206513 User submitted reviews online!!
Crooked River State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (912) 882-5256
CGID932

Crooked River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   9   9   7   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Very nice, large level sites with a picnic table. I only saw 30 amp electric but it was fine for our 3 night stay. A lot of trails, with some bird feeding sites and very peaceful surroundings. No planes, trains, or automobiles. My Sprint phone & Verizon Mi-Fi did work here though it was not an exceptionally strong signal. The office people and hosts were very helpful & friendly. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
We only knew of 30amp sites, 50amp maybe for Hosts? Nice State Park, modern, spacious sites, clean, and well kept. Park boarders river and has a boat ramp, picnic areas. and big cottages for rent. Great meeting place for families with and without RV's. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
It is all relative. Nothing here to complain about. Ranger programs, nice bike trails, big sites. Like most state parks, this is not a resort, but is a nice campground. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
This state park offered the nicest sites of any we have visited in several states. I base that opinion on our desire for screening and space. All the sites are heavily screened from each other and all are perfectly clean, large, and well groomed. We camped in February, and so gnats weren't an issue. Hiking trails weren't extensive, but there is a large recreation/open area on the river bluff that offers a good place to enjoy open air. We are not off-road bicyclists and so we enjoyed the flat residential streets that are nearby and are quiet. The only reason I gave a 9 instead of 10 is that the sites lack sewer hookup. While we really love the campground nearby on Jekyll Island, this campground was superior--the surrounding area just doesn't offer the sights and bike paths that Jekyll does. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Rate does not reflect $5 additional charge for park usage - you pay this one time a visit unless you have a Georgia State Parks pass. Fabulous campground! Each site can site 50' MH (although some are difficult to maneuver into with a FW) and have 30-amp electric, water and cable. Verizon 3G is pretty good here. Washrooms have free, hot showers with good water pressure and there is a washer & dryer available as well. Lots of trees, yet fairly open campground. Nice, nice, nice staff. There is a dump before you get to the campground, however needs be be accessed when leaving the campground. We love it here and will definitely stay again. If there were sewer hook-ups, we'd give it a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$28
We spend two nights here for Easter weekend. The staff was just about the friendliest that we have ever encountered. The park roads were easy to travel with our 33' trailer. The sites are first come, first serve but we had no problem finding one. There are a few pull through's. Most are back in but are very roomy with easy access for backing. Some sites have a view of the river but these were of course taken. This is a beautiful park. Lot's of pines and some oaks. Level, spacious sites. They allow campfires but want you to buy their wood rather than bring in your own (pest concerns). I witnessed a number of campers foraging in the woods and gathering there own firewood. Lots of nature trails and picnic pavilions. They also had a number of cabins that looked very nice. Lots of sand gnats but hey...it's South Georgia. We keep Deep Woods Off in our camper and for this weekend, we used it! I also used a Thermacell and it helped create a barrier. We couldn't have gone outdoors without them. I had a 3G sprint signal for my wireless and 2 bars on my sprint phone so communication was doable. No propane available onsite but there is a private RV park within site of the entrance to Crooked River and they filled my tank while I waited. The only reason I didn't give a "10" rating was that they don't have sewer hook ups. They do have a nice dump station on the way out. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Very quiet wooded grassy level sites. Restrooms and showers were old but clean. Basic cable available but too wooded for satellite. WiFi at camp store. Nice hiking trails. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
My first review and first night out with our new to us travel trailer for two nights. Entrance to the campground was easy, and the registration process was smooth with a very friendly staff. Plenty of room on the paved streets, and there were a few "pull-through" sites (actually half-loops) available. All of the sites we looked at were level, clean, and had plenty of room. The restroom and showers were clean. Very enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
This is a very nice park. We only stayed one night, will be back to spend more time. Easy access from I-95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Two sections. One is more spread out and open and the other closer and more wooded. Paved roads with grass and sites with E/W. Dump on entry road. Lots of road for biking, nearby picnic shelters, small nature center, and boat launch. The view of Crooked river is limited to a small area overlooking a bluff with a limiting fence, or at the boat launch to the boat put in. There are two sets of cottages in another section that looked very nice, and there are several nature trails. Price with Georgia senior rate $22.40 which is senior rate open to non-residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Very nice state park near I-95 just above Florida border. Nice river view with excellent docking facilities. Excellent hiking and bicycle trails. Wonderful birding. Was surprised to have cable television, but the only Wi-Fi is available at the park office. Excellent laundry and shower facilities. Location is close to Cumberland Island National Seashore. Close to Northeast Florida attractions as well. No sewer connections at campsite, but they have a convenient dump area. Nice rangers and gift shop. Came for an overnight en route to Florida, stayed for two weeks of great R&R. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
