219017 User submitted reviews online!!
Cloudland Canyon State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 57 user reviews. Phone: (706) 657-4050
CGID924

Cloudland Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   10   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
Great state park on top of Lookout mt in N.GA. A deep rugged canyon with hiking paths all along the rim with steep long wooded stairs leading from the east campground to the canyon floor and the waterfall. The west CG is more spread out with wide separated compacted gravel sites with heavy timber border, two bath houses and one play ground. Paved CG road. Most sites fairly level but some need levelers. The east CG is more civilized with cabins, closer sites, a nature center and trails to the canyon floor and falls, and to the magnificent overlook over the canyon and the deep valley along which Trenton GA and the interstate I 59.Best come up from Trenton. The road north to the town of Lookout Mt ends up in narrow very tight curvy roads with very poor route signage to the two roads leading off the north end of the mt into Chattanooga. Very easy to get loss in the irregular town road system. Not RV van territory. The park is first class. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
We spent 2 nights and enjoyed it. We were in pull-through site #48 in the West Rim area. Even though the park says they only have 30 amp electric, this site has 50 amp. Several others we checked also had 50 amp. Many of the 30 amp sites we looked at had two 30 amp plugs. The water and electric worked fine. The site was well packed gravel and only minor leveling was needed. Most of the sites we considered were level like that. We tried site 40 first, but found it to be too far out of level side to side. The bathrooms, showers and laundry were immaculate. The laundry even had a rocking chair. We are only giving an 8 rating because of the internal roads and the fact that Georgia charges a $5 vehicle fee on top of the campground fee. The internal roads are narrow, as expected, but there has been a lot of rain water erosion on the sides of the roads. This makes the back-in sites difficult. Combined with the narrowness and curves, it creates a drop off that our one-ton dually would have a hard time dealing with turning and backing, into a site. The road into the park from the interstate does have 2 switch- backs and climbs 1000 feet in under 4 miles, but the turns have wide shoulders and we had no trouble negotiating it with our 14000 lb 5th wheel. The $28 rate is before our 20% senior discount. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
This is a great state park with a lot to do here. Great lookout points, waterfalls, and hiking. Good campground with really nice host. Our site was very level (34) and most sites looked level as well. My only knock is I like a little more space between the sites for a state park. Don't get me wrong spacing is good I just like more privacy. Very quite campground especially for a Saturday. We love Cloudland Canyon and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
We agree with other comments: this is an excellent State Park that offers a lot. We also stayed in the East camping area which is close to: (1) a large picnic area, (2) the Interpretive Center, and (3) tennis courts. Also, the trailhead to the falls is walking distance from the camping area, as are very nice large cabins for rent (8 persons). The north area also offers cabins and a Yurt Village. We were told the campground only has 30 amp service, which is what we had. The sites in the East Camping are are all gravel, built up an level from the surrounding hilly terrain, and bordered with 8x8 timbers with railings. Much like we experience at Corps of Engineer campgrounds. We were lucky in that we did receive satellite reception on site 68. It was very peaceful here during the week with only one other camper in the park. We definitely will return here in our motorhome and visit all the attractions in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
$30 bought us 30 amps, on-site water, and a dump station on exit. We stayed in the east loop which is more open but even so we were unable to obtain a satellite view. Sites were spaced apart, as you'd expect for a state park. While the campground is shaded, there is no vegetation between sites to enhance privacy. The campground was empty when we arrived so we picked a site offering an unobstructed view of the woods. During our visit in late April, there were still signs of spring with numerous dogwood trees in bloom. Bathrooms and showers were clean, and they have a single washer and dryer for $1 per load each. There are many pet-friendly hiking trails, many of which start from the campground. An easy trail runs along the edge of the canyon offering breathtaking views. The campground is located just minutes off I-59 at Trenton GA making this a great stopover location on our way to the Smoky Mountains NP. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
The reason this park received a 9 is because the bathrooms and showers are old. Campground sites are level, clean and easy in and out. Views of the canyons are beautiful and lots of hiking trails. Be aware that the hike to the falls involves many steps down to the falls and back up. You must be in good shape to make this trek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Gorgeous location and reasonably convenient to grocery and Chattanooga. The hike to the waterfalls is pretty tough, but worth it. We stayed in the East campground which is more open than the West, but the bathhouse was pretty old, but reasonably clean. No satellite, but were able to get the main networks over the antenna. Verizon cell service was good. One of the best state parks we have been in - will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Wonderful State Park with spacious sites, wooded areas, hikes, yurts, cabins and the view from the top of canyon is fabulous. We stayed in West Rim which is more secluded and not near trails. Sites are level and space between each other. Scenic drive into park, easy to navigate roads and easy back in to sites. Bathhouses clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
