223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Longview Lake Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (816) 503-4805
CGID9276

Longview Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   8   8   8   8   8   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$19
The lake itself is large, and the campground was located towards the southern end. We kept following the signs and eventually found it. It was well kept and quiet. It bordered a marshy area of the lake. There were many unoccupied sites the night we were there, so we were able to find a long level pull through. Rate was $21 less a $2 senior discount, for an electric only site. A nice, quiet place to stay in the Kansas City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
We chose this campground for it's location and proximity to things we cared about -- and I think that might be the only reason to choose it. Oh, it's a nice enough place to sleep for the night, clean and quiet. A small playground for the kids, and fire grills for your meals. But there is just nothing actually to attract me to the place. Park your tent or camper and leave to go do fun things. That said, there are plenty of fun things to do, in that Longview Lake is not far away. Beach, marina, golfing, etc. But the campsite is NOT waterfront. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$21
First we had to find this campground! Directions were awful on their web site. When we finally found the little brown signs with a tent on them they directed us through a softball field area complete with lots of little kids. Asked someone who assured us we were on the right track and we eventually did find it. The campground host was not real pleasant but got us checked in. We had an electric only site and enjoyed being in that section of the park, trees and grass and widely spaced sites. Lots of deer and birds. Lovely setting. Site was not at all level but black topped. Restrooms were OK and it was very quiet. Phones worked great, no WI-FI. We did find a different entrance that was much easier to use. The attendant noted that they sometimes close that entrance, hence the round about way. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
As with most state and county parks we've stayed in, this one provides full services and spacious, crushed-stone sites ...and in this case, a gated entrance for extra security. Campground hosts are delightful and a wealth of local information. Close proximity to Kansas City and Independence. Would definitely plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This is our second stay at this park on our way to and from our summer jobs. It never ceases to amaze me that such such a lovely spot exists so close to the urban sprawl of Kansas City. The grounds are immaculate and well taken care of. Many of the sites are shaded. It took a bit of leveling as our site #63 was on a slight hill, but we managed. Once in place, the water and sewer worked well. The voltage on both the 30 and 50 amp circuits was a bit on the low side, but not destructively so. I did use my booster/transformer for peace of mind, however. Verizon 4G broadband was very strong and the selection of over the air broadcast TV was quite good. The camp hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. We will surely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$21
Paid the electric only rate for a 50 amp paved pull-through site. The 50 amp service is on the backside of the electric pedestal and very low with no breaker. Potable water is available at the dump station and is easy to get in and out of from either direction. There are some widely spaced faucets in the campground loops as well. Tough place to rate, both loops are on a side hill and most of the sites are not very level. We asked for a level site or the best he could do. We had site 25 and used all of our blocks. Front to back was fairly level, but we had about 3" to 4" of drop to our curb side. But once setup we had a big beautiful site. The sites near the corners of the loop seemed the most level. So site wise, you need to know the layout here. TV, Verizon cell and broadband were all great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This is the newest and cleanest of the three campgrounds run by Jackson County. We stayed for two nights and the campground was only about half full so noise and traffic were not a factor. We initially set up at site 18 and I had to do some leveling due to a downhill slope but it wasn't a big issue. When we woke up the next morning, we had no power and the nice attendant determined something happened to our 30a feed at the post so he moved us to site 21 (a bit more room since it was on an outside curve). The rest of our stay was uneventful. The campground is clean and they have a newer playground inside the campground; there is another nicer playground about half a mile down the road too. We did hear some noise from boaters off the nearby lake but overall, we had a nice experience. The wife and I would take the family there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
This is fine park with about 20% shady spots. It is quiet and not cramped. Easy to get to if you follow the instructions exactly as given. If you get creative and come from the south, you have one opportunity to go west on SW 3rd Rd and then south on View High Rd. Follow the little sign that leads you to the "mansion." It is an obscure single lane road dedicated to the mansion (and the campground) but it doesn't say so. If in doubt, DO NOT USE my suggested short cut. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
The campground is not near the lake, it's quite a drive to the lake. The lake on the map looks much larger than it is, and the fee to "use" the lake is $24 per person per day, or $48 for the season. This is not included in the price of the campground. The hosts were nice, and the area is clean but shade is minimal and we were there in 100+ heat in July. We saw NO children or pets outside most likely due to the heat, although there were a lot of deer in the evenings. I would rate this as a 5 but the "surprise fee" to use the lake was not clearly stated anywhere on signs or in brochures. The Ranger however was there to send you to the marina store to purchase the permit/pass, and the pass only applies to this lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Nice park, sites are not really level for big rigs. Kid friendly and all that. It is rather hard to find. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Beautiful park, friendly people, immaculate and heavily patrolled by park ranger and staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Long and winding road into the campground. Not much around, it took me 20 minutes to get to Lee's Summit. Our site was level and shaded. The lake is so far away you forget there is one. We had a lovely time here, but I think we will try Fleming Lake on our next visit. Bathrooms were ok, but showers needed cleaning. The Camphosts were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice campground, this county has several. If you are not local, when you make reservations the only address is the county office and NOT the campground address. Make sure you know what park you are staying in or you will not find the park. People were nice and sites were large. We would stay here again. It's only 20 minutes to Kansas City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
