220718 User submitted reviews online!!
Leo's Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (305) 296-5260
CGID9608

Leo's Campground

Camp Information
Sites
34
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   7   9   10   7   7   3   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$60
Very hard campsite to rate. I could give this park anything from a 3 to an 8. First of all the good bits. Location to Key West is fantastic. You will not get closer to Key West at any other campground. Took us 20 mins to cycle in, 15 mins to cycle to the beach. The campground is right next to the bus stop, for $2 each way or $8 a week you can catch the bus into Key West. It takes about 30 mins each way. The worst thing about the campground is noise. The bins are emptied 4 or 5 times a week at 5am in the morning, and the noise is enough to wake the dead. Once awake it is hard to get back to sleep because of the US1 noise and the cockerels. If you are an early riser then this will not be a problem to you. The campground is on Stock Island which can be described as a high price slum area. I have witnessed no problems, but if you like nice surroundings then avoid this place as it is not a pretty area. Restrooms and showers are just about acceptable. Laundry room is good, and lady in the office is friendly enough. Biting insects are prevalent so if you are prone to being bitten then take plenty of precautions. Would I stay here again? No but we visited another park up the road which is $40 more a night and although better, I certainly would not pay $100 to stay there as it is in a poor neighborhood and sites are quite cramped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
I'd try another place next time on another Key near Key West or splurge for a nicer place. We were there 7/4, it was nearly empty, frankly the place and general neighborhood gave me a bit of the creeps. Perhaps if it hadn't been nearly empty and the few RVs there looked like they were on their last legs and there for the long term. No ambiance and bathrooms were marginal. We noticed a few others who pulled up and left or else stayed one night then left. If you just want a place to camp and don't care about the atmosphere it's okay. It is close to Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$70
This is a basic campground close to the entrance to Key West. Only about 10 minutes to Duval St. Don't look for ambiance here. Some sites are pretty tight to get in to. Very good Wi-Fi close to the office. Spotty the further away you are. Good cable. Two rows are for campers the rest are for full timers. If you're here to visit KW and don't intend to spend much time in the campground, this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Lee's is a great park! Nearly all of the sites are pull-throughs, so there's no need to un-hook if you are here for only one night. It's surrounded by very tall trees and has great sylvan views. The laundry is outside on the patio of the office; nice Florida touch! Sites are grass and level enough. We're staying an extra day it's so great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$49
I cannot say enough good things about this park. I have a 36' motorhome that is difficult to park. I got in with NO PROBLEM. Not only that, but the owner helped me, and his son got my scooter carrier off for me. Here's the best part: I stayed here during "mini-lobster" season. I was worried about even getting a reservation but they got me in with no problem. Then, on the first day of lobster season the park gave me a lobster! Incredibly friendly people running this park. Great place to spend the whole season. I can't wait to come back and have already told my family and friends about this park. The grounds are immaculate and safe/secure. By the way, this is the CLOSEST campground to Key West, closer than Boyd's and VERY well priced for the area. Also, this park is quiet and there is not constant traffic in and out like Boyd's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$62
Leo’s is a small campground that lacks many of the amenities of larger full service campgrounds. The positives are: it is clean, has good cable TV, is reasonably priced, and is close to Key West. It’s located between mile markers four and five. Free wireless is located at the office. The roads are blacktop or crushed limestone. I wouldn’t consider the park big rig friendly even though there were many thirty-five foot or longer motor homes and fifth wheels parked when we stayed. The sites are wide enough but are short. It was noisy because of its location near US 1. Leo’s is best described as a rough gem located at Key West’s doorstep. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$70
We enjoyed our stay here. We did not require a pool or other activities, just a good place to park the RV and enjoy Key West. Not much atmosphere but met our needs. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$70
Location is the best part of this campground. It is only 4 miles from downtown Key West and bicycling is easy to town. There is only one mens shower and toilet so plan to use the RV facilities. The sites are narrow and getting in and out can be a challenge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$60
Not very nice. No Amenities. Smelled like urine. Not very safe. No pool. Couldn't understand the guy answering the phone. Cheaper - Yes. I guess you get what you pay for. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$70
This was our first visit to Key West and it happened to be during the New Years holiday when prices were at a high and availability at a low. Boyds’ was requiring a 4 night minimum and the stay would have cost $450 with tax for an inland site, ridiculous in my book. Leo’s is the only other public campground on Stock Island (besides the small & pricey El Mar resort), which is the island adjacent to the east of Key West. There are no public campgrounds on the island of Key West itself. Still expensive at $72 per night with tax, at least we could stay for fewer nights. Leo’s is actually 1 mile closer to Key West than Boyd’s, but is not a waterfront camp. Rather it is in a commercial/industrial/low end residential area, but nothing all that terrible, although I strongly advise locking your bikes and not leaving any valuables outside. There are several restaurants within walking distance. You’ve seen RV parks like this all over, just very basic, in the middle of a town, usually costing in the $20-$25 range. The location a half block south of US 1 and close to the short bridge to Key West was a big bonus for us since we were able to easily our bikes into town both days. I rank Key West as one of the most bike-friendly towns anywhere. Once across the bridge (with wide bike lanes), turn left onto the sidewalk that leads to a spectacular sidewalk/bike trail along the southern coast next to open ocean, and ends up at some of Key West's most popular beaches on the south end. Another trail to town (right onto the sidewalk after the bridge) traverses the north shore, which is more bay-like. It is a bit shorter and subject to less wind, but through a less scenic commercial area. Bear right on Palm Ave to get to the waterfront area. Each route mentioned takes about 25-35 minutes riding at a medium clip to get into downtown at the western end of the key. Once there you will encounter more bikes and mopeds on the narrow streets than cars, though the on-street riding through downtown is not suitable for children. There is also a bus stop adjacent to the campground, or you can try your luck at parking, which is tough but not impossible downtown. The least crowded driving route into town is along the south shore. If you are here on New Years Eve, make sure to watch the drag queen Sushi drop down for the countdown in her ruby slipper at Bourbon St. Bar on Duval. It has become more of a mixed crowd over the years due to its annual coverage on CNN. Or you can watch a wench being lowered down a mast at the harbor, or a conch shell drop down at Sloppy Joe’s bar. New Years Day is equally festive around town. Key West may just be the most fun town to ring out the old/in the new/ in the country. Leo’s was an OK place to hang out when not in town, but not somewhere I would want to spend a lot of time, which turned out to be a good thing since it forced us to get out into wonderful Key West rather than lazing around the campsite. Our campsite was just long enough for our 35-foot motorhome with two slides on one side, and with plenty of room to park the toad beside it, behind the picnic table. Since we were close to the office, a low to medium Wi-Fi signal came in, enough to do email. A covered bench is provided outside the office to get closer to the signal. It was out for 1 of our 3 days there, typical for campgrounds! There are several trees around the camp, and one of them blocked our Dish satellite from site 12. Since the camp was full they could not move us. Again, another reason to get out of the coach and into town! The power worked well enough for the AC, although the supposed 50 amp connection registered as 30 amps in our coach. We did not need to use the washroom facilities since there was a sewer hookup. The office staff was friendly but not very helpful in terms of what to do in the area. Just across US1 is the Key West Country Club, but at $150/$95 twilight we passed. I would prefer to stay at one of the waterfront campgrounds the next time I visit the area, but would consider staying here again due to its proximity to Key West and lower cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com