214832 User submitted reviews online!!
River's End Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 70 user reviews. Phone: (912) 786-5518
CGID947

River's End Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   9   1   7   8   3   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Very nice campground, just a little tight in spacing. Employees are very nice and personable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2013
$53
Not a pretty park. Very cramped, very crowded. We actually had one neighbor's ATV next to our picnic table. The one on the other side was less than two feet away. None of the staff even spoke until we were getting ready to leave. Location to the beach was the only good feature of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
We really liked the campground and will probably visit again. Some of the sites are really tight. Some of the sites along the CG edge are bordered by a road with no barrier. The road is well traveled, so there is a lot of noise. Wifi is available, but I could not log onto it. Bathrooms were clean; a little old, but clean. The beach lighthouse is within walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$55
Very pretty campground with lots of palms and oaks with Spanish moss hanging. Our particular site had no trees and was crushed rock, so it was not the nicest site we've ever had, but our motorhome is 38' and wouldn't fit on some of the nicer, treed, grassy sites. But other than that we really enjoyed staying here. The Wi-Fi worked great and the laundry room was clean. There is a dog park right next door which is great. There are many things to walk to from this campground. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$55
Dogs are not allowed on the beach - this applies to the entire island of Tybee. Had we known this, we never would have stayed here. This RV park is city owned and operated. There are a zillion rules that are only selectively enforced. Sites are haphazardly arranged, difficult to access, and not necessarily level. This is the noisiest park that we have ever been to - motorcycles, children (who have no real place to play), drunken partiers, and a city-sponsored wedding reception with a DJ and amplified music. Further, the park is expensive, and it is not a luxurious park. We left two days ahead of our scheduled departure - just couldn't take the noise any more. The city has a no refund policy, but takes no responsibility to make their park enjoyable. We felt cheated and will never be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$41
The park was clean and the staff very helpful. We checked in after dark, and they had a person to escort us to our site. Due to a combination of low hanging trees on some roads in the park, very narrow lots, very narrow roads, people parking their toad or tow vehicle partway into the road, it is a very difficult park to maneuver in for a big rig. It took some work to finally pull into our space. Some of the spaces that are pull through, are on a side street with a good bit of traffic including garbage trucks and city maintenance trucks. If you can, get a space off of the street for a quieter stay. Two beaches are close for walking or bicycling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
Friendly staff. Great campground in a residential area that is within walking/biking distance to the beach and lighthouse. Even the town is within biking/walking distance. Lots of restaurants and convenience stores nearby. Great place to leave your vehicle parked and use alternate transportation (walk, bike, shuttle). Shuttle into Savannah leaves hourly from the lighthouse and only costs $3. Entry roads are narrow and curvy but the staff helps you to your site and really know their stuff. Sites are close but comfortable enough. Each site has a fire ring and tree coverage. Wifi was best closer to the centre of the park but still available on the edge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
WiFi was unusable. Manager was not not available when needed. Sites are way too tight. On the good side- the campground staff was friendly and hardworking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$64
We were at this camp during the annual Pirates Festival and rates were very high. The campground is city owned and well maintained. The sites are pretty jammed in and the side roads are narrow, but we did well. Great little town. See Fort Pulaski and get breakfast at the famous Breakfast Club. The Wi-Fi was very under sized for this park. It worked well at times, but was so slow to be nearly unusable during peak times. Reception was OK. We expected a lot of noise with the Festival going on, but it didn't happen. It is about 20 miles from Savannah and most of the folks are weekenders from there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$49
Great park. Short walk to the beach and lighthouse. Staff very friendly. Clean park, level campsites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$49
