206669 User submitted reviews online!!
St. Mary Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (406) 888-7800
CGID9382

St. Mary Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   8   8   9   9   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
The surrounding mountains make a beautiful setting for a campground that has relatively short, narrow, pull-through sites. There are no hookups, no WiFi, and no laundry. The bathroom were nice and clean and modern with spacious showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Tight, small spaces, really could use a little more room. And for some reason, they have wood posts about 18 to 24 inches high everywhere, and hidden in tall grass and bushes. Damaged my RV backing up to level. Bath and pay showers are nice, but showers weren't cleaned as often as needed. Great location, but be aware that AT&T does not have any cell service on east side of park (does on west). Verizon works on both sides. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
Nice large campground. There are better in the park, but this one took reservations and has a very good location. The sites are close and the scenery is minimal. Would attempt to get into another campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
This is the only cg on the east side that you can reserve, and you must. Fills early and daily. Good luck picking a site online; they don't tell you that many are sloped- ours was awful. But was close to restroom and spigot, nice view. Biked to VC and shuttle. Town is further: groceries, shops and great cafes. Happy to get good Verizon signal from site and there's camper showers in loop C (get tokens from Ranger). Bathroom didn't have toilet paper for 2 days and hosts were lazy, but otherwise this was a good visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Great National Park CG. No hook-ups, but clean restrooms and friendly staff. No showers. Walking distance to visitor center and shuttle bus route to the GTSR. Have stayed here in the past and will do so again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This campground may not be the most scenic campground in the park, but compare to almost anywhere else, it's great. The location is ideal for exploring the eastern regions. We stayed 3 nights with no issues. The staff were present and friendly. A threaded potable water spout is available at the entrance, with plenty of water spouts in the campground. This was a very quiet campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
We thought about staying in a full service park but decided not to. You get the full national park experience staying on sight. This is a fantastic campground. We were in sight C118 on the outside of the loop. The sites on the inside of the loop had their doors and awnings facing the street. Views were better on the other side of the loop but our sight was next to a creek. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
Nice National Park campground. Dry camping only, but if you come expecting that, it isn't an issue. Nice to have the dump station on-site to clean out as you leave the park. Our site was a little lacking on the shade, but the views of the surrounding mountains made up for it. We spent the majority of the time in the park anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. Easy access to the park. The lack of showers was an issue for us. The showers are about 6 mi up the road at Rising Sun, but they have very limited stalls, so the wait was long. The local KOA wanted 10.00 a person, so the cost at Rising Sun was much more appealing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$12
GPS N48.75254 W113.44043 I agree with the other reviews. I stayed a week. Used this as a base camp to visit the Canadian and USA side of the parks. Rate is Golden Age and I am not sure if it is correct. BIG rigs will have problems. Only a few site would accept my 33 foot travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
This is a nice campground! Lots of shade, good size site. You can easily walk to the St Mary Visitor Center, where you can also get on the park's shuttle. Although there are no hookups, which is typical of a National Park, you can run your generator during meal times and there is a convenient dump station. We arrived with a full fresh water tank and empty holding tanks and did not have to dump at all and so the lack of hookups did not bother us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Another very nice National Park Campground. Dry camping only. Much more open than the heavily shaded campgrounds on the west side of the park, and marvelous views of snow-covered mountains. Solar and satellite worked well here, as did Verizon broadband. The campground is set up in loops, so there is reasonable seperation and privacy between sites. There is an attendent booth on the main access here that cuts down on folks simply cruising through the campground. Overall, a very nice place to stay while exploring the east side of Glacier National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
This campground has a spectacular view of some of the mountains in Glacier National Park. Easy access to all of the east side areas in the park. Primitive campground with few and far between water spigots. The water spigots are designed so that a hose will not connect, even my water thief hose adapter that has worked well in other state and national parks would not fit the spigots in St. Mary. Pull through sites are tightly curved for longer rigs, and many have bushes and/or trees on both sides. I had a very difficult time getting my 38ft fifth wheel out of our site and ended up having to drive over some bushes. As others have mentioned, bring plenty of groceries with you. The grocery store in St. Mary has no fresh meats, a very minimum amount of produce (think 1 head of lettuce, 2 melons, etc.),but if you want beer or wine, they have a good selection at a high price. Park Cafe has good bison burgers and good homemade pies. The biggest problem we had was the lack of showers in the park. The rangers said the KOA close by offered showers for a price, we drove over and asked at the KOA. They charged $10 per person per shower! This campground had the best view of any we have ever been to, but everything else made it difficult to stay longer than 3 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Great views and there are alot of sites with trees. The roads are all one way, so if you are camping on the left side of the road with an RV, your campsite is backwards. I pulled my 38 foot, fifth wheel in against the flow so I would be able to have steps and awning on the picnic table/fire pit side. Was chastised by the camp hosts as they said it would be a problem if an evacuation was necessary due to fire. Well, I'll take the chance! Take care when making reservations. I had reserved a 70 foot long site thinking I would have plenty of room. But some sites have lots of trees and others don't. My original side, although long, was very curved and the trees would have prohibited my slides or awning use. Some of the shorter sites with no trees actually have alot more usable room. The attendants at the gate were very helpful in arranging a move to a more suitable site. It was early enough in the season so there were plenty of vacancies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
