223354 User submitted reviews online!!
TeePee Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (605) 343-6319
CGID9405

TeePee Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   8   9   4   6   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We stayed at TeePee Campground for one week. The sites were spacious and everything was working correctly. The hostess showed us things to see and do and especially scenic drives that we shouldn't miss in the area. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and the campground was quiet. TeePee does not have many amenities, but we do not park here to swim or have parties. We are too busy seeing all the sights! After we get home, we visit with other campers and it is very pleasant to talk with them in a well-mannered park. The owner reminds dog owners to keep their pets on a leash and I have seen her pick up waste and garbage if necessary! We used the Wi-Fi every night and had no problems with it. We could see that the owners installed new sewer hookups so they keep up on improvements because they care about their park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
I will say that the park was quiet, and the bathrooms very clean. On the down side, the WI-FI hardly ever worked and we were very close to the main office. SO, if your really needing WI-FI, this is not the place to be. My biggest complaint was the fact that the manager has 5 cats in her office. Was going to get myself a cup of coffee until I saw a cat sitting on top of the coffee maker (YUCK). I think that would be a health issue. Another issue was the fact that I had a electric extension cord plugged into the 110 socket. The manager told me that I was paying for 30 amp and that I needed to unplug it. I told her I cook outside and not in my camper, and that it is a 15 amp, and I was paying for 30 amp and that it is only used when I used the air conditioning.So that made me very unhappy. SO, I wouldn't stay there again, especially for health concerns! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We stayed here for a week while doing some touristy things in the Black Hills. It was a very basic park, no amenities. They had just put a bunch of new water piping in, and it was muddy in areas. The hook-ups were very oddly configured making it hard to hook up all things at once. The water and electric were usable at the same time, but the sewer hook up was about 20 feet in front of the water and electric. We had to use our tanks while there, and unhook and move forward to dump the tanks when we were ready to leave. The Wi-Fi did not work for us even though we were right next to the office. Although it was the cheapest we could find in the area, we really got what we paid for. Will look elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We stayed here for several days. The sites are mostly level and grass. Good location if you are looking for a central location to see the surrounding sights like Mt Rushmore, Custer State park, Sturgis, Deadwood, Badlands, Devils Tower and other attractions. This is the place for value and also convenience to Rapid City. This was the lowest park that we found with hookups. We enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
This was an older park with not all of the extras. Perfect for us older folks. We stayed here because it was a Passport America park and because they advertised pet friendly. The owner was kind enough to let our golden retriever out several times during the day and made sure she had water and the air conditioner was on while we were out on a bus tour. Not a fancy place but clean, quiet and perfect for a stop while seeing all the sights of Rapid City and area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This is an average campground. Gravel sites are fairly level. Very little shade. I stayed here at end of season. The campground closes on October 1st. I would have stayed a few more days, but when I registered the owner told me $30 per night included the Good Sam discount. Checking their website later, I found that the advertised rate is $30 before any discount. I was gouged. Buyer beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Very nice park. Quiet except for road noise from freeway that it is adjacent to. Mostly older people; no kids since no pool, maybe. The owners are exceptionally friendly. Very clean shower and bathroom area. Laundry right there onsite. Wi-fi is available but poor signal. Does work, more or less, just slow. Be sure to ask for Good Sam, AAA, and AARP discounts. They have all pull-throughs and a certain percentage has sewer there. The other sites have electric and water, and these folks use the dump station. These sites are cheaper than the ones with the local dump stations, of course. Not crowded at all. Pet friendly (owners have nice calico cats). If it were not for the proximity to the road, we would have rated it a 7, but that said, we would be more than happy to stay here again for a few nights. Definitely recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