This is a lovely park with great amenities. The restrooms are clean and the area has well kept rigs. The management was nice even when we wanted to change sites due to yapping dogs on both sides. The sites are somewhat close, but everyone is friendly. There were a lot of snow birds here. We camped here and visited Savannah. It is about 15-20 miles out but the views are beautiful and the visit to Ft. Pulaski was very interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Tybee Island is like a little Key West. Laid back and beautiful with a lot of cool Jimmy Buffett type bars. Be sure to try Huc-a-Poos, which is about 1/4 mile from the park. The park is beautiful with lots of oak trees and hanging Spanish moss. Some of the sites are incredibly tight and at odd angles. I had another RV within 3 feet of me (no kidding). There are two large city fenced dog parks right next to the campground. Awesome place for dogs! The cable was excellent. The Wi-Fi was problematic. The signal was often weak and it dropped a lot. If you need reliable Wi-Fi you'd better stay close to the office and then be prepared for it to be very slow at peak times. This ranks with some of the worst Wi-Fi I've ever experienced, but it's fine for the casual user. Monthly rates are around $600 plus electric when offered in the winter. They go to weekly only in the busier season and then the rates go absolutely nuts. Overall I love this park. The location and facility is gorgeous and the staff is nice. Except for the tightness and weird setup of some sites and the problematic Wi-Fi this place is a gem and I recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Second stay here. The campground has easy access. Our site was level and everything worked. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We didn't use the pool due to the cold weather. The bathrooms were clean and are individual units with shower/toilet. They are a little cramped for a big person. We used the laundry facilities which were clean. Appreciated the recycle bins located near the trash area. We walked to the beach several times from our site which is only several blocks away. This is a great campground for visiting the area and doing things in Savannah and Hilton Head etc. I would not recommend for persons who are taking a trip just to stay in a campground due to the fact that the sites are very close together and there is little privacy between them. We stay here to do things in the area and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
I would NEVER stay here again. Overall this was a very poor experience. Staff was VERY RUDE upon check-in. They basically make you feel like you're the terrible out-of-town tourist that they ”have" to tolerate. BEWARE, the directions on their website were obviously not written by an RV driver. We travel in a motor home with a tow vehicle. The route was basically through the downtown area with very narrow lanes, low hanging tree limbs that scrapped our roof, congested tourist traffic, and many stop lights. I can't imagine a worse route for a motor home or travel trailer. There are other routes that may appear longer in mileage, however, much safer and no longer in terms of time. The park its self was okay at best, nothing special at all. It is not worth the $50/night compared to many other places we've stayed. The narrow "paths" through the park are extremely narrow and very rough in bad need of repairs. They will rock your RV for sure. Although they say they offer WiFi, the signal was so bad, we had two bars at best and never long enough to gain access to the internet. One more comment regarding their "rules". Although I concur in theory with their points and the need to convey the rules, they are very annoying / offensive in their wording. It makes you feel like you're back in school with that very unhappy / grumpy teacher. The only positive I would offer was its proximity to Savannah, however, next time, I would certainly be willing to stay further away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
First - I love Tybee Island. A real throw back beach community. Reminds me of the nice part of Florida Keys. Laid back and fun. The park is run by the city - a real variety of campers. We had a '45 foot rig with a toad - no problem getting into our pull-through site. Pads were crushed rock and very stable. Great access to the beach and local attractions. Not a luxury type park - but an honest - well run and fun place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
It's an OK park, but the sites are way too close together for our liking, much like a refugee camp. It is also very buggy, for what they charge you would think they could spray once in awhile. However it is the only park in Tybee Island so they can do what they want and charge what they want. The restroom is a portable trailer and has been expanded with port-a-potties. Not what you would call first class. Bring lots of dollar bills, there is no free parking on Tybee Island. Parking meters are everywhere even in front of some of the restaurants. It is 15 miles to Savannah with a couple of nice restaurants in between. Nice location, but I wouldn't come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
Small park in Tybee Island. Close to Fort Pulaski that you must visit. One of the reasons to pick this park was to see the Fort and also because the Skidaway Island SP was such a disappointment; no pool, no Internet, nothing but big trees and bugs. Liked the air-conditioned bath house and most folks are friendly. Lot of tattoos in the pool;) Look around careful before you pick a spot, some are tight or close to the road. Internet mostly useless, 3G connection did the job. Location nice, price steep. Lot of people seem to come back to this park, maybe to show their new tattoos. Spot 39 was a good spot. Wouldn't mind staying again but next summer we plan a cooler destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