A beautiful park. We stayed in the west rim CG, a beautifully wooded setting with very well done sites. While there are no sewer hookups, there are grey water dumping stations scattered generously scattered throughout the CG. A brand new yurt village, just across a shallow ravine from the CG was a day or two from opening but we peaked inside one and were very impressed with these as well. The trails are among the prettiest you'll find anywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Another excellent Georgia State Park. I stayed in the West Rim campground section. Level site with plenty of space between (not many sites were occupied), nice campfire area, plenty of sites are convenient to bathroom facilities, laundry facilities a real bargain ($1.00 wash/dry). Walked along part of the West rim which offered amazing views of the canyon. Trails are nicely marked but a word of caution - there are no safety rails so be mindful of kids and dogs getting to close to the edge. Great park location for exploring Chattanooga TN and the surrounding area. Lookout Mountain a must. Hope to return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Arrived here around 1:00pm on Friday and headed to west rim campground. There was a lot of empty sites but they already had name tags on them. Was told you couldn't hold a site, so I didn't understand that. Very few sites in the east or west rim that a 40' motorhome would fit in. Found one that was pretty unlevel but it worked. Would not want to get here after dark. West rim was nice and woodsy and the east rim was more like a park and also close to the day use area. I would suggest to unhook your toad before you head up the mountain, because it is steep! I did like the campground and would go back again! Next time I might come on Thursday and try to find a little better site, as I said for bigger rigs they are few and far between. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Second time we have camped here. We were here in April last time and the campground was nearly empty. It was full this time. However, it is a very nice campground. The hiking trails are very nice. The waterfalls and the fall foliage were beautiful. There are no stores nearby, so come prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
This was our first stay at Cloudland Canyon. We stayed at the West Rim Campground, which is newer and has roomier sites than the East Rim. The campground is hilly but the sites are level and shaded. The bath house was well-stocked but was only cleaned once during our 3 day stay. There are numerous hiking trails around this large park but they are all moderate to difficult. There is an interpretative center near the East Rim campground and beautiful views of the canyon from that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This is a beautiful park and we had a great stay. I was tempted to give it a 10 but the campsites do not have 50 amp (which we usually use) or sewer hookups. However we used the 30 amp with no problems and well maintained dump stations are nearby. We stayed at the west rim campground in a very peaceful and quiet setting curtained by beautiful trees. We walked the campground and didn't see one poorly located campsite. The east rim campground is more like a park setting but also lovely. We would be happy at either one. The hiking and views of the gorge were equally breathtaking in their own way! Looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
This is a very nice, but somewhat secluded, campground. Sites are located in the woods and are gravel and mostly level with picnic tables and fire rings. Grey water dump stations are at various locations in the campground. Primitive hiking trails provide great views of the canyon and beautiful waterfalls. If you enjoy being away from it all then this is a great place to go. I'd give it a 10 if it had full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Checked in on a Wednesday and the very helpful and friendly person at check in told we could pick any empty site. Drove through the West Rim loop and quickly decided on site #7. Site was an easy back-in with only woods on the passenger side. The park has several beautiful trails and is very dog-friendly. We hiked about 20 miles in our three days here. Camp hosts were also friendly and helpful. We didn’t use any of the facilities but in our drive through and hiking found most of the sites to be spaced well apart and to have plenty of shade. The water pressure and electricity were fine. We hope to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a very nice campground, with clean bathhouse. Lots trails nearby. The campsites are wooded and graveled. The campground hosts are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Only thing keeping this from being a 10 is no black water sewer dumping at any site. There were grey water drains in various areas, which was a plus. The west rim campgrpimd had plenty of shade for the hot weather. The sites were wide and nicely laid out. Campground hosts were helpful and friendly. Due to the somewhat remoteness of the campground, would recommend staying quite a few nights. It's worth it!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
