206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Southern Trails Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (478) 627-3254
CGID948

Southern Trails Resort

Camp Information
Sites
191
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$2



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   1   5   9   8   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$2
If you stay at this park opt for a 30 amp setup at the back of the park - as it will be quieter. We had 50 amp which is right near Highway 75 and noisy 24/7. Then there are the nighttime trains and the early morning crop dusters so that is why I have chosen to score it a 6. The people running it are really nice and they offer a free pancake breakfast 5 days a week. It is an ROD park for us so the $2 was for 50 amp service. I will stay here again if we can stay in the back where it is quieter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
This is our home resort, covered under our Coast to Coast membership. We used to look forward to staying here on our trips north and south on I75. We have been disappointed in the past couple years at the lack of maintenance. There is a pool, but not usable when we were there. In the middle of summer, it is filled with leaves. The restrooms, with only a few campers on the side that use it, had dead bugs and cigarette butts all over the floor, and trash was overflowing. The sites are not level and, in any rain, there are puddles around the sites and roads. Wi-Fi is only available at the clubhouse. We have enjoyed the social activities and pancake breakfasts and may stay there again, but only overnight. We hope this campground will be spruced up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Contrary to Passport America listing, park does not accept credit cards. Passport rate is limited to 2 nights. All 50-amp sites are $2 extra for cable whether you use it or not. Gravel sites are level but slightly narrow. Wifi is only available in the office, not at the sites. 50-amp sites are right by the interstate and very noisy at night. This RV park has more activities than we've seen anywhere. Free pancakes most mornings, bowling, lunches out at restaurants, cards every afternoon, bingo every night and a wonderful pot luck lunch on the 4th! Some of the friendliest people we've ever encountered. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$2
We joined this park when they had 3 different parks but only stayed at this one, perfect stopover point between the Keys and Canada. We have been quite happy until 2 years ago when they changed their manager. He is definitely not a people person and was rude to us several times during our stay this year. We noticed that the park was in total disarray with the grass at over 2 feet high, the pool was totally green and when we asked the office manager about it she acted as though she didn't even care. This park has gotten so bad in just 2 years we can't even imagine what it will look like in the future. Friends of ours stayed here over the past winter for the chance to harvest pecans. They were picking up the nuts until the manager approached them and advised them that picking the pecans was now against park rules. That started such a fight that the members went into the office and cancelled their 12 year membership. For those planning a trip through GA you'd be foolish to stay at this park, especially during the hot months when the rattlesnake population invades the park with the grass being as high as it was back in May. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$12
I-75 is under construction and appears it will be for some time to come, so be prepared for short distance exiting or entering of the highway. It is obvious this was a KOA campground in a former life. Utilities and “yards” are shared. Sites would be nice sized if this was not the case. They have 35 - 50amp sites; all others are 30amp. There is a $2.00 per night fee for cable in all 50amp sites and 16 - 30amp sites. Cable sites are out front near I-75 and the railroad tracks. Bath house is clean. Laundry room shows wear and date. Dryers need cleaned. Cost is $1.25. Just watch for the little mouse that makes the laundry room home. Cell phone service is good; park is across the interstate from a cell tower. This would be a great park for those who enjoy the parking lot style RV parks, little dogs, with bingo and so forth. We will only use this park as a travel stop if necessary in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$10
Low rate due to RPI membership. This park accepts quite a few membership type of cards. Originally a KOA park. No provisions for sale in office. Limited activities for long term tenants. Very enjoyable Miniature Golf facility. During pecan growing season, a great place to pick pecans from the ground. We have stayed here several other times, and are very satisfied with this park. Would recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$2
Price reflects only payment for 50 amp and cable since we are part of their network and technically camped for free. Campground was nice for an overnight stay. We are fairly new to camping and have a 39-ft fifth wheel, we felt that it was a little cramped. Not so much the site itself, but there is not a lot of room to maneuver as you're pulling in. The highway access is close by, but is currently under construction, and getting onto the freeway itself was dicey since there is little running room. That's not a reflection on the park, just a little FYI if you're in the area any time soon. Staff was very nice. No store onsite, shower facilities were clean. Our site was pretty level but not paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
We stayed on our way to Florida and coming back home. The sites are grass/gravel and most are level. Not far from the highway so traffic noise could be heard. For an over night stay, this was just right. Diesel station right as you exit. This is a dog friendly park which are hard to find. We have 3. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$12
Stayed here as a Coast-to-Coast member. Good value for an overnight. The 50 amp full hookup sites have cable which requires a $2 extra fee (on top of the $10 C-t-C points) but that is still a bargain for a nice, level, shady space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
Easy to get to, but nothing to see/do nearby, one small grocery store. Spacious pull-thru sites, clean shower/restrooms, grounds well-kept. Good for an overnight, but nothing in area to stay longer for. Paid $4 for 24 hrs Wi-Fi in main bldg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