This is a nice park. It has cable, about 6-8 stations. Verizon MiFi works fine here and they have Wi-Fi available at the office. No sewer hooks but they do have limited 50 amp service available on a first come first serve basis. Ask when you check in which sites are 50 amp. The sites are large with the roads and pads paved. They have back in and drive through sites. All sites are LARGE. This park is well located to visit St Marys and Cumberland Island access. The daily rate is $28 and they do have a senior discount available. However they will charge you and addition $5 entry fee that covers all the time that you stay there. There are multiple trails in the park for hiking and biking, and there's also a boat ramp. We spent a week here and enjoyed it. We did not have the bug issues that a previous review mentioned. I guess he just got lucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Overall a very nice GA State park! When I reserved on-line, no discounts were offered enen though the website lists several including "senior". So, the full rate was charged for 1 night on my credit card. Upon check-in, the discount was added (after I asked). The sites are first-come, very spacious, and we got one that was river-view (#12). There is a 14 day limit. The entire area is shaded by mostly pines and, if you craft people want BIG pine cones or long pine needles, this is the place. The only negatives were that the sites are a bit dusty and, of course, no-see-ums were ofter a problem. The cable worked well but Verizon was a tad weak (phone & data). You are close to shopping and historic St. Marys GA. Even with Spring-Break kids, the park was generally quiet. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$29
The sites are very large and level. Some are tucked in the woods and secluded. There are walking trails. The Wi-Fi at the office did not work. The bathrooms are showing their age. The sewer was backed up at one, so it was closed . With one bathroom closed on a weekend, the other one got quite nasty and stayed that way. The sand gnats were aggressive. The rate includes extra fees for a park pass & for the price we should have stayed across the road. We camped here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Another great state park! Quiet. Nestled among Georgia pines the park is spacious and very accommodating to our 25' motorhome. Trails (and wifi at the registration station) are easy to walk and nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Very pretty park. Friendly staff with a small but nice store. Several short hiking trails and a nature center. Very buggy but otherwise a great park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This is a great park. It is typical of most state parks in that it only has water and electric hookups. Site we had was large and somewhat private from adjoining sites. Camp employees were very gracious and helpful. We plan on using this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
Lots of shade. Nice hosts and check in. Way too much for what you get though. The $5 day use makes it too much IMHO. There were pigs, birds, and armadillos to photograph, and it was shady. Phones and MiFi worked well. It had cable connections, but I didn't try it. Antenna TV was good for the overnight. If I needed an overnight I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
Nice State Park with lots of trees. Good utilities and my AT&T cell and air-card worked fine. Had pigs go through the park one morning policing up scraps. Only problem was lots of no-se'ums (gnats). We noticed no one was outside when we arrived and now we know why. Could not utilize the picnic table and fire-ring due to the biting gnats. Would stay here in winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$28
This park came highly recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. The sites are clean, grassy and very large with a great combination of sun and shade because the trees have been thinned out a lot in the west loop, where we stayed. The east loop looks newer and is more private and more shady although there is plenty of privacy in the west loop due to the spacing of sites. Our main activity was to visit Cumberland Island National Seashore which was terrific. We also enjoyed Historic St. Marys. The hiking trails are short but in wonderful condition. Biking is good but limited. There are lots of playground areas for kids and grand kids. We didn't bring our kayaks but there is fantastic kayaking here (based on the maps we saw and the number of kayaks) and the fishing is great (based on our kind Georgia volunteer-neighbor who gave us shrimp and trout he caught). We didn't try the mini-golf course right in the park. CRSP is highly recommended for a three or four night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We loved this state park! The spots were roomy and situated under tall, beautiful pine trees. Many (but not all) had smaller shrubs between the spaces for privacy as well. We got a great spot out near the river -- terrific views of the marshes. The park has miles of trails through all different kinds of habitat. We saw lots of wildlife -- gopher tortoises, armadillos, deer, even wild pigs, in addition to all manner of birds. The park offers wi-fi at the registration area, which is a couple miles from the campsites. Also, we were so far from a town that my cell phone (T-Mobile) didn't work. But, if you're looking for an authentic back-to-nature, get-away-from-it-all experience, this is a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Very lovely park. Large shaded spaces. Families welcome, staff friendly. Great location away from town but still close to mega store and restaurants if needed. Gnats aka no-see-ums got us but that is expected near the marsh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