Stayed a week here. Nice park, fills up on the week-ends. Some shady spots to be had. Direct sun and tight sites along front entrance. Perfect location to beach and shops. Friendly staff and great mix of locals. Would have rated higher but Wi-Fi was spotty at best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
This is nice clean campground. The staff is very friendly. Some of the sites are too close but well groomed. Withing walking distance to the the lighthouse. Movie nights are good. We stayed with our dog and the campground is pet friendly. Not alot of perm campers which is nice. Will visit again. We stayed in a traval trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
What a wonderful camping experience! We definitely did not want to leave and plan to return soon. Campsite selection though is key as some on the road are too cramped but others in the interior are great. The location is perfect for biking, going to the beach (a quick bike ride) and the pool is kept clean and is large and refreshing. I can only say that this is a perfect spot for a beach vacation. Can't wait to stay for a week next time. Cable TV was excellent and our Wi-Fi worked perfectly. There is no downside to staying here other than the cramped sites along the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
Very nice campground close to the beach and about 15 miles from Savannah. Polite friendly office staff, escort to your site. Good sized sites with shade provided by huge oaks. Family style bath houses (sink, toilet and shower together in a room) that were very clean. Water quality was good, pressure very high. Wi-Fi worked well (site 24). Cell reception excellent. Most sites appeared close to level. Quiet at night, never heard a train all week!! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
We stayed here in April in site 89. The campground is easy to maneuver in, very clean. The power had brownouts at night not weak enough to trip out AC but lights were dim. The wifi was weak at our site and occasionally lost signal. Our site was a pull through right on the road but the road has very little traffic so only occasional road noise. Good biking roads to beach. Beaches are very clean and not crowded. This is a good place to camp for touring Savannah. It is 12 miles from Savannah but the traffic is not bad and the roads are good. I would stay here again. Be sure to eat at Sweet Potatoes Restaurant when you vist Savannah the food is amazing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$50
We really liked this park and stayed 6 nights. It was quiet and friendly. The slow pace on the island makes it like being at a quiet retreat. I did lots of biking around the island from our camping spot. There were a number of things to see right on the Island... lighthouse, Fort Screven, Fort Pulaski, BEACHES... and all of Savannah just a short drive away. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$49
We stayed three days while touring the area. Nice breaches and a lot to see in Savannah, we had a good time. The CG was very tight, sites are very close together and maneuvering through the park is not easy. Transients are sited along the street so there is some traffic noise. Wi-Fi is spotty, works sometimes but not always. The staff was great, helpful with things to see and do. A bit on the pricey side but it is a resort area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
The park is nice but an odd configuration which could cause big rigs problems. While the park is dog friendly, the beach is not. We would not have stayed here if we had known that our dogs could not walk on the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Enjoyed our stay. Walking distance to Ocean. Sites a little close together. Some sites are hard to get in and out, campground has escort to site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Staff very helpful. Nice location with short walk to the ocean. Sites are varied in size. Our site was large right next to the exit. Would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
We camped in a 50 amp site but my voltage meter readout was 108 volts which caused us to run only on appliance at a time: no microwave with the AC running, etc. Two appliances running caused the voltage to drop to 105 v. The WiFi gets hung-up and runs at a snails pace. Most of the sites are occupied by monthly RVers and overnighters are placed by a road that can get noisy. The interior streets are narrow and curved but passable. The pool is clean and cabins are OK (another family member used one while we were here for a week). Staff are helpful and friendly; there is a nice store. We won't stay here again because of the noisy site and low voltage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This is a rustic campground with excellent amenities. The electric looked new as did the cable TV connections. There are lots of channels on the free cable and the free WiFi is excellent. The only caveat is that the sites are randomly set around old growth trees so no two sites are the same size. Some are pull in and some are back in. I just watched two trailers try to figure out how to hook up when they had to back into pull-in sites. The place was full for the weekend so there was no place for them to move to. We had plenty of lawn in front of our rig to set up a screen room. The beach on the Savannah River is about two blocks away and the ocean beaches are less than a mile away. The pool at the campground looked like it had just been resurfaced and it was spotless. They offer a Good Sam discount, but the 7th night free worked best for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
