220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Ashland Huntington West KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (606) 929-5504
CGID9387

Ashland Huntington West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   10   7   8   9   5   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Excellent for an overnight stop with very easy access from/to I-64. Nice road for the 1/2 mile or less to I-64 and a very easy and wide access road to the park itself. Entry road is paved but sites are packed gravel. Most sites are pull-through and relatively level. On site owner/host were very friendly and accommodating. Pool and playground for kids and a small open pavilion that showed a movie the night we were there. We would definitely use this park again if in the area. We were only passing through but this would be a good spot to spend a few days to explore this part of KY/WV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Campground is an open field - a few small trees planted - with a mix of paved and gravel access roads, gravel sites. Pull thrus long enough to avoid dropping toad on 37' rig, but might be a problem with longer than 40'. Sites seem to slope down slightly to front - multiple rigs with front tires off the ground. Power ok, did not use water or sewer, cable mostly fuzzy channels, Wi-Fi unstable, no problem with satellite access, strong Verizon cell signal. OK for an overnight. We will stay here again when needing an overnight stop in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
This place is perfect for an overnight stop with a pull through site and full hook ups. The campground is fairly new and most sites are gravel with few to no trees. The staff was very helpful. There is easy on/off the interstate. We will stay here in again for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Great overnight park. Very clean. Very nice staff. Level sites. Easy on/off I-64. Also good road to Hwy. 23. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This was a nice KOA for a traveler. Easy on and off interstate. Staff was friendly and helpful. Of course, it was a KOA so it was expensive for what you get. Cable is an extra charge so we did not opt for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$31
My husband and I consider ourselves more RV travelers than true campers. Hence, we appreciate RV parks that offer full hook ups, laundry, shower facilities, pet friendly, and close to the interstate and towns we are visiting along our journeys. When we find a KOA we feel rather confident our needs will met. This KOA is rather new and basic. It is located in a rural industrial park and I would not consider it particularly scenic. The sites were level and gravel with little grassy picnic areas between. We requested a pull through for our 40' class A with tow, but found we had to disconnect our car because of the sewer location. The lady who checked us in was very pleasant. The laundry was small but the machines were new and worked great. We saw people enjoying the pool. Our dogs really enjoyed a travel break in the fenced dog yard. The showers were new and clean. I would recommend this park for anyone visiting the Ashland area or for travelers needing a safe spot to stop for the night while in route to other places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Great campground. Very friendly & helpful staff. Store was very well stocked. Pool & park were nice & always clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Merely an average campground with typical KOA prices. Good Wi-Fi. Sites are somewhat level. Has good over the air TV. If you want a sewer hook-up and don't have 30 feet of sewer hose or want to unhook, DON'T stay here. What is the point of a pull-through site if you have to unhook? We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Nice staff in office, just off I-64, easy in and out. The pull through sites were not level. The utilities are not laid out good, sewer in wrong place for most motorhomes. Poor design for a new campground. Could not make some of the turns into the one-way streets. Lots of gravel but still need more in places. We arrived after 3 days of rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Very nice campground. Easy on and off interstate. Owners very nice and quick to help. Not a lot of shade due to being a newer campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Easy access from I-64. Site was clean, spacious, quiet, and level. All services worked well and while no cable TV, there was good aerial reception of several channels. Strong Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. One feature that may appeal to some is that some sites are designated handicap. Much potential for site activities as owner is obviously making headway on various projects. Stayed only one night but will stay again when next in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
The greatest asset of this campground is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff. They will go to almost any extent to provide for the needs or requests of the camper. This campground is new, conveniently located near I-64, easily accessible, and allows maximum maneuverability. It is also located near an abundance of natural water and wildlife resources. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
This campground was great for an overnight stop. Close to the highway, but not much noise from it. Sites were long enough not to disconnect our tow vehicle, and pretty level. WiFi worked well. Staff is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$36
