221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Three Island Crossing State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (208) 366-2394
CGID965

Three Island Crossing State Park

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   10   10   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$17
$16.66 per night (this was a 50% senior discount off the usual $23.32 per night that is offered Monday - Thursday plus a $5 per day vehicle entry fee) was for a level asphalt pad site with 30 amp electric, water, picnic table, and fire ring. The campground is in a desert-like setting but has been planted with deciduous trees and each site has a grassy area making it seem not so dry. This lovely campground is located near the Snake River where Oregon Trail travelers used the islands to accomplish the river crossing. Cabins are available but there are no primitive sites. The park staff and campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. Bicycles are permitted on park roads and trails but beware of the goat-head thorns that will puncture tires unmercifully. The campground is located not far off I-84 but there was no traffic noise, only the occasional train passing by in town. The town of Glenns Ferry is a couple of miles away and has a couple grocery stores. AT&T cell service is great. We used our Milliencom jetpack for internet access as we received two bars of 4G LTE. Park Wi-Fi is available but we did not investigate it. There were seven OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$16
Rate reflects weekday senior discount, plus $5 vehicle fee. This is a quiet and well-kept state park with easy interstate access. The upper loop (lowered numbered sites) had a good view of a valley and lake, but was more crowded. Great landscaping, grass and tree cover on both loops. Bathrooms were clean. No park staff on duty when we arrived, and picking a site was slightly confusing. Reservation slips for the coming weeks were already clipped to site posts under the "Reserved" plaque, giving the appearance that almost every spot was taken for the current night. We finally picked a spot where the reserved dates were still several nights away. Traffic cones reading "closed for irrigation" were also in front of several of the sites but we never saw sprinklers come on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
A gem off of I-84. We overnighted here and the campground was not busy. Spacious, well laid out sites with paved level pads. The lawns were well maintained and numerous dumpsters were located around the site. The dump station was easy to access and use. My only complaint is the State Park Wi-Fi system. You could not find out what the rates were until you registered. In these days of information theft and re-selling of information by web sites, a basic price list should be available before you divulge information to these services. Wake Up Idaho State Parks, you can do better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park was a very nice surprise. We were in the trailside loop, which was very uncrowded during the week. There is lots of open space that provides a park-like atmosphere. It is within walking distance to the Carmela Winery and restaurant (soon to change its name to Crossings). The wine and food were great. We paid a little extra for a companion site which gave us extra room but even the regular sites were large. The volunteers buzzed around like bees and all of the facilities were well maintained and clean. We will definitely be back. Just as a note. My Verizon Smart Phone worked fine. My iPad, which uses AT&T, was useless. Idaho state parks now offers a $29 Wi-Fi package which is good for a year at any state park. The park ranger told me that most of the Idaho parks have the service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Third time at this park. Great wayside if you have to spend a lot of time on I84. Two levels, sometimes the upper level is more windy but has better views of the Snake River. Nice lawns and lots of shade. Elec and water at site. Sites level and paved. Tables and fire pits at all sites and the park is well maintained. Two dump stations in park. Cell phone reception is good and a park wifi is available at a reasonable cost. Some sites close together but most have decent spacing. Quite a few double sites with water and power, but you may need extensions for at least on of the RV's. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
What a beautiful state park location. Lots of room between sites. Grass and trees abound. This park is located along the Snake River and offers a peaceful setting for the traveler. Next door to the park is the Carmela Vineyards if you would like to visit their winery. Park staff was most helpful and courteous. Unless a site is specifically marked as reserved for that night it is available on a first come basis. A gem in the Gem state. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Wonderful oasis in the middle of dry Idaho overlooking the Snake River at popular crossing on the old Oregon Trail. On a bluff so was windy and hot when we were there in July. 100+ but nonetheless one of our favorites in our 4,700 mile summer trek. Spacious, level enough with trees in a comfortable, historic setting with an interpretive center on site and a winery/restaurant nearby. Would have loved to stay longer, but had to head back home. Maybe next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
