223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Shenandoah River State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (540) 622-6840
CGID9349

Shenandoah River State Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   10   9   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
For a state park, this 4-year old campground was better than we expected. We loved the size of the sites and the separation between them. We were on the upper tier of sites (#2) where most, if not all, are pull-through sites. The sites' patios are staggered, so your next door neighbor isn't peering onto your patio when he looks out his window. The lower tier had mostly back-in sites, but were much closer to the river access points. I was a little disappointed in the access points, thinking they would be more user-friendly, but that's just me. The electric and water utilities were flawless. Satellite access in the upper tier was excellent. As noted before, cell phone service can be a challenge. The visitors' center has a Wi-Fi network that you can access while there. It's a bit of a hike to get there, or just drive as most do. Otherwise, you need to drive into Front Royal, about 8 miles away. Our camp host was a tent camper, and a very pleasant one at that. Overall, a great, relaxing, and quiet campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Still the lowest priced 50 amp water hookup big rig sites in the entire area. Very large and beautiful sites. Back in sites are more level than pull-through sites. Only minus is that the power blinked out twice in one day on site 5. Someone needs to check the power distribution boxes again. The zip line is $84 per person, so we did not try. There is water access, but very steep and muddy. Camp host in tent was excellent & friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Wonderful park. Large sites. This area offers lots of things to do, zip line in park, has several miles of river frontage, fishing, hiking, biking and kayaking! The only thing one could complain about is the absence of Verizon service, which is our fault. AT&T and Sprint work well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
We spent the weekend here. The camp hosts were super friendly and helpful as we got to the campground late. The scenery is beautiful. Close to river outfitters for rafting, canoeing, kayaking, and a trail leads right to the Shenandoah River. We will be visiting here much more as it is so close to home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
We loved this park. There is a place to put your kayak in the water and very nice hiking trails in a beautiful location. Fire ring, picnic table, spacious level lots. Showers were very clean. Only drawbacks are no Wi-Fi and no sewer on site. Would definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This is an excellent state park campground. Sites are huge & well spaced. The visitor center is nice & there are good walking trails. Restroom & showers were very clean. Camp host responded quickly to a problem that I brought to her attention. This is a good location for visiting the National Park. It is a very peaceful place to camp. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
A wonderful park in a great location. This park was easy to get to and very well organized. At the gate we were welcomed into the park with a packet of information waiting for us. We went in and found a super large pull through spot with good electric and water service. The camp area was very well maintained and the camp hosts were friendly and quite helpful. After you pick out your spot you stop by the visitor center to drop off the paperwork they gave you at the gate. Fantastic and scenic trails with easy access to local attractions. One of my all time favorites. I would have given it a ten if you could reserve a spot (we saw a late arriving big rig having to settle on a tight spot while a tent camper was on a giant pull through spot). The family voted it a place to return to soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
Great location to Shenandoah National Park and Front Royal. Clean dump station. Lowest priced 50 amp and water campground in entire area. Super large sites. Hiking trails. Very quiet and peaceful scenery. Friendly staff and hosts. ATT wireless and data perfect signal. Will always return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Best 50 amp & water hookup park in the entire Shenandoah area in terms of price. Alas, no sewer hookups. But at least the dump station is very clean. Park is only about 3 years old. Incredible views of mountains and valley. Sites are not perfectly level, but level enough for levelers. They are huge sites. Excellent, friendly camp hosts. Very remote feeling, yet minutes from Front Royal shopping and national park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We have camped here many times and enjoy this campground. There is lots of hiking, kayaking, and biking to do here. The view from the upper campground area is breathtaking. The bathrooms and showers are always clean. The hosts have always been friendly. My only complaint is that they have stopped mowing the grass between sites, and this has increased the bugs, and also the campground doesn't look as we'll manicured as it used to. Not sure if this is a budget cut issue or what, but it was nicer when they mowed the whole thing. We still love it and will return many more times I'm sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Our site (29) was a "Y" with site 30. We camped with friends who were in a motorhome-- they pulled in forward so we could camp "awning to awning." We were lucky to get these sites together since reservations are made first come first serve. Sites were level, partly shaded and very roomy. We were easy walking distance to the Shenandoah River where we tubed on our own. No need to use an outfitter