218725 User submitted reviews online!!
Chinook RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (707) 482-3511
CGID9555

Chinook RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   8   7   7   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
Our grass pull-thru site was level and long enough for our 40-foot motor home and tow dolly, with room to park our toad next to the motor home. No trees to block our satellite dish which was good since cable was down for repairs, however since cable is only a dozen satellite channels it didn't really matter. Fair to good WiFi. Fair to poor Verizon 3G/4G coverage (intermittent and slow). Very friendly owner and staff. Park has a few permanent residents but was clean, well maintained and right on the Klamath River. Although next to Hwy 101 there was no traffic noise. Our daily rate was half the normal rate apparently because the owner took a liking to us. Park is great for fishermen and convenient to the local redwood parks but the nearest supermarket is at least 15 miles away. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
This park has a great location right on the river. The sites are level with grass and the hook ups are centrally located. We had a pull through which was very large with no issues. The laundry was OK and did have a clean clothesline. It is an easy on/off the highway and centrally located to enjoy the Redwoods. The rate is for PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
$15 is the Passport America rate. Daily rate includes cable, Wi-Fi and electric with 30 amp hooks. We stay at this park on the river at least twice a year. Love it. It's busy during fishing season, but very quiet when we pass through the area (spring and fall). Quick in and out off the Redwood Highway and the camp host is very easy going. Groceries are 30 minutes away in Crescent City and the sites are all grass so if those things bug you this may not be a good choice. Otherwise, it's excellent value for the money$$$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$17
This is a nice basic RV park right on the banks of the Klamath rive. The sites are grass the roads are gravel. We had a site right next to the river and had great views and the site was level. Their wifi worked well as did Verizion MiFi. They have a club house with tv and some books. As I said this is your basic RV park in a great area. Apparently this place rocks during salmon season but when we were there we got winter rates and a PA discount of 50%. The only complaint I have is the showers. While they were clean, had great hot water with plenty of pressure they were small. They seemed like they were smaller than the one in our MH. I'd stay there again it's a great place to check out the Redwoods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Good wi-fi. The office personnel is GREAT and helpful. If you have AT&T phone or data you will NOT get service here. They will loan you the office phone if you need to make a call. No real close place for a good restaurant, but just down the road in Klamath is a bar called Country Palace that serves a darn good burger--'old bar charm'. Close to Trees of Mystery which is worth a trip AND has a good restaurant called the Forest across the street. This RV park is mainly for fisherman, but can be used as a nice spot to explore the area. All sites are full grass, no gravel, or asphalt. Would stay here again for a few nights but not a full week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Nice little park right off the 101, was afraid it might be noisy, but actually pretty quiet. You are just a 1/2 mile or so up the river from the ocean. River was calm and very relaxing to sit on the deck. They have with a fire going. Will stay here if passing through again. Price was with Good Sam or AAA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
This is a small park on the Klamath River. We had a beautiful view near the fire deck. They built a campfire each night. The park staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the stay there. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is basically a fish camp, but it's as nice as any of the other campgrounds in the area. Everyone was friendly, the camp host had a campfire for everyone every night, a local guide gave us some fish and it has a stunning view of the river. My only complaint would be that there is not much space to walk your dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This campground is exactly what its advertised to be, a fish camp for Klamath River salmon fishing, about 1/4 mile from the mouth of the Klamath River. We arrived a few weeks ahead of the salmon run and pretty much had the campground to ourselves. I'm told during the fishing season the place is packed. From the look of the layout, a full campground would be very crowded. Our stay was very pleasant. We had a riverside site with a nice view of the river. No fire pits were available on the site; however, a community firepit on a deck overlooking the river was available. The staff provided the firewood and started a fire each evening. The campground looked a little rough, but I think the staff was starting to tidy up for busy season. Their advertising states cable TV; however, we were told the entire town lost its cable provider. Not a big deal to me, but maybe to someone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
We LOVE staying here when passing through for a one night stay or for a few nights stay. All staff and very friendly and always willing to help no matter what the problem. We stay at the back of the park next to the river and don't hear any of the traffic noise from 101. This Resort has a boat launch and fish cleaning area. The wild life is abundant, during our last stay I got plenty of pictures of a mother Otter and her baby resting on their dock, Osprey, Dolphin and Bald Eagle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