Great location close to the ocean with a nice beach. Close to Savannah which is a beautiful city. The campground has lots of huge trees and some of the sites are rather close together. All and all it is a nice campground with friendly employees and a well stocked store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
River's End Campground & RV Park was a wonderful place to stay. The facility was clean, the staff was friendly, and the pool was nice, too. Camp sites are spacious and easy to get into. The beach is just a short walk from the campground. We rode bikes around Tybee Island, and enjoyed dinner at several delicious restaurants, such as The Crab Shack and Fannie's. We will definitely be headed back to River's End and maybe for an entire month next time! I wish this campground was larger, because it books up fast on weekends and holidays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
When you come onto the island, look for 3-4 feet tall white post street signs, not the norm. This park has lots of huge, gnarly trees on some of the sites, with other sites having none. We were in #17 with our 40' motorhome, adjacent to Fort avenue. That road is fairly busy during the day. Our site was also wide enough to easily hold our tow vehicle. The sites seem to be haphazardly situated but they do manage to get big rigs in here. The site was gravel with lots of leaves mixed in. One surprise was that the daily price had gone DOWN $10 a day from the time I made the reservation! Lots of friendly people and certainly lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Awesome park. We have a 40ft 5th wheel and had no problems coming or going. They have an escort to your site, the gentleman was pleasant and knew exactly what to look for. The campground is just blocks from the beach, lighthouse and local restaurants. You are 20 minutes from Savannah, and 2 miles from Ft. Polanski. Sites are level and hard packed gravel. We would come back anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
We camped here during our spring break, the drive thru site was large enough for our 40 ft camper, some sites were much smaller so make sure before you reserve. The road thru the park could be tight for longer rigs. The bath house was disappointing, very small, but clean. The WI-FI was weak at our site and slow. The campground is close to the beach - only 2 blocks away - not a lot of activities for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$34
I stay here on my annual Snowbird get out of NJ winter trip. I stay here for several reasons. 1) I love the location. It's 3 blocks to the beach in 2 different directions: one more river oriented, one ocean oriented. 2) I love to spend time walking around Savannah and eating at the wonderful restaurants. The interior roadways are paved or hard gravel. I chose a smallish back-in site for my 21' motorhome because I like the location and partial sun and partial shade. Most of the sites are pull-throughs, but there are several awkward back-ins that are wonderful places. The people are very nice and helpful, and the campers are great, too. There are several full timers or seasonals in the winter, but mostly this is a transient stop over place on the way south/north in the winter. Good internet signal, great cable TV. Don't miss nearby Fort Pulaski! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
This campground has a great location for visiting the beach at Tybee. The bath houses are old but certainly adequate. Some sites are tight but ours was on the end so it was larger. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We really enjoyed this park. We think it's in a great location. You are close to a nice beach, lighthouse park and not far from the bars and restaurants on Tybee Island. It is a little drive into Savannah and to I-95, but that was fine. Some sites are larger than others, clean bathrooms, small pool but very nice. If we are in this area again, we will stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We just got back from Tybee Island and stayed at here. When we registered, everyone was very friendly and we had an escort show us our sites. The sites are small, but thanks to the other reviews on this site, we knew this and got two sites for our three tents and a dining canopy. The price was a bit high, but there is no where else on Tybee to camp, this is to be expected. The campground was quiet. I was worried about the bathrooms because of the other reviews. They had by far the nicest, cleanest restroom facilities of any campground we have been to. By midday they were a little sandy, but by evening they were clean again. The bugs were not bad at all. I got bit a couple times a day. We used mosquito coils when we sat around at night under the dining canopy and did not have any problems with bugs. The park is about a five minute walk to the river side of the beach, and about 10 minutes to the actual beach. The beach was slightly crowded, but not too bad. This campground was great. We will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$43
Our second stay at this campground. The staff appeared to take more pride in the facilty this year. The sites are very close together and there's not enough bathrooms in campground. There is no security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