This campground was usually quiet and never packed full, even on a holiday weekend. Many tent and w/e sites are available and usually one can just drive in to get one of those sites. However, if you need a 50amp and sewer, there are only about 15 sites available. They are reservable and not often available for a long tern stay. Knowing someone in the area to make a reservation for you is helpful. Lots to see and do in the Kansas City area and access to I-470/435 is quick and easy. Many restaurants, laundry, stores, etc., in Lee's Summit. This is a wonderful find for us and we will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Not sure about all of the trees that other reviewers are talking about. We stayed in the full hookup loop and there was no shade! It is a nice quiet park, but if you want shade this is not the park for you!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We only give resorts with full amenities such as swimming pools a 10 if they deserve it. I wish we could separate "resorts" from public parks to be fair. This is a very nice park that deserves a 10 if it was not in competition with resorts. Hosts were very nice, park is clean, has plenty of trees. We would definitely return here when back in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
I rarely give a park a perfect rating, but this place is just great. The campground hosts were friendly and helpful. We arrived late without reservations and stayed three days. Utilities all worked well. Excellent water pressure. Stable power. Verizon broadband coverage is good. Broadcast TV excellent on all networks. The grounds are immaculate. Spaces are large and level. Interior roads are paved and spaces gravel. As close as it is to the urban sprawl of Kansas City, one would never know it. Deer and wild turkey abound. Beautiful spot. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Perfect place to stay if you need to stay in the Kansas City area. It is patrolled by security, and has open spaces with good lines of sight to satellites. The spaces themselves are very large. The main problem we had was with power. They said it was 50 amp, but it wasn't as one of the circuits dropped out and so we only got 30 amps. Even though we complained directly to the County, nobody came to fix it. We were there a week. We would come back, but we would check the power first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We used this campground as an overnight stay as part of a longer trip, but wow, if it wasn't so far for us to go (we are in Colorado), this would be a fantastic destination campground. It is very pretty with lots of easy to access, level, gravel sites, with full hook-ups for a good portion of them. Very pretty grounds. The lake is right nearby, and the sites are nicely spread out. The facilities are on par with a private RV park. The campground hostess who checked us in was extremely nice and helpful. We wanted to try some Kansas City Bar-B-Que, and she recommended Fiorelli's Jack Stack restaurant, and looked it up so we could have the address for our GPS Navigation system. And it was the BEST BBQ we've ever had! So if you try this campground, leave one night's dinner open for a short 12 mile drive to Jack Stack! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We have stayed in this campground several times since 2005, and really like it. It is in the middle of a larger complex of lakes, picnic pavilions, and community facilities such as a mansion available for weddings, etc. You can swim, boat and fish in these areas. The sites are large, mostly shaded, and are extremely well kept. There is a security gate, and the entry area is attended by helpful staff. Wildlife abounds. We always see deer, turkeys, geese, and other wildlife as we drive in at twilight and in the early morning. There is a playground, but no organized activities for kids in the campground itself. Tenters and RVers are mixed in together, and we've seen scout and sports groups with children there. It's not really primitive camping as it has full hookups, but it's very natural, and a great place for children to learn how to camp without being crammed into tiny sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
This is a lovely, quiet park. The rate is very reasonable and there is lots of elbow room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This is a very quiet place to come. The park hosts were very nice and very visible. They came through the park very often. There is a access controlled gate which we like. There is a small like on site with pan fish in it. This is one of our favorite places to come in the Kansas City area. The swimming beach and boat ramp and marina is within a short drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Nice campground on Lee's Summit side of Longview Lake. At the southeast corner of large county park. Two adjoining loops with either gravel or paved pads on well spaced sites (some dual) with lots of grass surrounding them. Rate was 30 amp electric. Some sites are shaded and some are not and all KC TV stations available on antenna. All sites have metal fire pits. Huge playground for kids. Golf course just a mile from entrance. Two hosts available plus patrolled by park rangers. Forget something? New CVS store just up from the gate plus full retail selection just 5-10 minutes away in Lee's Summit. This is the closest public campground to Kansas City. Enjoy while you can as the cookie cutter sprawl of Lee's Summit is fast approaching. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is one of the best parks that I stay in over the year. There is lots of wildlife in the area. There is a small pond at the park and a lake close by. I would recommend it to any one looking for a place to camp in the Kansas City area. Too bad it is only open during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com