218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Crockett Family Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (936) 544-8466
CGID9523

Crockett Family Resort

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   6   3   4   7   5   7   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$34
Would not return. Pool was usable, but dirty. Leaves and things floating on the surface. Dog area was a small designated area, but full of cockleburs. There is a small store that sells minnows and bait, piers, and a covered boat storage area. Water was low from the drought and it was a 3' drop from pier to top edge of a boat, hard to get in and out. No access from the store to the pier area behind it - have to exit the store and walk around to a parking lot, through the grass, and then behind that same building to get on the pier. I would not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
If you like sand, sewer smell, loose dogs, intermittent power, and that wholesome trailer park feel, this is the place for you. Otherwise, try and find somewhere else to stay. Wi-Fi works early in morning, but by evening it is dead. Staff is great at giving conflicting information on which sites are available. We reserved one site, and were assigned another upon our arrival. They had given the site we reserved to a long term camper. Seems to be quite a demand for RV sites in the area due to pipeline construction. Also, it's quite a distance from the town of Crockett. On the positive side, the lake is nice for kayaking and fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Price reflects group discount for RV rally. A nothing special campground located far from town. Site are "OK" at best. Some had sewer connections, some had cable TV (ours didn't), kind of hit or miss. No over the air TV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Reserved site via internet, requiring payment in advance and no chance of refund in case of cancellation. Internet receipt stated payment in full. Upon check-in I was informed that prior payment was only a deposit. I had to pay an additional $54. Female who checked us in stated that internet reservations were always a problem. Her attitude was gruff and very unfriendly. She should not have a job dealing with the public. Wi-Fi didn't work. When I talked to the owner about it he stated that "we don't charge for it". That was the end of the conversation. Cable TV hook-up was fuzzy and of poor quality. RV sites are grossly over priced and management is "in your face". We've been coming here yearly for over 10 years, but never again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Most crowded sites, we have ever been in. This is an old campground with worn facilities. While property is on a lake, the trailer sites are so far away, there is no view of water from them. We were here for a trailer rally. Restrooms were cleaned in the morning, but by afternoon were very dirty. Wi-Fi kept going down. There is a great restaurant on site. Rate reflects rally discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very friendly staff. The park is heavily shaded with lots of trees. The bad news is the trees make satellite reception and maneuvering a big rig in the park a challenge. The campground has a small pool (mostly shaded), a boat launch, dock meeting hall and restaurant. The sights are mostly level dirt (which could be a problem in the rain) with gravel access roads. Verizon cell service worked well, however AT&T was a bit spotty. All around a nice peaceful area and we would return if in the Crockett area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
We were here for a family reunion. We were the only ones in the family with a RV, the rest stayed in cabins. I believe the rate was $30 a night for the RV site, but may have been $35, as my husband paid. We have a 42' and had no problems getting around in the park. The RV sites were all in the shade and that made it very nice in the triple digit temps. The restrooms are not air conditioned. The shower rooms are unisex and very small and also not air conditioned. The laundry room was not air conditioned. I did not enter it so I cannot comment on those facilities fairly. There are very few trash cans on the grounds. The dumpsters are quite a hike to get to from most places on the grounds, but I do appreciate that the smell from the dumpsters was not near where we were camping. The management puts feed out for the deer and we watched 4 of them around their trailer in the dawn and at dusk. I did not deal with the staff nor the restaurant, but my husband did. He said all staff was friendly and nice. The restaurant is leased by another family and they are religious, so I'd suggest you don't visit them if religious stuff on the walls bothers you. The cabins were $95 and up a night. They did not tell us when we booked one for my dad that you have to bring your own towels and your own soap. You also have to take out your trash before you leave. For $95 a night, this shocks me. Each cabin either has a window unit AC or one of those big AC units you often find in hotel rooms that sits on the floor, about 3 or 4 foot in length. I visited 3 cabins, not sure how many our family had. One was smaller, with a full bed and a set of bunk beds in one room. Had a flat screen TV on top of the small stainless steel fridge, and one AC. Another unit had a full size fridge, a set of