if you bring your own tubes, kayaks, etc. Some issues with electric when we first arrived, but it was very hot and the loop was full. The bathhouse was close, and very clean with individual showers-- good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Overall, this is a beautiful park. We are looking forward to camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We are regular users of this park and normally love the place. This weekend we were infested with ticks that were carried in by our dogs. For some reason the park has decided to let the tall grass grow in the RV park and is cutting the bare minimum around the sites. On our normal walks around the loops our dogs would pick up ticks just walking in the grass. They don't seem to be small deer ticks but no tick is a good tick. If you have young children, I would not let them run around or play off the gravel sites because of this problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Beautiful park and location. Sites are mostly level, but not perfectly level. Millions of mosquitos. 50 amp power and water hookups are nice. Very large sites. Choose your own site upon arrival. Many hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$32
Lowest priced 50 amp & water hookup campground in entire Shenandoah & Luray area. Dump station available. Strong AT&T & Virgin Mobile signals. Road to campground is not steep. Yes, it is downhill, but very gradual, you will not drag. Open year round, even the water is on year round. Laundry room on site. Many hiking trails start on site. Online reservation excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
This was our first visit to Shenandoah River State Park and we very much enjoyed our time here. We stayed in site 8 in the E/W campground, a gravel back-in with a tent pad (smaller gravel). We had a neighbor on only one side, which was nice. All sites in this campground have hookups for water and electric (50/30/15). There are no sewer connections except for the campground hosts' site, but there is a dump station available at the top of the hill. Some sites along the outer perimeter have a nice view of the hills: sites 9, 10 and 12 especially. Sites around #25 back to trees. There are several huge pull-through sites that would accommodate about any size rig. Funnily enough, one of them was occupied by a little pop-up at the time we were here. Camping cabins are available in a variety of sizes: from a little camp cabins with bunk beds and a table and chairs, up to a six bedroom lodge with all the luxuries of home. The bath house was very neat and clean. There are 4 private showers with lockable doors in the rear of the building. The water was always hot enough for showering. There are also a washer, a dryer and a dish washing sink at the bath house. Reservations made on line are not site-specific, so you just choose whichever site you want from those available when you arrive. There is a $5 reservation fee tacked on when booking via ReserveAmerica. The park attendants were not finicky about check-in time and allowed us in several hours early. Those arriving after normal business hours will have their reservation information left in an envelope with their name on it at the attendant station. Our TracFone (using the AT&T network) had 4 bars at our campsite and we were able to use our VirginMobile MiFi for Internet access without problem. This park has lots of hiking trails, equestrian accommodations and river access for inner-tubing and kayaking. (We didn't see a launch ramp for boats, but weren't really looking for one.) A ranger at the Visitor's Center told us that they were organizing a float trip on inner-tubes for the next day: only $5 per person. We were sorry we had to miss that. At other times of the year there are also ranger-led canoe and kayak trips. There is quite a lot to do outside the park as well. Skyline Drive and Shenandoah National Park are not a far drive away. (We saw a bear!) Skyline Caverns is just down the road a bit and there were a couple of outdoor-type businesses that take groups out on canoe trips and such. Several other posters noted that the road into the campground is a steep and winding, but it really isn't all THAT bad. We did hear a couple of train whistles, but they were off in the distance and not loud and rumbling. There was no traffic noise to speak of. All-in-all, this is a wonderful State Park with a little something for just about every type of camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
A very nice state park with spacious sites and a state of the art bath house. Verizon cell service is non-existent and the roads into the CG are very steep and winding. The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are fairly level and well laid out but there is very little shade as most of the trees were removed during construction of the CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We love to use State Parks and this one is why we do. Fantastic for young and old, this is 100% in every way. Opened in July 2010, it is all new and is very very clean everywhere. Very steep approach in and out by road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Relatively new park, with clean private showers and clean bathrooms. Close to the"Skyway". Friendly, knowledgeable staff. The town of Front Royal was very interesting. "Aunt Sandy' Diner" in town in a must try for breakfast or lunch We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Nice park. Clean sites, clean bathrooms and laundry. Lots of great biking, hiking. Beautiful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Loved this campground. It is clean and the views are wonderful. Some things to keep in mind though. Cell and Internet service at least with Verizon is nonexistent. There are some serious hills to get to the campground. You could consider all the sites big rig friendly but we were on site 6 and the exit from this site was difficult even after the person in the cabin moved his car. There is just not enough room to swing to get out of the site and miss the drainage ditch. We will return but pick a different site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Camped over New Years with friends. Sites were large, clean and level. Weather was great and the campground was almost full. Did some hiking on Allen's Mountain. Great park with nice views but summer time might be a bit warm with not a lot of shade available. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Very nice state park in that it has 50 amp sites and water. Too bad no sewer connection, just dump station. Very large sites. Not perfectly level, but we were able to level using wood blocks and auto-levelers. Nice trails, and visitor center on-site. The roads are not that steep, no dragging at all. Just drive slowly and you will be fine. They should allow 2 cars + RV to park on each site. Officially they only allow 1 car + RV. The park is 8 miles to Front Royal and 14 miles to Luray. Great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
As others stated this is a new campground. So the sites sit pretty much in the open with no shade trees. Please be aware of the VERY steep hill you have to go down to get to the campground. As for any Virginia State Parks if you have a pet, be prepared to pay extra for them! Strict policy of 5 per night per dog. The laundry house is very nice, along with the bathrooms. The showers are single showers located in the back of the building. They were dirty and had some creepy crawlers in them thru our stay. I guess this could be expected but we would like to see them cleaned a little better. The park itself is a beautiful park. The overlook is breathtaking. I would have rated this higher if they would have left some full grown trees in the campground, have a pick your own site reservation, and didn't have the pet fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Campground less than a year old. Both sites and restrooms very clean and like new. Nice hiking and mountain biking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
New RV campground down a steep hill with very large level sites. Very clean new bathhouse with great large individual unisex showers and laundry. Quiet during week. No Verizon cell and only ION TV over the air. Including pet fee, it's pretty expensive but a beautiful spot and sites. Pick sites on upper level for best view. Great places to walk (but lots of ticks) and good places for dog to swim. Short distance to Skyline Drive entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
This new state park campground is separated by a ridge from US-340. The road into the campground is quite steep and has several sharp curves. However, it is new and in excellent shape. Use a lower gear and you’ll have no problem. Campsites are large and well spaced. The camping area is located on the West Branch of the Shenandoah River and provides a quiet, peaceful setting. Given its valley location there was no cell signal available. On the two weekday nights when I visited there were very few campers. I’ll definitely be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Spent the weekend here in the RV section and Virginia did a great job! The sites are huge and most offer some privacy from your neighbor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Great RV campground that was just recently completed in the park. Located away from the river and the original tent campground, it has the typical loop layout and construction of other upgraded VA state park campgrounds - hard packed gravel pads that will support up to 60 ft. rigs, large gravel tent/table area, 50/30 amp service, and a fire ring with cooking grate. Bathhouse was spotless. Pads were relatively level, though I did see a few motorhomes with level blocks in use. Cell service with Verizon was nearly non-existent once you got past the park entrance and down into the valley. I was a little disappointed that they chose to clear cut the campground site before construction. Only a few sites around the outside of the loops offer any remaining shade trees. The access road off the main park road is pretty steep downhill, so be prepared. There are several ranger-led nature presentations nearly every weekend. There are several trails to walk around and a few canoe/tube outfitters in the area to get you going on a nice trip down the river. Overall, it is a nice facility. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$19
This campground is for tents only! You cannot drive directly to your site, you have to park in a lot just outside the campground and carry in your gear. (Some free carts are available to help.) The parking lot is very close to the sites, so you don't have to walk far. There are only 10 sites, the farthest is probably only about 500 feet from the parking. The sites are a little "over-processed" for me. The sites are bounded in by railroad ties and filled in with small pebbles. I prefer just the natural dirt. But, the sites are built-up to be perfectly level and the pebbles alleviate any drainage or mud problems. The bath house is very new with everything you could need. There are four very nice showers with ample hot water - a very good ratio considering the campground has just 10 sites. The campground does not provide any trash facilities at all, you have to take all your trash with you. Not a huge problem, but kind of annoying in the bathroom when you have to carry out your used dental floss. (The woman's restroom does have a sanitary napkin disposal.) Location is right on the river, with access for canoes. Two canoe rental companies are also close by if you don't have your own. There are no nearby restaurants or stores. Closest is in Front Royal. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com