206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Walnut Grove Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (207) 324-1207
CGID9739

Walnut Grove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
121
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   9   9   9   9   8   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Located in the foothills of the White Mountains, this campground is nestled between an apple orchard on a New England back road, with easy access to the Maine coast and the New Hampshire seacoast. The sites are kept immaculate. The owner goes into great detail of maintaining the park pristine clean. I did not think that this camp was suitable for children under the age of 13, as the playground has archaic playground equipment, rusty swings, rusty slides, etc. Most of the people staying there are seasonal and are very hard to warm up to. The owner and his wife seem to like just the seasonal people and complain when Massachusetts and Connecticut people come up to stay. There is a lot of noise drinking and partying--kind of a swingers atmosphere at night not suitable for children. There is a lot of shooting of weapons in the woods surrounding the campground at night, making it feel very unnerving. Although they offer Wi-Fi it does not reach basically outside of the confines of the main office building. Hardly any of the sites can pick up the Wi-Fi and It's far from being cheap. ATV paths in the woods are excellent. This is one of the best campgrounds you can stay at if you were in an ATV pilot. There are very little or no activities for any of the families or kids. The pool is closed every night at 7 PM sharp. One night a drunk fellow wandered into my RV by mistake and it's just a little unnerving and for a family. Campground it's not what I would be looking for with young children unless you want to spend the day in the woods on an ATV. A very unwelcoming unfriendly attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice neat entry and store, with large paved front area, with dirt/gravel roads in campground per se. Sites grassy and well mowed. Mostly permanent long stay trailers with fewer over night short stay sites open. Friendly staff lady. The bathhouses however, do need a good cleaning, and new floor painting. Do need to pay a dime in the men's for 2 minute shower and 25 cents for 2 minutes in women's. A real pain: to not quite finish a 2 minute shower, and run out of time and coins. Shower should be included in campground fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Back again after 2 years. Great place to bring the grandchildren. Lots of open space, quiet and off the beaten track. Not "touristy" or tacky. A nice family CG with pool and fairly well equipped store/snack bar. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Park staff was very friendly. Camp was clean and arranged so wood sites were really wood sites, trees around the site. One could truly relax without the crowds and fast pace of the world. Truly a gem in Southern Maine We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
This is a gem of a park, off the beaten part, yet close enough to major highways to get you anywhere you need to go. The owners of the park are 100% top notch, extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of space for activities, one area is so large you could play football, or throw frisbees and never bother another camper. The spots are gravel and most seem level. A lot of seasonal units but they are clean and kept up, plus the seasonal people are friendly. The bathrooms are dated, but clean. Good Satellite coverage and you can have a shade spot or an open spot. This would be a 10 park for us, but I rated it a nine because of the WiFi, good signal and fast, but when you need to download large files, it is restricted. With today's needs for working online and transferring files, this was a big headache, but if you just want to surf the net or do e-mail, it is great for that. Maybe if they offered an unrestricted log in for some with an added cost, that would fix everything and then it is a 10 park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We had a wonderful stay at this park, people and management friendly and helpful. Huge pull through site with good TV and Wi-Fi reception. Good 50 amp service. We would go here again and again. Suggest reservations because pull-throughs are limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Pretty rural cg, spacious sites, nice-looking pool. Good cable TV and WiFi. Nice ATV trails in back. Would've been a 10 if our site had been level (was one of the most unlevel ones we've had, couldn't get leveled even with blocks on one side), if price had been a bit lower, and if clothes dryer had done the job (took two runs @ $1.50 to get things dry; I did mention this to cg owner, hopefully that will get fixed). We were here mid-week so things were calm and quiet, not sure what weekends might be like. With ATVs (even though trails located in the back), might get a little noisy? Lots of seasonals but most nice-looking enough. Off the beaten path, but we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
We stayed here for the Labor Day weekend 2009. What a gem of a campground! Absolutely wonderful. The owners were the nicest and most helpful camp owners we have met yet! The seasonal campers were also very friendly and helpful as well! Very clean campground and lots of activities for the kids. Great playground and super swimming pool! The whole experience was great. The campground has a real sense of community and you feel like you know everybody as soon as you arrive! We will definitely be back to this beautiful place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
A nice campground but rather expensive for being away from everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
Used this local park for first trip with grandchildren. Kid friendly. Large grassy play area with swings, slide. Pool is small by today's standards but well kept. We chose site in trees for extra shade. Quiet, clean, well managed CG. Will visit again. Lots of seasonal sites but a very nice crowd to mingle with. Some interior dirt roads need grading but with monsoon rains this year, it's to be expected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Walnut Grove Campground - Alfred, ME While meandering around in Maine last summer we ended up not having reservations for the 4th of July holiday. We had not considered staying at Walnut Grove because in the books they had no sewer hook-up listed. As a last resort we called to see if they had any sites available and were told they had a nice long pull-thru for the entire week we requested. Much to our surprise when we got there we found that they had just completed upgrading 38 sites to FHU with 50 amps to boot. It's an exceptionally well run Campground. Very clean everywhere with free daily news papers, free Wi-Fi and a nice heated pool. Bingo in the barn on the weekend. Alfred is the county seat for York county but there is not much going on there. Sanford is a short drive away and has all the goodies including a super Wal-Mart. Very quiet place to relax and shake the "road shakes". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com