206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver Springs Campground and Cottages was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (207) 283-3880
CGID9291

Silver Springs Campground and Cottages

Camp Information
Sites
151
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   2   8   9   6   9   10   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This large park is occupied mostly by permanent or seasonal visitors, but provided a very adequate overnight stop. The gravel interior roads lead to generously sized gravel/grass sites. Basic utilities are good, cable is very good, Wi-Fi was poor at our site. AT&T phone and data service is available in the area. The price reflects the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We can hardly believe that we stayed in the same place as most of the other reviewers. This is one of the worst excuses for a campground that we have ever been in. Most of the sites have Park Models in very poor condition. The grounds are poorly maintained and the roads are disgraceful. The Wi-Fi was not consistent and the signal was generally weak. Our pull-through site was far from level. The Passport America rate was only $24.00, but they would have to pay me a lot more than that to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
We found this park off I-95 exit 36 onto I-195 and then exit 2B onto highway 1 to the park. We had our choice of transient sites. Gravel roads and gravel back-in sites are in this park. Our 36' motor home and toad fit in our back-in site with no problems after disconnecting. It's true there are a lot of permanent park models, but these are very well maintained and a lot of them were not occupied due to the late time of the year. There were some pot holes in the road, but nothing that couldn't be managed. Good strong signals on Wi-Fi with fair speed, but I connected to the Silver Springs router. I couldn't get on the internet through the Silver Springs router 3 and the Silver Springs router 5. Google maps display would "paint" the computer screen a section at a time. Water pressure was 40 PSI and our SurgeGuard had no faults indicated. Our sewer drain was not threaded although some were. Cable TV was excellent. Lobster and clams are abundant in many nearby stores. $4 for one pound and they will steam a live soft shell lobster for you while you wait. Portland, ME and L.L.Bean at Freeport, ME are easy short drives from here. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Rate reflects Passport America. They honored the PA rate for multiple nights, which was nice. First, I don't believe they have 140 "transient" sites; most of the sites were full time park models. All of them seem nice, well kept and the folks we met were welcoming and helpful. The transient sites were mixed in among the permanent ones and you had choice of shade or sun. W/S/E and cable on all sites. Camp store adequate and owners very helpful. There is a big RV dealership next door if you have rig issues. Not much road noise heard and wildlife present in form of birds, chipmunks. We found lobster for $5/lb close by--cook at the campsite. Other places a bit more but will steam for you. Clams and other fresh seafood also reasonable. One issue to note, and it is on their website: showers are pay--25 cents for 3 minutes. (Haven't seen that in over 35 years!) Water was plentiful and hot and I think I got 4-5 minutes on first quarter. No big deal, but read the directions carefully or load several quarters ahead of time if you are concerned. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Campground has a lot of different kind of sites: RVs, park models, and trailers. Some of the roads are narrow, but we managed with no problem. Our friends didn't fare so well and scraped a bay door on a large rock near an intersection. The staff are friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again. We enjoyed adjoining large sites (one pull through) and an evening campfire. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Rate reflects Passport America price of stay one/get one free. We stayed here only a two nights on our way south from Acadia. Very well kept facility, very friendly and helpful staff. Mostly seasonals here but nicely kept. We had a nice pull through site on a corner that was in good repair and had nice picnic table and fire ring. Would stay again and spend some more time exploring the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Terrific value! Passport rate $22. This is a super facility located near prime activities for recreation, eating lobstah and other gorrgeous Maine seafood, sightseeing, and having a great time. Complete full-services including cable. Believe great venue for family as there are great cabins also for non-RVers. Sites are very nice and close to level as possible for crushed rock. We camped during heavy rain storm coming from west and also days before hurricane irene was due to hit NC. Minor standing water on park roads. Sites were routinely dry and comfortable. Very impressed and pleased. We definitely will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Not a large park but clean and well cared for. Friendly staff, not much of a store but next to a RV dealer and close to shopping. Staff was always around cleaning restrooms and empty sites. Mostly seasonal sites but all were friendly, we had site 53 a pull thru which was a good site, but they had tents on both sides of us and those were full hook up sites, thats why an 8 rating. Shuttle to beach every hour, clean pools and easy in and out, gated entry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
90% of CG is full season residents, friendly. We had pull through site at back of CG. Sandy so it tracked into RV. Rooftop TV dish did not work but CG has very good cable with lots of channels. Wi-Fi was very slow. Our Sprint cell & Internet worked OK. Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Silver Springs has camping sites as well as modern cabins. The pool looked great. Interior gravel roads are good but keep an eye open for the speed bumps; they are humdingers! The sites are good size and attractive with tall trees providing shade. All sites are full-hookup including cable. We paid $26. with our PA discount. The bathhouse was just okay; some of the doors were missing latches. They do have a laundry room, but the machines are small for the $2. charge. The owner was very friendly and helpful giving us good suggestions for where the locals go for lobster. We enjoyed a quiet night and would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Owners are very friendly and helpful, great info about places to see and great places to eat. Site was very level, grass and the campground was very clean. We stayed two nights. Would recommend this CG very highly! Thanks for making our stay great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Price reflects Passport America membership. This park is near FunTown, Old Orchard, and many Maine beaches. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The campground is nicely kept, it has 2 pools, a rec hall, and nice playground for the kids. There are many seasonals and Park Models, but all are kept in great shape and and the folks are very friendly. Anytime we are in the area we WILL stay here. It's a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
We traveled across the country from Washington State and this was, by far our favorite spot. The owners were the best: they were friendly, helpful and provided a wealth of information on the area. They go the extra mile to make your experience a great one. The campground is very well maintained and an ideal base for exploring southern Maine. We planned on staying two nights and ended up staying ten! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
One of the nicest campgrounds around. Most sites are very level, and many back up to a woodsy area. Mosquitos can be bad, but they have been everywhere we have gone in Maine. Best Wi-Fi ever: great signal, even when they were fairly busy. Host was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! (Rate based on CampClub USA rate.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
We stayed here for four days and, unfortunately, it rained every day. The sites are nice and level with full, 50 amp, hookups, cable TV and WiFi which worked very well. Because of the rain, much of the area was muddy, but we still enjoyed it. The owner and her father-in-law were very friendly and helpful. We paid $25 Passport rate and they really like Passport members. Owner said that most of their people here now are Passport members. They don't accept Passport June 30 to Labor day, but she said that if someone calls and they have a space available during that time she will welcome them rather than sit with a empty site. Most Passport campgrounds in the New England area don't accept the discount during the summer because of the short season and I understand that. I would recommend this campground very highly because of the nice facilities and the very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Restrooms were clean, laundry room is small with no place to fold clothes. Staff is friendly and informative. About one half of the sites are seasonal with numerous park models and these sites are well maintained. Most sites are shaded but some are small and will not satisfy requirements for a big RV. They do have some big rig sites in the front. It is centrally located to visit Kennebunkport, Kittery, Portland, and Freeport. One drawback is the roads are dirt and many of the sites are more dirt than grass and it is dusty or muddy when wet. Good if you want a nice central campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com