bunk beds in the main area, and a separate bedroom with a full size bed. If you closed the bedroom door, there was no AC for the bedroom. The bedroom had a curtain hanging, but behind it was a mirror, not a window. The third cabin i visited was even bigger than the second. It had a dining table for 4, and two twin beds in the main area. It had two beds in the bedroom, but again, if you closed the bedroom door, there was no AC. I heard many family members say that the price only included one person, and each additional person was $10. I feel the rooms are lacking for the price you pay. We utilized the clubhouse for one day. Half of the building was $300 for the day. We had about 50 people, with many small children. There were 2 window units, and it became very hot and uncomfortable. They do setup the tables and chairs for you. There are two refrigerators, and that was nice for us to put all of the food in while we were preparing stuff. We brought our own BBQ pits to cook on right outside of the building. Again, lacking in trash cans. The water is way down due to the triple digits we have been having and the lack of rain. The lake is very nasty around the shore and the pier and the boat dock. However, once we got in the boat, we went across to the sand bar (many of the tall men in our family could walk all the way across) and we sat in the water and talked and played and had a nice time. We carried a pop-up tent over to the sand bar as well. We also had jet skis' with us, and the lake is nice for that as well. How ever, if the water were two foot higher, many of the stumps that we could see would not have been visible. Ask someone at the 'resort' where to go in the water before taking off on your own. The pool is small, but during the day, you can get shade and sun. As the sun moves, you just have to move as well. There were only five plastic chairs at the pool, no lounge chairs. And one trash can outside of the fence. The entire place is dirt and gravel, so be prepared for dirty feet and tracking dirt into your room or RV. The playground area is shaded, that is nice. There is put-put golf, swings, merry-go-round, slide, volleyball, basketball, and shuffleboard. Their internet was free and worked great. Our cell phones had very limited reception, both Verizon and Sprint. I would not be disappointed if we did not return to this 'resort'; however, our family came from lots of different places, and most of them were fine with the location, and they are already planning to have our reunion there again next year. Maybe by then, they will air condition the restrooms and showers, and add additional AC in the cabins that have bedrooms. The name should be Crockett Family RV and Campgrounds, not Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Nice park on lake with pull through, shady sites. Very peaceful. Wi-fi and cable worked very well - both included in price. Staff friendly. Cafe open seven days a week. Basic menu, but food was good. Having a dumpster in the main area would be a help. SuperWalmart within 10 miles of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
My girlfriend and I were looking for a get-a-way when we found Crockett Family Resort on the internet. We called to speak with Mary Lou, who was very delightful to speak with, helping us in every way. The park is perfect for people seeking to escape the daily grind of city living. The pool is a little small but you have a beautiful lake to take advantage of. All the sites are very well shaded and all the hook ups worked (hard to find anywhere else). My girlfriends parents are looking to have there family reunion now. We checked out the cabins while we were there and they are exceptional, so if you don't wont to bring your RV I would highly recommend renting one of their units. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
First of all the pool is very,very small in the woods. There is no tv (local) reception,could not get cell phone reception either. The restaurant took 1 1/2 hours to serve food. We stayed 1 night, had a family emergency, and had to pay for 4 nights. They would not refund any money back. Oh they don't accept discount cards for holidays. The lake is very nasty to swim in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Beautiful area and lake.We had a really great time. Everyone was friendly even on a holiday weekend. Busy but not overcrowded. Fished off the pier, swam in the pool; kids want to come back. Large pull thru site - had no trouble parking or leaving. We came for a family reunion last year and stayed in a very nice room with a kitchen. Good family atmosphere. Definitely will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
The campground sites are on top of each other. Trees make it hard to move around and turns are tight. We were put in so tightly that we were blocked in and couldn't get our trailer out because of other campers parked at angles. The pool is smaller then most backyard pools. Sewer back up and overloaded trash containers are a problem during major weekends. We love fishing the lake here and go once a year. If we have kids with us, we pass this campground up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Pull through site was very hard to pull through and overhead wires made it difficult to climb on roof of RV. TV cable was strung on ground across campsites. Very dusty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com