206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Woods and River was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (719) 657-4530
CGID9347

Woods and River

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   7   7   7   3   8   8   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
Previous comments are accurate. No broadcast TV, no ATT cell coverage. Good WiFi. Will, the manager, is a great fellow and he goes out of his way to make sure all is well with your assigned site. He even spent an hour or two insulating our water supply since snow was expected that night. We hope to get there again--without the snow. Rate was PPA w/50A We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
This is a very nice, grassy, quiet spot. Manager was very nice. Park sits along the Rio Grande River. Great overnight spot! We do not use public restrooms or laundry, so I cannot comment on them. Fifty amps was good; site was level. Better than anything we saw along Hwy 160. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Great "overnighter". The manager was very helpful and accommodating. Sites are grass, but level. All utilities were good, and it was very quiet at night. It is a fair distance from Hwy 160 and you do have to travel several blocks on gravel city streets. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
Rate reflects PA discount. Very basic campground but the sites were level and grassy and the park was very quiet. Very funky laundry facilities. Management was friendly and helpful. Good place for a one night stay. Would stay here again for short term only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$17
Fairly decent campground. Dirt road in but not too bad. Good Wi-Fi. The price is PA and we had stayed here before and would stay again. Quiet area and Del Norte is a pleasant town. The managers are helpful and nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We stayed for 2 nights resting before we went for a week at Fun Valley. Car got extremely dusty going over dirt road. Site was level and grass but hard, pull-through was different. Internet worked okay. Quiet and don't remember any lights. Park Maintenance was good. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very old facilities. Sites are in full sun, grass is dead and crackles when you walk on it. Did not see any apparent effort to improve anything. Sites are not near the river but tent sites are. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$29
This is a great little campground. The hosts are super friendly and were there every day maintaining the grounds. They told us on the phone before we arrived there would be "workers" using some of the campsites. But it was very quiet the whole time we stayed. My sons had a great time fishing from the river and even saw some deer wading a few feet from shore. The RV sites are all grass and no trees, but the tent sites are surrounded by them. Fire pits are only in the tent area and near the river. The neighborhood outside the park is working-class families and they were quiet. We visited the Sand Dunes and Zapata Falls while there, its just about 1 hour away. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
We were met by one of the park hosts and guided into a 50 amp, very long, grass pull through site. It was late in the season and there were not many campers in the park. Very quiet, good Wi-Fi, good water pressure, level and very peaceful. Signage is just OK from the Hwy, but in this little town it is hard to get lost. A bit rustic, but we would surely stay here again. Price reflects PPA rate. Verizon phone and satellite dish worked just fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
Park is small with all grass sites. Showers were old, large, concrete and apparently available to those who wished to come into the park and use them. Only one shower was usable. The mens restroom/shower was supposed to be unlocked as the lock was broken. However, it was locked when my husband tried to use it, with no one in it. Sprinklers were hitting the coach, and we had to have them shut off. There is a nice walk behind the park along the river. We encountered several deer on the walkway. Park is located in an undesirable neighborhood. Permanents take up about half of the available spaces and some RV'ers may be annoyed by very early start ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
It is a Passport America park, thus the $16 rate. All sites are grass, most side by side. 50 amp service is not available at all sites. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The Rio Grande flows next to the park, just a short walk away. This park is a real find, and the Passport America affiliation just makes it that much nicer. You could dry camp on the river bank if you were so inclined. A great stop in central Colorado. Excellent cable TV. A few blocks of dusty gravel road getting back to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$16
This park has an RV area with about 24 sites, and then a separate area under the trees for tents. The RV area is an open field without trees. You are within 100 yards to the Rio Grande river so a great stop if you're wanting to fish (I did and caught several). The camp hosts had already left for the season, so we got to meet the owner, and he was very friendly and accommodating. Sites are level. 50 amp service on 5 sites, 30 amp on rest. Power was good, but only 2 other rigs in place, so don't know how it would be during a busy summer. Water pressure was also very good. The park is several blocks away from the highway, so no traffic noise. It is about a block away from a railroad line, but we didn't hear any train traffic in the 2 days we were here. A good overnight stop, and probably would also be a good spot for tent camping on the river in their tent sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
We stayed here for 2 nights on Passport America at $13 a night. It is a pleasant campground with quite a few monthlies and pretty good free wi-fi. It is on the Rio Grande River but not real close to the campground. The camp host is a very nice lady and very helpful. The sites are grass and close together and it is a no frills campground. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com