215077 User submitted reviews online!!
Banning Mills RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (770) 834-9149
CGID9393

Banning Mills RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   2   7   9   8   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
This is a beautifully situated park, with lots of potential. RV park part of the property is less well staffed and cared for than the lodges and zip line tours. Sites are quiet, well situated and shaded in the full hookups part of the park, not very level, but nice and wide. Check in is a confusing process - you have to call from the gate for help, then get less than complete instructions, but from a nice, friendly guy. Trash is distant from camp sites, and no recycling at all. We are not big on zip lines, but our friends went and were impressed. The park could be very nice with a little attention to procedures and conveniences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$29
Excellent is all I can say. We have traveled all over the US and this is a great place to stay. We got caught in the Atlanta snow storm this January and were here longer than planned. The sites are large, just not as level as they could be, that is the downside. But really no problem, just being picky. Now for the description: this is gated campground, not that it is in a unsafe location or anything, just the opposite. It is nestled in a small town called Whitesburg, GA. Not all that far off I-85 and I-20. The main attraction is the enormous zip-line/canopy tour. There were zip lines and suspension bridges all over the place. A beautiful river runs through the grounds. The lodge is great, especially during the snowstorm. We walked about a quarter to half a mile through the campground, across the bridge over the river to the lodge. There we enjoyed free coffee and tea. The views are wonderful. Highly recommend this place if you are just passing and need a place to rest for a few nights. We would have stayed the whole month, but had to get home and finish some chores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
Stayed Memorial Day weekend. The campground is clean and the staff friendly. The entrance is gate guarded. I liked the fact that people that were not campers could not just get in at anytime. The two pool areas were exceptionally clean and we enjoyed it very much. The hiking trails are beautiful as was the creek and the fishing lake. We were able to use the paddle boats on the lake. Great fun. The highlight of our stay was doing their zip line canopy tour. We only had time to do their first tour, about 2 hours but it was more than worth the two hours spent out on the course. The first line was 1000ft long and 200 ft above the creek. It was breathtaking. We had seen on a previous review about long term campers. When we arrived, there were about 6 or 7 of them. We met two who were really nice and were a lot quieter than the tent campers. The park does need to get picnic tables on the sites. The staff told us that this was in the works. The bathrooms are older but were clean and functional. Overall, we plan to come back to this campground. There are lots of things to do and we like the rural feel to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We picked this RV campground based on the website pictures and amenities. We have two teenagers and were excited about the different things to do. Well... the pool was closed (which wasn't on the website nor were we told when we talked to someone on the phone) and the RV park is a dive. I saw the reviews from 2009 and I guess a lot has changed since then. There is definitely more than just "a few" people who live at the site. Most of them were old campers or travel trailers, very close together on the pull thru sites. I didn't feel comfortable leaving my camper unattended. We left the next morning and stayed at Stone Mountain the remaining rest of the weekend (good move). The zip line was $65 for the basic (per person)!! That includes 3 zip lines and about 7 bridges you cross. Way too expensive for what you get and that didn't include the screaming eagle. The river is muddy and we were told after we arrived that they didn't recommend any of the water activities because it had flooded in Sept. 2009 and there were a lot of jagged rocks and "other things" we probably didn't want to be near. The side of the park that has the clubhouse and cabins is very nice, but the RV park... not so much. Also, the guy over the RV park is in his 20's and more concerned with getting you off his hands then being helpful. An awful way to start a vacation. I would never recommend this RV park and would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We had a nice stay at the campground. We went for the zip lining and were glad that we could camp there as well. The campground was basic but clean and comfortable. The bathhouses could use updating, but still, they were clean. The shower stalls even had benches for your stuff. The sites were mostly level and plenty big enough. There are a few long term campers, but they keep their sites clean and were friendly. The road to the campground is paved and only the site loops are gravel. The utilities are what you would get at any campground. We enjoyed the stay but if you are looking for posh amenities with grass and palm trees, this is not the campground for you. Also, the sites do not have picnic tables so bring your own table if you need it. The pool is real nice and good sized and there are lots of little trails, too. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend to hang around your camper, you will be happy. We'd go again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
This park was very quiet, clean, and relaxing. They have two pools: very clean with plenty of chairs. The pool is not in direct sunlight so you do not burn up. They have a big fishing pond with lots of fish and a nice dock. We enjoyed hiking through all the historical trails from the civil war. It was beautiful. The site was shady and we reserved a site that had a picnic table. We will definitely camp here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
I found this park by accident. We really enjoyed our stay. The park is quiet with roomy sites. The property is absolutely beautiful. There are historic hiking trails that we used a lot. The facility has one of the longest and highest canopy zip line tours in the world. It was truly amazing. It also has a day spa and adventure treks but you need to make advance reservations on everything. The facility was renovating their clubhouse so that was not open to us but they do have a second clubhouse that we ate breakfast at. Good food too. The laundry facilities were clean and the bathrooms were older but clean. The park allows some long term stays but all guests were super nice. We are definitely coming back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
We were VERY disappointed with this campground. The sites were not level, and the hookups were poorly constructed. We reserved and paid for a site with full hookups. The sewer hookup on our site was broken. There was only one other site available with sewer on it, but the actual hookup was uphill from the site, and gravity doesn’t work that way. We were offered other sites without sewer hookup, but we did not wish to move to those locations. The campground was being used as a “trailer park” for several local workers with some trailers in such a permanent position as to have plywood foundations built around them. We decided to go elsewhere after realizing the true state of this campground. When we talked to the campground host about getting a refund, we were given a run around and told to call someone at the main Banning Mills Inn and Resort. We called this person who became very defensive at our request for a refund and our reasons for it, adamantly denying such conditions existed at the campground. We were not given a full refund even in full light of the gross misrepresentation of the Banning Mills RV Park campground per the website. A full refund was truly in order in this situation. The website was indeed very deceiving. I absolutely do not recommend anyone wasting their money on this campground. What a letdown after hearing such rave reviews and fancy advertising for the main resort at Historic Banning Mills of which this campground is a part. My family expected much more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Narrow, winding, steep hilly road to park. Road in park narrow and all gravel, sites are gravel, close together and not level. Many long-term campers, some with confederate flags & laundry hanging out. Cheaply built hookups. Cramped for our 40 footer. Website VERY deceiving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com