214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Champagne Lakes was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (760) 749-7572
CGID9223

Champagne Lakes

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   2   3   6   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
The rate above is based on a 15-night stay. I agree with the reviewer below me. Older reviews are very outdated. We stayed here based on the recommendation of someone who was working for the park during its renovations. I loved this park. It was quiet, with easy access just a mile off I-15. Although I didn't use the showers or restrooms, I did peek in and they were very clean. The laundry facilities were great - $1.50 to wash, $1.25 to dry for 45 minutes. The machines were relatively new. When you check in, the office assistant drives you around in a golf cart to show you the sites available that will fit your rig. The owner lives on site, and there are many employees out and about keeping things clean and in repair. The sites were huge. The cement pads very generous. We stayed in site #42. My only complaint, and the reason I did not give the park a 10 out of 10, is due to cellular voice and Internet reception. This has nothing to do with the park itself, other than its location. It is down in a dip and I think it just misses the cell tower signals. Our Verizon phones often cut out and we missed calls. Our Millenicom MiFi was slow to load. Our DirecTV dish, although it took a bit to find the satellite, came in just fine. They park does offer free cable, and Internet is available for a fee via TengoInternet. The closest shopping and services is in Oceanside and Temecula. Groceries, gas, restaurants, banks, etc, all within 20 minutes. The store at the park is closed but my understanding is they were hoping to find someone to lease it and reopen it before summer. They do offer propane delivery to your site 6 days a week. It was a little higher price than we could have gotten elsewhere, but the convenience was worth the higher price. There are many full time/year round residents here, but everyone kept their sites clean. It is not what I would call a "resort" but there was a swimming pool and some catch and release fishing ponds as well as a small playground for little kids. I was looking for some place quiet, with nice scenery, close to San Diego and surrounding areas. I would recommend this place and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
Relative recommended that I stay at this park. I must say the previous reviews are definitely old/outdated reviews. The park renovations are completed and the campground is beautiful. The roads are newly paved, the concrete pads are large and can fit the big RVs, the pool was clean, the restrooms / laundry were clean, the landscaping is well maintained and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend this park to others. If you are reading the older reviews I assure you they are outdated. You should visit the park and make your own assessment, I think you will be pleasantly surprised. I plan on staying here when I'm in the area again, it's a hidden gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
This park was a big disappointment for us. When we arrived for a 2 night stay we were required to pay for a 3 night minimum. Our Good Sam discount was not recognized either. We were required to pay a deposit for a gate card and then had to wait until late on the morning of our departure for the office to open so we could recover our money. When we were escorted to our site we passed by campers in poor condition, and some even appeared abandoned. Our site was newly concreted, but was so badly out of level that I used several blocks to level our camper. Power and water worked fine but the cable was snowy. WI-Fi was available but at an unreasonable cost. The park rules forbid large dogs but we were soon accosted by a pit bull and 2 German Shepard's who would have killed our little dog had we not reacted quickly. Rules required cleanup after dogs but the roads and paths were lined with droppings. We had to pay $2 extra for our little dog but there was no dog run and obviously the cost wasn't used for the park cleanup either. Traffic completely disregarded the speed limit and walking the park roads was risky. The only nice thing about this park was the lake. The ducks swimming in it made for a tranquil setting. If we're in the area again we'll definitely stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
We will never stay at this park again. So many problems. Construction with heavy equipment begins promptly at 6 AM every day of the week. Yet the park owners require quiet time from the campers from 10 PM to 8 AM. The employees drive incredibly fast around the park, though there is a posted 10 MPH speed limit sign. There is a large amount of permanent residents with sites that look like garbage dumps. The three Ponds are advertised as lakes, but are well stocked with catch and release only. Campers fish free, but the public has to pay to fish at $5 a day. The smell of septic is as constant as the breeze and wafts through camp all the time. Wi-Fi is available, but comes at a high per day cost. Monthly rate was $699 plus electric and ironically electric cost more a month for a camper than it did for our friends whole house - and they live around the corner. Don't buy bait from them, the worms are all dead. Don't get propane from them - unless you've recently won the lottery. This place will nickel and dime you into the poor house! Lots are too close together, no space to enjoy, there are rat traps everywhere, no one picks up after the dogs (which you have to pay extra for). You have to pay $10 deposit to get a 'gate key' yet anyone can drive through the gate during the day, and at night four or five vehicles will go through at once. So the gate is useless. If you stay short term, the key deposit is returned when you depart - provided you hang around till 9 AM when the office opens! If you stay monthly, a $200 deposit must be given in addition to the gate key deposit. You get NO refund on that deposit when you depart... it's mailed to you. Basically, it's a scam, the owner is out for the almighty dollar and cares NOT for your comfort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We stayed here for 2 months this year. The park is pretty quiet, except for the construction noise. Most of the sites are used by long term residents. Most of which were very nice and considerate. There is a posted 10 miles per hour speed limit which is not followed or enforced. The park staff are the fastest drivers here. The owner is improving the park by redoing the sites to make them larger and all with concrete pads. The equipment that is being used to do the work runs all day and adds to the noise. This is a temporary issue, but it appears they will be working for a year or more on the park. Hopefully they will make the sites a little wider to allow for comfortable use of the patio area with the slide-outs. Your tow car must be parked in the site as well. Makes for a cramped site. Monthly electric runs about $130. This added to the $699 for the monthly fee makes it a little high. We did compare it with a park closer to the 78 fwy and it was much higher, with a lot more freeway noise. All in all we had a very pleasant stay but look forward to seeing it when all construction is completed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
This is a permanent camp consisting mainly of trailers and fifth wheels on monthly or seasonal rentals. Some of these RVs have obviously been in the same spot for years. It is not big rig friendly. Our rig is 36 feet, which is as large as we would like to drive on these narrow curvy camp roads and back into the narrow sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Great location right off freeway but quite. Service and staff are wonderful and very flexible. The "permanent" tenants weren't all the quietest. There are a few lakes there that are more like ponds, but there are plenty of trees and shade and a nice little creek that runs the length of the grounds. They have a great huge site with partial hook-ups for rv & tent camping together- we easily fit our 27' trailer with our truck and 2 tents. No discriminating against certain breeds of dog & you can have campfires, but you must bring or make your own ring or fire pit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com