214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Shadow Ridge RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (520) 387-5055
CGID97

Shadow Ridge RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   3   7   7   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$24
This is an older park and the lower sites are quite narrow, but fine if you have no slides or a smaller RV. There were a few older motorhomes without slides and some Pleasureway type units in these sites. There are nice wide sites on the upper levels. It's not a fancy park and there are limited park activities, but this is Ajo. The laundry is cheap ($1.25 wash and .50 dry) and the laundry and washrooms are clean. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Quite a few Canadians. We saw one small site with a tent and van. Some younger couples, so it's not 55+. Wi-Fi is excellent and there is cable TV for those of us without satellite. We would stay here again. We found it very friendly and convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
Very rude person yelling profanities at one of the campers in our group. The person in our group just stopped to unhook. This guy who I think was the owner comes out screaming get that f#$%^&& out of the way. He was about 250 lbs and big 45 years old, screaming at a mild 81 year old. I would not stay here again if I was paid to do so. We stayed in the front row. My 50 amp service was a 30 amp. WiFi was almost totally non working. Spaces in the upper half of the park very unlevel. The staff besides the owner were fine. However, he was way way way out of line. If we had another RV park to stay in in the area we would have left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Sites are separated by oleander, have a picnic table, and concrete patio which are nice. The camp host and manager were extremely friendly & helpful in giving information about the area and Mexico. The cable worked well. My Sprint cell was roaming and my Verizon card worked well. The park Wi-Fi was extremely slow most of the time, then at other times it worked okay. No dog walk to speak of or other frills such as a pool. The park was quiet at night. I would return to this park if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$12
There are lots of 'rules' at this park, which seemed to go along with the attitude we perceived during our stay. This park felt more crowded than ones we have stayed at previously or since. No room to move or sit outside and the spots were reach out and touch your neighbor - kind of tight. People coming and going in their rigs past us were too close for comfort on the 'roads' through the park. The free Wi-Fi did not function when we were there. When we mentioned it on checking out the response was, "Oh well, at least you didn't have to pay full price (we had the Passport America discount). The washrooms were quite nice and very clean. The flowers were in bloom and the grounds were well kept. You can get outside the park through gates (with your washroom key) to walk to a store or up a trail so that part was nice, but we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$23
Nice Park. We have stayed many times, dog friendly with plenty of room to walk. Restrooms are clean. Staff is friendly. Played golf. Had a good time, will not eat at 100 Estrella Restaurant again. Terrible food and horrible service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Large, quiet park, fair interior roads. Our back in wasn't level, took 3 blocks. Friendly, helpful office staff. Our site only had 30 amps. Nice park to visit Organ Pipe. We would return. Price is Passport America for one day and discount for 2 additional. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$10
Rate shown based on monthly rate divided by 30. Fair paved park roads. My site a gravel pull-through with concrete patio and table. Privacy screen of oleander and ficus trees between many sites. Most sites are unlevel due to slope of campground. Cable TV has 24 channels with no PBS. Wi-Fi bandwidth limits use to e-mail as Skype phone hit or miss. Clubhouse phone now working again. Friendly hosts who are always helpful. I have been returning here for years now and would not hesitate to recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
The wi-fi is very spotty. I think that is true all over town. The park is clean and the staff friendly. There is a nice clubhouse with pool tables, a book exchange and kitchen. They have good horseshore pits and shuffel board courts. There is a short trail in the desert adjoining the property. They are building several park model homes. The sites are close and there is no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
Passport America rate. This is the quietest RV Park we have been in in a very long time: one would think there was no one else here! Our site was in the back row at the top of the hill. No highway noise, no railroad! A number of permanent sites, all fairly new and in good shape. Roads we a bit tight for a 37' fifth wheel and a HDT: 60' overall, but doable. Had to park the truck in an adjacent site. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice park, will stop here again when in the area. Stayed two nights and spent the day at Organ Pie National Monument. Probably the best hamburger I ever had at 100 Estrella Restaurant in Ajo. Be sure to check it out! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
Check in was a little slow (had to wait 35 minutes) due to the office being closed while the registration lady went to the bank. The sites are rather small and close together. Site #2 (ours) went one direction and site #1 went the other, so we had our slideouts within 18" of each other. The site was fairly level but the concrete pad was toward the rear of the site. Our Verizon wireless card worked well. This is a good place to stay for a few days but not a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
Rate shown Passport America for second night on. First night is $12. Regular rate $24. Site gravel with concrete patio and some trees and shrubs for privacy. Wi-Fi much improved since last visit. Now able to use Skype phone on it. Cable TV has less channels than before, but still has 26 channels. The laundry still one of the better ones; clean and washers are $1.25 and dryers $.50 for 30 minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
