206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Old Town Campground 'N Retreat was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (352) 542-9500
CGID9634

Old Town Campground 'N Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   7   8   9   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Staying here was a pleasant experience. The owner provides a wealth of information and can be found easily for any questions. There are miles and miles of great bike trails nearby. The campground is very clean and extremely quiet, a feature we really enjoy. There are several tall pine trees providing some dappled shade. The people are friendly the sites allow for plenty of room. The rate we paid reflects an Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
This park was very quiet. The owners are very friendly and take pride in their camp. It is not a destination RV Resort but is conveniently located near the many springs. Also very close to the Nature Coast Bicycle Trail. The water pressure was sufficient and the power was very good. Cable and WiFi worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone planning on exploring the area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
Rustic campground with dirt roads and sand/grass sites. We were only there for an overnight at an electric/water site. Helpful, friendly owner. Campground was very neat and clean. Wi-Fi worked well, but cable quality was mediocre. We would stay here again. Rate was Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$14
Very nice campground. Quiet, safe and well run. Owner takes pride in his service. Sites are level. Good A/C power - 120 volts. Sites are sand/crushed shells. Very well located in northwestern and central part of state. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Nice Friendly place. Great management. Nicest from what we have seen in the area. Sites are Sand. Rate is passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Nice, very quiet park within an hour's drive of many things to do in this part of Florida. Fanning Springs, Manatee Springs, the Suwanee River, Gainesville, Cedar Key etc. Easy pull-throughs, good Wi-Fi coverage and cable. The owner is very accommodating and helpful. We stayed a week and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
This is a very quaint family-type park. The owner/operator was very friendly and showed us all the areas features. This park will be one of our favorites just for the friendliness. The shower and restrooms were extremely clean. The laundry needs some work. Everything in the immediate area was fun to explore. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$17
Owner is a super nice owner and operator that is real helpful in steering you towards good food, things to do, and a great winery and vineyard. I gave them a nine because of my sewer being uphill, making it difficult to clean out. All in all, I think it is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
We stayed one night in this park and it was quiet and peaceful. It is located enough off of US19 not to have any road noise. The park does have a few narrow roads but if you know how to drive your RV there is no problem, even with a toad, as we were. We were escorted back to our pull-through parking site and had no problem maneuvering into place. We also had no problem when we exited early the next morning. On your way out is a sewer dump and trash bin, which we found very convenient, since we chose a pull through site without a sewer hook-up. There are a lot of trees but we asked for, and got, a site where our satellite worked fine. The park also has cable TV. The Wi-Fi worked great. The parking site was hard packed grass and was level. The ground was dry so I can't comment about how the property would have been during a rainy period. We plan on using the park again when we are passing through this area on our way home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Access and exit roads are narrow. The bushes and trees need to be trimmed back a bit. The first 100 feet of so of interior road is paved but once you are inside the "gate" the road is bare packed sand and bumpy and rough. Nearly the whole campground is sand, but there are trees for shade. We reserved a site with 50 AMP by telephone, but when we arrived, the owner would not let us set up in a 50 AMP site, and we were told there was sewer but that isn't true. Only the permanent residents are able to hookup to the septic system, all others must use the dump on the way out. Cable TV is available and WI-FI also. The owner is friendly and helpful, escorts newcomers to the sites and helps park/back. The amenities are NOT great. The so-called clubhouse/office is a dilapidated old wood building that smells very musty and is tiny. Restrooms and showers are clean though dated. Fire ants have free range here and they are everywhere. Many of the pets in the park were allowed to run loose, though the park rules say otherwise. With a lot of work this could be a very nice park and it is close to many points of interest. There was plenty of room for our rig, but I would not consider returning here. After hours you use the exit to return to the park or you can't get in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
I rated this campground as an eight because the owner was very welcoming, the bathrooms and showers were very clean. The access in and out is just fine. The "clubhouse" is not really a clubhouse but rather a small wooden building which is very musty smelling and houses the registration office and the library. We would stay here again definitely because of the hands on friendly atmosphere and it is a very clean campground. The rate is the before taxes PA rate We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Great cozy place with a small customer oriented staff. Escort to the site. Office is very helpful with things and places to see. Park is very well maintained by an Hands On Owner. We stopped here with another an RVer friend who is a fussy type of guy, and he was pleased with the accommodations as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Park is not bad for a night There are lots of trees. The site that we had was a bit on the narrow side. There was an escort to the site, which was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$15
Passport America rate for 30amp, water, Wi-Fi and cable TV. Cable TV is now included, but the rate jumped way up from a year ago. It was very quiet for this time of year, (rate increase)??? Not much around this area. Spent one night and moved on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
I would recommend this campground. It was extremely clean and well-kept. The owners are from Sweden and one of the staff members stated he runs a glove over every cabin before he allows another guest to rent it. The pool and bathrooms were extremely clean as well. It's a little off the path of convenience but I would recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Rate was for Passport America, $10, +$1. cable, +.77tax. Cable had about 30 channels, + 2 HBO. We had a P/T w/30amp electric and water. Sewer dump on exit road, a slight problem if someone dumping and you want to get out, you can't get around and have to wait till they are done. This is a plain older park, but clean. They could use more grass. The roads are packed sand. The GPS that comes up for the park is off by about 20 miles. We just happened to see the park as we passed by it. We told the owner and he said he knew. He just failed to tell us when we called for a reservation. Verizon air card works well. In the area there are 2 springs where you can go and see manatees. Also 45 mile is Ceadar Key. We would stay here again for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$11
Passport America $10 + $1 for Cable TV that had two HBO channels. We had a 30 amp P/T site with water & cable TV. Did not use the Wi-Fi, Verizon broadband was excellent. There is nothing fancy here, just a great value and really friendly people. Park might offend some, but not us. After coming in the entrance and registering, they then have you use the exit to come and go. Dump station is on the exit, so it is a weird setup. However, the traffic volume is low and it works. We would not have a problem coming back. Great park for couples with no kids, and for people just looking for some R n R. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com