This is just an OK campground - it's your typical state park - space between sites, water and electric. The bathhouses are in desperate need of remodeling and were not clean during our stay. The work-campers were very friendly and very attentive, and we saw DNR police drive through on several occasions so it seems the park is well monitored. We had no issues with noisy neighbors, etc. The views from some of the overlooks are great, but not worth driving out of my way to see again. If your idea of camping is nature and hiking regardless of facilities, then you'll be the happiest here. If you're looking for a place to stay while visiting Chattanooga, look elsewhere. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
We stayed in the west campground, site 48, a pull through. We were in a 28 Ft 5th wheel. Park has clean toilets/shower. The showers are heated and they are kept at a warm temperature. The sites are large and easy to enter. Staff and hosts were wonderful. The park is located 35/40 minutes from Chattanooga TN. We had lunch at 2 great restaurants in Chattanooga. (1) Mt Vernon (423) 266-6591 - 3535 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37409 (Upscale). (2) Jenkins Country Style Buffet 4122 Ringgold Road, East Ridge, TN 37412. $9 all you can eat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
This was a very nice park. The rangers and attendants were friendly. The park was well maintained. They had a hay ride with hot chocolate through the woods and around the lake. They had different levels of Hiking. Beautiful scenery. The bathrooms were clean. The sights were well graveled with pic-nick tables. The fire rings were kind of off to the side and were just rocks in a circle it was OK but ours was kind of hard to get to. My only issue was the edge of the road through the campground dropped off severely so backing into our sight was tricky as were most of the sights. All in all...I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We camped here to be able to drive go to the worlds longest yard sale. We always enjoy the views, and the park, one of the most beautiful parks we have been too. The showers on the lower loop of the west rim are worn and showing their age, but still function. Sites are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Great state park facility. Plenty of room in each site. Was not crowded, almost empty during our weekend stay. Will be going back to this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Gorgeous area - 2 campgrounds, one on each rim. Good park for hiking. Caving and disc golf available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed in site #37 in West Rim. This was our second stay here (see review 09/2007). We intentionally picked this campground again so we could eat at the Canyon Grill down the road from the park. Last time we were here GA was having a drought. This time there was plenty of water in the waterfalls making the hike well worth it. They had even added another section to hike since we were here last. Park is very cool after the heat of the Midwest for us. Hosts were extremely friendly and we didn't notice too many insects this time. Another difference was there was cell phone service for both ATT and Verizon, and we did get some TV stations. There were no ranger programs during the week when we were here but they do have them on weekends. Office staff were pleasant to deal with. Most sites are level and very private in West, very open in East. Bathhouses still need to be updated but were clean. Grey water dump areas spread throughout camping areas. Playgrounds right in camping loops. West Rim and East Rim are not close together so a car is needed if wanting to go between and not take all day to get there. There is a hiking path from West to Rim but it is a 4 mile walk. There is a $5 parking pass charge added to your site fee but it is a one time charge not paid everyday of your stay. This is a special place where you can slow down and relax and just take a deep breath. Much needed after the last park we stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
This is a beautiful and popular park for nature lovers. The nightly fee was $28, but there was an additional $5 "parking fee" that is charged even if you are camping. There are two main campground areas - west and east. We chose the west because even though it was almost full, the sites were in a more natural setting and with more space between them than the sites in the east campground. There are well-maintained and mostly shaded trails in the park that lead to views over the canyon or down to the bottom of two waterfalls. The trails to the waterfalls are for those who are physically fit because there are a multitude of steps to climb down and back up to get to the bottom of the falls. Park hosts and rangers drove through frequently. The campground was quiet. It is pet-friendly. There was cell phone coverage for AT&T. There are one or two dump stations on your way out of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
The west rim is one of the nicest campgrounds I’ve visited. Spacing and layout of the campsites affords very good privacy, views of woods. I could not see a campsite that I would consider undesirable. The shade is very good, with tree cover throughout. The campground is very well cared for. It's quiet most of the time, very clean. Gray water drains are provided at several convenient locations in campground, in addition to the typical dump station at the access road. Trails are accessible from the campground, so there's no need to drive once you're set up. I would give the west rim 10/10. The east rim campground is situated between the day use area access road and the rental cabins – quite close to each. There's not much tree cover, and no privacy to speak of. We didn’t stay in the east rim campground, but it looks like it would feel far less “in-the-woods” than the excellent west rim campground. I would give the east rim 7/10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Excellent for hiking. Great place to relax. Hiking at all levels and awesome views of canyon and falls. There are "gray water" tanks through out that are good if you have a portable tank. Dump station is far off. Bath houses are clean. We did spend a night in one during a tornado warning. On the property is some private residences that are so junky they distract from the overall beauty of the park. Really need to get the health dept out here to check on them. They are not near the campsites but you see them if you go to the center. Overall, I recommend this campground, especially if you hike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We loved this park! Wonderful large sites! Great hiking opportunities with great views. Park Rangers were very helpful and nice. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
