220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Calhoun Falls Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (864) 447-8267
CGID9612

Calhoun Falls Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   9   8   9   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
This is one of the best state parks SC has to offer! They have really spent a great deal of money in the development of the campground. For check-in, follow the signs to campground store/ranger station. The check-in process was very easy and the staff are all very friendly. The interior roads are all paved as is each site. Each site's parking spot is level. Each site has a large level patio area that includes a fire pit, picnic table, lantern stand, and a fish cleaning table which better serves as a place for a table top grill. The patio area is packed gravel which can be dusty. Accessing each site is easy even for the largest of rigs. The campground store is stocked with a few items including hats, t-shirts, ice and firewood, but little food items. The town of Calhoun Falls is only a mile from the campground. The town is small and does not have a lot to offer. AT&T service is very spotty within the campground. There is no 3G/4G anywhere in park or town. The park does not offer Wi-Fi. Rangers patrol the campground frequently and are quick to deal with noisy or rowdy people. The bathhouse, while older, was clean and well stocked. Campground 2 does have a washer/dryer at first bathhouse. The lake was quite with few boaters even on the weekend. Small black ants can be a problem if you are not prepared to deal with them. If you are new to the area, I do suggest you visit the Abbeville town square. Not only will you find great small town shopping on the square, you can also learn area history. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
This park was a bit of let down. Even though it is a big park, many sites are on top of each other. Loop #2 of the park is insane. People are so close together the kids on have to play in the street. We stayed in #10, which is by water, but you can't get to it. It has a large beach area, but the rest of the park is run down. Any size camper will fit in this park, no problem, but when you leave watch for the dip in the road. We have travel trailer and had go slow to keep from scrapping. This camp ground is not for nature lovers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Finding where to check in was unclear, at least to me. Either I missed the sign, or it was not there. Anyway, just keep driving on and on until you run out of road down by the lake at the marina. Excellent sites and the very nice ranger said "I'll give you the best site in the park...#64" and he wasn't kidding. Private back in lakeside setting. Beautiful sunset over the waters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Most of the reviews about Calhoun Falls are quite valid! I consider this to be a "modern" campground in that it was designed with larger RVs in mind; there is ample run off room on either side of the roads and almost all sites can easily handle the largest campers. All sites are paved with huge pads and privacy; the designers could have easily doubled the amount of sites. The comments about AT&T service are apt, but there is a corridor of reception near sites 62-64; other carriers seem to have better reception. Though bathrooms are showing some age, hosts do an excellent job of cleaning the pads when campers leave, which is especially nice in the autumn. There is the sound of trains in the distance off Lake Russell, but we actually enjoy this; it is by no means overly loud. We have camped here 20+ times and it is about as good as you can expect from state parks and is one of South Carolina's top ones. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This campground had very spacious sites! It was very quiet and had nice beach area for swimming in the lake. It also had nicer playground equipment compared to other campgrounds. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
This park offers generously sized, well designed sites that maximize the natural setting and privacy. The level paved pad was complemented by a large gravel patio area complete with fire pit, picnic table, fish cleaning bench and lantern pole. Shower and restroom facilities were worn but clean. Some train and motorboat noise could be heard. Water and electric were good but other modern amenities were absent (no sewer hook-up, Wi-Fi, TV signal, AT&T phone or data service). We would stay here again, but briefly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$22
The best state park in the upstate of SC. Paved and level campsites and spaced reasonably apart so some degree of privacy. My only minor issue was the restrooms and showers. It is not peak Summer season, so perhaps they do not clean the restrooms everyday. Calhoun Falls is a gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This was our first stay in a State park, and we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it was wonderful! The site that we had was on a peninsula with lake views on three sides. The park is beautiful and exceptionally well maintained. Deer were plentiful as well as wild turkeys. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
We camp here 3-4 times a year. Halloween is one of our favorite times to camp, the whole park trick/treats. Sites are large and private with concrete pads, bath houses are clean and up to date. My only negative is some campers don't obey 10 mph speed limit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
We really like this park. It offers a sandy beach area, 2 covered picnic shelters, playgrounds, a meeting building, public boat ramp and store. There are two campgrounds on opposite sides within the park. We have camped here 3 times in 3 different sites. This is a big fishing area and almost everyone brings a boat. We don't boat so I prefer CG#1. We stayed close to the marina in CG#2 last time and heard the boats and the train whistling through town all night. But there's a site for practically everyone; interior handicap accessible sites, sunny waterfront sites on a lake point, large shady sites close to a playground, long pull-through sites right off the CG road, and side-by-side sites for groups with 2 campers. All sites have paved drives and gravel pads with a picnic table, fire pit (some have separate grills) and pole hook. The bath houses have always been clean when I've been in them but realize this is a state - not private - park. They're equipped with toilets and paper, sinks and counters, hot showers - no frills (or heat or A/C)! We like the fact we can reserve specific sites and the office staff is very helpful and friendly. The cons I've encountered were strangers walking from non-waterfront sites through ours to get to the boat they'd docked in front of our site. Parking/maneuvering can be an issue as lots of non-campers visit camping guests and park in the CG road. And there are LOTS of children here, especially in summer, so you really have to watch out for unattended ones riding bikes and golf carts constantly, even going the wrong direction on the one-way roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We are kayakers and found this enormous 26,650 acre lake to be a jewel! There were some power boats but still plenty of room for everybody. There are so many fingers and bays to explore. The campground has 2 loops and they are all very nice. We stayed on site #30 and it was somewhat private and easy access to the water. They have a beach area for swimming, tennis and basketball courts and gorgeous picnic areas. We liked it so much we booked for time in August. This is a park that will not disappoint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
We still love this park! We stayed in site #40 this time since it was too cold to use the water. We had total privacy: couldn't see another camper from any angle. This is a nice site for those who don't want to completely rough it. It's directly across from the bath house (which provides light onto site), and playground and it's one site down from the walking trail. CG host was nice as usual. Our circuit panel went out before we got to CG and he recommended someone who came and fixed it on the spot on Saturday morning! Bath house is clean and does have heat, contrary to what I previously thought. Book early, as I've learned top 10 sites will be booked six months in advance. The only drawback we had was the train coming through Calhoun Falls: the sound really travels over the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
Very special campground - only minor issue was major train line must be a few miles away because we heard the "3:10 to Yuma" about every 3-4 hours day and night. (Perhaps during summer when leaves are on the trees, it would be less noticeable.) The sites are well-spaced apart, and most are lake front. Our site gave us a wonderful morning sunrise over the lake each morning. We toured the campground, and all spaces were paved and flat. Can basically go swimming in the lake at many campsites. Has official beach area, basketball courts, ping pong, tennis courts, and hiking. We will be going back many times... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This is a nice clean park. All roads are in good shape. Pads are level concrete. Lots of space between sites. Restrooms and showers were clean and modern. There is a nice swimming area on the lake. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
Very nice campground. Only one of two campgrounds open during Christmas/New Year's holidays. Plan early because most sites occupied. Sites are extra large with separate picnic areas. Paved sites which helped to level unit. Bathrooms cleaned daily. Deer in area. Nice playground for kids. Washer/dryer available at restroom. No internet or sewer hookups. Water and power connections were good. Great access to Lake Russell. Lake levels remain low due to drought. It's still a beautiful lake to enjoy. Good choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com