206516 User submitted reviews online!!
Toutle River RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (360) 274-8373
CGID9240

Toutle River RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
306
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   10   6   4   10   8   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$44
The good is the park has lots for families to do. The space is good between paved roads good services. We have stayed before and returned because of the activities, but the park is in need of up keep. What grass there - it was not mowed, even a weed eater would have worked. For the price it should have been in better shape. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This is a great RV resort, except for the fact that it's sandwiched between a VERY busy set of train tracks and a VERY busy I-5. It was hard to enjoy the resort with the constant noise of trains and highway traffic. Our travel trailer shook every time the train went by. We didn't get any sleep, so we were actually happy to leave. If not for the noise, this is probably a very nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Toutle River RV Resort is a very nice park which is relatively wide open; therefore, big rig and satellite dish friendly. The people that work in the park are super nice and friendly and have always been accommodating. The store located at the check in area has just about everything you might need with a huge variety of snacks and movies to rent. The laundry facilities are first rate and the swimming pool is real nice and is open from May – September and heated to just the right temp. There is even a dog shower and grooming area and in the same area there is a place where the dogs can socialize while the owners do their own relaxing and socializing. This park is very centrally located for visits to the Mount Saint Helen’s Visitor Center, Silver Lake, and the August Grand National Championship Flat Track Motorcycle Race at the famous Castle Rock TT track. There is also great fishing on the Toutle and Cowlitz River and just East of Castle Rock the fishing and boat rental at Silver Lake is really hard to beat! A quick 10 mile drive south gets you to Longview, WA which is a larger city and you can even cross the bridge there into Oregon and visit many small towns along the southern shore of the Columbia River. The RV Park is situated between railroad tracks and the I5 freeway so there certainly is not total peace and quiet; however, if you like the sound of trains then this is your place. I have stayed here a few times and the occasional train for me is fun to hear and watch and the freeway is just light background noise. All things considered I heartily recommend this park and if you like an evening fire make sure to ask for a site with a fire pit. I stayed 1 week which is reflected in my nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is one of the best parks I have been in, the staff is beyond reproach being very helpful, friendly, and professional. The park is limited access, there is a welcome hut at the entrance. The laundry facilities are clean with 3 washers and 3 dryers. We got a site that was 95' long, exactly what we need with our trailer. The sites were spaced far enough apart to be very comfortable. Although we didn't use the pool or hot tub they appeared clean. Yes, there is train noise but it's muffled by a berm, and I like trains so the noise didn't bother me, the noise from I-5 was minimal. This park is close to Mt. St. Helens and Mt. Rainer, Portland, and not that far from Seattle and Joint Base Lewis-McCord for those of us with a military need. The town of Castle Rock is only 2 miles away with a grocery store, post office, and restaurants. This park is on my list for the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
After bypassing this park back in 2009 because it was not completed (it was open), we stayed here one late July weeknight. We had a level, FHU pull-through. We were given only a hard to read computer printout of the park map and instructions concerning the internet at check-in. After driving what seemed like half a mile to our assigned site, we found it to be in the heavily treed section of the park. We had asked for a satellite friendly site, so that was not acceptable. We were then given an open site a couple hundred yards from the office/laundry/pool/restroom area. With so few RVs in the park (maybe 50 of the 300+ sites occupied), I don't know why they originally put us so far away and in the trees. As I was setting up, I noticed that the water was yellowish - even after running the water for 10 minutes. The office assured me that the water was tested, safe, and would not stain anything. I did a load of laundry that turned out fine. Later in the evening most of the yellow hue was gone. Since there was only one other RV with in 3 rows of our site, it must have taken a while for the "bad" water to clear the system. There is no cable TV (local provider does not service this area), but many sites are satellite friendly. Their WIFI provider is Tengo. Since I usually have trouble with Tengo and the sign on procedure appeared tedious, I did not bother with the WIFI. Except for those three issues (Wi-Fi cable, and water) the parks facilities and amenities are fine. Then there is the noise issue. The park is located between a busy rail line and I-5. It did not bother us too much, but obviously bothers a lot of folks. I think that the noise issue is why they don't have more long term or seasonal customers. I think that was their original goal (to have lots of extended stay customer), but the noise was too much for too many potential customers. If you don't mind the noise, can use Tengo, have your own satellite dish and trust the water, this park isn't bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This is actually a nice park; although, next to a very busy train tracks and a crossing. They stop at 2:30 a.m. and start again at 5:30 a.m. No sleep. Park has tall weeds and trees with mostly pull through sites. Beautiful setting, right next to I-5. We left a day early to go somewhere quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice clean big campsites - highly recommend for big coaches. Our lot size was 85 feet - great for pulling a vehicle. Lots of space between sites. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Very well maintained, clean and full-featured park. Pricey, but don't what other parks nearby were charging. No highway signage, so know the driving directions from the website. Stayed in the center of the park and I-5 traffic was not a problem. Trains nearby are frequent and noisy, but I knew that from other reviews. Wi-Fi was good. Management was helpful. Ideally located for Mt. Saint Helen's Visitors Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
