221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Gun Creek COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (618) 724-2493
CGID9559

Gun Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   8   8   2   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$8
This park is a gem. Price alone makes stopping worthwhile. Lovely campground. Didn't have a reservation but plenty of sites were available on a Saturday. Had electric only, but water and sewer available on other sites. Spacious with large concrete patio. Note: Handicap sites are available to anyone. Also a beach, marina, "Boatels", golf course very close. Site 7 for $8 with Access Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Good cement pads, all sites near lake. A few sites have water, most have electricity only. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This campground is only a minute from I-57 and is a great place to stop over while traveling. It is also a great warm season family and fisherman's campground. Right on Rend Lake. Some of the sites are not very level but many are. There are areas with full hookups. There is some traffic noise but not bad. Deer wander through at times. It is not open year around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$8
This is a very nice Corps of Engineer campground. It is easy off and easy on from I-57. Nightly rate reflects Senior Pass discount. We stayed one night on the way to Marengo, IL. Most sites are electric only with water hydrants scattered throughout the camping loops. They do have some full hookups as follows: Eagle Loop sites 60 thru 63. Bluejay Loop sites 11,13, & 15 as well as 18 thru 41. Many sites require serious leveling (front to back and side to side). Others are very nice with little or no leveling required. Restroom and shower facilities are new, clean and well maintained. The grass could have been mowed but it was okay. We would definitely stay here again either overnight or longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
This park was closed for a period last year while they installed new roads and full hook ups in part of the park. There are new bathhouses with family showers that combine tollets and showers. It is very convienent for a night stop over. Some of the sites are in need of leveling so I gave it a lower rating. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Totally disagree with previous reviews, written by locals who like to stay here to due cheap rates. They ask you when you check in to give this campground an excellent rating. Looking for more federal funds. LOTS of tenters, bathhouses were totally unacceptable, and no one is available to have the noise from tenters radios turned down. Definitely not an easy campground to get into. The locals have all of the full hook-up sites. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Excellent park and very convenient from the interstate for a nice overnight stay. I was able to get a site with water, 50 amp, and sewer. Most are electric only with water points throughout the park. Nice big dump station. Would be a great place for an extended stay. Golf course is "right there". If you play golf, fish or just enjoy the outdoors, this would be a great place for an extended stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$16
One of the good ones. Wide, spacious back-ins (and a few pull-throughs) all over the campground, some with full hook-ups, most just have electric. Some terrific views of lake available. Most sites are tree-shaded. Friendly attendants. Golf course and restaurant abuts campground. Good, clean, and family-friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Beautiful COE park by the lake. Large sites, long asphalt pads with concrete patios, very few full hookups. We were just looking for an overnight stay but spent the weekend here. Since it was our first time here, it was a little tricky for us to find, you pull into what looks like an apartment complex, drive past a golf course and clubhouse, and the campground entrance is a few hundred more yards down the dark road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
This is a beautiful park on a beautiful lake. We stayed on one of the full hookup sites. Our rate was based on the America Beautiful pass which is 1/2 the normal rate ($24). There are maybe 20-24 sites that have full hookups, the rest are electric only. All the sites are paved although they are narrow, but long, very long. They have cement picnic tables but some are in strange places. Ours is in the woods quite a ways from the site. Some of the sites would definitely be a challenge to level, although most away from the lake are level. This is a COE park. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Very nice and just off the Interstate beside a golf course. By a nice lake. Very much a 10 out of 10 park. Very dark and quiet at night! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Definitely no pull thru sites here. Paving job on roads is uneven and a mess. Sites are extremely tight, very, very difficult to back into. Loud, rowdy young crowd staying here, cars and motorcyles up and down the roads from site to site all night long. No rangers or campground hosts to be found anywhere. Campers complained about our dogs, they would not have barked if there had not been so much traffic up and down our circle all night long. 50 amp service extremely weak, our needle on monitor was on red entire time. Would not ever stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$16
This campground just re-opened after being closed for renovations. There are now some sites with sewer and some sites with water, but not all of them have it. We couldn't use the sewer, I think because it was closed for the season already. We were here the last day they were open. This is a typically beautiful COE campground with a great lake. My cell phone (AT&T) worked fine, and we did get a couple of channels on the TV. My biggest issue here was the fact that even though they just renovated, the sites weren't that easy to get into. The pads are only 10 feet wide (but very long) and the road is narrow as well, and because it's pretty hilly in some areas, we were trying to back up without much room and visibility. Some sites were better than others. Also, many of the sites are extremely unlevel. Ours looked pretty level but we still had to use two yellow blocks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$9
Gosh, what a beautiful park! Extremely large, VERY spacious sites, hooks for lanterns to hang, large picnic tables. Beautiful views of the lake from all over the campground. There were a LOT of deer hunters the weekend we stayed. We couldn't use much of the great bike trail they have because it was hunting season, but we were still able to ride parts of it. Nice welcome center close by that houses an Illinois artists' gallery of great things for sale. The sewers were to be available in certain sections of the park but there were problems with government regulations so they were not operational as of yet. We used a senior pass to get the great rate we did. The park was scheduled to close Nov. 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This park is closed for the summer of 2010 for construction. Check with Corp of Engineers, Benton, IL for reopening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$12
Only reason this is not 'perfect 10' is no water/sewer. Otherwise this is one of our favorite campgrounds, especially since it stays open until the end of November when most nearby state and Corps of Engineers (COE) campgrounds are closed. We have used it only for easy one night stopovers along I-57. It is easily accessible from the interstate. We intend to come back and stay longer to enjoy the beautiful lakeside sites. Rate is based on them being COE which means they accept America the Beautiful Access Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com