214826 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Aire RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 70 user reviews. Phone: (843) 571-1271
CGID9582

Lake Aire RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
113
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   8   4   7   8   8   8   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Not one of our favorite places to stay. The drive into campground gives a misleading impression of the overall campground. Perhaps my expectations were too high. On two phone calls prior to our arrival, I requested a shade site and was assured I would have one. On check-in was told none available. The roads in the CG are gravel and easy to navigate even for big rigs. The back section of CG has long term sites, which are shaded, but many were not well kept and were junky looking. Our assigned site was a combination of grass and mud and did not dry out despite 90 degree daytime temps. Several of the sites around us had holes and in need of fill. WiFi worked most of the time but was extremely slow. I only visited the bathhouse once,it was well stocked but the floor had mud all over. There are geese and other animals that wonder about campground. While pretty to look at, they leave large droppings that are worse than what small dogs leave. Laundry was clean and all of the machines were in working order. AT&T cell service and 4G were good. Pool was clean. There are grocery stores within a couple miles and a Walmart within 5 miles should you need them. When next in the area, I will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$29
Very nature-oriented. Lots of trees, some of the lots are full sun. Great lake with a lot of wild ducks and geese everywhere. Wi-Fi is free but pretty awful. When it works, it's pretty slow. Other times it just won't let you online at all. Level sites, crushed gravel, good spacing between sites. Dog friendly. Nice clean little pool, lots of use by families. About 20 minutes from downtown Charleston. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
We stayed here for a week to visit the Charleston area. We had a large grassy pull thru site with no shade. It was in the 90's while we were there and hot for this time of year. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. The bathrooms, laundry, and pool area were clean. There are a few trees scattered around the park, the shady sites are in the seasonal area. We would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Stayed 3 nights with Passport. The train runs right behind the park and does blow its horn when it comes through. Not a consistent schedule. It was a nuisance to me the 1st two nights then not so many the next two. Sites are dirt & grass. It rained 1.3 inches and the sites in the lower section where we were literally turned into a lake! Stepped out on my mat into a 3/4 inch of water. 2 days later it had not fully receded. Lots of people in boots trying to unhook or just get to their car. The park is very peaceful with lots of birds singing when the trains aren't coming through. Was able to get several TV stations over the air. WiFi was in & out. Not far from the Plantations and an a easy drive into Charleston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Park has some really nice lots with both shade and sunny available. Nightly and weekly area is very nice but monthly sites are not. Many long term people and their sites are not kept neatly, (against park rules) and you better like pets because there are many dogs. Limited noise. WiFi is not reliable as it keeps kicking in and out. Park workers are friendly, helpful, and polite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$17
Campground is a bit less than 20 miles from Charleston and outside the major congestion. Level, grass site which was very wet (large puddle) after two days of heavy rain. It is an attractive wooded campground where a herd of Muscovy ducks roam free. The restrooms/showers were dated but clean. They had just installed a new WiFi system that was all but perfect. It is convenient to Charleston, Folly Beach, and other sites. A Publix grocery and Walmart are not too far away, and there are a few restaurants. Of note is Harvest Moon that has simple quality grub at moderate price. Camping rate is Passport. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
This was a nice park with friendly staff close to Charleston SC (17 miles to downtown). The roads are gravel and the sites are mixture of grass and gravel. The place was not crowded but there appeared to be plenty of room between sites. The restrooms were older but extremely clean. Rate reflects weekly PA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
For the last two years I've camped at Lake Aire from Nov. til Feb if not longer and this is an awesome place. The host are very friendly and helpful. They have wildlife, ponds, trees and trails. The ducks come visit everyday. I'll be here next winter too, I'm sure. They are Good Sam and Passport America members along with a whole bunch of others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
The check in was easy but not friendly. Our site C-6 was by far the narrowest site we have ever been placed in during our 5 months of full-time RVing. Our fire ring was actually under our neighbor's slide. The WiFi is so bad we used our Verizon HotSpot instead; as did all our neighbors. The water pressure was awful and the water smelled like sulfur. The smell was bad enough to make you take very short showers. The park was very full during our 4 night stay due to location & price to be sure. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