St Mary’s is a large National Park Service campground at the eastern end of the Going to the Sun Road in Glacier National Park that is within walking distance of the visitor’s center. 25 of its 148 sites can accommodate motorhomes up to 35’ according to the campground’s online description. I visited in a 35’ motorhome with tow vehicle and was able to park both vehicles in my assigned site with no problem. This is a typical Park Service campground – all the sites are primitive and are pull-throughs which parallel the roadway. Security is very good, and campground noise quickly subsides as darkness falls. If you plan to visit for any period of time, come prepared with a full water tank and a good supply of groceries. While there are a few water spigots in the campground, they appear to be intended for tent campers. The “grocery store” in the town of St Mary’s stocks a larger selection of wine and beer than it does food. As with many of the campgrounds in this popular park, St Mary’s fills to capacity on many nights during the summer season, so reservations are suggested. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
We were very happy with our stay at St. Mary's campground. The views from the campground are wonderful and can be seen at any angle. We were very lucky to get a more private spot but most of the sites are out in the open. Lots are fresh water around and the bathrooms were overall clean. No showers so we had to drive to pay showers but it seems to be that way in the whole park. Overall a good experience! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Loved the layout of the Campground, and the restaurant within the Campground had phenomenal food. The surrounding area had an very interesting array of places to eat and sites to see. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Probably not the nicest of the Glacier NP campgrounds but it worked for us. Our site, A10, was close to the path to the visitors center, close to the bathroom, had plenty of shade, was a pull-thru, and had its own water spigot. The rest rooms have toilets and sinks and are frequently crowded. There was some road noise from US 89. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
This is a primitive park that has only dry camping (no hookups). While there are restrooms, there are no showers. The water spigots won't accept a hose for even a temporary hookup to fill water tank, although you can go to the entry station with your RV to fill from a hose. The loop roads are narrow, many of the sites have no shade, and the pull-through sites are right on the road and barely long enough for larger class A rigs. On a more positive side, the campground is immediately adjacent to the St. Mary visitor center and the Going-To-The-Sun Road (GTTSR). Generator hours are 8-10, 12-2, and 5-7, enough to keep the batteries in good condition. Those with Senior passes (62 and older) get in the park free and camp for half price of $11.50. There is a free shuttle bus service over the GTTSR that we much preferred to driving over this harrowing road. This road is a must see, however, one way or another. Our Tracfone did not work at all, but we had consistently strong signals on our Verizon air card. Strong advice to those going from Browning to St. Mary entrance in a motorhome or 5th wheel: avoid the extremely narrow, winding and twisting, up and down of Route 89 and instead take State Route 464 out of Browning. It's 11 miles longer but is a very good road compared to Route 89, is up on the high plains with gorgeous views of the mountains and plains, and relatively straight. We would probably stay here again when visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Fairly primitive park. Not only do they not have water and electricity, they don't even have showers. The few facilities they did have were standard national park stuff. The sites are small, not very attractive and uneven. You can see the mountains however, and the St. Mary visitor center is a short 15 minute hike away, from where you can jump on the free Going To The Sun shuttle bus. Location is the only selling point for this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
We returned to Glacier and St. Mary's Campground for a second time in three years this August. The last time we went to Glacier it rained on the west side for three days and then we moved to St. Mary's where it was dry but 40 mph windy. After six days we gave up and drove west until we hit sunshine in Idaho. That being said, I loved this campground then and my feelings were reaffirmed when I returned. St. Mary's is where the mountains meet the plains so the wind comes blowing down fairly regularly. The weather was much better this time but we still had to move our tent trailer the last night into a site with trees. You see, we are a sucker for the wide open spaces at the end of the loops with a view of Singleshot Mountain and the lake. Those spots are always windy, but my wife just adores them. There are three loops, A, B, and C. "A" loop is the closest to the St. Mary's river and town and has the most trees except at the far part of the loop from the access road. There is a trail to the Visitors Center, shuttle, and town from this loop. The sites near the river in the trees are very nice, but small for big rigs. Throughout this campground the best sites for big rigs, and big views, are near the ends of the loop. "B" loop is similar but lacks the proximity to the river so it should be your last choice. The "C" loop sits up the hill considerably from the other two and offers views of St. Mary's Lake from many sites. There are great spots in the meadow and alongside the base of the foothills forest. St. Mary's is the only campground on the east side of Glacier NP that takes reservations. It is closest to the Going to the Sun road and near a nice little town with many services. It can be a great home base or could be a place to stay for one night arriving late and then heading on to try your chances midweek at Many Glacier or Two Medicine. Reservations are non-specific so the rangers usually let you drive through and pick one out. The rangers have been wonderful both times we have visited. You will have to forgo the hookup to stay here and there are other options nearby, but there is nothing like a national park campground for stunning sites with great natural views. This is not a big woods campground so some don't like it much, but if you appreciate both mountains and plains you will love it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com