221782 User submitted reviews online!!
Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (208) 865-2477
CGID975

Wagonhammer RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   9   9   10   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
First of all, best restrooms I have seen! Newly remodeled and clean as can be. Occasionally, there was an issue with the on-demand hot water system. Owners and camp hosts were very friendly and suggested things to do and places to eat in the area as area appears really remote at first blush. It is a very quiet campground in the evening, so great for sleeping. We had a tree in our spot which was great for shade. Spacious spots and well marked. WiFii is good. Cell service for Verizon is a little spotty but it is a mountainous area so to be expected. The office has a cute shop. Laundry is available from 9 AM - 6 PM. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This was one of the nicer parks I have visited. I am traveling with a dog so the the "Dog Island" was exceptionally enjoyed by my pet. I am not a fisherman but the opportunity is definitely right out your door as the Salmon River borders one side of the park. The Host's were very nice, offering small social events which everyone was invited. They also were helpful in making suggestions of places to see. Wifi was good most of the time. Verizon was spotty. Grounds were well kept. I will be staying here again when I visit this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
A Wonderful campground next to the Snake River. The owners were great and worked hard to make our stay very pleasant. Would come back here as much as we could. The Wi-Fi worked great right from our camper. Plenty of open space for even the largest of rigs. You cant go wrong staying here. The owner told us of a nice drive down the river which made the day for us. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We have stayed here many times and always enjoy it. Owners are warm, caring people who have a beautiful park. They have recently added a cellphone booster antenna, and we had Verizon service, although it was intermittent. Much better than no service for sure! We return each time we're in the area, and often extend our stay. Happy Hour is held in the main building and is always a fun way to meet your neighbors from all over the country. The facilities are always spotless, the gift shop to die for, and the park site on the Salmon River is quite lovely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Wow, nice park with very nice and clean showers, friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Used this park as an overnight stop. WiFi worked well the night we arrived (the next morning it was broken, at least the owners were immediately attending the problem and trying to fix it). Laundry facilities worked fine as well, and apart from some reckless neighbor who was loading/unloading his pickup for about an hour early in the morning at about 1:30 am, but who should have left by now, it was quiet during the night. Sites are all grassy, but rather level and spacious enough also for big rigs. Park offers Good Sam rates. Can recommend this place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Absolutely wonderful! If you like the wilderness and a slower pace of life, then visit Wagonhammer, a nicely laid out park on the banks of the Salmon River with 50 Amps throughout, full hookups in the middle and water/power on the river edge. WiFi is good with several towers, and there is tent camping available, too. The owners have set up bug attractors everywhere so there were very few bugs around. Be aware that there is no cell signal in North Fork. Salmon has great cell service and LTE when you go down shopping. Limited foodstuffs in North Fork, but they do have a gas station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
First, the good: I have to say that this is a beautiful area, and a prime piece of river front real estate for an RV park. The folks that own it and run it are great. There are outdoor recreational opportunities nearby to satisfy almost anyone's passion. The owners have a little gift shop on the premises, and they also sell a few staples, including beer, wine, and ice. The restrooms and showers are super clean, and there is a small laundry facility off the front lobby. My wife and I have been to this park several times, and until this last visit, have really enjoyed ourselves there. Now, the not so good. There are few factors could that make this park less than ideal for some. No cable TV is available, and there is no Verizon cell phone reception. WiFi is good, however. The river front sites have the prettiest view, but they only have water and electric hookups, no sewer. The pull throughs in the next row back do have full hookups, including sewer. There is a dump station on site, but they will charge you $10 to dump, even after you stay there. There is a free dump station up the road a few miles north and west, and there is another free one down in Challis, an hour or so south. The W&E sites are not terribly expensive, but it still adds a bit of irritation, inconvenience, and/or added expense. It will bother some, and not bother others. The sites are all grass, and they are mostly very well kept. There are some bare and rough spots here and there. You are not permitted to put out any type of porch mat, however, so when you are selecting a site and parking your rig, be sure to pick a site with good grass. It's not bad in good weather, but not so good in the rain. Ask me how I know this. Some sites are in the shade, but many others are in the sun. The hookups have what I would consider to be non-standard placement (depending on your rig), so be sure you have an extension cord and an extra water hose available. You might have to run the lines under your unit. Again, I speak from experience. Also, the sites are fairly close together. Not a big deal when the park is not full, but it may bother some as the vacant sites get filled. The park is laid out along the Salmon River, which runs roughly north/south in that area. The south end of the park is right on the river. Great view, but the restrooms & showers can be a bit of a hike if you are camped on that end. There is a foot bridge at the north end that crosses over to an island in the river. It is accessible by walking in between a couple of the W&E RV sites. This is a great area to let your dog off-leash and/or enjoy a "nature walk" if you wish. The owners keep it pretty well trimmed up for walking. Be