We planned to stay two nights, however, we stayed four. The park is a pleasant surprise; nestled back in a wooded area, it is open enough for satellite reception. We found the park environs clean and neat; the staff friendly and helpful. Some of the sites are snug lengthwise, but spaciously wide. There is a train track nearby and trains are evident at all hours, It wasn't a problem for us, but could be for light sleepers. I find it less intrusive than airport noise. The park is convenient to Charleston, where we spent most of our days. I would readily return to this facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
We visited Lake Aire in late October and loved it. The bathhouse was very clean, the staff was very courteous. The management was very friendly and met all of our needs. There is a train that passes by, but it didn't bother us. We really enjoyed the ducks, the fishing, and the wildlife. We were close to Charleston and enjoyed our days there while the nightly campfires were peaceful and fun! We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We got to the park in the afternoon. Check in was quick. The owner was very helpful finding us great places to see in Charleston. We spent several days touring this great city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We were only here two nights but were amazed at how big the park is and pretty well laid out. Wish we'd had more time there. It is just off Hwy 17 south of Charleston and a fairly short drive into Charleston's downtown historical district. Maps and brochures of things to do were readily available and we had a good time here. Not here long enough to utilize any of the park's amenities. Hope to return when we can stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We enjoyed everything about this campground. There is a lot to do. Kayaking ,fishing, trail walk, swimming pool, etc. The customers service is great. Good place for a family vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
I would give a higher rating for this park except for the crazy way campground fees are determined. We used Passport America and per the campground statement: "Rates are for basic camping only. Additional charges will apply for additional hookups. There is a $4.00 utility charge added to each site. Upgrading to sewer is $1.50 extra and 50 amp is $3.00. SC Sale and Accommodation Tax is 11.5%." We asked for a site with full hook ups with 50 amp electric. For a customer paying full price it would be $35.00. You would expect a fee of $17.50 with the Passport discount, but the way this campground does business it is $24.75 per day plus tax! But we wanted to be near Charleston and we needed to be somewhere over the Memorial Day Holiday so we accepted the rate. Not happy about it though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
Some good, some not so good. Lots of train noise all night but we got used to it. Laundry was expensive and there were a limited number of units. Sites are too close together. Traffic pattern in the park is crazy, not well laid out. Sites muddy, need gravel. Nice little lake, friendly staff and the park is clean. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
For a commercial campground this is one of the roomiest sites we have seen in a long time. While the pull-throughs must be 60 feet, one must unhook the toad from the coach as the services are too far back (OK for a 5er). Gravel roads with grass sites. Looks like it may have been rather flooded after a hard rain. Potholes in the entrance SHOULD be fixed. They have plenty of helpers. A few channels of over the air TV. Verizon was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This is a nice, rurally set campground. The campground is set up very well and rows / facilities are well marked. The sites are a bit close together for my liking, but normal for a commercial campground. Full hookups were well placed. Most sites are pull-through. The pool is quite nice, although we did not use it. There is a catch and release pond for fishing and a very nice playground / sandbox area for kids. Roads are flat and well suited for biking although gravel-paved. A very good campground with a very good price considering the amenities. With traffic, downtown Charleston can be about a 30 minute drive, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
Quiet, level sites, close to Charleston, SC and Walmart. Loved the ducks roaming around campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
We Stopped here for a week...and ended up staying 4 months!! It is a very nice campground with semi-wide long lots. Drainage can be a bit iffey after a rain storm for the lots in the K row. There is a rail line about 1/2 mile from the campground, but they don't run at night. You can get fresh crabs from the vendor at the gas station on your way in and drive to Wadmalaw Island and get shrimp fresh from the boat. On word of caution, the entrance road and road to the campsites are full of potholes, so drive slowly. The park is within 15 minutes of downtown Charleston, where there is so much to see and do (that's why we were there so long)! Don't miss the aquarium or the Fort Sumter museum. Shop at the Charleston Market; take a horse-drawn carriage ride around town and learn the story of this historical city. Take advantage of the free trolley that will take you almost anywhere in town. Many geocaches in the area for those that partake of this activity. We would definitely recommend this campground and we will stay here the next time we come to Charleston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
