223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Canyon RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (406) 222-7355
CGID9792

Rock Canyon RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   9   9   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Nice, small and quiet park. Clean and friendly. Nice drive to Yellowstone from here. I left my trailer leg crank and they mailed it to me at my next stop. Received it the next day!!! Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
A very small, family-run park right on a side channel of the Yellowstone river, in a small, scenic canyon on the south end of Livingston. About 18 sites with shade trees, grassy patches & picnic tables, gravel roads and level gravel pads. Cell phone reception okay, WiFi fairly fast, no problems encountered. There is a small laundry room with one washer & dryer, open 24 hrs/day. The clean, well-maintained restrooms are home style; the mens has only one toilet stall, one sink, and one shower. This could be problematic depending on the number of guests and their needs. The mens toilet stall is rather small, so tall old folks like me bump their knees, and have trouble getting back to a standing position; the stall could stand to be extended about 6”. The owner/operators are very helpful, the nicest folks you could find anywhere. When they spotted a Mountain goat on the cliffs above camp, they came around and told everyone in the camp, so they could see it. Full hookups $40/night (cash or check only, no credit cards). We stayed two nights in September in a popup trailer; this will be our first Livingston MT choice in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Enjoyed 2 weeks parked on the Yellowstone site #15. The owners take so much pride in this property. They are there to guide you in at check-in and up bright and early to see you on your way. Met several guests who spend the entire summer there- wish we had! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
We stayed 1 night here while on our way to Yellowstone. Couldn't ask for nicer hosts and the facilities were very clean. Smaller Rv park so it was pretty quiet and had a nice path to take the kids down to walk along the river. Bring cash, no credit cards accepted. If we pass by Livingston, Mt again we will stay here for sure!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$37
Immaculate friendly park. Staff helpful, with good communications about park. Laundry and bathroom very clean. Rules to the campsite sensibly applied. Nice grass, good hookups, good park. Restaurant menus and town info was helpful. We enjoyed the river access behind the park. Kids tubed in the river pool and we fly fished the mainstream of the river. A decent fly shop next door is a great amenity. Liked the park and the town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
The wonderful owners make this small park special. You can't tell when you arrive, right off the highway. Some of the sites are a bit tight but there's some shade, and the Yellowstone River is right there. Only one washer and dryer, so don't plan a big laundry day. Single shower is gorgeous, and somehow it worked out since most people used their own. Extensive TV cable, and needed to use the park WiFi since Verizon MiFi was weak. Cell was fine though. Just 2+ miles to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We didn't see the entrance for the park and ended up going the wrong way into the park. Not sure if the sign was clear enough. Don't take the first entrance! The owner helped us get into our pull-through site by guiding us a back way. His wife even came to our site to register us. Nice touch. The gravel spot was level and hookups were well-placed. Cable and Wi-Fi worked. Beautiful setting on the river with mountains behind although not too much landscaping in the park. Sunset bouncing off the mountain was a spectacular sight. The park is small and not too many spots are available, so you'll need to book well in advance. I think there was a cancellation which is why we were able to stay one night. We asked about another night, but they were booked. I appreciate owners who take pride in their facility and genuinely care about their guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Stayed here for three nights. Great hosts with extra clean sites and access. Only negative was no credit cards but did accept our personal check. When in the Livingston, MT area this will be our RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Nicest owner/manager any RV park we have stayed in 40+ years of camping. Park is well maintained. Good location on the river, far enough out of town to enjoy the scenery; close enough town to enjoy Livingston's events and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Agree that this is a great campground. Access is easy. Sites are good for slides and awnings. Each site has a grassy area with a picnic table. A few sites tight on the river but most are in a row at right angle to the water. But there is access and benches to sit on. You can fish right at the campground as well. The owners live on the property and are welcoming and helpful. The gravel path that runs to town is right across the street and the owners keep the grass cut so it is easy to get on it. Livingston is a cute western town and there is much to do in the area. No pool is the reason for the 9 and not a 10. No credit cards are accepted. This is a place to stay for more than one night if you can. Sit by the river and enjoy the views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Super managers, very personal and friendly service. It’s a small campground, and very quiet even though it’s right on a primary road to Yellowstone. You’re on the beautiful Yellowstone River with benches to sit on if your site is not right on the river. Fantastic views of the river and mountains to the south – it looks like Switzerland! Spotless campground sites, laundry, and restrooms. No discounts, but if you stay 6 nights, you get the 7th free. We loved this place and the owners! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Excellent in all respects and one can't be disappointed with this well maintained and well managed site. Friendly and beautiful. Understand it's been family owned since the early 70s. We will come back often. Great restaurants nearby in Livingston. River and snow covered mountain views are wonderful. Managers are the best we've met! Sites are level and comfortable. Rest rooms and laundry are spotless. Can't wait to return to this RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
This is a fantastic little RV park right on the Yellowstone River. Couple of longer term folks, with the majority of spaces being for people traveling through Livingston. We had a pull through spot close to the river, which was relatively level and plenty of room. Park manager/host was one of the nicest we've met. He greeted us when we pulled in, led us to our spot, brought all documentation to us to fill out and even pointed out areas to walk and exercise our dog. It's a short drive to the grocery, as well as the cute, historic downtown area. My only regret is that I didn't pack my fly fishing gear. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
