223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Tallulah River Walk (AKA North GA Camping Resort) was rated 3 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (706) 754-5764
CGID939

Tallulah River Walk (AKA North GA Camping Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   1   1   2   1   9   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This has to be the worst campground we ever stayed at. Narrow roads, rowdy campers, road noise, sites not maintained. Price was steep for what you get. From what I've read online the place is in foreclosure. Stay far away from this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$10
Hard to find. Very hard to maneuver through park and back in your site. Narrow, steep roads with low-hanging tree branches. Restrooms were dirty and rundown. Workers are rude if you can find one. This was a nice place years ago. Now it is awful. Cannot believe it is still in business. There was a kid walking around with a gun shooting near our RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
I am giving a 1 for the rating only because the setting is beautiful. Unless you are extremely capable and confident in operating any RV, no matter the size, you will lose 5 years off your life getting in and out of this park. We made a reservation with Coast to Coast to stay 5 nights. Arriving on Monday and leaving Saturday morning. The directions in the CTC book said "9 miles south of Clayton on Hwy 441". The GPS did not have the address 32 Resort Dr, Lakemont, GA. We could not find the place so I called the phone number listed. The office is closed on Sundays and Mondays. We went about 15 miles south of Clayton and turned around heading back north. Pulled in to the only RV park looking place and there on a little building, up under the eave was a little sign that said "Tallulah River Walk". There is a big aerial sign but it is totally blank. Pulled in the driveway and there is not a soul around. Closed sign on the office door with two phone numbers, one for the maintenance man and one for a camp host. Got a hold of the camp host and he told me to look in the little black mailbox by the door and our info should be in there. Would have been nice if there was a sign telling us to do that. To get to our space you have to make a sharp turn down into the park then travel along the river on a narrow dirt trail. Only the park members can camp along the river. CTC and AOR members have to park in section C (full hookups). To get to section C, you go up a steep narrow paved road and turn off the steep road. The place is a mess. Huge ruts, dead leaves and foliage all over. Our assigned site was not even distinguishable as a parking spot plus the power box was at the front of the site so our cord would not reach. The camp host lives up there and he told us to pick another spot. The only one usable had a picnic table that was smashed into the ground and has obviously been that way for awhile. The next day was Tuesday and the office was open. We went to tell them we were in another spot and asked if we could move down to the river. Nope, no CTC on the river. The boss lady was extremely rude. I asked her when was the last time she had been up to the C section and she told me she just works in the office and to talk to the maintenance man that was upstairs in the office. I suppose he hasn't been to the C section in some time either. Anyway asked if we could change our check out date to that day and leave. They didn't have a problem with that so we packed up and went to the state park down the road. The trip out of that park is up another hill and down a very steep, twisty road. Actually there are switchback turns to get out. No way will we ever go back to that park and you shouldn't either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
What a h#** hole! We stayed here and were given a sales presentation on becoming members. Sounded too much like a timeshare scam. From the looks of the place, cannot see why they are still in business. Roads are in disrepair, our site had electricity outages. The grass was tall, and it was far from the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
The best thing I can say about this park is the electrical voltage was good. Maybe because we were almost the only ones using it. When we checked in we were told that there were no sewer hookups available: repairs underway. The swimming pool was not open, don't know why. The most significant feature of the park was the roads. When you enter you go down a very steep, but short, hill to the "A" section. This may have been where the unusable sewer hookups were. Then you proceed into a .4 mile one-way drive along the river. Rough and very narrow with a significant scar about roof level on one tree. The "B" section is fairly flat and not too crowded. Restrooms aren't bad, but non-working electrical outlets in the men's. The real eye-opener was the continuation of the one-way road up to the "C" section. I would guess it was about a 15% grade. It continued upward past "C", around curves, to the crest, then downward at what I would estimate to be a 15-20% grade which included a 90 degree corner followed by about a 110 degree corner. This part of the road is blacktop but very narrow with large chunks broken from the edges. I can't recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$8
In spite of the poor reviews I had read about this park, I stayed here 33 foot pull-behind travel trailer because I thought being on the river (and across the highway and north about one-half mile from a GA state park) the view would offset the negative reviews. I also wanted to see the Tallulah River Gorge – one of the largest in the eastern US. I was wrong. In a word this park is a “dump”. This is a private members only park. It is part of the Coast to Coast (C2C) and Adventure Outdoors Resort (AOR) systems. I stayed as an AOR member for $8.00 a night for full hook ups. To start with, there is no place to park while you register. The road from the highway to the office is one way – one lane so while you are registering you are blocking the entrances. The entrance sign on the highway was being repaired the day I arrived and therefore there was no highway sign to mark the park. I suggest you phone for directions. The AOR book gives almost no directions. The GPS is N34 46.103 W83 23.789 but that could be off by a few 100 feet. The park is a very large park. The narrow one-way dirt road that is poorly maintained along the river is almost a mile long. Watch out for the overhanging tree limbs. It appears, but I am not sure, that the river sites are for the local members. The AOR & C2C guest are assigned to the “mountain” (C section) sites up a VERY steep road which is also the way out of the park for everyone since the roads are one-way. The C section is almost one-half a mile from the river. Since I was on the mountain site, hiking was a problem because no matter which way one went it was a steep walk. The sites are VERY poorly maintained and difficult to back into. Some sites are large, most are small. There is a camp host at the C section. It appears that they live here full time. There was a number of empty RVs stored (?) on the sites. I was the only camper I saw (in the whole park) when I arrived. Maybe that was because school had started. There was some, but not very bad, highway noise in spite of being in the woods. No TV, no cable, no Wi-Fi. Satellite may be a problem due to the trees. The office is closed on Sunday and Monday – No CHECK INS. I will not stay there again, in spite of the low nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
What a wonderful place to camp: right on the river, rustic mountain setting, putt-putt golf. We enjoyed the setting and the "no pressure" environment. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2004
$?
We currently hold a membership to this resort. Since we joined 2 years ago, it has gone downhill. The resort is currently under new management but doesn't seem to be making any improvements. The bath houses are gross and management is not helpful. The river flooded in 2004 which destroyed part of the resort. This didn't help the already downward spiral of the facilities. This resort could be wonderful if the right management was in place and money was spent on improvements. The lots are spacious and there are lots of trees. The river is beautiful and fires are allowed on the campsites. If you are tempted to buy into this resort JUST SAY NO! We have one more year to pay off our membership and we will sell our deed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$?
We currently hold a membership in this resort and have since 2001. The first 2 years of camping here was great, since that time management has changed and it has gotten terrible, they are unfriendly and hateful. We only camped once in 2004 and have not camped there any this year. If you are invited to this campground to view it, take the gifts and maybe a free night camping and talk to other campers there to see for yourself, but do not buy into this resort you will be dissappointed in the long run. Ask if the taxes are paid up to date (not since 2001). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com