Grassed, open, and located beside the Klamath River. This is normally a fishing campground, but the area is not busy during this time. The campground host were helpful and lots of pamphlets on the area are provided. The Wi-Fi was slow and did not always work. The host indicated that the booster was down. The sunset is beautiful at the campground and we did not hear the highway from our site near the river. Picnic tables are provided. The sites are on the grass. The showers were hot, but small and not the cleanest. The rate shown is with a Good Sam /AAA discount. Great location for visiting Redwood NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This is an open park with lots of room for all sized rigs, right on the Klamath river. Our spot had large shade trees and a picnic table. No cable TV anywhere in this area, but fair Wi-Fi and open sky good for satellite. The staff was friendly and very helpful, even making a nightly camp fire on the rivers edge complete with fire pit and benches. There is no AT&T cell service in most of the northern CA coast, Verizon dominates. The manager graciously let us use her cell phone on several occasions to handle a family issue back home, can't say how helpful that was in making our trip stress free. As with most RV parks on a river, this one has a boat dock and fish cleaning facility. Laundry and restrooms were clean and easy access, even a club house with pool table. Close to the Big Redwoods, Trees of Mystery, well worth seeing, and Crescent City about 45 minute scenic drive North. This park was so beautiful it will be our first choice next trip that way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We stayed here as an overnight stop and found it to be a pretty much typical fishing camp. Most all the guests are here for the fishing. There are also several long term guests. The roads are gravel and the sites are grass and fairly level. Utilities worked well with the exception of no TV [cable or OTA] and the Wi-Fi was slow. The pull through sites in the middle of the park alternate directions so your sharing a table with your neighbor. The sites are kind of tight for big rigs to get into, and pretty narrow. Its located on a river but only 3-4 sites are waterfront. There is a community fire pit one the river and a floating dock for small boats. Fairly well maintained but could use a make over. They are a passport America and camp club member but they don't honor the discount during the summer months. AT&T dosen't work nor did our Verizon air card. The Verizon phone did work. No grocery stores nearby and only a couple of restaurants. We did enjoy a nice steak at the Steelhead Lodge which is a few miles south. To sum it up, its an OK park for a stopover if your not 40' or over and it would be great for a fisherman. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Chinook RV Resort is strategically located,right on the Klamath River, about 1/4 mile from the mouth of the river, across from an island and from part of the Redwoods National Park. The Prairie Creek Redwoods State Park is south of Klamath and Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park is north. It's a quiet park, where the staff are very accommodating. Every night the staff prepares a fire in the ring on the deck overlooking the river. There is no longer cable TV. Apparently the cable company pulled out of Klamath. However, with most of the sites out in the open, a satellite dish gets great reception. Speaking of reception, there is little, if any, AT&T phone signal in Klamath, but Verizon is strong. You have to go north about 20 miles to Crescent City to get AT&T phone reception. The other utilities in the RV park are excellent. There is a tackle shop and fish cleaning facilities close to the river's edge. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Chinook. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Chinook RV Resort is an outstanding home base for exploring all the local entertainment and recreational opportunities. They have boat rentals, boat launching for 14' and smaller boats and boat docks. Right on the Klamath River one can watch the river drift by, watch the occasional black bear, bald eagle, seal, otter and osprey play in and around the river’s edge. Their recreation room has a TV, high-speed internet computer, pool table, free take/exchange library and wood burning stove to warm you. The community fire pit is a great place to watch the sun set, talk and exchange stories with other guests. They even have an on-site kayak guide and kayak rentals. High-speed satellite internet keeps you connected and full hook-ups with 50 amp power pedestals allows you all the comfort of home. The owner is your host, lives on-site at Chinook year round and is a wealth of information. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Stayed here for a week. The only bad thing about it is that the only cell phones that work, is Verizon. Picked up a prepaid and solved the problem. Great place to view the river and ocean along with Trees of Mystery. Sites are all grass but pretty level. Sea Lions come and visit off the dock. Take the Klamath River Jet Boat tour if you can. Pretty cool place to see bears, osprey, seals, sea lion and we even saw a bald eagle. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