Hosts were very helpful in providing directions. This is a relatively new facility. Easy to get in and out. Our Number 2 site was not level, but close enough. Gravel surfaced sites and roads. Internet connection strong. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This KOA is about 1/2 mile North of I-64 near KY-WV border. It is adjacent to the NE KY Veterans cemetery. Appears to be new campground. Gravel roads and sites are level, but the gravel needs to be rolled. Little grass and no trees. No lighting. Park appears to be clean. Staff was friendly. This campground is nothing special, but it provides the minimums you need if you are passing through. Maybe as it matures it will get better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Lots of room and quiet. Has a nice little pool, strong WiFi, mostly level sites, very easy to get to. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
What an odd place! It’s okay for a stop-over, it's right off I-64. But I wouldn’t want to spend any more time here. I’m going to guess from the steep, tumbling terrain that this property is a reclaimed strip mine. The upper area has 45 sites and no shade. The lower area, down a long, steep hill, has 52 sites, no trees, and an open 60 foot pit (!?) that is filled with stagnant water. Hence the giant mosquitoes. Steep eroded banks surround the entire park. Sites are gravel with sparse or no grass, and randomly have some of the following: a small picnic table, fire pit, barbeque grill. We stayed at site B-11: the worst in the park; two sides have a 20 foot eroded drop-off. (One more big rain and this site is a goner.) There were some plusses to this KOA camp. The staff was super-friendly, has a good size camp store was well stocked, small pool and playground, micro mini-golf, recreation hall, fenced dog-walk, and weekend activities. Four tiny log cabins are also for rent. Overall, at $43/night, I’d rather stay at one of the nearby state parks for half the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We stayed at this KOA for a couple of days to visit family in the area. We enjoyed the newness of the campground but, the one thing I didn't like was the rocky grounds and lack of grass. I understand its a new park so maybe the grass hasn't come in. Other than that we would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Great place for an overnight. The only problems we had were that I don't think that it is possible to hook enough sewer hoses together to reach the drain in our campsite, and the dump station wasn't designed for a larger motorhome. Also, there is no signage leading to the campground, and especially when leaving the campground, there is nothing leading you back to the Interstate. On a Saturday morning you can turn around in the AT&T parking lot, but not without driving over some of their plants. Having said all of that, we will definitely stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This place is perfect for an overnight stop: definitely not a destination campground! A typical KOA: too many sites, too close together. This campground is new (one year old) and everything is very clean. Most sites are gravel. The owner was very helpful. There is easy on/off the interstate although the campground itself is not well marked. It's in the middle of a developing area and is not easily seen as you exit interstate. We will stay here in again as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Not a lot of shade in the campground, but it is a new campground. The camp host was very helpful and nice and guided to our spot. We came in with two flat tires and he was was very helpful in finding a tire shop to help fix our flats. We would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Good strictly for pulling off the highway for 1 night. Open gravel sites; only amenity is a pool. It is new and clean, but no trees even planted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Appeared to be a fairly new campground. Very nice and helpful host. Mostly gravel sites. Was there for 1 night but was very satisfied with this CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
I read the old reviews, and the writers sure have a different view of parks than I. This is a field work camp. If it had been raining it would have been a muddy mess. A one night stay would be OK, maybe. I did not feel like a member of the family as several posters said. Dumpster was full and trash was left at the site. It was expensive, but there is not much in the area. But it is close to a Flying J. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$46
The campsites were so new that our power wasn't connected yet. They gave us a discount for the move to another spot. It was very good wi-fi contact though! The rock gravel was enough to take care of the downpour of rain we got, and they were just getting the r/r, and laundry set to open them soon. The office folks always had that great coffee on for us, and you can get a hot lunch up there for a reasonable price- that was pretty nice since the flying J is about the only thing out that way. It was a nice time of the year, when fall hits in Kentucky. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$48
Very helpful friendly staff. Large new KOA and owners go out of their way to make sure all is okay. There were a lot of campers at this campground working on a pipeline, but no problem. Quiet hours were obeyed. Would stay here, again. We were in Site #4 and it was level. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com