A great little campground tucked away on the top of a steep mountain. Very nice sites and clean bathrooms and showers. Nice helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
This park is just beautiful. The sites are level and well spaced. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
It is a very nice campground in a beautiful state park. We stayed in the West loop. There are many large sites, although some can be a bit challenging to get into. Surprisingly good cell and off-air TV reception. It's pretty far to the dump station, but if you have a tote there are grey water drains scattered throughout the loop. You can't reserve specific sites, so even if you have reservations you should come early for best selection. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This was one of the nicest parks that we've camped in. The scenery was spectacular. The park itself was pretty and very well taken care of. The campsites were large and level. Both the east and west rim campsites were nice. The west rim sites were a little more private. The bathrooms were clean and very well supplied. It is probably better than most state parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We stayed here during July and couldn't believe how nice the temps were. We live in Florida, so it was refreshing to sit outside during the middle of the day and be able to enjoy it. The campground has some of the most beautiful views of any park we have stayed at in Georgia. The staff is extremely friendly, and the campsites are clean and were very well thought out when the built them. The trails are beautiful, although be sure you take plenty of water if your going to go to the falls, they aren't joking about the 1200 steps down. The west loop is the better of the two, way better campsites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We love this park! To me, this is the ultimate in camping because of the woods, the sites and "getting away from it all". We've only stayed on the West Rim. We like the Georgia State Park system because you can reserve online. I just wish they would let us reserve the site. You still have to get there early because "tent campers" will take the big pull through sites. The campground hosts were wonderful: she makes a wonderful macaroni salad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
Extremely nice state park. The sites have all been leveled by framing in the parking areas with stacked 4X6 beams. New gravel in the sites with a picnic table and rock fire ring at each site. The roads are paved. There was a warm bath house with a new washer and dryer in front. The bath houses are a little worn, but completely acceptable. There is a children's play ground with toys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
The west rim loop is the better than the east rim loop are correct. The camp ground hosts are very helpful. Beautiful scenery!! The staff could not have been more polite or helpful. The camp store carries a supply of simple necessities. The campground is very well-kept. The sites are large with plenty of greenery for privacy. The bath houses are thoroughly cleaned and stocked each day. We highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We camped at the west rim loop last weekend and were very impressed. The other posts saying that the west rim loop is the better than the east rim loop are absolutely correct. The campground is very well-maintained. The sites are large with plenty of greenery for privacy. The bath houses are thoroughly cleaned and stocked each day. The camp ground hosts are very kind. One even asked me on my way out of the bath house if the floors looked okay enough to wait until after the early morning rush to be mopped. There is a laundry room in each bath house with a huge dish sink and drain board. The east rim loop was still very nice and is closer to canyon trails and disc golf course. We did both trails and actually liked the west rim better for the views and fewer people. The east rim trails take you down hundreds of steps to the waterfalls. The scenery makes up for the steps but this is definitely a stair master workout! The disc golf course is well-kept and nicely laid out. The holes in the forest are more than a challenge! We spent a good bit of time talking to the staff at the camp store. The rangers and check in staff could not have been more polite or helpful. The camp store carries a limited supply of necessities and there is a convenience store just a half a mile from the park entrance. We highly recommend this park and the whole family is looking forward to visiting again soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
The atmosphere is what made this perfect. Your on top a mountain with loads of trees. The sites were very nice. Hiking trail to the waterfall. Lots of activity for the kids. Very nice and would go back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
