217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Onapa RV Park and Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (918) 473-7219
CGID9592

Onapa RV Park and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   6   8   9   6   2   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
Rate is based on Veteran discount. We only stayed as a quick overnight traveling through OK. Manager is very friendly and welcoming. Pull-thru site was large and level gravel pad. Family operated - has been working on revamping from prior owner. Playground is very nice. Back-in sites were grassy. Anglers will enjoy easy access to Lake Eufala and Lake Onapa - both with boat ramps within 5 minutes. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$14
I spent two nights here sitting out some nasty weather, so I did not use the facilities. Roads were gravel with a few small mud-holes. The playground looked really nice. Hookups were new looking and worked fine. My site was a long Pull-Thru that required no leveling. Fresh gravel kept the site clean and mud free in spite of the downpour. The part of the park that I saw was clean and well-kept. Manager was friendly and helpful. Price is for PPA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$14
Price reflects PA discount. Stopped here for the night just passing through. Since it was bitter cold, it is hard to rate this place because all we did was pull in for the night. But the owner is very nice & helpful and his daughter showed us to our site. Looks like it could be nice in the warmer weather. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Spent one night here. The owner greeted us as we pulled in and walked us to our site. Cash or check only for payment. Did not use the bathroom facility. A few long term campers. Quiet wooded area around the park. Don' t know what previous comments were about with sloping sites because the sites were flat and quite level. Some highway noise from Rte 69, but did not bother us. Hook ups well placed. Easy in. Easy out. Would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
Quiet park away from town. Rooster crowed in the morning. Best thing about the park is the people. Our car broke down and everyone offered help including the use of a car until ours was repaired. The WI-FI was very fast and I used a tailgater dish for satellite TV. The owners are willing to do whatever it takes to keep the park full. NO....I am not a relative or friend. A Canadian snowbird getting a lot for my money. A real pleasure to find this jewel. Rate reflects PA. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$13
We selected this park based on poor Wi-Fi reports in a nearby PA park. The Wi-Fi here was super fast and reliable. This small park does not have an office but a friendly person will show up and take care of you. The park was nearly filled with long term folks and there was only one other transient seen during our 2 days stay. There were 3 or 4 sites open. The restroom (one shower) is at the far end of the property. It needs a hook on the door to hang your cloths and one on the wall near the shower to hang your towel. The floor needs a coat of paint and a mat out side the shower door. The restroom had soap but nothing to dry your hands on. We would stay here again just to play nearby Fountainhead GC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$13
You do get what you pay for. Rate is Passport America, which seems to be the only rate paid by RV travelers. Seeing ratings of 9 and 10, along with oddly consistent comments, make me believe owners had friends or family submit misleading reviews that greatly exaggerate this park. It has gravel un-level sites sloping down a hill, one bathroom that was not clean, and almost entirely permanent residents who were socializing outside in the evening. The place is a bit unkempt with faded traffic cones, piled cinder blocks, etc for the hookup side. No office, just a sign telling arrivals to pick a spot. No receipt, cash requested by the person who came to find us. On the plus side, we got a lot of over-air TV channels, and wifi was included in the rate. A few miles off I-40. I doubt I would stop here again even for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$13
This is a very nice and clean park. Sites are gravel but level and have good power and water pressure. Owners working hard to make you fell at home . Will stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
We stayed in this park a year and a half ago, and the new owners have certainly changed the overall appearance of the park. Gone are the dilapidated rigs of the former permanent residents. The hookups are modern and all work. This is a rural park in a pleasant setting. The friendly and helpful owner-operators boast the rating to a 9. CAUTION: make a telephone call ahead --- this park seems to fill up early. The $12 rate reflect that of Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$13
Located about 100 miles east of Oklahoma City, and 4 miles south of I-40 on US-69. Easy to find and to access. This small park is near, but not on Lake Eufaula. Sites have all needed hookups and there is sufficient turning space for most large rigs. The swimming pool is an above ground model and the other amenities are being upgraded by the new owner. There is an underground storm shelter which reminds us of weather issues in this part of the country. A good place for an overnight stop or a couple of days of activity on the nearby lakes. The rate is Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$12
Great price for full hook up with Passport America. Close to I-40; we stopped for the night. Very simple place, but good Wi-Fi and nice people. Not fancy so don't expect amenities. Pool is above ground. Looks like a majority of full time trailers, but decent environment. I would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
Our kind of RV park: Beautiful setting, easy in/easy out, close to interstate, clean and quiet. Long, wide pull through easily accommodated our big rig plus tow. The young owners have obviously worked hard to make this into a great overnight or longer destination. Almost felt badly using PPA. Word getting out, they were full. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$12
We first visited Onapa RV Park on our way West in April 2013. The experience was very pleasant. The facilities were clean and neat. The pull-through site was level. The young couple who have purchased the park are doing a great job of making camping there a great experience. We enjoyed it so much that we stopped there again in May on our way back home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