First off we really liked this park, the owners and helpers are all VERY nice folks, very helpful. The location of the park is perfect, not to far from Rapid City, but close to all the area attractions. This area has so much to see it takes a good month just to see it all. The rates are very reasonable, some of the best in the area, $350 per month including electric, this was for a spot without sewer. I do prefer to hook up to sewer, however they only have 10 sites with sewer and they are much closer together. I do have a 35 gal sweet wagon that I use for this purpose. That worked out great. The laundry and restrooms are clean and there are some shade trees, some people might like more trees and some people might like fewer. Probably the only reason for only an 8 rating is there is no pool or playground for the kids. That's great for us, we're retired and are full-time. They have good gravel roads. You can get about 5 or 6 channels on you regular antenna we also had no problem getting our Dish service to work great. The Wi-Fi is spotty like in most campgrounds which is why we have a MiFi Verizon Internet wireless modem for our laptops. We got great Verizon reception while here. The water and pressure are good and the 30 amp electric is good and steady. We WILL be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We stayed here in August for a week. $25/night + tax for electric and water, with the 7th night free, so about 22.61/night for a full week. Owner and campground hosts were all super nice. Very helpful in recommending things to see and do in the area. The sites are grass, and they are level. Beats sitting on blacktop on a hot summer day. The restrooms were older, but super clean. Even saw the one park host scrubbing the bath mats one day, and I do mean scrubbing, not just a quick spray-off. The Wi-Fi was pretty good at our site, but it isn't good in the sites further back. You have to be near the front, closer to the office. The laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers @ only $1 per load! Office has a small store with some essentials, drinks and snacks, all reasonably priced. Also a nice book exchange and a nice selection of DVDs free to borrow. In summation, Teepee is a nice small campground with few amenities ( no pool, clubhouse, etc.) but just right for us. We are going to take the grandkids to Mt. Rushmore, the Black Hills and surrounding area next summer and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a bit tricky to find the correct road to turn on, but we managed just fine. When leaving, it would be very difficult to make a left turn across the divided highway. The traffic from the right is coming uphill and around a corner. We fortunately turned right. The Wi-Fi worked, but was a bit slow during peak user hours. We had excellent TV antennae reception. We had a 50amp water/electric site so needed to dump at the end of the week. The dump station was tight in and out. The bathrooms, though outdated, were very clean. I walked our dogs in the adjacent field (look out for cows and snakes). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice small campground for a couple of days. We were in site 51 at the end, nice view of the Black Hills. Staff were very friendly and helpful in providing tourist info. WI-FI signal only reaches to the bathhouse which is in the middle of the park and I had to walk every day to the front of the park and sit at a picnic table to get WI-FI. I was able to get 6 -7 TV channels. Pull-through sites are side by side and close on the utility hook up side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Well maintained older park, not a "Resort" type of park, but great for the older generation. Good Rapid City and Black Hills access. We would, for sure stay here again. Managing couple very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
The staff was very accommodating. We indicated that we needed Wi-Fi, so they gave us a 30A spot near the office. We had very high wind gusts that blew two planters over. The sites are all grass and tree free, so we could receive our satellite signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
It was early in season: we pretty much had park to ourselves. Got a good rate because of it too. Easy to get too. Great view of Black Hills at end of park. Grass sites a little narrow, but didn't effect us while here. Could get tight when busier. Easy drive to all the attractions. Host was very friendly. Had lots of info to share on area. Showers old, but kept clean. We'll stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
We ended up staying here when we could not get space at the campground on Ellsworth AFB. As it turned it, this was the best thing that could have happened to us! The facilities were spotless, the owner was very friendly, our site has some shade and the location was outstanding! Also, it is 3-4 degrees cooler here that at the base, with much less wind. We got a site with just power, water and easily lasted the whole week without having to dump because we used the campground showers instead of our RV shower. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Tee Pee Campground and RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
We stayed three nights here as a base to explore the region. Price was excellent (Good Sam discount). Hosts were friendly. Laundry facilities were good (honor system). We used a full hook up pull through site, which was level and some grass and a tree for shade. Neighbors were about average distance away. It was a bit out of town, but that was fine with us. The office has some basic perishables, and there is a chuckwagon restaurant next door (though we didn't have time to try it). It was quiet, and gave us a few less miles to drive towards the tourist areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
