206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Rio Grande Village Campground--No Hookups (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (432) 477-1121
CGID9697

Rio Grande Village Campground--No Hookups (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   6   9   8   8   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$7
No hookups but a section of the campground does allow generator use from 8am - 8pm. Sites are large and most have some shade for part of the day. Very windy and dusty. Wind storm came through one night and dust stayed in air for 3 days. Plenty of trails to explore in park but most are located away from this section of park. Campground is right next to Rio Grande River. Some illegal entry apparent - trails around campground have Mexican crafts available with 'donation'. I encountered some crossing river to check on their 'donations' but did not feel threatened by them. Pay showers available at the store - $1.50 for 5 minutes and laundry available at the store as well. Other campgrounds in park do not have showers available. Despite what some might feel are inconveniences, Big Bend is a must see Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$7
$7 per night was for a primitive site at the Rio Grande Village campground using the Golden Age Passport. Dirt/gravel sites are mostly level. Each site has a picnic table and BBQ grill but no wood fires are allowed - ever. Heavy vegetation surrounds the campground and there are spectacular views throughout the 800,000 acre NP. If it’s a clear night, the sky is brilliant with stars. It’s over 60 miles to the nearest town so stock up on supplies before arriving. There are a couple of camp stores if you’re stuck for something. They have a surprising selection, and gasoline/diesel is available but prices are, of course, higher. If you like hiking there are many miles of trails within the park. Biking is allowed on the many roads that allow vehicles. Spacing between the sites is very generous. There is no cell phone reception at all. Good Wi-Fi is available at the camp store. No OTA TV. There is an open-for-about-a-year border crossing into Boquillas, MX which takes you to the town where there are about 150 inhabitants. All the information you’ll need for a visit can be obtained at the camp store or visitor center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
This is an oasis in the desert. Lots of nice shade trees and grassy areas. Generators are allowed from 8am - 8pm, except in generator free zone at the far end of the campground. The alternative RV park with hookups is literally a paved parking lot with tightly packed spaces and 90 degree back in spots. Dump station is nice but was a challenge for a 43' RV. . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$7.0
If you don't mind not having utilities. phones, and wireless, this is a great campground..very pretty, lots of trees and very clean. There is a dump station and water available, just not at the individual sites. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$7
There are over 100 sites some with shade and others like ours # 6 without. It was so hot the first day (high 90’s) that we were thinking of moving but it was a Saturday night and there were not too many options since the campground was almost full. Around 2 am winds came over 57 miles per hour and finally stopped in early morning and the temperature drop down to 73 so we didn’t move. The bath house was clean and the hosts work so hard meeting everyone that comes in and helping them get settled. You can see the Boquillas Canyon in the distance and walking the nature trail the Rio Grande and Mexico. There is a store and visitor center just down the road where there is also a campground with hookups but that is a private park. Big Bend National Park has so much to do and a huge area to cover. There are other campgrounds in the park so if you are planning to come here make sure you visit the NPS website to get all the information that you need. We used our America the Beautiful Pass so it costs us $7.00 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
This is a nice NPS campground with shade spots available. Paved roads and gravel sites. No phone, no wi-fi available in camp, but you can go over to the store and use the one there. Some of the roads are encroached on by trees, so you have to watch out when you drive around. This is the only spot in the park that a rig 36' and longer will fit that has generator hours. There's a dump station, and water is available around the park. Make reservations if you're going down in March/April. Also note that there are sites in this campground that do not allow generator use, so be sure and check before you book the site. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
Nothing bad to say. Nice park, large spaces, lots of activities, nature, hiking, helpful staff everywhere. Even the limited services could not deter us. Nature, hikes, views are more than enough to overcome the lack of in park services that we have come to expect. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$7
The $7/night rate reflects our Senior Pass, regular rate is $14 still a good deal. This is a very nice National Park camp, plain and simple with a killer location so we stayed an extra day. There is a sewer dump station and water fill if needed. The camp host was very helpful and friendly. By restricting generator use and where you can use them kept the noise down. The dark skies made for great star gazing. Sites are large and not close together. Would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$7