advised, however, that the owners have allowed a large group of migrant workers to tent camp on the island for the summer. When we were there, we observed several full families living under plastic tarps on the island. The workers parked their vehicles at the entrance to the footbridge, in between W&E RV sites, and in close proximity to camper units. Each morning, a group of workers would get up, come over across the bridge, and get ready to go out to work. They would gather at the footbridge entrance, start their vehicles and let them warm up for 15-20 minutes. They would use our picnic table to change shoes and get dressed, talk loudly among themselves, and continually open and close vehicle doors. Finally, they would leave for the day by 7:30 or so. Then, they would come back in the evening. The latest time observed was 11:50 PM. Same routine as the morning, but in reverse, and with headlights on. Also, during the day, the laundry facilities and the restrooms were pretty busy. If we chose to have breakfast or dinner outside at the picnic table, we had to endure the activity and close proximity to strangers carrying on. When we ate at our dinette inside the trailer, we looked out to see several vehicles parked, and a half dozen blue tarp tents. The lack of privacy, the lack of courtesy, and the blocked views really turned us off. If you have a Class A Pusher in the full hookups area, no worries. If you have a W&E sight on the north end, you will definitely notice. Overall, I would rate this facility as a 7. It's better than a one night stand, but not quite an RV resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Rate includes Good Sam discount and no sewer. This is a very nice park directly on the Salmon River. We backed in to a nice site about 50' from the river. Riverfront sites have no sewer, but are more spacious and enjoy better views. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. No cell phone service, and no TV w/o satellite. Ten dollar dump fee charged but not unreasonable considering the low basic camping rate. North Fork is two miles north and has a very nice cafe/store/gas station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Very clean & quiet RV park. Has a bridge over the river to an island where the dogs can run off-leash. Saw deer, mountain sheep (or goats, don't know the difference) and eagle's nest. Very nice park with friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This is a campground RV park right along the river. The sites are pretty and the hosts are great. Sadly there were some really big forest fires in the area and we had to leave early the next morning because of the smoke. We would love to come back here and spend a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
If you are in the Salmon, North Fork area do no pass up this park. At least a quarter mile off the highway, lots of room to walk your dog. Great sites, some on the river. Wonderful owners who will go out of their way to do what ever they can for you. Very clean rest rooms and showers and a nice gift shop. A snack get together every Friday afternoon. Beautiful view of the Salmon river and mountains from all sites. We stayed two weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
The premium site is too narrow, with trees touching the slide outs. In order to use the hook ups, our rear levelers were off the pad and couldn't use them. No television! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Beautiful, the RV park is right on the Salmon River. Everything's very clean and with great attention to detail. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi. A campground for your well being! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This owner couple went out of their way to see to every need. Sent us to 100 acre ranch for dinner and it was the best home cooked meal we have had in a long time went back again. Went fishing with him in the river and we caught about 40. The horse back riding was the highlight. We saw plenty of wild life, if it were not for the smoke from the fire the view would have been awesome. The meteor shower on the 11th was outstanding. The park is very pet friendly and everyone picked up after their pets. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Very pleasant campground, owner and staff very friendly and personable. Well maintained and clean. Very fast 802.11n free Wi-Fi. Stayed 4 nights. Watched eagles roosting out front coach windows. Will definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
We love this campground and return year after year! Our rate reflects a weekly Good Sam rate for a waterfront site that has water and electric. We always choose to stay on the river, if spots are available. The sites are long and spacious and many have tree coverage. Other sites have limited tree coverage for those desiring satellite coverage. There is nothing better than waking up to the beauty of a river and mountains for a background. The bathrooms and laundry are spotless. The owners are delightful people and are full of information regarding the area. They willingly arrange dining, horseback, whitewater, and river cruise reservations. If you are looking for a peaceful campsite to relax and rejuvenate, this campground offers that and more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
The lofty ratings for this park baffle me. While it is not a bad park, it is nothing special either. There are no amenities here to speak of, the sites and roads are light dusty gravel and very close together, at least the pull throughs. We were so close that with our window blinds up we were looking right into our neighbors trailer next to us. The price was not supported by what the park had to offer. There are other parks nearby with larger sized sites for less money. I will go to one of the other parks our next time through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The sites close together with no privacy screening, basically parked in a grass lot. The Wifi is weak. There is no Cell service. If you need to use Camper phone in lounge, it is only available during their office hours of 9AM-7PM. I was refused use of phone at 7:10PM on the day we got in late. Laundry facilities also are available only when office is open. The owner is intrusive. For example, he turned the sprinklers on directed at our site, which soaked our table, tablecloth and chairs and making it impossible for us to sit outside. Because of his overbearing attitude, we left early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a very nice park. It