We spent 2 weeks at Chinook and except for some rainy weather they have no control over, we really enjoyed our time. Sites are grassy, level and all utilities are good and recently updated. Showers were adequate and clean but outdated. This is a peaceful place to relax and rejuvenate. There are some attractions related to the redwoods close, as is the ocean. Would be a good idea to be stocked up when you arrive as the closest full service stores are 23 miles away in Crescent City. Don't look for hot tubs, pool or entertainment for kids. This is not the purpose of this park. Hard working workampers everyday were getting docks ready to put in the river for fishing season. About 6 pm several evenings, three seals came up the river by the campground and put on quite a show for us. Our Verizon air card was strong so did not try park Wi-Fi. One thing to note, we have T-Mobile phones and had no signal unless we went to Crescent City. Neighbor had AT&T and no service. Assuming Verizon only cell service. We would return in a heartbeat. Rate reflects PassPort America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
The Chinook RV Resort has all grass sites. The sites lining the center of the park are pull through, and the outer areas are back-in. I would classify that there are only two river-side sites. We were in site #36 and although not a river-side site, it was a spectacular view. There was a gravel roadway that separated us from the river. We toured the other CG's in the area and I would return to Chinook RV Resort. The price reflects a Passport America rate at $12.50 a night. The boat dock is indeed laid out in the camp ground and is close to being refurbished. It was being worked on every day that we were here. We stayed in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This campground is between highway 101 and the bank of the Klamath River just before the river makes its final turn and empties into the Pacific Ocean. We had the best site in the park, #36, just a few feet from the riverbank. The interior roads are packed gravel and each site is grass. The free Wi-Fi reached out to the individual sites but was slow. This is a great place to visit Redwood National Park. Also nearby is Trees of Mystery and Sky Trail, an interesting walk and tram ride through a Pacific Northwest forest. And don’t miss the Klamath River Overlook which provides a grand view of the Pacific Ocean and the mouth of the Klamath River. We spotted whales from there on two different days. I would have rated this park an 8 if it were not for a significant problem. The park used to have boat dock which can be seen in photos on the park’s web page. For some reason, probably maintenance, the floating dock has been disassembled and removed from the water and stored ashore throughout the campground. This has created an unsightly mess and may account for the low occupancy rate while we were here. It is possible that the dock may be back in the water by summer. Even with these shortcomings, this park is well worth the Passport America rate of $13.50 a day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
Right on the Klamath River, the site we had was a large pull through, grassy site. It had recently rained a lot and the ground was very wet. The view from the site was fantastic. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We would return here in a heartbeat. Our rate reflected Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
Very friendly staff. We had a pull through site right beside the Klamath river. It was grassed and level and despite recent rain was not muddy. Wi-Fi was fine but cable reception was poor. Very quiet spot. The laundry had out of order machines. Restrooms and showers were clean. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
This was a last minute change that we made after a bad experience elsewhere. It was a wonderful surprise. Small and neat, the grass sites were big enough for us, although the interior roads were slightly narrow and forced a bit of extra planning when maneuvering for departure. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and suggested a very good restaurant for us. We couldn't connect to the Internet at all, but that seems to be our issue not theirs. TV channels were snowy but some were usable. All other hookups were good. Laundry had 3 washers and two large dryers, but one of each was inoperative. Even though it's close to Hwy 101, the site is pretty tranquil and gave us a great base for exploring the beauty of the area. Recommended overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Absolutely the best and most enjoyable we have had. Great location on the river and close to the ocean. Lots to see and do. Great people and they really wanted you to feel at home. Will return many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This was a very nice park the staff was very friendly and helpful. The recreation room was wonderful. This park had a nice view of the Klamath River. We wished we could have spent more time here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$14
Price reflects Passport America. It is off season and we were the only ones in the campground other than the permanents. Just a basic park. Wi-Fi was down temporary said the yellowed sign in the front door! I see this as being an OK park in season to do the weekend fishing trip with the kids and family. Cable TV had plenty of channels but many were fuzzy. We parked in site 36 closest to the lake and best view, but furthest from the office and rec room (didn't check out). I can see that if it rained a lot you may could get stuck! They clearly spent more money on the attractive website then on the park! Just an OK place. Grass site, fairly large and long. Well worth our money for one nights stay. A strong 30 amp electric (held 2 small heaters, and microwave at the same time!), good water pressure @ 55 psi. I would stay again at this price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com