220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Craighead Forest Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (870) 933-4604
CGID9563

Craighead Forest Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   6   4   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Rate reflects Senior discount. Most all previous reviews are accurate and reflect our feelings about this campground. We chose this place as convenient and inexpensive. It is also very peaceful, calm, and a wonderful place to stay for several days and explore the area. There are some downsides, which is why I gave it a 9. First, no Wi-Fi or cable. However, we did pick up local stations over the air, so we could keep up with news and weather. Second, the roads in the park are narrow and windy. Not a problem if you are comfortable with your rig, but it is slow going. Third, though they advertise "swimming" at the park, it is Not allowed currently due to too many geese swimming and using the beach. Finally, directions to the park are not clear. Do not take SR-1; this will force you to take the Craighead Forest Rd which is narrow, has tight turns and blind hills to get to the park. All this, the camp host was wonderful, the sites very level and wide, and the bathhouse clean and well maintained. As mentioned, there is free firewood at your campsite and the sites are far enough apart to be comfortable. There are woods all around and wonderful walking trails to enjoy the beauty of the natural surroundings. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$10
This is an excellent park to stay in for anyone passing through or visiting in Jonesboro for a few days. Very friendly host, free firewood, easy in and out. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Incredible! We were completely spoiled during our stay here. We would have stayed longer if we had not made appointments for personal business elsewhere. The camp hosts are amazingly welcoming and friendly. The laundry facility, bathroom and showers were spotless. The feeling of instant community is one that we have compared to everywhere we have stayed at since. Well Done! Looking forward to getting back here and staying again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Park has fairly level asphalt sites; easy to park our 33 foot RV. It has picnic tables, fire rings and grills on shaded sites. This is a rustic wooded campground next to a 60-acre fishing lake maintained and provided by the city on a first come basis. The park has walking and bike trails and a kiddie water/play area that is really something. If you like to watch ducks, geese, squirrles, and birds, you will like this park. The bathhouse is new and is sparkling clean. We enjoyed our stay and will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We've been camping at Craighead Forest Park for 10 years. There is no camp host here now to watch over the park. There is a city worker collecting the money, which is ok except when they come knocking at 7 am to see if you are leaving or staying longer. Not good. Cars, trucks city workers, and police alike are all driving too fast through this park. People walking 2 to 4 abreast through the park on the road that a car can't get through, let alone a camper. They just look at you like you are in their way. There are beautiful paths and walkways for them to use. Why aren't they using them anymore? We don't know if we will be back. Sad because we love this park and it was close to visit family living in the Jonesboro area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$9
We were very surprised and pleased by our one night stay at this lovely park. We camped right on the lake which had a nice walking trail around the perimeter. The park also features a water play area if you have children. The Rotary Club has placed several big play areas around the lake as well. Friendly staff. We talked with the camp hoist for about 45 minutes when they came to collect the fees. When they told me the senior rate was $9. I felt guilty but didn't offer to pay more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
We have been going to Craighead Forest Park since the year 2000. Always enjoyed the park. The problem is the rules are always changing. We were just here during the ice storm: had no power for 6 days which was fine until they brought the generator out for the camp host and then said, you can run a extension cord if you like here's a 14 gauge extension cord to run 100 foot which barely run the charger to charge our battery back. It was appreciated but should have done more for the paying customer. There was only two paying customers at the time. We tried to leave but they wouldn't remove the overhead branches so we could get out. Then they barricaded and closed the park for public safety. We had to move the barricade to get our vehicle in an out. Finally after 6 days, we were able to get our camper out. Moral of the story is when you enter this park and pay your fee, the southern hospitality comes to an end. We will go back this spring as it's a relaxing park, and we have meet many travelers throughout the years. We get to see them every spring and fall at Craighead Forest Park. Senior discount 55 years and older: half price last time we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
This is a great park. They just completed a new bathroom facility that is kept very clean and even has a laundry facility. The sites are pretty level but have a little age to them. There are several different options for trails and a nice like to fish in. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Beautiful lake, very hospitable camp, full-time hosts, brand new bathhouse with coin laundry machines, very nice trails, and my akita loved the dog jumping pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com