We stayed at Lake Aire over the Thanksgiving weekend. Due to late arrival our site had no sewer hookup. We were very pleased with the people and the campground. From our perspective, they pay attention to details. It is 12 miles from Charleston and there's a lot to do around there. That there are a number of no sewer hookup sites lowered the rating. We moved to a site with sewer hookup for the last night and if we'd had full hookup the entire time, it would be an easy 10. The trains do come by quite frequently... but it didn't bother us. We would definitely stay here again when in the Charleston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Nice park to visit Charleston, although you are out on the south side of Charleston which is about 12 miles outside of town and there is a bit of traffic coming back in the evening. Road is gravel and bumpy coming in but I wouldn't let that keep me from staying there. The perimeter of the park looks to be permanent people and some sites are not so nice but you can't see them once you are in the other part. I would stay here again. Verizon signal was good there. As far as the train, it didn't bother me at all. We heard the whistle blow a few times, but not too loud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Staff; friendly, but not outgoing, just doing her job. Rate is with Passport America 50% off discount. Site description; fairly level grass. Roads gravel and a very rough road going into park. The road is almost a turnoff, but we had friends that recommended this park. If it wouldn't have been for their recommendation this could have been a turn around. Site are standard spacing with no privacy between them. We had full hookup with 50 amp electric. We had a picnic table. A few small ponds for fishing. About 70 sites. We were on site K7. Big rig friendly; yes, but just go slow. Amenities; ponds, pool, quiet spot, laundry. Laundry; yes, but we didn't check it out. Phone/Wi-Fi/TV, our Verizon worked well; Wi-Fi in park was very good at our site. TV, we used our satellite, good shot of southern sky. Dog friendly; yes, very. Lots of room to walk a dog. Night; very very few lights in park. Quiet, with an occasion train. Book exchange; NO comments; A very good locations and rate for visiting Charleston. Downtown Historic Charleston about 10 miles. It is just a bare bones campground. It was fine for us, clean, quiet, and served our purpose very well to visit the Charleston area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Very friendly and helpful lady checked us in. She knew the area and gave us good ideas on things to see and do. We have a pull through site and even have a bit of a view. The only downside of this park are the trains but the rest is so positive that I gave it a 10. We will recommend this park to our friends and we will come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
The gravel entry roads need some repair and there is noise from the trains, which bothered us some during the night. We were directed around the back of the campground to get to our spot in lane K, and were not happy with what we saw. The full timers make the place look a bit "dumpy" but, not to worry, it is not that bad up toward the front. We found out that using PPA restricts you to 30 amp hookups unless you pay extra. Had we known that ahead of time, we would have used Good Sam or another club discount. Since it was cold, we didn't need to use the two ACs and one heater worked just fine. We stayed a couple of days while visiting Charleston but would probably look more closely at other nearby parks before staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Bumpy road in. Nice grassy sites. Felt good. WiFi excellent. Bathrooms clean but getting old. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
The park was easy to find from the directions in the Trailer Life directory. The entry road is a bit bumpy. Interior roads are gravel. Sites are grassed with mostly pull-throughs. Sites are well spaced. The bathrooms and showers are clean, but the shower stalls are very small. Laundry is clean, but pricey. The water had a distinctive taste and smell of sulfur. Management was helpful with directions to local services and attractions. They had a very handy printout to all of the prerequisite RV’er required locations, like grocery or RV service. There is a railroad close by and we had noise from passing trains, but only usually one train during the 10 PM – 6 AM time frame. Wi-Fi is available and signal strength is good. TV was with antenna; with selection of the major network stations. This is another park that you need bug spray because of the no see ums. The daily rate was a prorated weekly rate with a Good Sam discount + 11.5% taxes. We would stay there again if we visit the Charleston, SC area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Nice enough park with grass sites. Gravel entrance road is bumpy as others have noted, but it is not a problem if you drive slowly. Verizon air card did not work in our "C" section of the park, but others said it did work in the "K" section. Their Wi-Fi was broken while we were there, so we can't comment on how well it works. The nearby train did wake us up each night. The train noise might not be as bad in the K section since it is farther away from the tracks. Price shown was for a PA rate. We would stay here again as it is a good location for sightseeing in Charleston as well as to the other things to see and do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
This is a nice park that is close to all major sights. It is well kept and the grass was just recently mowed. Laundry is clean but pricey. Sites are gravel and fairly level. Water at the park had an unpleasant odor. Train is nearby but not really loud at the park. The lady at check-in seemed bored with her job and new arrivals. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