We loved this park! With sewer hook-ups and more 50amp spaces, it would definitely be a 10! Very neat and tidy, private-feeling spaces with pretty surroundings and nice little trails. Cute armadillos, birds, and a few fireflies. About an hour's drive to Okefenokee, where you can catch a wonderful boat tour for only $17!! The CG only has a few 50amp sites, and those are first-come, first-serve, so get there early if you want one! Or if you are a large rig, like our 40ft! The rate reflects a senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Another lovely Georgia State Park. Has spacious level sites. We liked being able to choose our site from those not occupied. Friendly and helpful staff. Credit cards accepted. Strong TV and Verizon signals. We did not try the cable TV. No recycling of any kind; "we're thinking about it." Although I did not measure voltage, we had no power problems. Tanks full and empty, did not hook to water. Paved interior roads and gravel sites. Newly paved one-way roads wind gently through trees that are too close to the road; many scarred tree trunks. OK, but be aware and make wide turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
Wonderful park host and nature representative. They were very friendly. This is a small park, but there were lots of birds and some small wild pigs. We will stay here again. There is a pool, but it is closed due to budget cuts by the State. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
Pros: Large sites, quiet, shady/trees, clean. Cons: No sewer, marginal electric 103-115v, low to non-existent water pressure, loop with 50amp sites closed, nature center closed, narrow roads in camping area, too many trees for satellite. Would not return due to problems with electric and water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Beautiful and clean park! The staff and camp voluteers were pleasant and helpful. Our site was spacious and easy to get our 30' camper in and out of. The only slight negative was how the table and fire ring are behind the camper. We came prepared with bathing suits and a canoe, but could not use either. The park is located on a bluff with beautiful views of the river, but access only from the boat ramp. Due to the swift current, a motorboat is suggested. The mostly shaded, paved roads are great for a bike ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
We enjoyed this park. The staff was helpful and friendly. The site was clean, large, woodsy, with adequate privacy. The only problems that we had was the electricity. There was a cold spell, and apparently a lot of campers were using electric heaters. The voltage going into our motorhome was so low that our electrical system cut off the electricity numerous times. We turned off everything we could to stop the problem. The worst time was in the evening when most people were watching tv, using lights and heat. Summertime could be a problem, also. The park staff checked the voltage, and agreed that there was a problem. They were going to call GA Power & Light, but we never saw them come by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
This is a typical Georgia State Park. Sites are spread out enough to give you some cushion bewteen sites. Some sites are larger than others, and there are some really great sites here and there. About 5 sites are near the rivers edge with a nice breeze coming in from the river. The CG is covered by a pine forest and a good layer of grass. Some direct sun here and there but enough shade throughout. Some pull through sites, but most others are easy enough to get into. Armadillos sneak around at night on the outer edge of the campground. Bathrooms were cleaned daily and are fairly new. A small playground in the main loop and a large elevated feild suitable for a volleyball net or tossing a football or frisbee. A boat ramp beside the park at the Crooked River. Miniture golf and day use areas of the park are a good distance from the campground. About a 15 minute drive to Downtown St. Marys and the ferry to Cumberland Island. Areas of concern: the dreaded sand gnat will eat you alive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Many of the sites are surrounded by trees, which lends to great privacy and a nice woodsy feel. Despite being here in the summer we did not have a bit of trouble with mosquitos or other biting insects. The restrooms and grounds were very well maintained. The only drawback was the need for more garbage cans and a second dump station. We had to wait in line for almost an hour, since they only have one station. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
You can make reservations here but not site specific and I believe that is the way Georgia does it for most of their state parks. This campground is on the coast situated on the Crooked River. There are over 500 acres with campsites, cottages, picnic shelters, pioneer group campground, nature center, boat ramp, dock and a miniature golf that cost $2 per person open year round. One can ride bikes on the roads but not on the trails. This park is known for all the different birds that stop here on the way south and north. There is no swimming but if you have a boat you can go on the river and also over to the Cumberland Island National Seashore. This is a great campground to stay at if you plan to take the ferry over to Cumberland Island National Seashore for a day visit. You might want to make reservations first – the ferry leaves from St. Mary’s National Visitor Center at 9 and you return by 5:30. It is only seven miles away from the campground. St. Mary’s is a cute little historic town with quaint shops and restaurants to visit when you stay at Crooked River State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Beautiful place but very simple. Not much to do inside or around the park. Borders the Crooked River but erosion has created a 30 - 40 foot cliff which is actually dangerous. Signage is there to keep you away for obvious reasons. Sites are mostly large, level and some are very private others less so. Lots of tall trees and shade but satellite access was not to difficult. Town of St. Mary's is a short drive and was nice but not much there. Overall it is a nice place to get away for some quiet time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$22
