219083 User submitted reviews online!!
James H. (Sloppy) Floyd State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (706) 857-0826
CGID935

James H. (Sloppy) Floyd State Park

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   5   9   9   10   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
This is a small campground in a beautiful state park. The sites are very spacious. Even though there are no sewer hookups, there is grey water disposal at each site. The bath house is very clean & supplies are kept well-stocked. The area is very hilly and the road through the campground is narrow and has a lot of turns, so it might be difficult for very large RVs to maneuver, but it is ideal for small to average size RVs. There are several nice hiking trails, a large lake stocked with fish, canoes, kayaks & pedal boats for rent at the camp office and the town of Summerville is less than 10 minutes away. There is a playground within the campground. This is one of our favorite campgrounds now and we plan to return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Although it is a challenge to get to the campsite in a big rig, we managed to get in and it was great. The pull through sites are large and well maintained. The fall foliage was beautiful. We had deer and squirrels right outside our windows. If you want a quiet place to relax, this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This park was our least favorite of the Georgia State parks we have stayed in thus far. The park itself seemed a bit older than some of the other parks we have stayed in. The park consists of a Lake that offers fishing and paddle and John Boat rentals. The ranger station offers live bait for sale, along with ice and firewood. There is a $5 parking fee that is charged for every vehicle that enters the park, which seems to be common for all Georgia State parks these days. There were two children's playgrounds at the park. One where the campers stay and one on the public part of the park. Both were fairly inadequate and in poor shape. We were actually afraid for our kids to play on the public one. The camp site one was mainly for older children (8 yrs old or older in my opinion). There are hiking trails there that were enjoyable, but pretty steep in some cases. The actual campsite we stayed at (#17) was fairly level and I will say had quite a bit of usable camping space for setup. The paved road around the campground was narrow, but manageable. The bathrooms and showers were definitely older and pretty dirty as far as I was concerned. This is not a park I would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Could not really ask for a better campground, quiet and peaceful with things to do and the price is right. It is a little difficult to get to, but well worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
We loved this campground! However, you can't go wrong with a Georgia State Park! The campground was small, but very tidy and well organized. There are numerous trails around the lake, and a less well known trail to the Marble Mine. There is a lake to fish in, but no swimming allowed. A campground host lives in the middle of the campground, so you feel safe and things were never rowdy. There is fishing, trails and a playground for the kids. Visit in the Fall...the leaves are beautiful! Happy Camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
This was our first return trip to this park since it had been renovated. While the park wasn't bad before, it's now in great shape. We were in a large pull-through site overlooking the woods. There are only 25 sites in the park, which makes it nice even during the Labor Day holiday. The lake is within walking distance and we saw some fish being caught. The town of Summerville is just a couple miles up the road, with a Super Walmart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Our family of four had a great time at this state park. The two lakes were great for fishing. The staff was helpful. There are pedal boats and jon boats for rent. We are looking forward to camping here again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
We spent the night here while traveling to north Georgia. We were surprised by this nice campground. There are several large pull-thru sites and the sites are fairly well spaced. The electric and water service looked fairly new. Apparently this park fills up at Thanksgiving - or we might have stayed longer. I hope we can one day return here as there appears to be lots to do and see within the park. Note that the entrance has a bridge with a 13 ton limit (I seem to recall that number). The camping area entrance road has one sharp turn is fairly narrow at some points. But, that's only a problem if you meet someone head on. Also, the camping loop entrance is fairly steep. Not really a big deal, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
This is a beautiful state park and campground in a small rural setting. The campground has recently been renovated, and they did a great job. We stayed in campsite #2, which I consider to be the best in the campground, although several others were nice as well. The lake in the state park is managed for quality bass fishing, and the pictures on the bulletin board in the office attest to some very nice fish. The campground has a new playground for kids in the center section, and the comfort stations have received recent refreshing. This is a great place to stay when visiting Rome or touring the north Georgia mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Wow! The entire area of and around Summerville is beautiful! The campground was fantastic! Not far from town. Friendly staff. Plenty of space between sites. Very quiet. The hills make for challenging exercise such as walking, running and biking. Lots of nature trails throughout park and two lakes great for fishing, canoeing & kayaking. Lots of country roads to bike on too. If you're an outdoor enthusiaist, there is plenty to do. At night, build a campfire at your own site, kick back and relax while listening to the many sounds of nature. We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
This is a wonderful little campground. It was very quiet and not at all crowded. The lake was very scenic and full of fish. This was one of the cleanest and quietest parks we have stayed at. We will be going here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com