This park changed ownership about five years ago. Each year since, it gets better. The sites are spacious, the restrooms/laundry clean, the pool and playground in EXCELLENT shape, the owner, Amber, goes the extra mile to assure your expectations are met. The pavilion on the lake is great for group meetings. The park is located just 1/4 mile off HWY 17 so its' quiet yet convenient. It is also only seven miles from the straw market so downtown is fairly close. We have camped here three years in a row and much prefer it to our previous campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
This is a nice park. We stayed at Passport America rates and appreciated being allowed to stay an unlimited amount of time at that rate. All services worked well. Laundry was ok. 2 large cap washers, one of which didn't work. 1 small washer that worked. Dryers were adequate for the size of laundry. Area was well maintained. We had fun with the ducks that ran around the park. Verizon was not very good. Adequate for a call, but data quite slow. Not far from Charleston. We stayed here while seeing Fort Sumter, Yorktown, Charleston Museum, etc. Manager of park was very nice. They gave us coupons for Gilligan's, a nice seafood restaurant nearby where food was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
Lovely spacious, well treed park with big level sites. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice pool and great Wi-Fi. Rating would have been higher if they would repair the roads. They are very rough and pot holed. Wonderful ambiance and generally quiet. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$21
The rate is PA for water and electric. We stayed here to explore Charleston and would stay again. It is surprisingly quiet at night except for one or two trains coming alongside. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had to refill my propane and the bottle was delivered to my site while I was away. The sites have little shade and are arranged side by side without any privacy. This might be an issue when the campground is full. Wi-Fi is pretty good. It is far better than what we normally experience on campgrounds. Our main complaint is the very bumpy dirt and gravel road to the office and further into the campground. You have to drive really slow to keep your trailer's cargo intact. I can't comment on the restrooms and showers but landscaping and pool were very well maintained. Overall an excellent value for your money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Nice clean park. Rough in-out entrance driveway. We came in late and found a map with our name on it directing us to our grassy site on the office door telling us to settle in and we would take care of business in the morning, which we did. Very nice staff. Site was level and quite. Small lake in park. Sign said "catch and release" but no bites. Friendly park guests, indicative of the South. A little pricey for location to Charleston, 12 miles, but we will return if in the area. Wi-Fi very slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
Rate reflects PA discount. This park is a great place to be while visiting the many historic attractions in Charleston. It is close enough to the city without having all of the traffic and noise. The park is nicely maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our site was grass and level and the hookups all worked fine. Several TV channels were available with our antenna and the Wi-Fi worked OK. The gravel roads were a little dusty but other than that this was a great place to stay. I'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
Stayed 2 weeks. Wasn't impressed with our site as it had a huge stump about 2 inches above ground which made setting up troublesome. We were upset that there were many open sites down by the pond which were much nicer but were told they were reserved for larger units. Ours is a 30', and we had reserved 2 weeks earlier. Other than that, this is a good park. Road is rough, and the better sites have no shade. Will stay there next year but only if we get a better site. Other parks were nicer, but also much pricier. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
Actually a good place to stay if you want to visit Charleston and avoid the KOA. A long and bumpy gravel road leads to check-in and further on to the campsites. Spacious sites, ok level but little privacy. Hookup access very good but no cable TV. Wi-Fi available but not very reliable. Except for some train noise pretty quiet during nighttime. We would stay again for one or two nights, but not for longer. Our rate reflects the PA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We had a pleasant stay at this campground in October. Grounds are clean and pleasant with decent size sites. We didn't spend much time there during the day. Nights were somewhat disturbed by train horns. We left our trailer there in storage until recently when we stopped for it on our way to Florida. We were dismayed to find the battery dead and were unable to hook up with the electric lift. Owners were very helpful and spent a great deal of time getting us on our way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$16
This park was noisy; had uneven lots; and rutted gravel roads. Will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
