214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Hargus RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (580) 323-1664
CGID9752

Hargus RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   4   7   7   3   6   5   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This is a OK park for a one night stay on a trip. Not much to this park. The water hookup leaked. If you wanted cable TV you had to get a box from the office and hook it up to your system. Women's bathroom/shower outside door would not lock. Good for overnight stay because of easy on and off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Easy access from I-40. Pay inside Manda Lou's clothing store in front of the park. Some areas of the park are nice with grass and trees. They are back ins and appear to be for long term folks. The area for the overnighters is not so great but OK for what it is. My area was littered but walking around I did not see that as a common issue. I neglected to ask for the Wi-Fi code so did not use it. Was able to use my Verizon "MiFi", which worked well. However I was not able to make outgoing calls on my Verizon phone. I was able to get calls in--curious thing. The spot was level and easy to get in and out. Utilities had easy access. $30 a night (Good Sam rate) seems excessive for a place that looks so shabby. That being said, it looks like they doing some work on the place so maybe they are upgrading. Still would avoid this place due to the nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Not a great place to stay although easy on and off I-40. Bad Wi-Fi, water hookups are a foot underground in a 12 inch pipe and you must be a contortionist to connect, dog poop everywhere, cable not working. Noticed othr campers were using the main cable manifold so I hooked up to that and reception was no better and still fuzzy. There are only 6 pull-throughs and all were booked so had to disconnect toad. (could have continued on but was very weary of continuing to fight the extreme wind any longer). Intake clerk was very nice. Did not use restrooms or showers. It was quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We only stayed here one night. Sites are gravel, and most have shade. As far as big rig friendly, I would say maybe, not yes or no. We had a 38 ft. motorhome with car on a dolly and we fit in site 6, but I could see some problems for swinging into the site or other sites. There are mostly seasonal people here, so it would be a good idea to call and reserve, as there aren't that many sites for travelers. Our area was clean, hookups were good. We didn't use or look at the showers/restrooms/laundry. Registration lady was nice enough. The one drawback for sure is the drive going down into the campground; it's a bit steep and we went very slowly and yet still scraped the dolly a bit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
OK stop for an over night. Wi-Fi did not work at all. In fact, they gave you a disclaimer stating that since the Wi-Fi is free, they will not be responsible for it's quality or lack thereof. Cable TV was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
After reading previous reviews, we were going to stay for two nights, but after TRYING to level our 35' RV in the back-in site and taking our 4 legged baby for a walk, asked for our money back for the second night. WIFI was EXTREMELY weak. Cable connection was broken and appeared to have been that way for some time. Lots of trash all over. Our 4 legged baby had about 40 stickers in his fur after a short walk. We could not level the rig. Finally gave up and left it leaning toward the front and even then right front wheel was off of the ground. We will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Great Overnight stop. Really strong Wi-Fi, good cable TV, pull throughs fill up early. Dog friendly. Lots of full timers. Oil business booming. Fuel stop next door. Reasonable prices. Decent grocery store about 3/4 miles away. Will stop again.Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Not an exciting or fancy place or campground, and a bit too high-priced for what it was, but it was OK for an overnight stop. If you like Chinese food at all, try the Kings Chinese Buffet (I think that was what it was called) - it's only a mile or two from the campground and has incredible variety with surprisingly good food! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
This park could use better signage - the office is in a bouquet. It appears that this park is in the process of upgrading it's utilities. We stayed in an upgraded pull-through site and utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was great. Sites are a little close for big rigs but this is certainly a fine overnight stop. Rating will be higher when utility upgrades are completed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Not a campground, but an old trailer park next to the road. It would have been convenient as a way-side except the site promised to us over the phone was given away by the time we got there, even though we stated when making the reservation that we would be a late arrival, around 7:30 PM. Bits of someone's old picnic littered the site. The full hook ups worked, the WiFi didn't. We'll try to skip it next time through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This was a good overnight campground but we had problems with the 50 amp service. It was extremely hot and the breaker would not carry both airs. It kept kickig the breaker (space25) Everyone around us didn't seem to have any problems so it may have just been the breaker in our site. We called and left a message but never received a return call. We just ran one air at a time.. No hill for a climber :-) We were thankful we were not up every 15 min during the night resetting the breaker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Very friendly reception and we explained problems with our air conditioner and she gave us a nice shady site. We only stayed one night on the way to another location. Access from freeway easy. Lots of sites did not have trees so if that is a requirement call ahead. Enjoyed our short stay and would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
It was OK for an overnight stop, and there wasn't anything else. We didn't unhook, and there wasn't anything within walking distance. Looked at the bathrooms, the pipes were pretty old, so didn't use them. The wi-fi worked well and didn't have any problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
An ok overnight campground with easy access to I40. The campground had old hookups; however, they worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We first asked for a pull-thru spot only to find out that they are 30A. We decided to give it a try, only to find out we could have air conditioning (one conditioner) or my husbands oxygen. We could not have both. We went to the office ans asked about a 50A spot. They were all back-ins and that worked well for us. We had plenty of room to get the RV in and everything worked wonderfully at the new location. The people in the office were very helpful. We would stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The owners were very nice; helpful. The location was clean, however, difficult to get into. It was a pull-thru but was awkward to get into with a motorcycle trailer. We have a 38' motorhome with a 12' trailer and we just could not clear the electrical box with the trailer due to the angle of the turn. Our mirrors were 6" from the neighbors 5th wheel and we ended up having to unhook the trailer and reposition. For an overnight stay, it was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
I had the opportunity to stay at this park in April and May 2009. I agree wholeheartedly with the previous reviews. This is an older park, but in good condition. The Hargus family purchased the park last year and is keeping it in good condition. I am a female "senior" and travel alone, so I am apprehensive about many RV parks that I see. I felt welcomed and completely safe here. The clothing store mentioned in the previous review is actually a wonderful little "boutique" and has the latest fashions and accessories. It is right off I-40 and very easy to get to. Since I travel this route often, I plan to make this an overnight stop in the future. I felt welcomed and at home here and look forward to my future stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$27
This RV park was formally known as Winks RV Park. It is now under new ownership and the name is Hargus RV Park. Great access from I-40. They offer clean showers, laundry room, game room, workout room, meeting rooms/kitchen, and a clothing store. Nightly, weekly, and monthly rates are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com