224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Sikanni River Campground & RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (250) 772-5400
CGID9336

Sikanni River Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   3   7   1   7   7   5   2   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
We stayed here because there was nothing else available nearby and we were exhausted. The campground is a dirt parking lot essentially. Currently it's full with resident gas field workers. The grounds are dirty, with trash, cigarette butts, doggy poop at our door. Spots are very tight. We paid $36 for 15 amp service. No other utilities available. The sign said $35 but I guess the managers decided on an extra dollar on the spur of the moment. To cut down on the dust, they had a water truck pour some water on the driveway so that made a nice muddy mess. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We stayed in this campground in June and August, we arrived and asked for a full hook up site at a cost of over $40. However, this campground generates its own power and our EMS found the power lacking so we asked for a refund. When asked if we had a generator, we were offered a dry camping spot right along the river for $10.50 which we took. We did not use the bathhouse or wifi and unsure if they have a laundry. When we returned in August, the same dry camping spot was double in price. The reasoning was that big rigs use lots of water. Huh? We were dry camping and the only thing we did was put a bag of trash in the dumpster. The advertisements along the highway advertise fuel availability at this campground but they no longer sell fuel so plan accordingly. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
$30 for a poorly maintained, very muddy, 20A electric and water only pull-thru. Office, fence, grass, and playground look great from the road, but looks are about it. Best sites filled with long-term RVs and there is constant truck noise all night because the entire region is in the midst of a shale-gas drilling boom. Stayed here the night after being here in another nice CG and the contrast couldn't have been greater. Would not stay here again or recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Campground runs on generator so electricity is not one of their strong points. Location is. Rate shown is for electric only site. We camped right next to the river. Lovely couple owns the campground. Would not even consider driving into the Pink Mountain Campsite, looked very rough from the road. Sikanni is only another 20 miles or so north on the Alaska Hwy. WiFi is available but only on the front porch at the office/store. Our second visit and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The first impression was a lack of cleanliness. Some sites it turns out are better than others and our site unfortunately had a 15 amp service and no view. The circuit breaker tripped as soon as the microwave was turned on. I went to the office to ask for the location of the breaker panel and was directed to a box in the trees behind site #5. I reset the breaker which was very loose and tried another appliance in the 5th wheel. The breaker tripped again. Tired and wet and with no help around I ran a power cord extension to an adjacent site that had a 20 amp service rather than the15 amp on my site which was #14. That worked fine. The manager finally came by to tell me he reset the 15 amp breaker and when I informed him it had tripped a second time and I had connected to a nearby empty site he did not look pleased and simply went off. Shortly after I went to pay the overnight fee and had my dogs with me on leashes. I got a tongue lashing for not having obeyed the "no dogs in front of the store" sign which I had not seen as it faced the highway and not the camping area. I found management very unfriendly and not particularly helpful. Add to that a dirty campsite with a distinct septic tank odor where we were leads me to not recommend a stay in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Rate shown includes tax and is for a full hookup 20 amp site. Our site was a good, fairly level gravel back-in. Not much space between the full hookup sites, but lucky for us this section was not full. Most of the sites with a river view had more space, but had power only. The mosquitoes and other biting insects were not that bad in the open areas. No TV unless you had a satellite dish. Park had Wi-Fi, but it was usable only near the store. The store offers ice cream treats and cheap phone cards. I would come here again as it is more peaceful than some of the campgrounds in the larger communities on the Alaska highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
We liked this very unique campground. It is not typical, but it provides a very nice rustic setting on the river and fantastic hosts. They are in the process of remodeling the restrooms and showers. The Wi-Fi on the front porch worked perfectly. As others have said there is no TV or phone: we loved it. We had a river-front site. The owner offers a free stay to a randomly chosen guest when ever there are more than 6 guests staying on any night. Very cool! We WILL stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
This is a typical ALCAN road house campground that runs off a generator and is otherwise self-contained. It is in a scenic location along the river with bluffs that make it feel like a canyon. No cell or TV reception so it feels very isolated. Our 20 amp power was reliable (but limited to 20 amp) for our overnight stay. No problem for a big rig with toad. We didn't have to disconnect. All sites have a river view with some directly on the river. Easy to find directly off the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Very unkempt campground. Multiple sites are on one 15 amp circuit!! Kept tripping the breaker when trying to use small electric heater. When we complained to the manager, he simply turned and walked away!! Would stay away from this place at all costs. Buildings are dilapidated; restrooms not nice at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
A gem in the rough. Relaxing spot on the Sikanni River. OK for an overnight stay. The layout was a little bit confusing although the sites were numbered. Riverside sites were few and only had power/no water service. Bath house looked like it was about to cave in, lots of mold. Needs a redo and some sprucing up. We are self contained so services not really an issue for us. This wouldn't be our first choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Nice location along the river, and nice owner. There was a lot of maneuvering room. Power is generated on-site. We had a 15A electric site - with only 100 volts. (Campers with expensive electronics beware.) There was a nice playground area, and a small convenience store. Nicest RV park along the stretch of road between Fort Nelson and Dawson Creek. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Park has a quaint, picturesque, rustic setting along the river. If you don't expect much, you won't be disappointed. We didn't and were delighted with our stay. Electrical outlet polarity was reversed at the first site tried. Restrooms and showers are very old and it shows. The back-in sites were all taken by semi-permanents, as there is a great deal of oil and gas work in the area. Pull-through sites are narrow if you have opposing slideouts. With more than five overnighters, there is a drawing with the winner getting their night's stay for free. The owner is great, but all in all I think the previous reviews have been a little generous in their ratings, or maybe they won the drawing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
In Sept 2009 our truck broke down near this campground. The owners were incredibly helpful. I spent many hours at their campground dealing with a repair service and was amazed at how welcoming the owners were. They literally stopped their day to help us! I would like to encourage travelers along the Alaskan Hwy to stay here -- all travelers benefit when we give our business to incredibly kind people. In 2010 we will return and stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
My children built inukshuks on the river bank and had tons of fun. Our slot (and most of the ones in the park) was next to the river and was just gorgeous. The sites by the river were 15 amps only with no water and no sewer, but wow: what scenery! Our pull-through slot was easy to get into. The back-end sites all radiate off a large open area, so they would be easy to back into, and we’re not great at backing in. The price can’t be beat. They also sold gasoline, which was convenient (although pricey, like most of the places along the Alaska highway). Reservations by e-mail were quick and easy. The owner was a delight, and she obviously loves children. Instead of belonging to any of the RV discount clubs, the owner holds a drawing every night that she has more than five campers, and one campsite gets a free night’s stay. The bathrooms were rustic but clean. This is a lovely campground, and I would hurry back here. It is very conveniently located directly off the highway. There was some road noise from a nearby highway bridge, but we weren’t bothered by it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Picturesque park on the Siskini River. Spacious, quiet sites with the sound of the river in the background. (20 amp locally generated power) Great camp hosts. Old Alaska Highway is just across the river. Several quaint, humorous elements that we enjoyed. If we pass that way again, well stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This is a beautiful campground along the Sikanni River. It is a perfect place to stop and relax or for an overnight half way between Fort St John and Fort Nelson. There is a small store and gas, diesel, and propane available. The on-site owners, Wayne Gillis and Jackie Allen are incredibly friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com