215122 User submitted reviews online!!
Etowah River Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (706) 864-9035
CGID9648

Etowah River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   2   7   6   6   8   7   7   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We stayed here one night out of necessity. The camp is very hard to find, especially after dark. We pulled in and there was no one about so we just selected a site. This appears to have been a nice camp ground at some point in the past but it has gone to seed. Water, sewer and electric worked but sites are uneven and over grown. Interior roads are unpaved, rutted and muddy after a rain. The camp is in desperate need of a major rework of its infrastructure. It struck us as a jewel in the "very rough." There are lots of permanent units on site and some that appear to be abandoned. We were charged $30 cash; not credit cards taken. This camp ground will do in a pinch but we cannot recommend it as a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Maybe it's the wrong time of year. It was muddy and filthy. Dog poo all over the place and dirty diapers in the fire pit. No internet and my phone only worked part time. It was quiet. That is the only positive I can think of. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
This CG is a bit out of the way but we have family here and it was the closest CG to them. The road leading in is narrow. If you have a big rig, watch out for anyone speeding towards you. The interior roads of the CG are packed dirt and extremely bumpy. Hold on! Some advice, call ahead. We usually do, but at this time of the year we knew it wouldn't be full and didn't bother to call. As expected, there was plenty of space, but call because this property is gated. At the gate you are instructed to use the phone above the keypad to call. The phone DOESN'T WORK! The other option was to call the number listed there. A note ...Verizon does not have coverage here. Thankfully we had another cell phone, a cheap Walmart phone, and it worked. The woman at check in was very nice, the CG accepts PA, we paid $16.50. All the sites are grass. Hook ups were fine. No cable, the free wifi was poor. The restrooms/showers are huge and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a generous rating and although we were not impressed, it may appeal to other campers who are looking for this type of campground. The site was large and got excellent satellite reception and the owners are very friendly and helpful. But, the roads are so dusty that everything is covered with a layer of dirt which will be a layer of mud had it rained. There are NO RULES at this campground. People pretty much do as they please and dogs roam free everywhere. It is loud and caters to the tent campers who have the best sites and camp in large family groups. The road leading to the campground has MAJOR potholes so beware and luckily it was dry but during rain this could be very hazardous. The river is beautiful, however there really is no access other than traipsing through someone's tent site and slipping down a precarious path. The beach area is all tent campsites so not truly accessible for getting full use of the river. It is what it is, a rustic, river campground with few amenities, 1 bathhouse with 2 stalls in the men room for throngs of tent campers, so it is as clean as you would expect under the circumstances. We were expecting more and would have given a higher rating had the one drawing point, the river, been actually accessible and viewable from the campsites. We will not be back and actually left 1 day early from our holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
A real adventure getting in the first time. Off the beaten path, to say the least. Long dirt drive. All interior roads dirt. All sites are very grass covered. The permanent units had all the shaded sites. Very, very quiet. Not very busy this time of year. Nice setting along the small river. Many tent sites on the river. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
My wife was having a party so, me and the dogs needed to leave the house. Friendly staff, nice sites with fire rings on the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We spent 3 nights here and paid the Passport America rate. It was a nice campground, mostly open sites with a number of permanent units just inside the tree line. You couldn't really see them unless you walked up to them. Wi-Fi was slow but it did the job. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We did some gold panning here (yes, we found some) and also visited nearby Dahlonega. The only negative was the narrow dirt road coming in and the muddy roads when it rained. We would stay here again, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
After discovering the state parks were full, we arrived here to discover a hidden gem. The owner was friendly and helpful, guiding us to a great site right on the river. He has only been the owner for three years, and his list of desired improvements is long, but it is still a good place to stay. Everything was clean and orderly. Many sites have shade, the river is beautiful, and it is remote enough to be really quiet. Security gates are in place and the owner lives on site. There is much to see and do in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Park is showing it's age. Electric plugs needed to be replaced. The grounds were muddy from rain due to a lack of gravel. We spun our tires twice getting into the park. Site was not level or really large enough for our 39' 5th wheel and truck. We only stayed overnight due to these conditions. Would not return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
First time there. We are full timers, and we just happened to stop at Etowah River Campground. Yes, the grass needed cutting, but everything else was very nice. Staff was friendly, helped us pick a good site for our size rig and followed up with us later to see if we were happy with our site. Only one other campground in Florida does that when we stay there. That means something to us when the staff cares about the campers. Give them a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Loved it! The owners treat you like family. Campers are Friendly. There is plenty to do being close to Dahlonega, and the Owners offer Raft Rides with very resonable rates. They also offer Firewood delivered to your site! Nice place to relax. My wife and I call it Therapy. Cant wait for the 4th of July. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Owner operators did not have regular hours-hard to reach at times. Mowing was needed often. Security gate didn't work often. Nice woodsy atmosphere with sites right on river for tents but not RV's. Small camp store and laundry available. Some trailers were pretty slummy looking that parked there full-time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com