219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Shepard State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (228) 497-2244
CGID9658

Shepard State Park

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   5   5   7   5   4   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
This park appears to be managed by the city but owned by the state? It's cheap and in the city of Gautier. We stayed here to go to the casinos but it's a pretty good distance from them, at least 15 miles. It's cheap but I've found better places to stay closer to Biloxi but wouldn't have a problem staying here again if just passing through for the night. Restrooms were air conditioned and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
A beautiful park with a huge dog pen. Miles of trails to hike, but some of the wooden walkways along the trails need work. Electric and water at the sites, which are fairly level. The dump station is easy to use and accessible on the way out. The park is close to town but quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
We have camped here several times a year for the last three years. We enjoy fishing in the area. This state park has been turned over to the city of Gautier to run and it is in bad need of maintenance. The shower floors in the men's side of the bathhouse are cracked and broken. They are clean, but leaking. The whole building will be damaged because of the water seeping through out. We will likely find some where else to camp on our next trip to the Coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This is an old and tired park. The area itself is covered with unmarked trails, so without some sort of navigation, it is difficult to hike. The sites are okay, but many are not level. The "Dump Station" was overflowing with you know what. I've never seen such a sight in over a hundred parks. It's cheap. That's the only positive. It's owned by the state and run by the City of Gautier, according to the manager. It could use a good overhaul. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This is a nice, quiet park that just needs a little to boost its score a couple of points. Sites are private but many seem to have trails leading into them. The sites could use some grading and new gravel; I had a bit of trouble leveling. The dump station could use a cement slab in front of it. It, however, is peaceful, and the sites are private of each other. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
A pretty park,in need of some TLC. Good place to stay for a few nights while visiting the Mississippi Sandhill Crane NWR. Be prepared for a few "semi-permanent" residents in rigs and tents that might raise an eyebrow. Nice biking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$17
Great park for a short term. Lots of spaces between sites, and lots of trees. Internal roads were gravel and not level. Corners somewhat tight for our Motor Home. It was beautifully peaceful there, in a rustic kind of a way. There is just not much to really do other than walk around. If you are looking to be by yourself in nature, this is the park for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
We enjoyed camping at this park. Plenty of buffer between sites for privacy. Sites were level. Bathrooms were clean and showers had good water pressure and hot water. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
We enjoyed camping here. The sites are well spaced and offer more privacy than most parks. This park is a good location to camp and fish the Pascagoula River and Gulf. At the time we were there, the park's boat launch was closed due to work down stream. We used a nearby Gautier city park launch site. There was a public pier at the city park from which you can fish or catch crabs. Even though there is limited fishing access in the park, there are many public piers for fishing in the area. We will be back in August to try the fishing again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
Great rustic state park at a very reasonable price. Some pull-through sites are available for big rigs. Peaceful and clean, no road noise and subdued lighting. Only negative was the bath house ran out of hot water one day. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
This is the kind of state park we really like, even as big rig motor homers. The roads are kind of old but smooth. The restrooms are relatively new and were spotless. The park is very quiet and scenic. It is close to Pascagoula and its sights. Nice stopover right off US 90. We would definitely stay here again, but check for reservations because it is small and popular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We really liked this park. We prefer the more rustic "primitive camping in an RV", and we got that here. Not a lot of extra amenities, but we enjoyed it. The rangers were very nice and informative, and the nature-viewing was great. It was very private and quiet, inexpensive and convenient. We are going back soon! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
It was what I was expecting in a state park. Gravel roads and sites. Fairly level. Lots of space between sites. Electricity and water in each site. It was very quiet while we were there. However, we will not be returning for 2 reasons. 1. The bugs. We literally were not able to sit outside because of gnat like critters biting us. Spraying OFF made no noticable difference. 2. We arrived on Thursday and the bathhouse was not cleaned or restocked until we finally caught someone in the office Saturday morning and complained. It was cleaned and refilled by that afternoon. If it had not been for the insects, we probably would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$13
This is a fairly small park that had lots of room in January. We came without reservations. The campsites a fairly large, fairly level, very quiet, and shaded. The road to and through the campsite is gravel and the pads are gravel. There is one heated bathroom and shower facility. The road through the contact station is narrow with a tight curve but we had no problem getting through there in our 31' Class C pulling a toad. I used my bike a bit riding in the neighborhood and then over near Ocean Springs. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Our nightly rate was the senior discount. Apparently they have a $291 monthly rate because a neighbor was there for a month. We would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com