After claiming its close proximity to Historic Savannah, we stayed for a short visit; it is a pretty good drive back into town. Very tight as reported in other reviews. We found our site to be very unlevel and needed extra blocks to bring it up to standard. Propane obtainable only if tank is on right side of couch; ours is not. Outside staff friendly, inside staff ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This is absolutely one of the best places to go. My 6 year-old, dog and I came down and this was our third trip here. The campground is wonderful and so are the people that utilize it and the staff is excellent. The campground is clean, safe and fun. People with all different types of camping preferences and RV's are welcome as part of a huge family. I hope these folks will be around for a very long time. I am planning to visit again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
CG is overpriced for its condition. Sites were out of level. Many vacant sites, believe to be due to the recession and high cost. Many vacant condos in the area. Area should consider price reduction. Will not return without price reduction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
River's Edge is a great location for camping on Tybee Island. It is the only campground on the island. We booked at the last minute and got the last site available. The grounds-workers were very courteous and showed us to our site at check in. We pitched two tents on a very small RV site. The whole campground was very crowded as the sites were very close to one another. The roads in the campground were gravel and made it hard to distinguish the campsites from the roads. Our site was shaded but was not level and had huge tree roots in the way. Not a problem for an RV but a major problem for tents. There was an exposed electrical wire running along the side of our site on top of the ground. The electrical lines going into the electrical boxes were not in conduits as I would have expected. The bath houses were not clean; they smelled of urine. They are "uni-sex restrooms" in that both men and women use the same facilities. There are only 8 total restrooms. Each restroom contains a shower, sink and toilet. The restroom is very small and 8 is not enough for the number of campers in the campground. I would not stay here unless I had an RV where I had my own bath/toilet facility. The pool was of a good size, very nice and was clean. The pool was cold but it was early in the season. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
Nice quiet little park with very friendly and helpful staff. Rate was pretty high for off season. Smaller sites were very uneven. Bathrooms were somewhat clean but very cramped and very poor shape. Floor tiles were coming up and shower control was broken off and replaced with a bolt. Wi-Fi was hard to connect with. Cable TV consisted of 12 Channels, 1 was local access and another TV guide. Would not stay here again unless bathrooms were replaced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
This is a pretty park but the sites are close together. The restroom and shower facilites are older but clean. Cable and Internet access are great. We were very disappointed to not be able to park for free and go to the ocean beach anywhere on the island. All beach access is either labeled private or you have to pay for hourly parking. You can walk to the river beach from the park about three blocks away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$26
Lovely campground. It is now run by Tybee Island. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are many shaded sites and a few in the sun if you prefer. The Savannah River Beach is a short 2 block walk. The Atlantic Ocean Beach is a 3 walk block. Campfires are only allowed in designated areas. There is a small camp store, pool, laundry facilities and Social area. The restrooms and showers are dated, but adequate, clean and warm. The campground sits in a neighborhood. There is some type of city works and recycling center area close by which does lead to some early morning trucks noise. While we were there we had a tornado warning. The siren was definitely loud enough to waken the campground residents. Staff also alerted campers to the warning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
The sites were too close together. We could hear our neighbors at their dinner table when we sat outside. The park was clean and the staff was friendly (they lent us a coax cable), but I guess mostly you are paying for the proximity to the beach which was not a very nice beach. It was clean, but not a "swimming" beach. The area is good for walking and/or riding bikes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. It is only 3 blocks to the beach in one direction and 2 blocks in another. We were in an interior site and liked our spot, however, I don't think I would like staying on the sites that are only a few feet from the street that is in front of the campground. However, at this time of year there was not much traffic on the street and it is in a residential area. There are two dog parks right next to the campground, which our dogs enjoyed (one for under 20 lbs, one for over 20 lbs.). They have a nice pool area. Some of the sites are not well defined but if it was crowded you would probably have a good indiction of your area. The whole campground gives you a beach feeling -- so it is nice to visit historic Savannah (only 12 miles away) but also be able to be close to the beach. Although a bit pricey, we would probably stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