This is a great campground set in a beautiful location in North Georgia. The campsites are very large and we have always found easy, flat sites to set up on. There is excellent hiking in this area with breath taking views. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
As with the other Georgia parks we have visited, this park is very well maintained. We stayed in the West rim which is away from the canyon. While the park is not "unfriendly" to big rigs it is challenging. We made it to a pull-thru site although the rim road is tight with some curves. Our site was not level and we noticed that others were the same. The roads are paved with gravel sites that have picnic tables, bbq grills, fire rings and lantern posts. The park is wooded and the canyon view is spectacular. We went to a lookout area, but there are hiking trails. There is also an 18 hole disc golf course. We had never seen this before and watched lots of people playing. The road up from I-59 is mountainous--steep with lots of curves. We did fine in the 42' MH and certainly proceeded up and down with caution. We stayed several days as this is truly a fine park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
As with all of the Georgia State Parks we have camped in this one did not let us down. Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking views we have ever seen, Cloudland Canyon is one of Georgia's natural wonders. The camp sites are spacious and well shaded. Several friends and I who are also "cavers" such as myself used the park as our home base while we explored some of the areas cave systems. Although there is no sewage on each site, there are however many conventiently located grey water dump stations located throughout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Cloudland Canyon Campground has two campgrounds; east rim and west rim. The east rim was closed during my visit, but the west rim is the most private and roomiest of the two. The overlook into the canyon is near the east rim campground and is not within walking distance of the west rim campground. It is worth the drive to see it. When checking in, the personnel were very helpful, professional, and friendly. They did not require me to report back to them which site I was to occupy, just told me to put the signage on the site post, which eliminated having to make another trip back to the check in. There are about 10-12 miles of trails here and the west rim trail is very scenic. The trip to the waterfalls is very difficult- not going, but coming back up out of the canyon is a thigh burner! The waterfalls to the left at the trail junction are easier to get to. The path to both falls are steps, not trail and there are a lot of 'em! The restrooms were very clean, the showers had plenty of hot water, and the laundry room was very clean as well. I liked the park and would recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
The road up Lookout Mt. was beautiful, with switchbacks, but pulling the 5er up was a breeze. They were closed when we got here, and although we had a reservation, they do not assign sites. Ranger told us to just go pick a site and sign in, in the morning. We chose West rim (thanks to this site), and it was beautiful. The pads are leveled. They are like rustic patios with railings, so that our sight could hang over a small canyon. We chose # 107. All sites on outside of circle have these "patios." There are some on the opposite side that also really hangover the little canyon. There are also plenty of sites with level ground beside and behind for kids to play. The hiking trail is about 2 miles each way from the west rim. We did one way each day. We also hiked down to the waterfalls. Brochure says it is difficult, but it is not at all. There are stairs down (open grill type) and our beagle was afraid to step on them. So we carried her all the way down and up. Was well worth it. Just to note: we got excellent TV reception with just our antennae. Rock City, Ruby Falls and the tram, are about 20 minutes on up the mountain. We only did Rock City as they allow dogs, but would have loved to do them all. Very picturesque campground. Didn't use their facilities, and the pumpout was easy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
This was our first camping trip with our new camper. So on Labor Day weekend we decided to load up and go somewhere close by. Cloudland Canyon was the local destination we decided on. Their is 2 areas to camp, The west rim and the east rim. When we checked in the west rim was full so we needed headed over to the east rim and quickly found a nice level site across from the playground. We hooked up to water and electric with no problems. We had a stone picnic table and we also had a lantern hook. Our kids (10 AND 14) went to explore and they quickly found the canyon overlook and some friends to hang with, rode their bikes, and played football in the grassy area near the small pavilion and bath house. The next day we drove over to the west rim to take a look around and quickly found out that the area was bigger with more trees per site. (a lot more private but for us not as kid friendly.) No grassy area for Frisbee or football. We had a wonderful 1st camping experience. We would go back in a heartbeat. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the bath house needed to be updated. (although clean) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
