219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon Lake RV Resort (55+ park) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (956) 580-4545
CGID9628

Canyon Lake RV Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
419
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   6   9   1   5   6   7   7   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
The lake at this park can go almost dry and then water is pumped into it. Bit of a disappointment. Clubhouse is good. They have rock n roll and country jams. Needs a little work but there is improvements. Nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
We have spent 2 winters at Canyon Lake. There are a small number of guests that think they own and run the park. We happened to sit in one of "their" chairs at a park meeting . I'm not sure how we were to know it was their chair, but apparently we were suppose to know that is where that person sits. Beware of where you sit ! The park has new owners and management this year. Only time will tell where this will lead, but they did not get off to a roaring start. The hot tub was out of order, and they did not fix it all season. The shower at the pool had no hot water all season. Some of the showers in the restrooms did not work at all. These were not fixed either. Rumors were that they are going to put in a new hot tub and redo the restrooms. They need it, to say the least. Also, what grass there is was not mowed. The weeds back of our camper were over a foot tall before they finally used a weed eater on them. The sites are very tight, and it is very difficult to park your vehicle in some of them. Last, you guessed it, the rates are going up next year. Depending on the site and length of your stay some of the rate increases are pretty substantial. We realize no place is perfect, but Canyon Lake is just a little less perfect than we will tolerate. We are leaving the park early and probably will not return unless there are a lot of changes made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$6.5
Price based on year round lot rent. Park changed owners October first of 2011. Many changes are being made to upgrade appearance, electric, etc. Will be nice when completed: 1-2 years. Prices will change for next season. Other changes are uncertain at this time. Rumors are many, facts are few. Check it out: don't rely on hearsay. This park is definitely worth checking out and is still one of the best values in the valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
From the time we pulled in until we left we felt like we were truly at a resort. The friendly welcome and staff made us feel comfortable and really looked out for us. This is a 55+ park with plenty of activities for those who would like to join in. A beautiful pool and island only add to the atmosphere. My husband is one who likes to keep to himself and I like to get involved. They had wonderful morning meals and great conversation. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously last year and will be back this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Our space filled with water during heavy rains, the dumpsters overflowed on a daily basis, and the bridge to the island in the center of the lake was closed for most of the time that we were here. Residents are generally unfriendly and there was a huge turnover in the workcamping staff. Oh, and the places was VERY crowded. We will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
To be fair, this is a 55+ park and we really didn’t belong here. That said, during our month-plus long stay we got a pretty good taste of life here. Everyone smiles and waves, but no one is particularly friendly. The park is populated with snowbirds who come back year after year, have their friends and go out of their way to avoid meeting anyone new. Like many of the residents, this park is tired. Once upon a time it may have been a pretty place, but it’s definitely showing its age and could use some serious sprucing up. We couldn’t use our portable surge protector because the power outlet was so low to the ground. WiFi is basically non-existent. It finally began to work when most of the snowbirds left. Even then it was weak. Sites are basically gravel and very, very tight, especially for our 40-foot motorhome. We had to wait for someone to move their truck from our site before we could back in and park. No visible security, but we were pleased to see the local police patrolling periodically. Activities are geared toward the 70-plus set. Any way you look at it, this place is old and tired. We won’t be back. Rate is based on monthly rent plus electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This park is just OK. We booked for a month but decided to leave after 11 days. The first problem we encountered is the site they assigned and the person assigned to take us to our site. That person was totally useless, and we should have gone back to the office and asked for a different site. After great difficulty backing in, we found the site was so tight that we had people on all sides, who were only a few feet from our trailer. The residence in the park are friendly and there are a fair amount of activities. Internet worked very well. Laundry facilities were only moderately OK. We would not stay again, but part of that is we did not care for the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
Older park with adequate sites, has good power and water pressure, sewer drainage was good. Electric boxes were low to ground which caused a problem with our outside surge protector (not hard wired). We were just able to get the 50 amp plug in. Our site along the front fence was wider than most and level. Electricity was 9 cents per KWH. The people were very friendly and meals when served, very inexpensive. They are building a new exercise room. The pool is small and not well heated but it was very cold in the valley this year. We enjoyed the park but will not return as we want a large pool and a park with a dancehall. The price paid reflects a monthly fee of $400. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
Camp sites are generally 24 by 40. We found that to be too small for our 37 foot motorhome. By the time we parked our car next to the motorhome there was very little space for outdoor sitting. The campground is primarily gravel, dusty and gray. The Wi-Fi is spotty and weak and there is no Wi-Fi support. We paid $70 for a month of cable TV and cable modem. There's a lovely dog walk. The laundry room is small. People are generally friendly. Activities at rec hall. Small wood shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
Dump. We stayed here three years ago but the place has gone downhill since then. It was over crowded, dumpsters and trash overflowing. Our space flooded when it rained, and the sewers backed up. Wi-Fi didn't work. Little girl in office was very rude and clearly out of her depth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
What a terrific find. Canyon Lake is so beautiful — the only park we've ever stayed at with their own private island on their own large private lake. We really enjoyed strolling out to relax under the gazebo on the island, and paddling around in the resort's (free) paddle boats. Plus, the Texas-shaped swimming pool and whirlpool spa directly overlook the lake. The whole place is neat and clean and the staff was really nice in helping us decide the best local places to visit (there's lots to choose from). We did great day trips to the coast, and to Mexico. We'd come back here again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
A happy place to be. Lots of activities - something going on all the time. Good areas to walk and bike ride all around the little lake. The mission of this "campground" is to build houses for the poor in Mexico and to achieve that end, residents donate items for auction and raise the money themselves. They just completed their 14th house! There's a woodshop, clubhouse with breakfast and some lunches and tons of games going on at all times (or line dancing, quilting, swedish weaving - you name it) a pool shaped like the state of Texas, and a little island in the middle of the lake to walk out to for some meditative time. Lots of birding. A flock of parrots just flew over. Wal-Mart is very close as is a large flea market on the weekends. Good place to spend a few months. Laid back - nothing hoity toidy - just good honest working folk. No complaints thus far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com