We stayed here for a month, and paid $530 for the month. I had to divide this down to get the $19 figure. I don't know what the day rate is. The park is very good. We stayed in a nice tree covered area (row A). The site had it's picnic table and fire rings. Campfires permitted. We had a nice quiet month in the park. The (long term) neighbors were pleasant. This place is definitely a dead-zone for Verizon. I could get a bar, maybe two, and was in and out of 3G and 1X. Amazingly, I got occasional 4GLTE but it was not reliable. Wi-Fi is indeed slow and subject to timeouts, though signal strength is good. The employees we encountered were very pleasant, though we had minimal contact with anybody. We really kept to ourselves. There is a small laundry room, with three washers and three dryers. We didn't try the small kidney shaped swimming pool, as it wasn't really warm enough to encourage swimming. There is train noise. We love trains, but those who don't should be aware of the grade crossing whistle and the rail line noise. Recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
I could go on and on about this park but the fact is that it is just a great park. If it were closer to Charleston (12 miles) it would be perfect. The spaces are flat, grass and very well kept. Great TV reception, satellite and Wi-Fi (free) friendly. Clean bathrooms/showers. Nice, although small, pool. Very quiet! They have some spaces that are shaded and some that aren't. The lady in the office is super nice, which so often is not the case. She will help you find anything you want in the area, if it's not on the comprehensive sheet she gives you at check-in. I just don't have any negatives to report. There is no doubt that we will stay here again in the future. Price shown is Passport America, incl. tax, a great value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
My husband and I have been coming to this campground since the mid 90's. We seen it change hands with new owners. They been trying hard to to give it facial. The women who run the office are the most polite in customer service, I seen in a while. the grounds are well maintained. Restrooms are constantly cleaned, every time we visit, There is something new each year with the fireworks shows. Come check these people out. Just off hwy 17. No traffic noise, just a train or two to remind you are in town. They'll make you want to stay a few more days. See you soon guys some time in the fall. Save this lone wolf and her mate a spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We used this PA campground as our home base to tour Charleston and the surrounding area. The price reflects PA rate + 50amp + taxes, very reasonable. Check in was efficient, staff friendly. The interior roads are a bit rough and narrow: but ok. We had a pull through site, that could be described as lumpy. We had to jockey up/back to try to find the most level area. Glad we had disconnected the toad at check in. Our EMS shut down power 2 times during our stay. Storms were in the area, otherwise had good power. The water does smell. No cable TV, the Wi-Fi was ok for email and light surfing, but slow. Our Verizon signal was spotty at best: dead zone, with an occasional signal. We did not use any campground facilities, as we were out sightseeing every day. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
We are Passport America members so the price was right. We paid the surcharge for the 50 amp electric and the sewer connection. The campground is well kept, quiet and not far from downtown Charleston. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Good value with Passport America, we only opted for a 30 amp site with water. A nice grass pull thru facing the woods. 50 amp and sewer sites are available, but with additional sur-charges using PA. Good location off of US-17 and not far from I-526, makes a good base for seeing Charleston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Very friendly staff. It is a clean park. Beautiful ducks wandering around the park. Overall a nice place to stay. They have industrial size washers and dryers. I love that! Restaurants and shopping nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Rate paid is Passport America. Nice park being repaired/upgraded. Gravel sites. Lots of permanent RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
We stayed at this campground for one week on our way to Savannah. We arrived at night and just set up at a site of our liking. We were greeted by 2 African ducks who would come by every morning to greet us. It is a very nice, cozy and family friendly campground at Lake Aire. They have a pool, nice playground and of course the lake that offers boating and fishing. We checked out other campgrounds in the area, but we found this one to be especially cozy and private with a rural feel. It is close enough to Charleston and plenty of other attractions. They offer several discounts. Exact details are available on their website. Their Wifi was great and every site came with a fire ring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$21
This is the second time we have camped at Lake Aire; this time for 5 days. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers are very clean as is the laundry room. The comments made about the water smelling like rotten eggs is true, but we noticed that same smell all over the Charleston area; even downtown along East Battery Street next to the water. We plan to return to Lake Aire the next time in Charleston. Our rate is with the PA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$19
We stayed for a week. The PA rate in the book was $13.75 and we paid $19.61 including the taxes because of an increase in electric surcharges. The campground staff were friendly and the campground is well cared for. The laundry, shower and restrooms could use updating but were clean. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
This is an older park, but well-maintained; in a lovely setting, back of the road in a wooded area. The staff were very helpful and eager to make our stay enjoyable. Easy drive in to Charleston, SC. The only negative was the train a few blocks away, but it wasn't disturbing for us. $24.50 is the Passport America Rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
