223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Holly Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (248) 634-8811
CGID9441

Holly Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Holly Recreation Area has a beautiful campground. HOWEVER, there are some things that I'd like to see changed if we ever go back. The bathrooms are REALLY dated. They were clean, but dated, and there was NO hot water in the showers. People were washing dishes in the showers, which is just plain nasty! We were in a beautiful wooded site with our friends and there were a ton of leaves on the site. It'd be nice if they were raked up before the start of the camping season. The "Friends of Holly" threw an ice cream social for free and we purchased some raffle tickets to help support the cause. It was a very nice job done. Bottom line: if you like a wooded campground with not a lot of amenities, this place is for you. Be prepared to fight for the hot water, especially with people that wash their dishes in the showers! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
There are four loops so you can decided if you want to be in mostly full sun (Maple Loop), part sun/shade (Oak Loop), or heavily wooded (Hickory and Trillium Loops). I was in Maple Loop and loved it. Had heavy greenery all around, but clear enough skies for satellite TV from rooftop of the motorhome. Lots of elbow room between sites. Heron Lake and the beach down the road is great with boat rentals, little store, etc. Would definitely return here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$24
The campground is very clean and well maintained. The sites are mostly level and can accommodate larger rigs with slides. The beach/lake is across the road in another area of the rec area. All in all a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
Large, private sites with paved pads, easy to back into. Nice walking trails through woods. Very close to northern Detroit Metro area. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Our site was large and mostly wooded. There was no sewer or water hookup but water was available throughout the area. Roads were good, some dirt, some paved and sites were gravel. Sites were laid out in a way that made them very easy to back into. This was our first time in a State Park and would definitely return when we are in the area again. Bathrooms and showers were clean and adequate but old or I would have rated higher. With that said, there we no real negatives. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
What ever you want, the Holly Recreation Area has it! If you want a secluded, heavily wooded lot, they have it. If you want sunshine and some large lots with campers not too far apart, they have it. There are lots of playground areas (really nice, clean, and well maintained too), lots of bike trails, hiking trails, a lake across the street for swimming, and so much more. We went this past weekend and really enjoyed it, we had an excellent time. Park Rangers are there all the time and don't bother you but there if you need them. The roads are paved, there are paved pads for you to park your rig on, there is electricity hookups and water faucets all over for those who need additional water. The campground is very clean, well groomed, and each site has a raised fire pit. Loved the nature there, we seen baby ground hogs running around, and lots of birds we have not seen before. The campground gets a 10 from us because it is: clean, private, well maintained, offers everything, and the staff are wonderful. Couldn't have asked for more, will go there again without a doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$19
Great campground. Kind of rustic feeling. Roads were not paved. Bathrooms were far from campsites. Lake and swimming area across the road from campground. However, most sites were big and private. Trails were fun and well marked. You can walk to it from your campsite and either go on a short or long hike. Very quite, family friendly campground. We will be making this a place to go every fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com