This campground is on Tybee Island and you must drive through Savanah to get to it. The campground in nestled between houses, in a residential neighborhood and signage to the campground is not very good. That being said, the folks were friendly, and sites were clean, cable TV was very good. The reasons to stay here are numerous. You can ride your bike to the beach, visit Fort Olglethorpe, tour the light house and museum and the battery all very close by. There is nothing fancy about the campground but it is a very good place to spend 2 or 3 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
The campsites are very close together. Our pull through site had trees and other items in the way. We did not feel secure due to location and lack of security. The bathrooms needed to be checked more than once a day, there are only 10 stalls for entire campground. We felt it was overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
The sites are very close together. When we walked out of our door if we walked 5 feet we would have tripped over the neighbors sewer connection. Not at all what we expected from the campground's website. They have 5 washing machines and 5 dryers, when we were there only one of each were working. We actually left two days early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Wifi is available, but you might have to move to another spot like near the office if your site is under the trees. We had a pull through site under the trees and it was nice but very close to the sites and campers next to us. This park is about two blocks away from the beach but it does have it’s own pool. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night but we would return even though we do like more privacy between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$34
Nice campground convenient to the beach (a three-four minute walk away); showers and bathrooms were clean and usable. However, we were at one end of the campground (site 137) just a few yards from an intersection, and traffic noise was a minor problem. Worse, though, this campground advertises free Wifi, but the signal at our site was very weak--I was able to connect only about a quarter of the time. All in all, and given the price ($34 for 30 A with no sewer; $39 with sewer), not wholly satisfactory. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$14
Live oak, Spanish moss, paved and gravel roads. Recently purchased by City of Tybee. Monthly rate is now double to $840. Grounds staff friendly, office staff not. We "full time" and though one can forward mail to the park P.O. Box, staff doesn't collect mail on a regular basis, despite repeated inquiries from guests (i.e.: 8 days for priority mail envelope). Satellite reception for tv varies depending on site. WiFi good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
Overall, this campground is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They actually had a host to guide us to a site in a golf cart to get us in our site. The sites are very close together, but that seems typical at other beach campgrounds we've been to. All the facilities we needed worked great. There is local cable to each site, but we were able to use our dish to get our DirecTV signal. Some friends stayed in the "eagles nest" section, basically that is a very tight cul-de-sac on a small hill. I'm decent at backing, but there is no way I'd want to navigate backing into one of those sites up a hill and around all those trees. We had a pull through site close to the entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$34
When we arrived, the staff was very attentive and worked like a well-oiled machine. We had reservations, but did not like the spot they picked out for us as it was difficult to maneuvers (our rig is 52-ft long with car and trailer), so they quickly found another one. It was also tricky to maneuver (but they had 3 very helpful men directing us). The grounds were well-kept and clean. The road and site surface is ground oyster shells (typical for Florida) with patches of grass behind the site. It was quiet. They had their "birthday" celebration while we were there and seemed to have a lot of activities, especially for kids. We didn't attend. Their store was well-stocked. A large caravan of approx. 30 RVs arrived while we were there, and it was handled quite efficiently (we were parked close to the office and could see all the activity). We stayed for 5 nights and would gladly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
Great park, great atmosphere. The pool was beautiful and clean. The showers and bathrooms were private and air conditioned. The ocean was a short walk away. My wife, 2 1/2 year old daughter, and I had a great time. We went to Savannah (about 15 minutes away) for day trips. The tent sites were plenty big. Some RV sites (pull through) were very small, so if you go, try to get one of the larger sites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
We arrived on the 9th of September, 2007 and planned to stay for 7 days. They put us in the crow's nest section which was entirely too small for the number of campers and size campers they had in that section. The mosquitoes were so bad that after 4 days, we had to leave. several other campers were complaining about the campground not utilizing available sites in better areas of the campground for longer term campers. One of the worst experiences I have ever had in a campground. Since it is the only campground on Tybee Island, they can do as they please. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