This small park has new owners, who continue to improve on everything. Great utilities. 50 amp, water, and sewer all good. We were in a level pull-through site. Very easy access, only three miles from I-40 exit 264A. Wonderful trail right from the campground to nearby Lake Eufaula. Owners are very welcoming. Dog friendly. Rate is Passport America. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
It is a no frills place, but works for the two separate times we just needed to stay the night. The bathroom/shower is in the same room so only one person at a time can use it. Very friendly owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
We arrived late (as usual) but were met by the very helpful owner. We were shown to our spot and told we could "settle up" in the morning. The site was mostly level with granite rock on the ground. The 50 amp service was in great shape and worked well. Our 40 foot rig with tow vehicle fit easily in the space. There was plenty of room with all three slides out. The park was quiet although outside one could hear traffic from the nearby highway. One warning: when we exited from 69 the GPS told us to turn left at the stop sign when in actuality the RV park is to the right. The sigh is a little hard to see at night but we found it on the left side of the road a short way from the highway. Overall a nice, quiet place to stay when traveling through the area and minutes from I-40. No frills but the new owners are doing good work on the place and are very friendly. The rate we paid reflects Good Sam discount. Would we stay here again? Absolutely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Pleasant campground with level sites. The owners live on site and are friendly. Road noise from nearby Route 69 is noticeable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$13
I agree with previous reviews. Nice little gem. Sites were level with enough space between them. Owners were extremely friendly and working all the time improving the area. Stated they have only owned the park for a year, but it holds great possibilities. Not a lot of extras at this time, but they are working on it. They do have an above ground pool they are working on. We will stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
A gem in the making. The new owners are really making an effort to re-do this park. If you are tired and want to spend a day somewhere along the Interstate, this is the place. It's a matter of minutes off of I-40. The sites are level, the water and power are good. The atmosphere is relaxed. A short walk or ride to the nearby lake. A very child-friendly park. Will definitely stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
This park is a great little find for an overnight stay. The host and owners are extremely friendly and actually walked me to the site. Prior to placement they asked if I wanted satellite and apparently placed me accordingly. The $12.50 rate reflects the PA discount which they gave me. Fairly level gravel sites, and not crowded. Power was stable with full AC's running plus other appliances. Water pressure good. Yes it is a FHU at sites. Lake Eufaula is eye sight which is a huge lake. I would stay here again and it is far enough from interstate to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
Rate reflects PA discount. Quiet RV park and it is walking distance to the water. Nice owners. Large pull through sites. The park's free Wi-Fi worked great for us. We will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
This place is convenient to the highway but nicely secluded. As others mentioned, the owners are very nice and are working hard to make this a top notch place to stop. Sites are large enough for any rig and the electric power seems to be stable. Our air card worked here but was slower than in a metro area. There was no TV cable but plenty of off the air TV channels. The rate reflects Passport America discount. We'll definitely stay here again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Shady and level sites, quiet, friendly staff. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$12
Quiet, close to fishing (Onapa and Eufaula Lakes) and to freeway access/shopping (WalMart) in Checotah, green trees and lots of lawn, nice laundry facility, but the best part is the owners. They are some of the nicest campground owners you're likely to run into! I think they only bought the place in Oct. but have been working their tails off daily to improve it. I called them because I was having trouble finding a spot for Memorial Day weekend. Since they knew we'd be staying for longer (5 days), they took one of their older sites and revamped it, just for us! Their other sites would've been fine too, but this one was a bit nicer. Probably the only complaint we had was the slow Internet (whether using the campground's Wi-Fi access or our Verizon air card), but I think it's probably true for that whole area. Our rate was with Passport America - and you can hardly beat that price! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
This is a campground in transition. The new owners are obviously doing everything they can to upgrade the campground, and in the future it will be a very nice facility. I certainly would stay here again. At the present time, the sites are a little muddy after a big rain. The sewer hook-ups are more than 15 feet from our RV, requiring an extension. A pain if you must hook-up and you are tired. Still as I said, this is a work in progress and the new owners are very nice and working hard to improve the park. The rate is that given to Escapees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$12
We completely enjoyed our stay here. The Park has recently been purchased by a young family and they are wonderful! Welcoming, helpful and very personable. We arrived after dark and the owner directed us to our site, stayed and offered us assistance with set up. Their three children are adorable and well attuned to the idea of a work ethic, thanks in large part to the hard work their parents are putting into the park. The laundry room was clean and fully operational, sites were clean and level. My only problem had nothing to do with the owners or the park.. I had lousy Cell Service here. Without a doubt we will stay here again! We highly recommend this park to anyone! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
We rolled in here after along drive from the north. The park has recently been purchased by a young family and they are wonderful! Welcoming, helpful and very personable. We arrived after dark and the owner directed us to our site along with his kids. They stayed and offered us assistance with set up. We will stay here again! We highly recommend this park to anyone! The owner is redoing the electric and building new sites. Give this place a try, we did and thought it was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2011
