. Good Verizon signal. Check-in person not too friendly, but allowed me to drive around until I could find a site with no tree blockage for satellite signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
Rate is PA-AM rate. Lovely quiet campground; we stayed in March. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Clean and quiet campground. Back road to historic Gruene is very scenic, however, would not recommend taking your motorhome down the back road, as it is very narrow. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$23
We have stayed in an RV site at Rio Raft & Resort several times and have also rented a large cabin for a family reunion. The facilities and courtesy are wonderful! We also cannot say enough good things about the wonderful view and great "walk-about space" near the Guadalupe River. Of course, the fact that we are trout fishers in our family only adds to the allure for this favorite place (of ours) to stay in the winter months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This is a really neat park with a lot of amenities including cable TV, Wi-Fi and lots of shade especially for central Texas. Our stay started off on a bad note because of despite having ressie's for over 4 months, we couldn't get the site amenities that we had requested: 50 amp, cable TV and full hookups. Oh well, what are you going to do? Turn around and drive back home or make the best of it. Anyway, this park has great access to the "party river" of Texas and it can get a little too crazy if you have kids during the weekend. In addition, it has a great pool that has a wheelchair entry with a covered area for picnics a couple of pool showers and restrooms. They also have a small store that offers things that campers will need, but it comes with a price. The hookups at this park are better than most. One power pole with water and cable TV shared between two RV spots, each with their own hookups and waste dump. This is a pretty slick way of doing this and also gives you more room between campers. The Wi-Fi worked good all weekend long except for the last night. Don't know what happened, but none of my party could get online. Give this park a look, they really do offer the best RV park in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
The pool was very big and nice and the water was very clean. No bath houses, just a pot in a closet with an outdoor sink. Not even enough for the tent campers, so if you don't have your own bathroom, forget it. Last row didn't have cable tv, but they didn't tell us that, so we were all set-up before we realized there was no cable in that row. It is a nice park otherwise. Shade available. There is a Super S grocery nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$19
Rio RV Park is located on a beautiful piece of land right on the Guadaloupe River. My wife and I stayed here for about 2 weeks to fly fish the river. Sites are level and easy to access. Staff is friendly and helpful. CATV is available, but extra. Wi-Fi is very good compared to most campgrounds (we could actually stream movies). The one downside of this campground are the bathrooms. No hot water at the sink in the men's room, and very little heat. Given morning temps in the 30's, a shower and shave was a chilly experience. All in all we enjoyed our stay here - and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
We stayed here for about 5 months. We loved the place and we have lived in the area for over 5 years. I guess the only problem would be the dog waste police. This guy spots your dog, and when you walk away, has to quickly check his business and report it. We had a nice and relaxing time. Great people and area. I'd come here, but only if I can bring my dog, which is the off season, but to me thats the best time! It was $480.00 a month including cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Just off 306/Sattler-easy to get to and pull in with our 38' Motorhome. Two rows for pull through, with back row plenty of room. I stayed in #73, nice pecan tree for shade. Outdoor table was heavy duty and big for family meals. Pool nice, bathroom clean the few times we used them. Check was a breeze and store stays open past posted times. Raft company on the grounds made it easy. Buddies stayed in tents up front near river and said it was loud into the wee hours. Said resort officials had to go out there several times to lower the loud talking. Pedestals were wired correctly and up to par. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
They are the rudest park owners that we've ever met. They have very strict rules and that is fine but it's the way in which they bark these rules out to folks - feels like a kindergarten class with the Wicked Witches from the east! When we checked out, they tried to accuse me of having visitors (which must pay $8 a head if you do) and we had no visitors. When I said that we had no visitors of any kind, the head witch smeared back "Are you sure?" My answer back to her was a very loud: "Are YOU sure??!" Ticked me off royally. They also have a huge bee/hornet problem, which when I informed them they acknowledged that they knew they had a problem for weeks! Bad business to not tell folks up front what to expect to find at their site! 5 of our 6 camping folks got stung twice! We will not be going back there again. They royally suck in customer service. Stay far away from them. There are other local camp grounds that treat their customers way nicer! Skip this place unless you want to visit the camp from Hell! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
I was excited by how well our late (after dark)arrival was handled and how nice the folks were. This soon faded the next day when it came time to pay up and the day crew took over. I was quoted a rate on the phone, but lots of extra fees / taxes plus charges for kids and then when our friends came by to pick us up for dinner, they wouldn't let them in without charging them as well. Lots of wrist bands to wear and parking passes to display and it was just not that great a place. Very dry weather had the river down a bunch and our stuff was coated with dust, inside and out. We checked out a few other parks in the area and unless you want one "close" to the water, there are others that look better. It looks like they built cabins where the good sites were at one time. Bonus - Stop at Ninfa's Taco stand up at the "Y" when headed toward Canyon Lake. Best breakfast tacos ever, but not much to look at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$20
Very friendly staff. Quiet park, but probably busy during the summer months when rafting and tubing begins on the river. This is the Guadalupe River just below the dam on Canyon Lake. Easy to find and easy to navigate. Roads and sites were gravel but level. River is beautiful and we were there in late December when the water was high. I can only imagine what its like when the trees are full and the river goes down a bit. Will definitely make this place a stop when visiting the hill country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com