Another great Georgia State Park. The sites were clean, large and well spaced. One section was very private with site built into a vegeation area. The other section was more open but there was tree coverage to provide shade. Nice walking areas and lots of bicycle paths. Wild life included armadillo, deer and maybe a gator in a small pond. Lots to explore in the area- Cumberland Island, Okeefeenokee wildlife management area (lots of gators there), St Simons, Jekell Islands, etc. Will stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
Nice place, secluded sites. Only stayed 2 nights,but would stay longer next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$22
Quiet and peaceful campground. Many pull-through sites and several back-in sites. The bathrooms/showers are in need of some work, but they kept them as clean as they could. Not much to do in the area, but the scenery is nice and it's off the beaten path, keeping things quiet. The park has 4 miles worth of very nice hiking trails and a nature themed putt-putt golf course. This was our second trip to Crooked River State Park and I'm sure that the wife and I will return when we need to charge the batteries once again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
We absolutely loved our weekend stay at this State Campground. Our site was very shaded and level. This campground is almost 2 different campgrounds in one. One side is more open with less trees, and the other has many trees and plantings giving a more private feel. The staff at check in was friendly and told us of all the activities planned for the weekend. And for one of the smaller State Parks, they had quite a few things going on, especially for the children. The are equipped with a boat ramp which had so-so parking. They also have a miniature golf course, and a few group shelters for group picnics. The rangers and staff came through at regular intervals so you felt very safe. The restrooms were very clean. The sites were also well spaced. Just a short drive into town, and there was some great antique shopping, if that is your thing. Also there is a day trip available in town to Cumberland Island. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
If you enjoy fishing this is a fantastic campground. We have stayed here several times in both hot and cold months. It's one of our favorites.You can fish from the boat dock. There's a playground, miniature golf, and seasonal swimming pool. Sites are spacious and private. The town of St. Mary's is beautiful and you can fish from the town pier as well. Just a little insect repellent will take care of the bugs. Must go to Cumberland Island as this is my favorite place in the world. Also,(you guessed it), there is excellent fishing on the Cumberland shore-also tons of history here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Very convenient. Nice clean quiet campground. Great place to stop going to or coming from Florida. Shopping and restaurants nearby. Fuel is less than Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$22
This is my first submittal. I would like to thank all those associated with the production and operation of this review site. Job well done. Park is split into two areas, open on left with partial shade from pine trees. Right side has a mixture of back-ins and pull-throughs. Back-ins deep with vegation privacy, pull through right on the road. Left side also has both site types. Left is basically for family with children. Parents bring the toys, bikes, boards, etc. Very friendly park. Also has pool and minature golf. Right side for those who like more privacy. Roads are asphalt, sites small stone, grass earth and pine needles. Park is very clean. Although on the river, there is no water access for individuals; however, there is a boat ramp and easy access with boats back and forth to your camp site. Also has premitive sites for scouts. Dry area with bath rooms and water. Would go again and send more time in the Historic Section of St. Mary's, interesting architure and Submarine Museum. We have a 15' TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2004
$19
We stayed here with the intention of visiting Cumberland Island National Seashore. Despite being disappointed that the park was closed on the days we planned to be there, we did enjoy going to nearby Jekyll Island and eating good food in nearby St. Marys. The park was somewhat of a disappointment after camping at other GA state parks. The sites are dirt and not that big. Some of the sites had recently been cleared of all vegetation - I presume due to the recent hurricanes. A few of the sites were nice and shady. Other sites were really nothing more than grass. There is a nice view of the river from one side of the campground. However, you really have to watch your kids as there is a 15 foot cliff down to the water that would be extremely difficult to get back up. This appears to be due to some serious erosion as there were pipes hanging out of the cliff. There was some major construction/renovation at the center of the campground during our visit and some of the sites were not useable. I do not know what sort of improvements were planned. I'm not sure if I would go back here or not, although our visit was not bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
We stayed here for 3 nights at an RV club rally. This is a beautiful park, nice walking and biking paths. And weather permitting you can canoe/kayak on the river. It has a pool and putt-putt. Lots of shelters and/or picnick tables to get togethers. Sites are large and it is a peaceful park. I think I know WHY it is peaceful - because there are a billion no-see-ums biting you 24/7. Except for this 'little' problem I would love to go back here. But according to the ranger these little bugs are here year round! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com