It's a long haul to get to this campground right along the Rio Grande. About half the sites are first come, first served and the rest are reservable. The rate shown reflects a 50% discount for the senior pass. Bath houses were clean and there is a place in each one to wash dishes. All sites are dry camping with no hookups. The trees were starting to leaf out so we had some shade during the day. Liberal allowable generator hours were 8 am to 8 pm; a small portion of the campground is clearly marked No Generators. During our week-long stay in the high season, there were always sites available. Some sites on corners were pull through and the rest back-ins. Some people had cell service, but our Verizon data card got nothing, nor did the Tracfone work. Nor TV, nor radio. Visiting other parts of the park entails 20-50 miles of driving one way, but gas and other groceries (along with wi-fi) is available at the store in the village. We found this campground very quiet and relaxing and we'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
We thought this was one of our nation’s best National Park camping experiences. At first we were a little confused as to what sites were available and the reservation website was not very helpful. The season for Big Bend is the winter, so reservations can be made through April. However, in driving through the campground, we observed about only about 1/3 to 1/2 of the sites were available for reservation. We were here in mid February, which is close to high season. The campground was only half full. The bottom line, do not bother with reservations. The campground has low branches from lovely old trees and it is best to physically be able to see a site rather than trying to pick your site out from a map on the internet. There are actually 4 campgrounds at Big Bend. Two are not suitable for RVs larger than 20 to 25 feet. At the Rio Grande Village is another private vendor campground which has full hook ups. The RVs are side by side with little room for slide outs. However, if we were going to Big Bend in the summer, I would prefer to have these private sites and run AC. These sites were $33 per night when we visited. Since we were at Big Bend in February, we preferred camping in the spacious National Park sites at Rio Grande Village. The winter nights were pleasant and we ran our propane heat for just one cycle in the morning. There is a large generator free zone in the NP campground. Every spot has a storage locker and picnic table. The National Park campground has no water, sewer or electric hook up. The showers are located nearby as are laundry facilities and a small store. Big Bend has the darkest sky in the lower 48 & hundreds of stars are visible from the campground. The coyotes howl in the evening and one evening we scared several javelina as we walked back from sunset pictures. Every morning several road runners made their rounds. At this time Big Bend has not had any rain in 18 months so wood fires were prohibited. Big Bend is a huge, isolated park so you must be prepared to drive long distances. We gassed up in Alpine Texas before entering from the North. There is a gas available in the park for about 50 cent/gallon higher than in Alpine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$7
This was a very nice "boondock" park. We spent two nights in pull through site 75, which was adjacent to the camp host's site. Before we arrived, we were concerned about border security, since the Rio Grande flows adjacent to the park. However, our concerns were put aside after discussion with the camp host. Overall, the park is well maintained. The daytime high reached about 85-90F, but cooled off to less than 50F at night. Our Honda 2000 generator served us just fine. Several roadrunners visited our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We have stayed here over 20 times over the years. Sites are large and spaced far apart. There are no hook-ups, which is normal in a national park. They were flooding the areas for irrigation and several water birds found the place. Very unusual for the middle of the desert. We have solar panels on our trailer and they allowed us to run some of our electrical equipment without being in the full hook-up area. Rate reflects the Senior Discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$6
This is a wonderful RV park in Big Bend National Park. The sites are well-spaced apart, with a quiet hour of no generators from 8:00 pm to 8:00 am insuring a quiet evening (although a hot one if air conditioning is needed). A short drive of less than a quarter of a mile takes you to the showers, laundry and Wi-Fi access. It is best to be prepared with a bucket to carry dishwater to the appropriate site at the restrooms,which are reasonably close to all RV sites. A couple of cautions: Be sure you do not set up in the "No Generator" area if you wish to use your generator. Also if you have a large RV (our's is 40 foot.) Carefully scout the roads, before you choose your site, as some of the turns are too sharp for a long wheelbase. You can get where you wish, but it may take a little planning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This is a nice National Park campground with no frills. If you are a willing to dry camp than this is very nice. There are clean restrooms but no showers. Potable water faucets are situated every few sites and so are pretty convenient to where ever you are. There are some sites with great shade, some with OK shade, and some with little, if any shade. I saw Class A's as big as 35 foot in the sites and there is an outer loop where you can situate bigger rigs. There is also a No Generator area if you don't want to listen to the hum. Saw campers from tents to pop-ups to pull-behinds to 5th wheels to coaches. The biggest issue with camping here is the climate. By early May, when we were here, daytime temps got up as high as 106! Best time to visit is in November. Early April would probably be good also. There is a store about .5 mile away with usual merchandise, including beer and ice cream, gas, and propane. Also, pay phones and free WiFi, which is good because there is no cellular coverage at this campground. IMO, this is a much better place to be than the Rio Grande RV Park, which is an asphalt parking lot with hookups. I guess it depends on what you like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