$13
Park has new owners, and has cleaned up a lot since we were here last year. It is not far off Hwy. 59, and is easy access. The new young owners are trying very hard, and have made some definite improvements. The rate we paid was with Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We gave the RV park a 6 because it still needs some work. The new owners are upgrading the park, they have made great strides in improving the look and getting rid of "long term tenants" that do not present a welcoming appearance. We will stay there again. We truly believe the owners will make this park a welcoming and great place to stay as you travel East or West along I-40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Would not stay here again. In addition to all of the negative comments by other posters, we experienced high voltage at the site's electrical outlet. Thankful we had Progressive EMS that tripped and protected coach. Notified office and his only response was, sorry. Had to use generator rest of night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$13
The staff was friendly. Our campsite was level with full hook ups. The area around our site was full of holes, making walking in the dark dangerous. The advertised "restrooms" smelled of sewage, had no toilet paper or paper towel and had a swarm of live hornets inside. The toilets did not flush. Walking to the restroom, we passed barking dogs tied to shabby trailers with dog excrement along the campground road. The campground was not well maintained. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We found this RV Park while visiting friends in Checotah. It is very conveniently located right off U S Hwy 69 just 3 miles south of I-40. A nice quiet place with the lake just a short walk down the paved road. The sites were gravel ( a couple were concrete ) and level. The free Wi-Fi was very fast and reliable. Overall the park was friendly and nice. It is an older park but kept clean and with friendly folks and owners who were more than accommodating. Not a resort by any means, just a nice quiet, simple convenient and friendly place. They not only have a storm shelter but a siren on site and they are pet friendly. Next time we visit Checotah/Eufaula I'll definitely stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2010
$12
This park is in very poor shape. There are many permanent trailers here and most are run down with a lot of trash around them. Dogs and cats run loose. The website for this campground is misleading in that the photos don't show you the surrounding trashy trailers. To be fair, there are a few level pull throughs, internet is good, and the park personal is friendly. I just felt uncomfortable here. Our rate reflects Passport America discount. I would not stay here again unless I absolutely had no other option. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$10
We stayed overnight and used the Passport America rate. Campground has a lot of potential, just needs some work which the owner has plans for. Unpaved, non-gravel interior roads and pad sites which were a little muddy. Would be interesting to see the progress in a few years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Pets are certainly allowed, and they are running all over the place. We opened our door to find 2 big pit bulls at our steps. The site we rented was for 2 nights, and the breaker in our travel trailer kept throwing so my husband contacted the park host. He said he wasn't supposed to rent that site as it had electrical problems. This might be because they used Romex in the ground. He said we could move to another site, but we had already set up so we decided to turn everything off but the AC. This worked until bedtime when we lost all power, and that is how we spent the hot balmy night. We left early the next morning. This place is RV park hell. Several residents said they lose power all the time and reported people have been bitten by copperheads. This is the worst park I have ever seen, and it cost $30 to find out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$8
Loose dogs, poor wiring, run down and dirty bathroom. They advertised WiFi, but it wasn't working. Friendly owner, but blamed problems on others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$15
My Fiance' and I camped here for the Valentines Day weekend. We found this park to be quiet and very friendly. The owner told us he had just purchased it this past fall and is working very hard at adding even more amenities and improvements! This is the only park we have ever visited where the owner was so very helpful and personable. Pets are welcome and a pet area is available at the park, which our little dog loved! The restrooms and showers were good and clean not to mention the on site laundry facility! We had no problem accessing and using the wireless internet here... it was very fast and never slowed nor failed. Large pull through sites and plenty of room for slideouts, each site also had fire rings and the park is with in walking distance of two beautiful lakes ( Lake Eufaula and Onapa Lake ) both with beaches and boat launches. Real easy to find the park is right off US Highway 69 at the Onapa Rd exit ( only 3 miles South of I-40 ). We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning to this park again in the summer. I would highly recommend this park as it is definitely one of the best in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2008
$8
This is a classic example of 'you get what you pay for'. We were only looking for a campground to stop at for 1 or 2 nights and we found this campground via the Passport America website. The price was cheap enough and when we got there we found out why. The first problem was finding a site where the electric hookups were wired correctly. Almost all of them were not grounded and the exposed wiring was scary. The pull through sites are fairly large and level grassy sites. there are also some newer concrete pad back-in sites, however I did not find the wiring to be any better. We setup and the next big issue was that there were several loose dogs roaming around the campground who were not friendly to our dog to say the least. After knocking on several resident trailer doors we were told that the dogs belonged to the owner who was not at the campground that night. After a tag-team approach to getting the dog outside we settled in for the night and logged on to the free Wi-Fi (hughes net satellite) which was good for about 1 hour then it went down and never came back again. We bugged-out first thing in the morning and I cannot recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com