This was a very nice, well maintained park with large drive-thru grassed sites. There is a small lake with benches, hammock, walking paths, etc. A full time person was cutting grass, trimming, etc. the entire time we were there. W/E sites for 30 amp are $19 and full service for $21. Two problems tho. First, the water had a strong rotten egg smell. We washed bedding and it smelled strongly of sulfur afterward. Second, for light sleepers, a train passes nearby throughout the night with it's tooting at intersections. Would stay there again if we didn't have to do laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Stayed here for about a week and the park was OK. Here's the good. Very large site not crowded what so ever. Pool was nice, Fishing at the pond was good. Rates were very reasonable. Here's the bad. It's about 15 miles or more to any of the Charleston attractions or area beaches, not the 2 miles that their website states. They have sulfur water, and it got pretty bad even with a water filter. On 2 different occasions there were girls sunbathing topless at the pool. I was glad my kids didn't see it. It rained several nights while we were there. In order for us to get out of our site the maintenance crew had to put down plywood runners so my truck would not sink into the mud under my RV. Sites are entirely grass, no rock or pavement what so ever. Wi-fi was kind of so-so. Management was kind of ho hum about all of it. Overall we just used this as a base of operations and place to sleep so it wasn't too bad. However, if I was going back to Charleston I would find somewhere else to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This was just an overnight stop, but I did get a chance to fly-fish at the park pond. The fish were biting, and it's catch-and-release. There were a couple things that bothered me about the park. 1. The water from the hookup smells like rotten eggs. 2. The local sheriff was placing one of the residents under arrest when I was over at the pond. 3. The grass sites could use a mowing. Otherwise, it was ok for 1 night. The laundry was good, but expensive, and the Wi-Fi was strong and fast. The roads among the sites are a bit narrow. I would probably look for another place, if I ever return to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
Great park to visit Charleston about 12 miles outside of town. Close to hiking trails. Very nice bathrooms. Wifi worked great at site. Like previous posts the ground was a little soft, and if it rained I can see where it would be really wet. We had dry weather, and the sites were fine. We would camp here again if visiting Charleston. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
When we stayed here last year, we commented on some of the sites being wet. This year was no better, and some of the water/electric sites weren't usable following rain. Also, the sites are close together, and the sewer connection for the next site is close to the picnic table. The toilet/shower/laundry building appears to be rebuilt and was clean and pleasant to use. The site is close to Charleston and reasonably convenient to the ACE Basin wildlife refuge. The Wi-Fi worked well at our location. The price reflects the Passport America discount for full hookup sites. We would stay here again due to the convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
We enjoyed the quiet setting of the park and the proximity to visiting Charleston. We were worried about getting stuck. The sites are mostly grass and dirt. Heavier rigs were leaving ruts everywhere. The driveway for exiting the park is very tight for big rigs in a couple of turns. When the park is busy, the sites are very close together. The sewer connection for the adjacent site was positioned right in front of our doorway, but was tolerable as no one used that site during our stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
Passport America daily rate. This park is located near Charleston and is a short 15 minute drive. Sites are grass and if it has rained recently they will be soft and messy. Washrooms are great and the Wi-Fi works well but has no cable. Friendly owners who are making gradual improvements with the park. Has a nice small lake with ducks and even wild turkey nearby. I would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
Lake Aire's office is very efficient. Our paperwork was all ready when we arrived. Office staff was friendly and helpful when asked questions. It was convenient to visit Charleston. You parked on the grass without trees and when it rained the area got pretty saturated. The sites with trees/shade are all taken by full-time people. We would stay here again if we are through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
First of all, I would not stay here if I knew it was going to rain. Sites are all grass and or dirt. They are also very close to one another. Gravel roads between are very narrow. Many people live at this park so their sites are really not maintained. Maintenance probably can't get to cut all the grass they need to around all their "stuff". The rest of the park was maintained but looked like things were not in any kind of order. There was nothing wrong or bad about this park, it just felt like a big backyard with campers in it. Sloppy might be a good word. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Lake aire is a nice campground. Staff were friendly and helpful. This is a no frills park.Just a pool and bath house with a lake for catch & release fishing.This is about 20 mins. from downtown, but not a bad drive.We arrived after storms had hit and areas were flooded.One motorcoach had to be pulled from the mud. We would stay here again as the price was good for what you get.We would avoid if strong storms are expected in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Lake Aire RV Park is one of the most restful settings near the big city. The wrap-around lake was beautiful to look at, wonderful to walk around, and folks were fishing (catch & release). The large, beautiful trees did not hamper our satellite reception in our site. It was good that they provided excellent, free wi-fi, since our own air-card service didn't work at the park. The office staff were very nice and helpful. The laundry was small, but clean. The park is convenient to Charleston, only about 20 minutes away. We had the best of both: the city nearness and the country setting. We'd go out of our way to stay here again, as it is a great park. The reasons we did not give it a 10 are: no cable and the sites of a "10" park would be bigger. These sites were comfortable, but not big. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Dirt/gravel road entry, narrow inner roads with grass sites. Rate is Passport America rate. Park was fine..we stayed here 5 days. Easy access to downtown Charleston about 12 miles away. You can hear a train whistle a few times a day, but was a non-issue for us. Park was quiet and well maintained, and staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
The site was large enough for our RV (40 foot motorhome w/4 slides), but it rained and the site was wet. None of the sites are cement, all were grass...or mud. This "could" be a nice park but the roads are full of pot holes and, as previously stated, the sites are muddy. Not much of a camp store for supplies either. The wi-fi does not work after about 10 o'clock in the evening. I would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
We arrived after a heavy rain and the campground was mud with standing water in the camp sites, all the sites are grass, no stone or pads at all. The person at the office didn't mention anything about all the mud. There is a sign in the office saying "No refunds for early departure." All roads are gravel with lots of little pot holes, so going is very slow. After 4 days, the sites are still mud, with ruts from where campers tried to get out and spun tires. This campground is real close to a railroad track, so train whistles happen all the time. Water pressure could be a little higher, electric & sewer were fine. No cable, but the 3 major channels came in fine. Free WIFI, but it onlyworks 80% of the time. Only 3 washers/dryers, and 1 dryer is broken, not enough for this size campground. Nice little fishing pond but no one used it. Probably wouldn't come back again, especially if it rained. If they would stone the sites, this would be a very nice place to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$21
Passport America rate. Park is located 14 miles from Downtown Charleston. WIFI is good but with no Cable not many TV stations to view with your antenna. Sites are large but some have poor drainage as we stepped into water after a heavy rain. They are working on this problem. Not enough washers/dryers but the washrooms were sufficient and clean. Has courtesy and pay phones. Nice lake with ducks and at the above rate is a good price for this area. No regular activities for Snowbirds, but area has alot to see and do. Staff were friendly and know the area well. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
This park is off the road far enough to be quiet, although the train whistle is noticeable. Some people actually like train noises. Sites are wide enough and level, not as wide as area state parks, but typical of private campgrounds. The park appears to be addressing an earlier concern of low spots being deep in water after rain by some earthwork to raise low areas. We stayed here under the Passport America program for nearly a week at under $20 per night. We had an initial site near a noisy afternoon party but moved the next day to a great spot on the "lake," which is more of a pond. The restrooms were immaculate. There is not much of a store, but Walmart is only 5 miles away and Costco about 8 miles. The park is close to Charleston with easy access on US 17. We like this park and will probably return here due to the convenient location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
While this is a decent place to stay, there are some issues with what rules seem to apply to what campers. Some of the long term residents tend to party it up several times a month and it can get pretty noisy. There is also a railroad track nearby, with a couple of nightly runs between 7pm and 11pm. This campground is convenient to shopping, post offices, restaurants and is about 30 minutes from Charleston or Folly Beach. Due to the noise issue, we probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
$18.50 Passport America weekday & $23.50 Holiday rate for 30amp and water. We spent 5 nights. Did not bother with sewer or 50amp to save the extra surcharge. Not a bad park, set back away from the road and had minor train noise. Vehicle washing is allowed with permission. Only thing to watch for the are low spots when setting up, after a rain there can be lots of fairly deep puddles. We had one just behind our steps and next to the car door, 4-5 inches deep. So it was socks off and Crocs on when we were leaving. Verizon cell was good, broadband ok but a bit slow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
Good location for access to Charleston. Staff were not very friendly or helpful. Although it says there is a lake it is very small and swamp like, with birds. Some bugs as well. Wi-Fi was only available at the laundry room. There were not enough washers and dryers for the amount of campers. Close to amenities like Wal-Mart, Costco etc. We used our Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com