This is a decent park. The staff seem friendly and the grounds are well kept. We are only staying one night so keep that in mind. We are staying in the middle of the park and the freeway noise isn't an issue and the train doesn't really bother us but it does come by at least once an hour. Our only real complaint is the park is half empty but yet they chose to put us in a spot that basically has unusable outside space because the the utilities and other garbage in our site. However, all said we would come back but would make sure we ask for any spot but 208. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Pros: Large RV spots, many amenities. Cons: Very loud. Freeway on one side, constant train traffic and loud whistles every 20 minutes. Poorly managed: restrooms not cleaned often enough, management hassles campers several times per day about parking permits, unorganized paperwork process. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Beautiful facilities. Great staff. Nice level sites with some trees. Wi-Fi slow at all times. Too bad they built this with a 6 lane Interstate highway on one side and a double track major railway with trains couple of times hourly 24 hours daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
We wanted to stay in this area, close to Mt. St. Helens. After one night we moved to another RV park. This RV park is an island between I-5 and the train. You have a choice of a site by I-5, my husband said he could count the lug nuts on the trucks, or by the train tracks. The clerk at the office said we were better off with I-5 noise, sure glad we didn't take the train noise if that was worse. The landscape is trees, the lawns are dead, our site was littered with garbage, and the pad was not level. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Very nice and close to Mt. St. Helens. Trains go by almost every 15 to 30 minutes, and they were very close to our site (within a half block). I like trains, but in the middle of the night it interfered with our rest. I gave this a 9 because it more than served our purpose which was to see Mt. St. Helens and not be in a really rustic RV park. We stayed 3 nights. People were friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
If you have a train phobia don't stay at this park! Personally, I found them entertaining. As others pointed out this is a new park so most of the landscaping is immature. There are some nicely wooded sites for those who aren't concerned about satellite reception. Bathrooms were very clean but located at opposite ends of the park. The northern one is a mobile type bathhouse, the other is part of the pool/office/store complex. The store was very well stocked with fair prices. Interior roads are all new pavement, sites are gravel, level, long and wide. The park is very clean. Lots of areas to walk our 4 legged campers but no enclosed dog run or waste bag stations. A fairly long hike to the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This spot is conveniently close to I-5. We stayed one night while en route south but it would be a great base to explore Mt. St. Helens too. Trees are small as others have noted but that will improve. Sites are super easy to get into. Lots of trains, but they weren't a problem noise wise. There is a nice trail to the Toutle River, where you can take a dip, or use the riverbank fire pit. A nice touch. We will return for sure! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
When I read in travel catalogs that this was "Washington's #1 RV Park", I had a certain level of expectation. Sign at entrance was faded, hard to see, went right past entrance. The park is clean, utilities well located for rigs of all sizes. If you have a satellite dish (for TV or internet) you shouldn't have any problem getting a signal. Most sites are wide open with just short trees. The biggest detraction is the train noise. I have never been in a park that had so many trains, passenger and freight, go by in a 24 hour period. I thought they would stop at night. No luck. It's just a small thing, but with all the "one way" signs in the roads to sites, there isn't a single "Exit" sign in the whole park, as large as it is. In the future we would look for an RV park farther away from these train tracks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
I rate places for three things: cleanliness, facilities and ambiance, with a maximum of 3 /3 for each. If the place is special, I give 1 more point for a maximum of 10. This facility gets 10/10 for me. It was clean, had excellent facilities and was beautifully laid out. Its a new campground. The sites and roads are paved, trees abound although many are still less that 10' high. The whole site is clean and well maintained. There are remarkable saunas worth trying and a multitude of things for kids to do to let off steam while the adults enjoy a glass of wine perhaps, after a long drive. Its marketed as the center for exploring the area and I'd agree. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi. It is not what it should be. The connection is via Tengo and is often difficult to connect to. Once connected, the bandwidth is dismal. I think the managers could do better with a simple router for their site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
My family had a great time here. The staff was kind and courteous. They had karaoke, a large social fire pit, and many other activities. My son and I did some Steel-head fishing. We took the lab down to the river to play and swim. The dog washing set up was a great help. Plenty of room, paved, and one way streets helped keep traffic flowing (watch out for the kids on bikes). We were close to the freeway, but that didn't bother us to much. The trains were a little annoying, but we will go back. I just wouldn't want to be in the sites that are right next to the tracks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Large campground, large spots. Trains pass by approximately 20 times day with very loud horns and I-5 traffic noise is on the other side. No cable TV. Staff is very nice except for the camp Manager who insulted us for having our kid's toy sacks by the picnic table. Lots of activities for kids; giant croquet course, disc golf, wooden play set (has nails sticking out), Karioke and movies on weekends. Restroom floors always dirty, no hot water unless you get there early, and garbage cans in park always overflowing. I have stayed in worse places, but for this price I will definitely pass next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