is very well cared for, the lawns are cared for very well. The sites are either gravel if you are in a full hookup site or grass if you are in a water and electric site. I found the full hookup sites to be very close together and not conducive to eating out at the tables provided. The back in sites along the river are a good size and if I returned I would request one of these. The Wi-Fi was adequate and worked best early in the morning when most people were not on their computers. There is a walking path that is across a bridge on a small island near the sites. The physical beauty of the campground is what we liked best about it. There were many campers here who come to stay for several weeks and enjoy the local area. There is much to see around Salmon ID and North Fork ID so if you are in the area take advantage of it. The staff in the office was very friendly and helpful. The office has a gift shop of all sorts of items from jewelry to clothing. There were very limited RV supplies however there is a store in Salmon that sells a better selection of RV supplies if they are needed. All in all a very good park and one to which I would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
As far as we are concerned this is the perfect campground. A beautiful location right on the Salmon river. Dark, quiet nights where you can hear the river rushing by. A road is nearby but noise is not a factor. Large, wide, level sites with excellent utilities. WII-FI is available on-site. The bathrooms and showers are spotless. The campground owners and hosts are the friendliest group of people you are likely to meet. They go out of their way to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as it can possibly be. Almost any outdoor adventure is available - horseback riding, fishing, whitewater rafting. The Friday night potluck gatherings and nightly cocktail hour are lots of fun where we met many interesting travelers especially a fun-loving couple from Canada. The on-site store has some very unique items I've never found anywhere else. Our rate reflects a weekly Good Sam discount in a riverfront site. There is no sewer in the river sites but a dump is nearby. We most definitely will return here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We were intending to stay only 2 nights and we stayed 2 weeks. The team at Wagonhammer (and we met all of them) were friendly, yet very professional. They bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They all had lots of helpful advice as far as sights to see, restaurants to dine at and touring companies to contact for various activities such as whitewater rafting & horseback riding. They would even make the necessary phone calls to help you in your plans: above and beyond! They hosted coffee at 9 am and BYO cocktails at 5 pm which gave us a great opportunity to get to make some great friendships and share lots of experiences and lots of laughs. If you have the good fortune to travel along the Salmon River between Salmon and North Fork, don't miss Wagonhammer. Ladies will love the beautiful store/gift shop as they have tasteful jewelry, clothing, decorations, accent pieces and gift items. My wife certainly enjoyed it. There is a nice lounge area with a stone fireplace where I enjoyed a cup'o joe while surfing on the free Wi-Fi. If you aren't happy with Wagonhammer then you just plain: can't be pleased. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We extended our planned two week stay by another two weeks at Wagonhammer last year. Not only did we feel very welcomed, the owners and their co-hosts became our personal family concierge as we toured the area. They actually made white water raft trip as well as dinner reservations for our group. The setting at Wagonhammer is spectacular, the park is very well kept, and the restrooms and showers are spotless. We'll "Be-Back" (Wagonhammers term for return visitors) for the entire month of August this year, for our third stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We stayed for 30 days and really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the park. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They had evening happy hour and included everyone in the park. We will be going back next year and stay even longer. The sites were grass with pads and well groomed. The scenery is spectacular. The restrooms and showers were extra nice and very clean. Definitely one of the best parks we have visited in our years of camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Big disappointment! The lady that checked us in was rude, abrupt, and inefficient. (She couldn't run the credit card machine 3 times.) She looked down her nose at us for no reason. Park had grass and some trees. Some sites are on the river. All tables were fiberglass except ours was wood and sagging seat boards. Most people there were from Arizona and were friends of owners. They had a loud party one night and drove through park on golf carts hollering. (I despise loud drunks.) Our site was electric and water only for $25, and they charge you $10 to dump even if you stay there. The water was discolored yellow/beige and had a bad taste (river water??) We did not feel welcome or comfortable there and will NOT return next year. There are two RV parks at N. Fork which look nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We only stayed one night but it was a very nice RV park. Next to the river, a walking path and staff was helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a beautiful, quiet park with large, level gravel sites, surrounded by grass right on the Salmon River. Very clean park with friendly helpful owners. Good Wi-Fi, good satellite TV, and a phone in the office for customer use: locally or with phone card. No cell service here. Salmon, Idaho is about 20 miles away with a good grocery store and cell service. Beautiful area: we stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a beautiful spot. River view from the sites, but had to walk to another area where you could get to the river. No campfires allowed at the sites. The owner is very concerned about his areas of grass! This was very disappointing: a campfire is a big part of "camping" to us. There is a communal campfire spot down by the river, but none allowed while we were there and too far to carry stuff. A cafe and small store nearby. We probably won't stay here again because of the no campfires. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This is a beautiful RV park right on the Salmon River. There are a few negatives. Riverside sites, by law, cannot have sewer hookups, but there are other sites with full hookups just a few yards from the river. There is no cable, and you probably won't have cell service, but, that's not why you're here! So I give it a 10. Everything else is positive. You would be hard pressed to find nicer, more accommodating owners than these two. The park is immaculate, the spaces are large and level, and the hookups are convenient. The ambience is heavenly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