The staff was friendly and efficient, even checking on tent and cabin sites to assure things were out of the weather when tornado and high wind warnings were present. We had been informed ahead of time there were no full hook up sites available, however, the dump station was available. We found this to be very little inconvenience for the price. This park is convenient to all of the areas wonderful site seeing. Very quiet at night. Our 40 footer fit in the nice wide, grassy pull throughs and albeit the laundry is small, it is functional. Water and 30 amp electric worked fine. 50 amp was not available at many sites. WiFi worked well even when it showed a weak signal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
You get what you pay for. This park is the proverbial “parking lot,” albeit with grass instead of asphalt. Sites are narrow and the only amenity beyond hook-ups is Wi-Fi, which didn’t work during my visit. Water pressure seemed to fluctuate between adequate and unacceptably low. There is no pet area. Office staff was pleasant and helpful. I will try one of the other campgrounds in the area, all of which are more expensive, during my next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stay at TeePee every year when we visit friends in Rapid City. Last year, the park was run by an inefficient manager, but this year the owners are back. They painted the bathrooms and are keeping everything clean. They are very helpful if you need to ask about Black Hills sites of interest. This park is mostly for people who want a clean, friendly place, but do not need extras like a swimming pool. They have good rates, WiFi and laundry, and spacious easy-to-drive-in sites, which is what we want! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This is a very nice, well kept park and campground, located midway between the northern and southern Black Hills and a short drive into Rapid City. Spaces are large with lots of pull throughs available. Restrooms and showers and laundry room are all clean and well kept. Park employees were very helpful and friendly. Owner is back running it again this year which is helpful. Will definitely stay here again! Also the cheapest in the Black Hills! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
The people we dealt with were very nice, both on the telephone and in the office. We were placed in at a site which was grass with no driveway, patio or table, with shared water. There wasn’t any shade. Due to the site we were debating as to whether we would stay. We went to the showers and restrooms. Two toilets were plugged and a plastic diaper was in one shower. We told a camp host about the toilets and he said, “I don’t do toilets.” So we left camp and went to a nearby park. We would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Good price for the area. Not crowded at all. Lady in office was nice. She gave me a drive-through near the office so the Wi-Fi would work. She said they have had trouble farther from the office. Bathrooms/showers were clean but needed painting. The first shower I chose, the water barely trickled. I put a towel around me and moved to another one. The shower worked fine, but there was some standing water. After my shower, I went back to the trickling shower to dress out of the water. A restaurant next door had a chuck wagon dinner each night and a 99 cent all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast the next morning. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
When we look for a campground, we want it to be pretty close to the highway exit, clean and quiet, feel safe, is fairly priced, has a site that's not cramped and one so our rooftop satellite works, and our cell (VZ) works well enough to get us online and to make calls. We don't want campgrounds with amenities or luxury features. We're usually just travelers so the features noted above are important to us. If a campground meets all these requirements, it'll get a high rating from me. That said, the TeePee gets a pretty good rating. They only reason it's not higher is that we were sandwiched in between 2 other coaches due to the fact all full hookups are clumped together. The rest of the park has spacious sites. The lady in the office is wonderful and very helpful in answering our many questions about Rapid City. The location is great for seeing the city, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, and Wind Cave NP. We stayed 3 nights for $28 and got the 4th for free. We'd stay here again but I'd try for a non-full hookup so we could have a bigger site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Stayed at this park in a travel trailer because it was conveniently located to Rapid City and a good base for exploring the Black Hills! Restroom & showers were very clean, sites large. Full hookup & 50 amp sites are limited which was not a problem for us. Not much for children to do except for a swing set. Owners and work kampers were always friendly & helpful. Well cared for park and will definitely stay here again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com