This park was clean and with friendly staff. The huge negative is the train noise which seems almost continuous during the day and night. Runs beside the park and uses whistle. Unfortunate, since this would keep us from returning. Looks like a great family park with movies, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We were here 5 days, and I have to say that this campground has potential (could be a 9 or 10), but they do not seem to take it seriously. The campground is new, but the restrooms/showers (we like the "family style" shower/restrooms) look as if they are very old because they look dirty and not well maintained. Maybe having only 3 for a park this size has caused this. If they ever get grass growing on the sites, it will be nice. Also, cable TV can help. (Not their fault: still waiting for the cable company to provide it). The Wi-Fi worked very well (strong signal, and fast: but few people here at the time). There are many things to do if you were here with a group, but no activities for individuals to join in. Maybe during peak times it would be better. The hot tub was broken, but the saunas were available. Watch your bill: they charged us a one day deposit, but then charged for all 5 days when we arrived (so, an extra day). When I pointed it out, they corrected it with no hassle. I read about being escorted to the site, that did not happen during our stay. We also saw sites with old dog waste and trash on them (ours had trash when we arrived). The top resorts tend to clean a site when people leave rather than just hope they did not leave a mess. A good location to visit Mt. St. Helen's and some smaller communities around (good hunting and fishing, I assume). If they decide to make the service match the amenities, and decide to seriously keep up the park, this could be a top resort. It just felt like they were willing to let it "get by." While the trains were noisy and frequent, they did not bother us (except a couple of times the whistle did give us a start). For the price and location, they need to realize they are going to have to offer top service to justify it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
The good news is that this resort is right next to the freeway. I say that in jest as it is also right next to the railroad tracks. The freeway noise is the lesser of two noises. The train went by every half hour all night long blowing its horn! Yes, I am a bit of a light sleeper but that is enough to wake the dead. If you are a heavy sleeper, then you should have no problem. All that aside, this is a really nice park! It has really clean bathrooms, wonderful staff, nice pool. It also has a great walking trail that takes you to the river. The sites are wide and roomy. The park is clean and tidy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This is a new campground with a lot of potential. Nice large level sites. Very family oriented. Only concerns no cable even though it is wired for it, train noise, track is very close by along with apparently uncontrolled crossings in the vicinity. Trains blow their horns for these crossings at all hours of the day and night. Some work needs to be done on the sites such as putting in grass instead of weeds. Would return for a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
Large campground with level spots, fire pits and raised grills. A nice campground (other than being near train tracks). Woodall's listing says they have cable TV, but they don't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very nice campground. Has lots of things for kids to do. Has large clean, level sites. There are some fire pits and more are being added. Staff was very friendly. No cable TV as of yet. They are waiting for Comcast and the state to get on the ball and install. We will make this one of our favorite places to stay. One of the only down sides is the trains running by, but I've noticed that a lot of parks are by tracks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
We stayed at this park just prior to its official opening on Memorial Day. The pool area, etc. was not open at this point. Overall a nice park, but still needs some work. We stayed during the week thus the park was not busy. Some previous folks are correct about the train; the park is close to the tracks and at times the train can be loud. We did get used to it so it didn't bug us much. Our site was very large and accommodated our 35 ' 5th wheel with no problem. According to the head office there is some problem with the local cable company thus no cable at this time. The campground is prewired for it. We were able to pull in 5 channels with our antenna. I can see this park being busy once it is open officially. I only gave a 7 rating, since there is still some work to be done. Not all sites had picnic tables or firepits, etc.. Grass still needs to be seeded properly, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
The park is pretty new and set up very nice. Staff was helpful, led us to our site and then, I think fled the area before the next train came through. It's too bad, the park is real nice but the train track was about 150 yards from our motorhome and the trains came rumbling through all night complete with horns blasting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
