223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Punkin Park Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (225) 567-3418
CGID9615

Punkin Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   3   7   6   6   5   3   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This is not the worst in the world but it is trying. The roads not impassable but are rough and pot-holed. My electrical box was a thing to behold and fear. You are almost on the shoulder of the interstate and you think the 18 wheelers are coming through the window. Two good points, it has pull-through sites if you are done driving for the day and need a place to stop. Secondly, it’s close to Campingworld. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2013
$23
Great spot for us close to family in Hammond. Road going in is narrow as previously noted, but it is very lightly traveled. The entrance is tight but not a problem for careful drivers. The interior roads need a lot of work, many potholes filled with water on this visit. Place can get muddy when saturated by heavy rain as on our visit this time. Sewers are on septic system and our site had a problem, possibly caused by the recent frequent heavy rains. We had no problems on past visits. Our price is based on a weekly rate. We have used the park before but it is not really a "destination" park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
Do not consider this park if you have an RV over 36 ft. Especially if you have a tow. The road to the park is very narrow as is the entrance. The park is also very close to the Interstate, so is noisy. Gravel/grass sites with low spots that collect water when it rains which then become muddy. Lots of permanents. The lake is nice to walk your dog but we will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Park sides I-12 freeway so noise from traffic. Many camp workers and towables, but clean with charm..Huge lake..nice pool. Very friendly folks. Our pull thru was grass drive.Pot holes in drive way to campground. Water standing from storm & hail this morning..Very nice staff and after hours staff...use your GPS to address. Mom & Pop private campground. Lots of trees...senior discount...Good stop over..We were one of 3 motorhomes. Across the road from Dixie RV Sales..We were in class a motorhome.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We stayed here for an overnight stop on the way through on I-12. We ended up approx 100 yards off the Interstate, the traffic noise was very loud. The grounds have gravel and dirt roads, the sites are grass and level. Its located on a dead end road that is a little difficult to find at night. Cable was poor and Wi-Fi was nonexistent. Lots of permanent guests. It is located close to a Camping World and a large RV dealer. 50 amp and water worked fine. There are only one or two pull-through sites and we got the last one. Good area for a dog walk west of the park around a lake. It you can take the noise its not bad for a quick stopover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a good park for a place to stay for a few days. It is clean, felt safe, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was a lot of noise from the Interstate, but since it was steady, it was easy to ignore. The Wi-Fi was steady, and the cable list was good. It you just need a convenient place to park near Hammond, this is a good choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
This park is OK for an overnight stay, maybe 2 nights tops, not a destination. They do put their over nighter on the freeway side, so there is noise from the I-12 constantly. The park was clean and quiet. It very convenient to Dixie RV and Camping World. Trust the signs, you go down a narrow dead end road, if we hadn't scoped it out by car first, it would have been scary, but signage is great and correct. No longer accept Passport America. Pool is large, very clean, but too cold to use while we were there. We would stay here again if needed to be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Park is very close to the highway and noisy. Standing water everywhere from the rain. Staff was nice but I would go up the road to Livingston, LA if I'm ever in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I stayed here for 3 days and my site was in in the sun totally. No real visual appeal to most of the sites and highway noise was quite loud. I probably would try and find another place to stay if I returned to the area. Staff was polite but did not make up for the general site areas which were not appealing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is a very difficult park to find, even after calling for directions because the street signs are hard to read. The campground sign does not make it clear where to turn. We ended up on a dead end road and had to back our 38ft 5th wheel up about 1/8th of a mile. Not Fun! The entrance road is very narrow with ditches on both sides. The area for overnighters is a "drive-in movie" type of area just yards from the noise of I-10 with NO trees. We were the only RV in the overnight area and felt very uncomfortable being alone. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$17
We stayed under Passport America and checked in after hours. The man said we could stay two nights and we paid for 1. In the AM we decided to stay another night and were told NO only one night at that rate. They did let us stay for a few hours using our generator. DO NOT FOLLOW GPS directions, they lead to a dead end road and no turn around point. Water and power fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$20
The management was very nice and helpful. The main road was being graded to get rid of the puddles and the other roads were probably going to be worked on. The price includes Passport America plus $2 for wi-fi. The main draw back is the freeway noise, and when they are full, the tight spaces. The bathrooms were older, had a big crack and were very humid after a shower. There are many permanent residents yet the park seemed safe to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com