219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Sleepy Sunflower RV Park (formerly Open Corral Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (308) 284-1300
CGID9294

Sleepy Sunflower RV Park (formerly Open Corral Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   10   8   7   4   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
Rate noted is Passport America. Made a reservation at Sleepy Sunflower RV via email for a spot on our cross country trip. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. First of all, the owner is wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. They just purchased the park two years ago and have been working on updating/upgrading. The park looks great. Forty four spots, 12 of them are 30 amp with water. The rest are 50 amp full hook ups. They also have a tent area and small playground. There is a small store on sight. As well as clean bathrooms and very affordable laundry. A small lounge is also available with a book exchange. Only negative is that it is close to the highway, so you do hear the trucks rumbling by. Great white noise! When in the area we will definitely stay here again. Easy access off the highway, stores and restaurants within walking distance and a couple of easy in/out gas stations that have diesel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$16
Extremely clean and well kept. Hosts were great and the sites couldn't be better. Great WiFi and water pressure. Easy access from hwy, but no noise at sites in front of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
Wow. What a park. Convenient. Lovely people. Ultra clean. And the computer was broken so they only charged us $12 because of the inconvenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Rate is Passport America. Nice park with easy access to I-80, some highway noise can be heard. Clean laundry and restrooms. Easy entry, exit and interior roads. Friendly owners willingly offered info about the area. Only 3 local TV channels (none major), strong Verizon signal, park has good Wi-Fi access. Good for overnight or a few days to catch up with laundry, cleaning and grocery shopping. Small playground for kids but no other amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
Easy on/off I-80. Brand new (and wonderful) owners who bent over backwards to help this single camper get settled. All new utility poles, level, dust free, gravel sites. Clean restrooms. Some shade spots. For a quick stopover on I-80, Sleepy Sunflower should be your first choice. Yes, you can hear noise from the interstate, but who cares; it is like white noise to me anymore, just lulls me to sleep. Great wi-fi, but only 3 non network TV channels; again, who cares. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$16
This park changed ownership this summer. The new owners have made many changes. The Wi-Fi is very good. The water hookups have been redone. The sites have all been regraveled and leveled with dust free gravel. The office has been renovated and a new well stocked store now exist. I will stay here again if in the area. There are several dining places with in walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
The 7 is because two sites share 1 water facut with no "Y" so only one has water. There were lots of "Goat Heads". Grounds were weedy. Don't know about the web site claiming a exercise room and club house. Never saw anyone. Left the check in an envelope. Restrooms & Showers were pretty good. Site was level and no need for boards to level and the surface was hard. The size of the site was okay. It might have seemed a little crowded if someone was next to us. The park roads were dirt and gravel but there was room to move around. The park says it has internet but it needed a password and since no one was ever around couldn't try it. Looked like several people may have stayed for free. Did notice any road noise and didn't notice light at night but didn't go out. As said before didn't see anyone and the park could use some maintenance. Reason for stay and length We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
The park is very basic. OK for one night but that about it. There is really no shade and the pads are gravel and weeds. The hookups are adequate and the WiFi was nonexistent so we used our Verison Broadband Wireless. We used the meager Passport America discount since it is "the season" in Ogallala. There are plenty of goat heads so watch your pet's paws. I doubt that we would ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
We camped here on a motorcycle and tent trailer on our way to Glacier and the Red Woods with another couple with the same set up. Seven hundred miles in the heat had us ready to stop by the time we got here. Check-in was "drop the money in an envelope". Make sure you have cash. We set the trailers up in the shade of a large tree on the west side and headed for the showers!! Showers/restrooms were very clean and, but wasn't too bad. Under normal circumstances the traffic sound from I-80 might have been an issue, but we were tired and had no issue sleeping till sun up. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
I am staying here monthly at a very reasonable rate, the owners are extremely friendly, and I am glad to be here. The bathrooms and showers are kept spotless, the Wi-Fi works great, there is a park for the kids to play in, the grass is kept green and mowed, and there was no trash on the ground anywhere. This is a small, family-owned RV park, able to accommodate anything from a tent to a full size RV bus. It is self serve, just write your plate number on an envelope with your money and drop in the box at the office. Anyone wishing to stay should call the owner to arrange payment. No need for reservations, there is always room available at Open Corral. I love this little RV park, and I would stay here again anytime I pass through Ogallala! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Broke my $25 rule again, but again, not much choice of places. Fine for overnight, it is right off the interstate. Level sites, immaculate bathrooms. Never saw an owner or manager. Self-registered rather late and left rather early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Stayed here overnight. Nice park, typical freeway noise and some locust noise during the day, but it is a very nice place. Level gravel spots with lots of grassy area and minimul bugs. Definitely a good stopover place. My GPS would not take the address, but it is south side of the freeway at exit 126 then just east of the truck stop about a 1/4 mile. You can see the "CAMP" sign from the freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
Nice park for overnight stay. Close to I-80 but noise was not too bad. Easy to find, and to park in a pull through site. Used Passport America for this price and was very satisfied with that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
It's a pass-through campground directly off I-80 at an exit with lots of services for semis, including a truck stop right next door. Both nights we stayed there the semis had lots of fun roaring their jake brakes. Not the campground's fault, but definitely noticeable even in the sites farthest from the freeway. Easy in/out. Staff is friendly. 30amp power actually delivered 30amps, which was a plus. Sites were level. It's basically a gravel parking lot with power and water poles. Water had been shut off for the year, but no discount on the "full hookup" price, which was disappointing, especially considering that $26 ($23 with Good Sam) is rather high for a non-destination campground with no amenities. I'd stay here again if I were passing through Nebraska, but it certainly wouldn't be a destination, and I'd still be somewhat annoyed at the high cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
Very friendly owners and it was easy in and out of this park. Has flat, level pull-through as well as back-in sites. There are fuel stations and cafes near by. It's close to I-80 however road noise was not very noticable. Would sure stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Large no frills gravel lot near I-70. Has some grass, a few trees, very good Wi-Fi, and very helpful and friendly owners. This is not a destination park with the kids, but it is perfect if you want to spend a few days kicking around Ogallalla. It's also a good overnight park. The bathrooms were modern and clean. I would definitely stay here again. They take cash or checks only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
We pulled in late due to severe weather in the area. Our site was a level gravel pull-through. Bathrooms were clean. Our site was on the end closest to interstate, so we had a lot of road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
I have stayed here many time over the years. A young couple recently bought it and they have done a lot of work to improve the campground...new electric boxes, new water hydrants, and landscaping. Really clean restrooms! It is very easy to find and they could not have been more friendly. We look forward to coming back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com