Great campground for being the only option on Tybee Island. It's being run by the city versus private and the people are doing a great job. Where we were for the week, it was a little buggy and needed spraying, but wasn't an issue except for being out at night sitting around the camper. They are working on the campground all the time to upgrade and stay on top of things. I would highly recommend this campground and Tybee Island. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Hello, I have been to two major campgrounds and several smaller ones since I bought my RV last summer. The first spot I would like to recommend is Rivers End Campground on Tybee Island GA. This has everything you could need. The staff are very friendly and warm to families and people from all walks of life go there. I felt so comfortable that leaving things out at night (nothing of any great value) would still be there. The rates are great and if you do not have a towed vehicle with you, that is ok, as they have an old fashion trolley that comes by, on the hour, and swings through the entire island. Five Stars in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$47
We really enjoyed this campground. It's not a very large campground and some of the sites are a little small but it was fine for us. The staff was VERY nice and very accommodating, the pool was great, and the bath houses were probably the nicest we have ever used. Each bathhouse has 4 private bathrooms with a toilet, sink and shower. When we first pulled into the campground, we were concerned about safety because its literally located right off a side street in Tybee and easily accessible for "outsiders". But if you have ever been to Tybee, you'll know its a very safe area so we felt at ease once we were comfortable with the surroundings. Its a great little town for bike riding. You can ride your bike over the entire island. The beach is a short bike ride/walk from the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We stayed in the middle of Spring Break week and the campground was full. Although the campsites are small, it is very close to the beach and is a great bargain compared to what it would cost to rent a room, house or condo in Tybee Island. It was very quiet after 10 P.M. but by 7 A.M. the normal noise of a resort community was present. A very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean restroom and shower facilities. If you want solitude go somewhere else, but if you want to hit the beach on a tight budget, then this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$30
Nice place to go if you want to be near the beach. Friendly staff. Spaces a little close was our only complaint We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and it was full. Getting to the site was a tight fit for our 33 ft. fifth wheel, narrow roads with some low branches. Some spaces are close together but there are some that have some more room (we had one on a corner lot). Quiet, family friendly and close to the beach and lighthouse. There is even a shuttle to the beach. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2006
$39
Slim pickings with CG's in Tybee, so we were stuck. Wish we'd opted to stay at Hilton Head and traveled to/from Savannah. Sites were not level, too many trees that dropped stuff all night long and SUPER tight to your neighbors. Would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$20
I stayed here for a month. The park is beautiful and the community is really cool. On the downside, the layout isn't that great and the sites were really tight with big oaks overhanging most sites. (I don't care for big tree limbs over me during a storm.) Getting to Tybee is actually rather tough as well. (I had to drive through downtown Savannah.) I understand it's totally booked in the summer. However, I'd definitely recommend it as a place to stay in the off-season. The City of Tybee Island has now bought this park and runs it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
Sites are very close together in the area we were in. It was pretty much gravel. Although there were more wooded sites. It was the location that had us stay here. You could travel to the beach or into Savannah. Staff was friendly. If you are looking to "camp", I wouldn't recommend it but if you are looking to "RV" then it is okay if you like your neighbors close. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$39
The sites are really close and tight! Some sites do not offer cable or sewer. I did not like the way the campground was laid out. We won't be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2005
$25
We stayed two months in Jan/Feb 2005 and loved this park and Tybee/Savannah. Plenty of room for our 36' FW with 3 slides. We had a large site. Excellent management. Very helpful. Stated daily rate is an estimate. We had monthly rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$32
A great location near historic Savannah with close location to the ocean and lots of beaches. We had a site that was facing the street making us feel part of the neighborhood. Suggestion, follow the guides to the campgrounds as the trees in Savannah are not RV friendly if you should desire a shortcut. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com