This is a nice, well-manicured park. Spaces are just a little too close for our taste. Most sites have oleander or small trees to create privacy. We stayed in pull-through site 18A. Nothing separated us from site 18; however, it was not occupied so that was not a problem for us. Each site has a small picnic table. Some loops were paved and others were hard, compact dirt. Our site and others we saw were gravel and level. There were several park models and permanent rigs, which had a decent, well-maintained appearance. This park is in town. You can walk to the town plaza, several restaurants and convenience stores. The clubhouse has books and videos. The bathrooms and showers were in a building with arches that resembled the architecture of Ajo’s town plaza. Everyone we met from the check in person to the maintenance man, to the other guests were all very friendly. If we had to stay overnight in Ajo again, we would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$24
Excellent RV park. Some greenery, nice bathrooms & showers. Good laundry. Next door to gas station offering Mexican auto/RV insurance. Many campers here are going to or just returning from Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point). Cable TV works well but has modest selection of channels - no PBS! Great campground hosts and check in folks. Very reasonable weekly & monthly rates - our rate is for overnight stay with Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
It is an excellent campground in southwestern AZ. There are friendly and helpful staff. It has good amenities and is located in town close to a historic square. We stayed several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
A nice campground for a short stop. There is a friendly and helpful lady at check-in. A market and little town square are nearby. Verizon cell and aircard on Extended Network. We stopped here on the way to Puerto Penasco. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$24
A pleasant little park with a friendly welcome. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Landscaping was attractive. Hookups worked well. We felt very safe here and would return again. Cable TV no longer worked since the digital switch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
Resort Owners are very friendly and sites are mostly pull through sites. WI-FI and cable is good. Washroom and showers are clean and weekly events are held in recreation room. Resort is situated in the center of town and you can walk or cycle to most places such as restaurants and stores. Desert roads nearby where you can explore the Sonoran Desert. Could use more activities if you expect to stay a month or longer. Ajo is in a remote part of Arizona and some services are limited We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$10
Rate is monthly rate divided by 30. We have been visiting this park for several years and no big changes. Sites are gravel with a concrete pad. Oleander bushes and a few trees are used as privacy hedges. The water taps have their own pressure regulators which read just over 60 pounds pressure on my gauge. Wi-Fi is still through a satellite internet service provider, so limited to email, website access and no downloading or Skype phone use allowed. Clubhouse used by card players several times a week. There is a library where one can exchange paperback books. Pool tables and some exercise equipment are available. Outside there is shuffleboard and horseshoes. A desert garden with trails is on park property. Two pet donkeys next to the garden are always looking for handouts. Ask at the office what they can eat. There is one improvement. No early morning garbage pickup anymore! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
This was a nice park with a helpful staff. The sites were a bit small but did fit our 31 foot motorhome with one slide. Don't know if really large rigs would fit. Site was not quite level but was adequate for our two night stay. The town of Ajo is small and modest but has a certain charm. Close to Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument which is a nice take in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$11
Rate reflects monthly rate of $300 plus electricity. Park has 2 laundries which are very clean. Office staff are friendly and helpful. Clubhouse has an outside phone which can be used to call toll free or local numbers (no charge). We have been coming here past three years and are generally happy with this park. One "fly in the ointment" is the local garbage pickup being done at 5 or 6am. Not a great wakeup call! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Very clean, well-maintained campground. We were there in 100+ degrees heat. The primary amenity missing was a pool, which sure would have been appreciated. One would think that a campground in this southern Arizona location would have one. The sites were gravel and spacious enough for our 32' 5th wheel & long bed truck. Nice shrubs. Friendly host. Very clean restrooms and showers. Campground is within walking distance to the small, historic downtown. However, in June the few businesses there are closed. Rate was with Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Well kept park with mostly gravel, level sites. Some seem to have concrete pads for a patio area. There are shrubs, but no grass or shade trees. The pull-through sites still take a bit of maneuvering to get aligned, and there is not room to leave a toad connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$24
Good location in Ajo with most town facilities within walking distance. Some of the sites in the back are not level, but ours in front was okay. The park has graveled many of the sites which keeps the dust down. A few sites have small shade trees. Shrubs are used as dividers between many sites. Clean laundry rooms. Cable TV had a program guide channel which helps. WIFI connected to a satellite internet provider which usually worked okay except in the evening when too many campers on the web would slow down the connection. Most nights there were cards or pool in the clubhouse. We were there for a month and expect to go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice, pleasant, clean, attractive. Large sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com