A great resort: had lots of activities for all ages. They had clean restrooms and showers; nice walking areas; was pet friendly and had a helpful staff. Was good fishing on the local rivers. Will come again on our return trip from wintering in Florida! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We Really enjoyed our stay. I have to say that had I read the reviews on this web site I probably would not have stayed here and missed out on a great time, great people and plenty of activities to make our stay well worth listening to a few trains go by. These trains didn't bother us whatsoever! This park has a lot to offer and should not be dismissed because of trains! Check out the new web site and see for yourself. The fishing is great. The new pool, store and clubhouse will be an asset to this resort. They even lowered the prices for winter to 24 dollars a night! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We really enjoyed this place. It is super convenient off the freeway and the staff guide you to your spot in the golf cart. We have kids and there was an excellent playground and open space. The newly planted trees will be wonderful in a few years: it can be a little hot in the sunny spots. The resort would be excellent for a big family reunion as they have wonderful group spaces and have put a lot of effort into the facilities for this purpose. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This park has all the makings of an outstanding resort once completed, except for one thing. The owners have forgotten the golden rule: location, location, location. This park sits immediately adjacent to an active (24/7, once or twice an hour) train track that is used by freight and commuter trains. It's not the rumbling that gets you as they go by, but the whistle: sometimes three or four times for each train. Highly annoying. Perhaps with a lot of other RV's to buffer the noise, it would not be as bad. When we were here, we practically had the place to ourselves. The park is still a work in progress, but has been done up quite nicely: landscaped, nice size sites, minimal road noise even though it edges I-5, with tons to do/see. I could rate higher if not for the trains, over and over again. But hey, that may be ok with some folks, just not me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
This park appears to be a very new campground. The staff is friendly and the sites are close to level. There is a grass pad for every site. There are also cable and phone jacks, but they are not active yet. the park is between I-5 and a very busy train track, so expect quite a few train horns through out the day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a campground with unique amenities and loads of potential. It is only partially finished, but what is finished is fantastic. Our 4 kids (for whom we were NOT charged extra) thoroughly enjoyed the giant croquet game, the water squirting station and ping-pong. They also watched a movie on the big screen TV. The roads are all newly paved for easy access and the sites are large and spacious. Park had plenty of picnicing areas for groups, immaculate washrooms and laundry. There were also volleyball nets and a fitness trail with 20 stations. Lots of fine details and great signage. Great rates for a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
This is a new park with fantastic facilities. All the roads in the park are now paved. All pull thru sites that are huge. This park would have rated a "10" with us except for two problems that, unfortunately, cannot be changed or improved upon: 1. A train line runs adjacent to the park and are very noisy. They run every few minutes all night long and this is a location where they sound their horns for a crossing. Even more problematic is that the campground is built on lava silt from Mt St Helens eruption and the entire campground shakes when trains go by! It is very bothersome. 2. The campground uses well water that is very murky. Not good! Another issue is the electricity. We had stayed at this campground previously and had electric issues. Once again our monitor indicated very low outputs in the 114 range and our management system several times indicated that the 50 amp current was actually functioning in the 30 amp range. We would stay here again in a pinch, but would basically dry camp and not use the electricity or water since both are unsatisfactory. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This is a large, new, well landscaped park that will be a great place for groups or rallies once all the buildings are complete. The interior roads are now all paved, with nice gravel sites that are mostly level. We were led to a shady pull through next to several raised planting beds surrounded by natural stone. We were surprised they don't have cable TV, but we received many digital channels from our antenna. The Wi-Fi worked well. The trains come through about twice an hour, but after a while you don't even notice them. Our water was yellow and cloudy, no matter how long we ran it to flush out the line, due to high iron content. We wouldn't drink it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
We stayed there over the July 4th weekend and were very happy with the resort. They are still not quite done with everything but it is scheduled to be fully operational in November. All of the roads and campsites are gravel right now but paving was set to begin the week after the holiday. We have a 40' class A with toad and had no problem at all with the roads or turns. This is a resort that has gone out of its way to provide for amenities you don't generally see. A movie pavilion showed recent films on a large screen HDTV, they had Karaoke on Friday and Saturday nights, several covered picnic areas with BBQ and large fire pits and they even have a dog shower/tub if you want to clean off Fido. A clubhouse with library/reading room, swimming pool, jacuzzi and saunas is under construction and a large campground store is also under construction. The resort is between the freeway and a railroad track. We found that the freeway noise posed no issues and sounded more like wind in the trees, the trains sounded like trains. Didn't bother us at all but it might bother some. A private trail takes you down to the river - about a 1/2 mile walk, and there is a large enclosed play area for kids along with a "bigfoot croquet" field and a soaker squirt gun field - squirt guns provided - so there are lots of things to keep the kids occupied. We enjoyed the resort and will return there in the future. Our rating of "8" will go up once all of the amenities are complete. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
This RV park is waiting on final permits to open in the next week or so. They allowed us to park in a level gravel site because we saw their ad and called the number listed. The roads are a little hard to manage on the turns, but the pull-thru sites were long enough to accommodate motorhome and tow car. Close to I-5, day trips to Mt. Ranier and Mt. St. Helens. Trains were close by and ran often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com