218884 User submitted reviews online!!
John Bryan State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (937) 767-1274
CGID9410

John Bryan State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   6   6   5   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
This is a lovely, peaceful, camping area in a large park. There are five level pads with electricity suitable for motorhomes, trailers or 5th wheels. All other sites are tent sites mostly on open grass. There are several vault toilets throughout the campground - they are not real pleasant (buggy and smelly). There is a dump station - not level - and a road is blocked when using it. No potable water at dump (though there is a spigot on another loop). We camped here several days as we took our daughter to a nearby college. This location was very convenient for that purpose. Since we're self-contained in the motorhome, I'd be happy to camp here again but I'd likely not come here as a destination vacation spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
We really enjoyed our two nights at John Bryan SP. We were on site 8 and had plenty of space. The campground doesn't have very many sites with electric, but the ones that do are paved and level. Mid week it was quiet and the weather gorgeous. The best part is the proximity (2 miles) from the Little Miami Bike Trail. We WILL be back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
This park is absolutely beautiful: especially in the Fall. The lots are large and paved with asphalt so they are very level, and have plenty of space between them. There are bike trails, walking trails and a playground for children. It's located near the town of Yellow Springs, that has a wide variety of restaurants and shops. Our only issue was getting to the potable water as the spigot was located 100 feet from the road. Fortunately, the camp host allowed us to use her hose. Since this park is near our family, we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
The pros of this campground are that it's convenient to Dayton and within walking distance of Yellow Springs mainstreet area. It's one of the better maintained Ohio state parks that I have seen lately. No litter or trash in the fire rings or things like that. A number of the sites have a decent amount of shade compared to other campgrounds in the area. Heavily wooded, however, it isn't. No trains or highways nearby. Fairly busy small campground. The cons are that while you can reserve a site, you can not reserve a specific site via the reservations system. You can request a site but in my case I requested a specific site and when I got there someone else had it. The person in the camp office wouldn't kick them out. The reservable electric sites are in full sun. There are 3 walk-in electric sites that have woods to the rear and some trees for shade. These will be taken by the time you get here. Even if they are taken by people who haven't yet paid for the site, the camp office will not tell them to leave the site. This is frustrating. When we camped here, it was reasonably quiet. One campsite however began blasting their car stereo in the middle of the night. I happened to like the song that was playing so it didn't bother me at first, then it got old. I didn't know who to call. I tried the camp office, no answer. I didn't want to call the cops over it because I didn't have the non-emergency number. There were no park rangers or police drive throughs at night at this park so you're on your own. This isn't a destination campground but for a couple of nights, if you don't need electric site, since none will be available, I'd recommend it and I'd stay here again. I can't vouch for the restrooms, as I didn't use them. I bring my own facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
There are 10 electric sites; 3 walk-in and 7 reservable. The walk-in sites are shaded, and the reservable sites are in a grassy area. We camped in late October and there were only two other trailers when we got here. We chose not to park under the trees because of all the falling leaves and not wanting to have to clean them off before we left. We were in a 36' 5'ver. We accidently came in the wrong way because leaves were covering the road, but it's probably a good thing because there is a tree that looked like the branches were hanging down close enough to hit the trailer. The dump station we didn't use because we couldn't maneuver next to the restroom. It looked like someone else had already taken off the corner of the restroom trying to use the dump station. The campground map showed a water spigot behind site #8, but it's actually behind site #10. We tried to hike down to the gorge, but the map that's on the brochure isn't very good, and there are no signs on the trails to point you in the right direction. We would not go back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This was an attractive park with lots of hiking trails. Sites are small, not level but clean. Large rigs can fit but with some careful manuvering. The big attraction for us was the town of Yellow Springs and it is wonderful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
This is a large beautiful state park, known for its hiking trails and picnic areas. It is very well maintained. The campground is small, but has been enlarged in the last few years. The sites are average to large sized, and many back up to trees. There are only chemical toilets and no showers, so a self contained unit is best. It is very quiet, and a great spot to get away. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com