The nightly rate included a $5 fee of some sort since we didn't have an Idaho parks pass. This is another lovely state park. We didn't have a reservation, but there were plenty of sites available for the one night we wanted to stay. There are two loops and we stayed in the upper loop. We didn't check out the lower loop, so comments relate only to the upper loop. There were some low hanging branches along the road to the site, but nothing that would do damage. Park is big rig friendly, with most sites being paved back-ins. We had no problem leveling. Electric (30 amp) and water were at the sites, but no sewer. There was a dump station. Sprint service worked well. The park was probably the quietest and most peaceful park we've visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$11
This is a very nice Idaho State Park. We stayed on the upper level. The sites are farther apart from each other on the upper level, which we prefer. Showers and restrooms were clean, but keep in mind they are government facilities. Showers spray water everywhere so be cautious of this extra feature! This park sits along the Snake River so you can have a view if you prefer. Seems like weekends are very busy just based on the amount of reserved tags on site markers. Monday through Thursday seniors get a break on the price. We did buy a Idaho State Park Pass that was $40, but that saves on state park daily entrance fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
After five years of RVing this is our very favorite campground. Sites are large and shady and the scenery is great. Utilities all function properly. Campground is divided into an upper and a lower section. All sites appear large enough. The ones in the lower section may be a bit larger, but do not offer the long range view. Plenty of campground staff to look out after things and keep the grounds tidy. Campground host sells wood and ice. Very nice Oregon Trail interpretive center is on the park grounds and you can still see the wagon wheel ruts that define the trail. It often gets windy in the afternoons even after a calm start to the day, so be careful to take in your awnings. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This a beautiful park. It's almost like camping on a high-end golf course. Beautiful lawns at each site, with huge trees for shade. We were in the upper loop, so had an expansive view of the basin and the Snake River. Restrooms were spotless, even though the upper loop was pretty full. The Pioneer Museum in the park is very interesting. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$23
Excellent personnel. Sites are paved and lots of room for slides. Be aware their is a $5.00 charge for tow and extra vehicles.Golf course near by for those that like to golf and a winery for wine tasting. Will return. Oh yea this is our third time. Happy travels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Another lovely Idaho state park on the Snake River. The upper campground is closer to the water (which surprised us) and had even MORE shade than the lower one. Wonderful historical information about the pioneer's Glenns Ferry crossing but center was closed Mon & Tues when we were here. Not much to do except relax; town is small, old, and run down. Weather EXTREMELY hot (mid 100's) so we left a day early. Mornings are beautiful. Hundreds (maybe thousands) of gnats came through our screens at night when we had the lights on in the RV; had to spray with outdoor fogger to kill them. On second night, we didn't open windows until we turned the lights out. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$11
This is a very nice state park with level, clean, sites, helpful camp host, picnic table, and fire pit. Enjoyed the Oregon Trail Interpretive museum within walking distance to the park. Senior rate is half price Monday-Thursday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Very nice CG with mature trees and grass. Nice spacing between sites. Price was half off for senior discount (had my parents along). I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
This is a great state park. Adjacent to a winery and restaurant. Parking sites are wide and plentiful. Very well kept. Electrical issues in some sites when demand is very high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Quiet, well-spaced level sites with lots of shade next door to a winery. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
We stopped here for the night on our way to McCall. We stayed in the upper, Wagon Wheel section. Grounds were very well kept, with lots of shade. Were able to find a long site that was level and didn't require us to unhook. Campground was very quiet with a trail that led down to the water's edge. Lots of places to walk our dog and stretch out after a long days drive. Water and electric connections were nice and had very easy access to the dump station on the way out of the park. We enjoyed the stay so much that we made reservations for two nights on the way home to have more time to explore the winery and sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We used this park as a stopping off point on our way to and from another destination. Incredibly quiet in October. Wildlife in the park (deer and quail). Very clean. Large sites, including pull-through (3 or 4). Great place to stop for the night and rest up before hitting the interstate (2 miles away) for another day of driving. Be careful late in the season since most of the 101 sites were closed for maintenance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Rate reflects Senior discount. Good State Park.Grounds staff very friendly. Gate personnel often rude once checked in and going in and out gate. Lots of nicely mowed and green lawns. Spaces spaced well apart. Nice park for bike riding. Have stayed previously and will come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Rate reflects the senior discount (1/2 price) available at certain