We only stayed here for l night and found it to be a very clean quiet place to stay. The one negative is the sites are very close together. We stayed in one of the pull through sites and the space was adequate. The management was very helpful. Friendly wildlife frequents the park. There is very minimal highway noise. We would stay again. The showers very clean but very slippery with marble rock floors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
This is without doubt the nicest park in this part of Idaho. We found it on the internet and you never know what you might "really" find when you get there but this place was beautiful. Nice level sites with full hookups in the pull throughs. The bathrooms are immaculate as is the the laundry center. Delightful gift shop with lots of out of the ordinary items to select from. WiFi was a problem when we first got here but Hughes sent someone out to repair it. Works great now! Park is next to the Salmon River. Deer walk through the park in the evenings as eagles and falcons fly overhead. Riverside spaces do not have sewer due to government regulations but they are pull-ins so you are facing the river when you park. We could not open our awning because of the trees but that was the only down side to our stay. No cell phone service here but they have a phone in the office where you can make free calls. Friendly owners and staff made our stay very pleasant. We stayed here for a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Nice peaceful campground on the Salmon River. Enjoyed our short stay as this was an overnight stop. Far enough off hwy 93 that the traffic isn't a distraction. Electrical was very good, water pressure was great and no problems with sewer hookup. Wifi signal was very very low but I was able to connect. No cellphone or Aircard signal (Verizon) here. Our dome satellite was able to pick up a signal, no interference with the trees. My only complaint is that the pull-thrus are too close together. Site was relatively level and we did have enough room to get our awning out. But the guy next to us was so close (we know he couldn't get his awning out)that he probably heard my husband snoring last night!! Ok as a overnight but wouldn't want to stay in a pull-thru. If we come back through this area next time we'll get a river site. They appear to be much roomier. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
I only wish this was closer to where I was heading or I had more time to spend. Can't say enough about the staff and campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Great little park on the Salmon river. No cell service, owners advised us of this when we made reservation, but a phone is provided in the office for use with a calling card. Beautiful, well laid out park, super friendly owners!! Would have stayed for weeks if the Montana fire smoke didn't run us out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
The best thing about this park is that there are sites with w&e right on the river. Our site was not very level and the hook-ups are on the wrong side for a fifth wheel. The sites with full hook-up are very close together. The WiFi was useless and there is no cell phone service. The park did not have a very neat appearance overall. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
This wonderful small park was our favorite in five months of traveling through the northwest. It is situated in a remote, quiet area among mature trees in a beautiful setting along the Salmon River. There are spectacular mountain views in all directions. Although it is just off the highway, it was very quiet because there was very little traffic. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The park is maintained very well. There is a wonderful gift shop on the premises. The free WiFi was the best we have encountered. The only thing lacking was Cable TV but that was a small inconvenience for the joy of staying in such a lovely park. We stayed for one week but are looking forward to returning for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
Our favorite commercial campground in a month of travel. We enjoyed a grassy site on the river. Restrooms are super clean and the lounge area was very friendly. The owners are trying very hard to make this a comfortable place, and they are succeeding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
A very well run smaller campsite. Many nice sites on the river. Did have some mosquito problem for awhile but the friendliness of everyone made up for it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$12
This has to be about our favorite RV park after 15 years of full timing. 2005 we stayed for 6 weeks, this year we stayed for a month. The park is quiet and roomy and sort of off the beaten path, just they way we like it. In one herd we counted 32 elk, many deer and the largest group of mt. sheep was 12. Yes there are some of the best restaurants anywhere close by; reservations a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Neat park right on the banks of the River. Owners are active in improving the quality of this old KOA. Many improvements have been made, and the scenery is fantastic. High speed internet available at the office, along with free coffee and snacks. No sewer hookups on the sites that back up to the river. Dump station is available. No TV service or cell phone service available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
Nice sites, but could get cramped during the high season...only 5 or 6 sites occupied when we were there. Smallish, very green and clean. Had to work a bit to level up trailer. Restroom/showers were undergoing a remodel, so could not check out. Nice Souvenir store. Management very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1999
$18
Small, private campground located in the rugged mountains of Idaho right on the Salmon river. We stayed there a week and will go back again. The other campers we visited with felt the same way. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com