218901 User submitted reviews online!!
R Shaefer Heard COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (706) 645-2404
CGID951

R Shaefer Heard COE

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   9   9   8   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
Very nice park. Cell phone very spotty. Satellite good in very few sites. Lots of trees so you have to look at sites from 85 to 106 to get any kind of signal. Restrooms and showers were very clean and kept up nicely. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
This is a fairly large USACE campground on beautiful West Point Lake. The vast majority of the campsites are on or very close to the water; there are only a few from which one can't see the lake. Most sites are water and 30 amp, but about fifty sites have water and 50 amp. Many of the sites have quite a slope to them; big rigs, forget those. Pull-thruoughs are of the U-shaped variety, and not suitable for longer rigs either. Still, there are quite a few that are easily navigated and backed into without any problems (we were here in a 40-foot RV). The park gets busy during the summer, but most sites are well separated from their neighbours. Fairly strong AT&T 3G signal, quite a few DTV channels. No hiking trails as such, but walking all the loops amounts to about 5 miles. Lagrange, GA, is about 15 minutes away and has all the services. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
Rate is with the federal senior pass. Beautiful COE campground! We had one of the large 50 amp sites (site 5) right on the lake. It was perfect. Even though the lake was low, we were able to launch our kayak right from our site and paddle the beautiful lake. The park was quiet; everyone respectful of others. No walking trails but plenty of paved road area to walk. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$12
This was a beautiful park. We did not have trouble getting into a level site down by the lakefront. They have a little separate gravel pad for your car to park. Excellent for riding a bike around the park roads, nice shade for when it's hot. Other park facilities available to be used. Nice playground for kids. Tennis courts elsewhere in the park if I remember right. AT&T Cell phone signal was very weak, almost none at the site. Our mi-fi card worked but it was SLOW and not worth using much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
We spent 3 nights in a large pull-thru (site 11). The site was level and we did have a view of the lake though we were not "on the lake". Overall condition of the park was very good. For the most part the restrooms and showers were clean. However, the urinal in the bathhouse was filthy and looked as if had not been cleaned in a long time. The rest of the bathhouse appeared to be fine. One negative is that at the dump station the road has an outward tilt to it. This makes it impossible to completely empty your tanks unless you put jacks down and raise the right side. We found the park quite restful. Weather was beautiful while we were there. Cool enough in the evenings that we could, and did, enjoy a nice fire. Fire rings with grill, stand up grill, picnic table, and lantern pole were provided at each site. We had good water pressure and a good 50 amp power connection. The extra distance to the Publix in LaGrange is worth it for shopping over what is available in West Point and Lannett. We looking foward to being able to stop over again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
Located on 101 Schaefer Heard Park Road, West Point, GA 31833. Staff host was very friendly. Price is $24. We paid $12 with our Golden Age Passport. We had a very long back in site, with 30 amp electric and water hook up. There is a 2 lane dump station. Our site was level with good packed gravel. Many sites are paved. These are sites with a grade. Some are very steep grades. Of the 117 sites 11 are pull through, 10 are double sites. Sites 1-27 and 85-106 are 50 amp. On loop 1 to 39, we liked 26 and 27 best. Sites 1,10/13,22/23,25, 34,36 we would avoid. The rest are good sites. Very wooded. We were backed up to the lake. There were 2 bath houses with 1 washer/dryer in each. Our Verizon phone had 3-4 bars. No Wi-Fi in park, we used our phone. Over the air TV was poor, no network stations, a few PBS. Hard to get a satellite signal from our site. The park is very wooded. There are some areas along the lake that are more open. Park is dog friendly with miles of roads to walk. Located on West Point Lake, this is a very large park, with trails, tennis court, picnic areas and boat ramps. It is about 5 miles from the town of West Point. There is shopping: it's about 12 miles to a Kroger in AL. LaGrange is about 15 miles with many restaurants and shopping. In our opinion, this park has the WOW effect. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
Rate is Golden Passport. Nice park and many sites with good views of lake. Lots are treed so our satellite did not work and limited stations on local antenna. Great for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This park has some great views and is an excellent place to walk or bike ride. The roadside in this park was a lot cleaner this time than it was when we were there in May but there are still a lot of overhanging branches along the roads which need to be trimmed. The staff, as usual, was cordial and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a great COE park, some of the sites have now been upgraded to 50 amp. and sewer. The hosts are of course friendly. I found a new way to come in by taking exit 4 at the new KIA plant and heading N/W and then left on US29. The Park entrance is only a couple miles. This keeps you from making the sharp turn a the first red light in West Point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
This park continues to be our favorite. There are so many beautiful sites to choose from. The park was crowded due to Georgia's School System's Spring break week but all campers were kept in check by the Rangers, Sheriff's patrol and the Park Host. The only reason for not giving this park their usual rating of 10 is the need for trimming of overhanging limbs over and beside the road ways as we had several brush the top and side of the coach as we entered and left the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is the poorest maintained COE park we've visited. There were overhanging limbs hitting our RV on the way to the site. Once parked at the site, we had to cut overhead limbs and bushes from the side of the site to keep them from touching the RV and creating a pathway for ants to invade. We visited this park last year and don't recall this problem then. Someone in COE management needs to inspect this park. The water was muddy and not drinkable but this was due to water line upgrades in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This is a great campground. Built by the Army Corps of Engineers, most of the sites are right on the water. The sites are large, and paved with shade and plenty of privacy. The staff was very friendly and made some recommendations on what sites to choose. It looks like a great place to camp during the week as we were here in the middle of summer and there was really no one around, which is amazing since this is so close to the Atlanta Metro Area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We enjoyed this campground. Most sites are lake views. We were at site 100. This entire loop has zero shade. We are staying in the loop right next to it (site 113) in a few weeks and those sites are very shaded. There are only 2 bathhouses in the campground so you either have to take a long walk or drive your car (or bike) to take a shower. However, there are restrooms scattered throughout the park within short walking distance. Bring your water shoes as the lake bottom is very rocky and mucky. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is a Corp of Engineers Park. It is not as nice as a lot of others we have stayed in, perhaps because there was only one site that would work for us this trip. They now have 4 or 5 50 amp sites...the one we were directed to was not that nice. We preferred to move on to a 30 amp site with a better view. However, in the heat of the Summer, they DO have 50 amp. You would probably need to call ahead to reserve one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$20
We stayed here one night on a trip back from south Georgia. This park is a US Army Corps of Engineers park. The roads are paved and unusually wide for a campground. When we were there, half of the park was closed for the winter. There were about 60 sites open, and the park was not full. Some of the sites are paved, some are concrete, and half of our double site was small gravel with the other pad paved concrete. We shared a site with some friends. The double site was at least as big as two individual sites. The sites are very private and almost all of the sites are right on the water or at least overlook the water. I thought that was pretty unusual. The playground was OK. There are several small restrooms as the park is pretty big. We did not use them, so I can't comment on cleanliness. The lake level had been lowered some, I presume do to the winter. I did notice that this campground appears to be set-up for fishing. Most, if not all, of the sites had a designated place for parking and many had a second spur that appeared to be large enough for parking a boat trailer. I had never seen a campground that went so far as to add boat parking at many sites. Some of the sites have a steep entrance where a camper had obviously bottomed out (scratches in the concrete). However, each pad appeared to be level. We would camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
Another excellent COE park. The roads were very wide. Campsites were large and not crowded into the neighbors area. Will return. Be sure to make reservations for weekends or holidays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com