Idaho State Parks Monday through Thursday. Regular rate is $23.32/night. Sites are large, well separated, with gravel pads, picnic tables and fire rings. Wi-Fi is available for a fee ranging from $3 for a day, $10 for a week or $29 for a "season" and is quite strong and fast. Note that the fee carries over to any Idaho State Park that has the Wi-Fi service. Near by is an Oregon Trail interpretive center/museum which is neat to visit. Several walking trails along the Snake River that are enjoyable and the Carmela Winery is adjacent to the park with Wine Tasting and a nice golf course. Have stayed before and will again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Very nice state park, one of the nicest we’ve been in. Widely-spaced paved sites with all paved roads, beautiful mowed lawns, many shade trees. Upper loop has more views of the Snake River, lower loop has more trees. Spotless restroom/shower facilities. No Wi-Fi, phone or cable. No sewer connections, use dump station on your way out. There is a new, very nice Oregon Trail Interpretive Center in the park, but it is half the size and not as complete as the one in Baker City, Oregon. Small nearby town has few restaurants or big stores. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
This would be a nice family destination park. We stayed just one night on the way south. Most of the sites were back in, but ours was long enough and level enough, we didn't have to un-hitch. No cable TV or WI-FI, but cell signal was very good. Dog friendly and waste free grounds. Sites are very wide, lots of room between rigs. As said before, water and electric only, no sewer at the sites, but has nice, wide, clean dump stations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
What a great park!! It is quiet and serene and off the beaten track. The sites are gravel and huge. No problem getting our 40 footer in here. It is a state park so no sewer and only 20 amp service. There is a winery right next door with a restaurant. There is also a Oregon Trail Information Center here. Unfortunately, it was closed for the season. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
An unexpectedly nice campground. Wonderful bathrooms. Shaded, mostly flat sites. Nice location. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
We'll will come here again! One-lite town--quaint little farming community; either exit 120 or 121 into Glenn's Ferry, just go S off I-84 to the water-tower and follow the signs; East ~1 mi. This and most Idaho SP honor's Golden Age passes M-R (Thursday), $21 or $10.50 GA. W/E, level, shade, dump station; river views from lower loop. OK for big rigs. Pizzeria has the best hamburgers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
We have stayed at Three Island Crossing State Park twice this summer, and enjoyed it both times. Great space between sites, and wonderful grassy areas. Great for kids and pets. The Oregon Trail Museum was very nice and staff was great to talk to. Lots of space to ride bikes and nice walking trails. Fishing available on the river. The park is kept up very well, and is nice and quiet. We'll stay here again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Idaho is considered the gem state and this a gem of a state park. Lots of grass, clean, sites are large. Snake River is 1/4 mile walk from park. Only negative we had was the invasion of millers on the morning we left. They covered one side of the motor home and it took us two weeks to finally get rid of them all. The road through town is quite rough but we would definitely stay here again. On our month long trip this was one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Park is really clean; service is quick and very friendly. Lots are huge, and you have great privacy. Setting on the Snake river is marvelous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
This is a beautiful state park, with lots of room between sites. We had a pull through that gave us plenty of room for an extra vehicle. The grounds and buildings were well maintained and very clean. The museum was closed on Monday, so we didn't get a chance to visit, but did enjoy some of the outside displays. The flowering trees and shrubs were beautiful. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
Nice Idaho state park. A lot of trees and grass. Most of the sites well separated. No WI-FI at this time but Idaho is installing systems in some of their parks. A bit hard to find the first time, just follow the signs but be careful, as the signs are not large in “town”. Water and 30 amp electric in each site. Paved main road with gravel pads. Most sites close to level. Check the park reservation web site for details on each site. Mix of pull-through and back in. Would accommodate large rigs in some sites. Very quiet while we were there. Got one TV channel and tree cover could cause dish problems in some sites. Nice small museum about the Oregon Trail pioneers crossing the Snake River. Park is near a small winery with a restaurant. Not a lot else in Glenn’s Ferry. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a great location for just relaxing. There is a huge grassy area where kids can play. We had a family reunion here wherein our group used 5 spots. Each spot has electric and water hookups, but no sewer. There are two dump locations at the park, so it is easy to take care of that when leaving. There are A LOT of very mature shade trees, so even though we were there in the middle of summer with high temperature of 100 degrees, the shade made it just fine. The campground host and the park rangers were very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Beautiful park with lots of trees and grass. The museum is well worth the visit. Nice paved trails for bike riding. There is a 9 hole golf course right next door at the Carmela Winery. In Glenns Ferry, just south of the rr tracks is a shop with great Huckleberry ice cream. The park is well maintained, as we have seen in all the Idaho State Parks we have visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Absolutely delightful park at a historic point along the Oregon Trail. Beautiful, spacious sites among tall trees and lush lawn areas, perfect for picnics and dog walking. The facilities were very clean with nice hot showers. Nearby is an Oregon Trail museum and the Carmela Winery and restaurant are just a stroll away from the campsite. We stopped here while on route to the West Coast and were on a tight schedule otherwise we would have stayed extra days. The location midway across Idaho will work with many itineraries. For stocking up and other needs, Mountain Home is only 25 miles or so away and offers big box outlets, fast foods and other larger town amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
A very nice, quiet and clean park. Beautiful setting. No hassles. Lots of grass. The only negative is that it was a little hard to get to as we had to navigate through town in Glenns Ferry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$11
Great camp sites. Spacious park like grounds. Quiet, clean. About 2 miles off interstate. Nice Winery within walking distance. Great views. Campground was not full at all in August .We were assigned a site, but was told if we saw another we liked better, We could have it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We camped here over the Memorial Day weekend by booking beforehand on site. The site was exactly as the on site information including the map indicated. We had to book a companion site which was a double site for two RVs. The site was wide but due to its length would realistically only work for two smaller RVs such as our 32' unit plus a smaller TT or a Pop-up. Other companion sites accommodated two large RVs well including one companion pull through on the park. The park had many companion sites but equally as many single sites with ample room between units. We stayed in the lower campground which was nicer than the upper unit, but this depends on one's preferences. Both had nice well watered, well kept lawns. The upper unit was more spread out, lots of trees but less than the lower unit. The lower unit, was more wooded and had a remote feel whereas the upper unit had more of an RV Park feel. But as stated, both are very nice and you can rely on the Idaho State Park web reservation site to be accurate in parking spur dimensions and locations on the map. Great place to visit and would go back again. Since this is by the river, there are a lot of trails and blooming trees which can cause problems with allergies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
The lower loop must have been designed with the idea of getting groups to come here. Many sites are double and many are "clustered" . Sites in a cluster are very close together and share facilities and driveways. Not bad when the park is empty but could be way too cozy when crowded. Upper loop is more normal and spacious. Sites are gravel and reasonable level. Access roads are paved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
An outstanding state park with very spacious facilities, easy access and a very friendly staff! The "Oregon Trail Interpretive Center" that adjoins the park is not to be missed. We will be back for the "crossing reenactment" next year. No wifi but good 1xrtt VZ wireless data worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Nice parklike green grass in center of sites. Camp hosts were friendly. Plenty of shade. Very quiet. The only downside is many of the sites are "doubles" and the fee is based accordingly. Perfect if you are traveling with another rig. Otherwise you pay for both. There isn't a way to pay for half. Even if you could, the other half is parked very close you. In fact if you were traveling with another rig, there isn't enough room on the pad to face your doors at each other (like we usually do). If you wanted to put out your awnings you would have to be back to back. Then set up your shared tables at the end. Kind of funky in my opinion. This must be a popular spot though as many of the sites were reserved. We were able to get satellite but only because we were a single in a double with lots of room to maneuver into a position where there was a break in the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$21
Nice park situated where the emmigrants crossed the Snake River on their journey to Oregon City. Also the site of an Oregon Trail Interpretive Center which is well worth visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
Generally a nice park. It is about 2 miles off I-84 and requires winding through town to get to the park. Once there site access is easy. Nice selection of sites but with little visual separation between sites. Seasonally the gnats that come off the nearby Snake River in the evening are a real pain..screens won't stop them! There is a nearby winery and golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
This was a very nice park. Campground is divided into two areas. One overlooks river, the other does not. Both have plenty of well maintained grass. Sites are large, gravel pull-thrus & back-ins. 30Amp electrical service. Roads are blacktop. Park was very clean & quiet. Many mature trees give nice shade but can make satellite reception a challenge(I got it). Big rigs can navigate this park with only a few low limbs to avoid. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com