We were in site #48, a very long PT site.There are 2 campgrounds: east rim and west rim. The west rim has the longer sites, although by the end of summer all sites are supposed to fit up to a 40 ft RV. Sites had fire rings, separate grills, lantern poles and picnic tables. All sites were gravel except handicapped ones. They also have separate walk in and back country sites for tent camping. Park has 40 person lodge, tennis courts, disc golf, hiking trails, playgrounds (total of 3, 2 in camping areas), store in ranger station, wildlife observatory tower, 2 dump stations (easy to get in and out of), and several grey water drains in the camping areas. No TV or cable-way too many trees for reception. 5 PT's in west loop, 2 in east loop. We had perfect weather for the mountains, about 60 at night and 78 in the daytime. Restrooms were very clean but also very old. Need updated. All playground equipment was new and bathhouses had new paint and shingles. The only bad thing I can say about this park is that there were a LOT of stinging insects in the camping area. Not sure if it is a favorite place to nest or what, but come prepared with bite sticks and repellent. Rangers offered our child a JR Ranger book and she finished it while we camped and earned 3 badges. We were able to see deer, and many different kinds of birds in the park. We also discovered a fabulous restaurant right outside the park called Canyon Grill. It's a little pricey but everything is homemade and wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
A top notch GA State Park. Good hiking a very clean campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Beautiful campground! We stayed in the West Rim Campground. The sites were very private, level, and had a wonderful pad setup with fire ring, lantern holder, grill and railings. Even though on top of a mountain, the drive was not too bad. The only thing that would enhance this campground would be sewer hookups and cable...but you can't have it all. A pool would also be nice. The scenery from the canyon rim was spectacular. However, don't believe anyone that says the hike to the falls are not strenuous! My family is in pretty good shape, but we quit counting steps at around 700...and it was hard. It's not a very kid-friendly campground, but my wife and I would have been perfectly content enjoying nature by the campfire! Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
Very nice mountain-top state park. The road to the park is steep with switchbacks but we did just fine with a 35 motorhome and toad. The sites are wooded. Lots of hiking trails in the park. We will be back to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
A beautiful State Park, with nice sites, old but clean bathrooms. The hiking is terrific. Great place to get your teen "back to nature". We'll do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This is our favorite park for a mountain visit. We prefer the west rim over the east rim area as the sites are more secluded. Beautiful park with gorgeous views, the campground hosts and DNR rangers are exceptionally nice and helpful. Only a short drive (6 mi.) down the mountain to supermarket. The pull up the mountain is not a terrible climb. We will return again (and again)! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$22
This park has some of the most beautiful scenery of any park in the Georgia state park system. The West rim of the campground is far more private and has larger sites than the East rim. The campground is very shady and while you cannot reserve sites, each site has either a piece of red or green reflective tape beside the site number. The rangers give you a color coded card with your name on it when you register. The red sites are for smaller rigs or tents and the green sites are for larger rigs. You are free to pick your site but the strip of tape on the site number must match the color on the card you are given. All sites are shaded and contain a picnic table and a grill. Fire rings are located near each campsite. The rangers are very friendly and helpful. The only reason I did not give the park a 10 is because the dump station is located in a very inconvenient place. You must go outside the campground to get to it. However, we loved the park and we will return again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
This is the third or forth time we've camped here. However, we haven't been in several years. This is still a very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
We stayed in the west rim camping area. The sites were large, private, and well maintained. Although the bathrooms were old, they were immaculate. There was a laundry room located at each comfort station. Camp hosts and park rangers were helpful and friendly. The east rim sites were smaller with less privacy and suitable more for tents and pop-ups. Chatanooga and Chicamauga were both within easy driving distance. We will definitely be returning to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
Wonderful campground. We prefer the "west rim" campground. Hardly a bad site to be had. Was not full even though it was a holiday weekend (Labor Day). Great scenery, far enough away from the city but close enough to be handy and options for things to do. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This park was the nicest scenary we have ever had for a long weekend of camping (Fall Colors were spectacular). The park is located on top of Lookout Mountain, and the pull up the mountain was fairly easy. The East Rim campground is the nicest, but get there early on the weekend. Gray water drains are located at various places around the park, and a dump station is available. If only they had sewer at each site, they would have gotten a 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Great place to camp if you enjoy being in the middle of nature. Excellent hiking trails and scenic views. This park offers a city style campground and also a wooded style campground to choose from. Make your reservatons early because this park fills up quickly. We camped there in the fall of 2002 with two children and planed to return in 2003 but could not get reservations because they were full. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com