It is a very nice area and pretty well maintained. Gotta check out the hot springs! It is worth the 20 mile trip from the headquarters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
First of all let me say that it's our opinion that the time and extra miles it took to get to Big Bend was not worth it. That said, the campground was nice, clean and very beautiful. A picnic table at each site. No frills but grassy and quiet. The sites with hookups are not nearly as nice as the section without hookups. Generators allowed only until 8 pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This campground is quite lovely. There's a no generator area, but the generator-allowed area wasn't all that noisy. The rest rooms have 2 toilets and two cold-water sinks, and there's another sink for dish washing. There's a potable water hose for tank fill ups and a dump station. A store with camping supplies and food is a short walk or drive away. There are picnic tables and grills at each site and it's well-shaded. Some of the area can be swampy when they irrigate the grass. Watch for vermilion flycatchers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$8
This park is on Rio Grande river, not at the store 1/4 mile to the west. You park under cotton wood trees. Park has two zones, one zone you can run generators about 60 sites and the other you can not run generators about 40 sites. Sites have a table, steel box to lock up food, and a fire ring. Number of sites are open and sat. TV would work, others under trees would be hard use sat TV. You can walk down to river in couple mins. Sites were level and wide with lots of space around each site. You can find water taps around park to full your tank. Park store 1/4 mile west has a lot of items and showers as well. Best to pack in your supplies before you come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
We camped here for five nights in March. Campgrounds in national parks provide different experiences than private RV parks and state parks, so keep that in mind when visiting BBNP. Most people go to Big Bend for the hiking/birding/scenery not for the campsites. There are five RV camping areas. Rio Grande Village has no hook-ups and no generators among the trees. RGV has no hook-ups with generators among the trees. RGV has full hook-ups in a parking lot. Cottonwood has no hook-ups. And Chisos Basin no hook-ups. Follow the park’s strong suggestions about rig size before you choose a camping area. We camped in the no genny zone of RGV for two nights until technical difficulties forced us over to the full hook-up section. Both were good. The “parking lot” is not pretty, but all sites have a grassy area suitable for social hours. Washrooms were in good condition. The main attraction of BBNP is the scenery, so the beauty of a campsite was not important to us. The park has fabulous scenery, and the long drives to hiking spots are well worth it. During our short stay we enjoyed a full-day canoe trip on the Rio Grande and several hikes. The bird walks are super and suitable for all levels of birders. Try Chisos Mountain Lodge for dinner followed by a sunset view through a natural rock formation called “The Window.” We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$7
Review is for the 100 site park run by the National Park Service. The 10 rating is for a park with no hookups of any type. It just doesn't get much better than this, incredible views everywhere you look. Hiking trails all over. We had been able to reserve 3 nights in the reserve generators allowed area. First morning there we jumped into the no reservation area when someone pulled out. Spent 9 nights total. Big Bend is big and you need at least 3 days to even get a taste of it. A week is better. The sites are well spaced in the no hookup park, plenty of room all around our rig. People either love it or don't. For some, no phone, TV, hook ups, etc. is not for them. For us this was an incredible experience not to be missed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$6
There are two campgrounds next to each other. The one with hookups is called Rio Grande Village RV Park and is run by a concessionier. It seems that people are submitting their reviews under the incorrect name. This review is for the Rio Grande Village Campground. We have a 40' motorhome with solar panels and prefer "rustic" camping. We spent 10 days here. This is a wonderful place. It's very scenic and the sites are well spaced. We used our Golden Age Passport for the reduced rate. The RV Park is a parking lot and not for us. We have stayed here four times and plan to do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$7
