206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Port San Luis Harbor District was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (805) 903-3395
CGID9412

Port San Luis Harbor District

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   8   3   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$50
This is a unique park concept. We arrived early on Wednesday and got our pick of sites, but by evening all of the full hook-up sites were full. Babe Lane sites are dirt with 30 amp with nice views. There are 50 amps sites on a lower level on asphalt and dry camping. No restrooms on Babe Lane, but within walking distance closer to the harbor wharf. Good dog beach across the street and area is fairly dog friendly. Overall it is the harbor view that carries the day, along with surrounding activities and beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$35
We missed a full hookup site by 5 minutes, but we dry camped right next to the beach. Nice & level. Noises from traffic from the power plant but it's worth it. Upper level site are $50 a night but have hook ups, just a bit of a walk to the beaches. Great spot, just gotta be lucky to get a site. We will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
Avila Bay was a beautiful 6 day stop for us. We had to dry camp for two days until a spot opened up with hook-ups near the pier. While the view from dry camping was outstanding the traffic going in and out of the Diablo Nuclear Power plant was annoying. This is a very popular tourist area so there is not much privacy nor was it expected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Nice sites with great ocean view. The sites above have a nice view and very litle road noice. The ones below have better ocean views but the traffic goes by in front of your spot. Even with the traffic, I would still come back to camp here. How can you beat full hook-ups with a full ocean view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
The spot we where in our motorhome faced the ocean, so we could watch the ocean and the seals feeding. The site was in walking distance to three eating establishments and one was at the end of the pier. We did not eat at any of the eateries, but there was a lot of traffic that night to the eateries. The actual site gave you two space, one for your RV and one for tow vehicle or trailer for your boat. The downside was the amount of traffic to the eateries. The harbor was well patrolled by the camp host, Harbor Patrol and the Highway Patrol. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
This was our first experience at camping and we chose this site because we love Avila Beach! The site was nice, good ocean view, and clean. Unfortunately, as we understood from campers at the site, the "camp hosts" are relatively new. They seem to be on some sort if ego trip. When I called, I was given information by the male "camp host". I followed his directions perfectly. He came by our campsite and spooked one of our Golden Retriever's who, in turn, spooked him. The camp host bumped his head on our awning, as he turned around. Apparently his "ego" was ruffled, and he kicked us out, stating that we "did not follow the rules". We spoke to a few of the campers at the site; some were 3rd and 4th time visitors, and all had complaints about the new hosts, referring to them as being on some sort of "power trip". One couple said that the "host" came down on him pretty heavily only 10 minutes after he arrived and that he was going to make a complaint. I could not find any place to file a complaint, so I am posting here in hopes that I can save anyone else the trouble that we went through at this campsite. We went on down the road to another park, and they treated us like royalty! We will makeit our camp spot at the central coast from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$40
We pulled in after dark and the camp hosts were both exceptionally helpful. The camp area is absolutely beautiful, clean, and a wonderful place for a family to visit. We would return to this place again and enjoy the fun it has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
This "park" is more an improved place to park overlooking the beautiful San Luis Bay near Avila Beach. These sites have recently been paved with 30 and 50 amp electrical service, and water and sewer connections. The price has also been raised to $40 which seems a bit much to us for a basic parking space. The access road to the pier is in front of the sites but did not bother us very much, at least there were no trains, planes or freeways to bother us. The beach is easily accessable and very nice with a small surf. Verizon cell phone and air card service was excellent as was the satellite TV. While the pedestals are numbered to 32, there are only 16 pedestals. The sites are too narrow to allow slides or awnings so most rigs use two marked sites and one pedestal. I'm not sure what will happen this summer with many more rigs. Other spaces are available on dirt along the road with no hookups for $25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This area is on Avila Beach. The sites are all first come-first serve. We were lucky!!! The other times we have driven by, there was no space even for little camper. I estimated 50 sites. I have no idea how many there really are, it depends on how the people park. The sites are not marked, just find a spot large enough for your rig and pull in. This is dry camping at its basic level! But the view of the ocean makes it worth it and the reason for the rating. Normally, we don't stay in places like this: dry camping. There is a fishing pier and great seafood. There is a section with full hookups, but not as pretty a view as the dry camping right on the water. Some spots are being converted to full-hookups, and some of the dry camping will be done away with. Sad but true. The village of Port San Luis is a cute, quaint village. Rate for full hookup is $40/night. We love this place and will return when we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com