We stayed here five days during Thanksgiving,CG is located right next to I-75 very noisy, it only has cable TV in the few spots up front none in the rear, horse stables are nearby and flies can be a problem at times. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This is a great place for an over night. As a Coast-to-Coast park, it is only $10 a night and $2 for cable. There is a drawback and that is there is only limited cable and it is only available at about 30% of the sites. Breakfast is good and the staff is great to get along with, but the average camper stays to themselves. There is a putt-putt 9 hole and pool, and a lot of land to walk around the park. NOTE for those stopping, take EXIT 121, no other, to get to the campground. Any other exit is going to take you down a dirt road. I will stay here again if passing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
We stayed here two times this spring. Both times the staff and guests were friendly. We had to leave early in the middle of the night for an emergency, and our fees were refunded without question. Free pancakes and coffee 5 days per week. $2 additional for 50 amp and cable. Convenient to interstate. Small town with not much to do. Quiet campground with level pull through sites. We were Coast to Coast members and will stay here again. In the pecan grove, there were plenty of free pecans to be picked up in season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Discounted rate through RPI but don't think I would pay full price. This place is just too close to the freeway. Very noisy. Used it as a spot to visit Plains and Civil War areas. WiFi only in clubhouse at $ and $ for cable at site. Sites no where near level, small and close to each other. Can't recommend this unless for a 1 night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
The park is right beside the Interstate. When we pulled off the Interstate we drove right by the little Good Sam RV park sign and wound up on the north outskirts of the town. Finally got turned around and drove back into town and stopped at a gas station for directions to the park. The gas station employee pointed out the little (12" x 12") sign. Arriving finally at the park (in the dark) we setup at the site we were assigned (we thought) and were anxious to hookup and watch some TV. Only after everything was hooked up, did we realize we had setup on the wrong site, NO TV. Other than that the park employees were super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
This is a Good Sam and a Coast to Coast park. This campground does not reserve sites when you confirm a reservation. . It is a surprise when arriving and you are told to go pick out a camp site and come back and tell them the site number. It was interesting watching RV's driving up and down the roads trying to find a site. The 50amp sites are the first two rows which are always full and the rest of the sites are 30amp, no cable and some without full hookups. The campground is next to I-75 so there is a lot of traffic noise day and night. The 50amp sites also have cable connection so there is a $2.00 per day charge for that. Wireless internet is available only inside the office area and there is a $2.00 charge for that. There is a nice catch and release fishing pond and bingo nightly. Outside of that there is not much to do in the area. The roads are gravel and the sites grass most are not level. In my opinion, this campground would only be a good overnighter, if you did not mind the traffic noise. It could be a nice park if 50amp sites are installed in the back section of the campground where it is a lot nicer, more open and quieter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$8
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. It was our third time at this campground, which is very convenient when traveling I-75. It is pretty basic, but has a friendly atmosphere and activities for those who are interested. It's an old campground, but well-maintained, with full hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
The sites were rather tight for a 40 foot motor home and not very level. But it worked well as a highway stop with clean clean facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
We camped here using AOR membership. We were parked in the upper lever. Sites are side by side. Close to highway and noisy. Good for overnight stays. Sites were not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$8
Despite the low temps at night we found this park a great place to stay for several weeks before heading to Florida for the winter. The Georgia heritage was all around us and it took days to visit everything available. The staff is extremely friendly, the restrooms were clean and well maintained, the sites ranged from partial hook-ups to either 30 or 50 amp full hook-up with cable with both grass and/or gravel to choose from. Their security staff makes you feel safe and don't be surprised by a knock on your door at night to remind you to close your cars' windows or turn off your lights lest your tow vehicle's battery is dead in the morning. Pick a site, get to know your neighbors and have a ball at a very decent place to stay. If the road noise bothers you, pick a site down below where the noise seems to disappear. Dogs are allowed but owners who refuse to pick up after them will be asked to vacate the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2006
$1
Free for us because we are members there. This is not a destination campground. There is no ambience. The campground has a "storage" feel to it. The roads are gravel and the lots are grass. It is within 1/10 mile of the freeway, so you can hear traffic. But it is an easy off and on. The lots are not terribly generous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2006
$8
This campground is a Coast to Coast and Good Sam Park. This park appears to be an old KOA and is right next to the Interstate highway and was very noisy. The sites are grass and are not level. The hook-ups are between sites and are not convenient especially for the sewer hook-up. This is one of the worst campgrounds I have stayed at and would not recommend it to anyone because of the road noise from the Interstate. Campground personnel were friendly and helpful, but this does not overcome the problems with the campground. This campground needs to be upgraded and have trees planted next to the Interstate to block some of the road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This is a stopover kind of park. It is our Coast to Coast home park and a great stopping point on the way to/from Fl. That said, it's nothing special. the sites are tight and sometimes muddy but other than that it's not too bad. The management is very good and there are dozens of pecan trees. Even in April we were able to collect a bag full of nuts from last fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com