This rating is on the 100 sites at the Rio Grande Village Campground, not the 25 sites at the Rio Grande Village RV Park. This park is not a bad place to spent some time. Roads are blacktop with gravel sites. Lots of cottonwood trees to park under. About 60% of park is for non-generator use. You pick any open site you like and go to post and pay. The $7 rate was on Golden Age. Pay showers at store. Water in park plus dump station. No cell phone, radio, or TV stations here. XM and Sat. TV worked well. Mexico and Rio Grande river 285 feet away per GPS. On the 25 full hookup sites, very small parking lot, this would hard to move a large unit in place. Store had gas plus good stock of items to pick from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$21
There are two different campgrounds at this location in the park. One, with over 100 sites, if for tents, trailers, and motor homes, and is run for the Park Service by volunteers. The other campground, with 24 sites, and the one we eventually stayed in, is privately run by a concessionaire. They do not take reservations for the full-hookup, privately run sites. We arrived at the park around 5 pm, went inside the small store located just east of the full-hookup campsite, and were told all the spaces were taken for the night. The attendant took our name and we were number 8 on the list for possible openings the next day. He told us to come back to the store at 11 am the next morning to see if a site was available. We asked him why he did not know already, and he replied that people can choose to stay longer, even if they have only signed up for a certain range of dates, as long as they do not stay for more than 2 weeks. For that first night, he told us to proceed to the park service campsite and we could stay there. That turned out to be quite an adventure, since the park service originally built their campground for tents. The roads are narrow, gravel, with sharp turns, and lots of trees with low branches. I ended up knocking my right rear-view mirror out of alignment on a branch. There were two volunteers managing the park service site. One of them told us that the campground is divided into reservable sites and "open" sites (first come, first served). The sites are also divided into generator allowed and no generator sections. A bit confusing. The manager told us where some open campsites might be (someone else could have already staked a claim on them), but they would just be available for one night because they were in the "reservable" section. We should have unhooked our toad first, but we went ahead in search of an available site with our Jeep in tow. We found one, but had to pull in instead of backing in because of lack of maneuvering room. The site was not very level, and I had to use supports under the jacks. The next morning, it was quite a site watching all of the 40 ft. plus motorhomes and trailers trying to get out of the campground, followed by people roaming around looking for a better site than the one they stayed in the previous night. At the designated hour, we returned to the store and were told a full-hookup site was available, and we moved the coach. The full-hookup campsite is basically a converted asphalt parking lot, with tight maneuvering and tight spaces, but we were able to back in without too much difficulty. Our rear wheels were butted up flush with the curb of the parking lot, and our jacks went down onto the dirt just behind the curb. For those of you who have satellite dishes, the view of the sky from sites on the south side of the "parking lot" may be blocked by tall cottonwood trees. If you have a choice, pick the north side. I think I will try staying in the Study Butte / Terlingua area next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$14
If you are confused reading the earlier reviews about this campground it is because there are two campgrounds with almost identical names at Big Bend. Rio Grande Village Campground is run by the park service and has no hook-ups. It is a traditional National Park campground. Rio Grande Village RV is run by a concessionaire and has full hook-ups and costs more ($21). I am reviewing the park service campground, which in my opinion is much nicer than the concessionaire campground. We had a site with nice big cottonwood trees around it to give us a bit of shade although in February this wasn't as critical as it would be later in the year. If you are camping in a tent heed the warnings about the javelinas and keep all food locked in the park-provided lockers that are at every campsite. Good advice for everyone actually. There are two areas in the campground and you are only allowed to use generators in one of them so take that into consideratin when picking out a site. There is a very pretty nature trail that starts just opposite campsite 18 and goes through a wetlands area and then up to a bluff for outstanding views of the Rio Grande River and the Mexican village of Boquillas on the opposite shore. We spent three days at Big Bend and wished we could have stayed longer. It is a beautiful park with varied scenery and plenty of birds and animals to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$10
This is the no showers, no hook-ups campground run by the park service. They have a no-generator area if you prefer. The campground was very busy when we visited in March-05, the park service now takes reservations for some of the sites while others are still first-come first-serve. We loved Big Bend, stayed four nights and wish we had stayed a full week. We did not miss the hook-ups but did opt for a generator site. We have a 30 ft class A, and our site was roomy, level and had some shade. The views were also very nice but some other sites were not as level and not as large. There is a small store nearby (near the paved RV park with hook-ups) with heavily used pay showers, ice, gas, souvenirs and other basics. The dump was well situated and easy to use. We plan to stay here again some time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com