This park is a quiet and peaceful retreat near the delightful small town of Livingston. With easy access to downtown art galleries and dining as well as situated right on the Yellowstone river for fishing access, it is the perfect spot to enjoy evening sunsets or early morning dog walks along the mountain backdrop. We have stopped here in the summer and fall as well as this spring and have not found a bad time to visit. The hosts are friendly and helpful, laundry and showers are clean and tidy. Our pets were welcomed and all sizes of campers were accommodated. Our rig is 37 feet long. We will definitely be back on our return East. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Rock Canyon is the best RV Park we have stayed in on our 6000 mile trip! When we arrived at Rock Canyon we were greeted and parked by one staff member. Another registered us at our site, which was very nice after a long day of travel. These two go the extra mile to make this park special and are very knowledgeable about the area. The grounds and flowers are absolutely beautiful and they work from morning to night to keep everything spotless. The restrooms are the cleanest we have ever seen and the showers are a gorgeous rock tile. I did all of my laundry here because it was cleaner than any I have ever seen! They also recycle - which is very nice for the environment. Our Wi-Fi was excellent from our site. Cable TV was very good - lots of channels to choose from and even got local news. Water pressure was great in our rig. Our site was very level and we had a nice grassy area with a nice picnic table. We rode our bikes to town on the bike path that is located across from the park. We are already planning our return trip to stay longer at Rock Canyon. Be sure to stay here if you are in the Livingston area - you won't be disappointed! The views are incredible in every direction you look! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
A very nice small park on the Yellowstone River. Was lucky enough to get a back-in site on river. The lady that met me was absolutely wonderful, her daughter-in-law had answered the phone and was most polite. They is cash or check only at this time, no credit cards. Sites are well maintained and mostly level. Very quiet even though on highway to Yellowstone. Town of Livingston was a pleasant surprise. Bathrooms are limited as well as laundry as they say State will not let them expand facilities due to being on river, very clean though. Stayed three nights and would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This is such a nice little park. A pleasant surprise, considering it looked like a gravel parking lot from the road. But it's got some shade and a pretty setting on the river. There seemed to be a lot of summer and monthly guests who take most of the spaces with their big rigs, leaving few sites for overnighters. It did bother us to pay $40 for no amenities except the 60 channel cable TV, which the other local parks have too. And there's only one washer and dryer, so that can be a problem. Just one toilet and shower per gender, but it's a beautiful restroom. Very nice, helpful owner/manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Rock Canyon is a very small park with only 25 – 30 spaces. It sits right on the Yellowstone River with lovely views of the canyon. The interior roads and the pads are gravel with our pad being mostly level. There was plenty of room to maneuver to our site which was extremely narrow but there was plenty of room to park our truck behind our rig. There was a very small patch of nice grass outside our door and a picnic table. There are few shade trees – none at our site. The laundry and shower are very clean but there is only one shower and one washer/dryer. I went to a Laundromat. There is a nice public trail across the highway for walking or biking. The cable TV was very good and the internet worked on occasion which is pretty much par for the course. The water pressure is terrible in the morning when everyone is showering. Then it comes back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We stayed at the Rock Canyon RV park for 8 days when we came to Livingstone to visit relatives. It is a beautiful site on the Yellowstone river. Beautiful views, clean facilities, well manicured sites, and very helpful owners helped make our stay memorable! I'm sure we will stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
With weekly rate, cost was about $34 per night. Nice little park with great hard working owners. Only a few sites are actually next to the Yellowstone River, but we were very pleased with our back in site - #22. It was far enough back from the road to have minimal traffic noise and there were benches available to sit by the river, which we really enjoyed. Beautiful views and a number of scenic drives in the area. Hope to see them next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Wonderful RV Park! Our favorite during a 26 day trip. Tucked in a beautiful spot on the Yellowstone River and the rock canyon wall across from entrance is great backdrop. Owner Kim welcomed us and was very nice. Nicely manicured grounds. The laundry was spotless as were the restrooms that were very upscale. They have menus of local restaurants in the laundry room and we ate at a great breakfast spot in town. Easy in/out for big rigs. Good WiFi and cable. There were nice couples there that come each year, and it's obvious why. I think they were fly fishers. Not much for children to do, which is fine for us. So glad we took a chance, sent in our check for the reservation, and stayed here. Will certainly come back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This is a small park, run by very nice people. They helped me back my 38 foot fifth wheel into our site. They are very helpful and friendly. The park is on the banks of the Yellowstone River. Laundry is a single washer and dryer, but there seems to be little demand for it. Good cable TV. Poor WiFi at our rig - I had to make a twice-daily trip to the rec room to get a decent hookup. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
Beautiful park. They have the cleanest restroom and laundry room I have seen. Easy access and close to everything in Livingston. We will come back here!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
This RV Park gets a 10++ from us! Beautiful park on the Yellowstone River in a gorgeous canyon. Owners are super nice and very helpful! Grounds/flowers are gorgeous and very well kept. Restrooms/laundry are immaculate and newly remodeled with nice tile work. Sites are easy in/out for big rigs. Wi-Fi worked great from our site as well as Verizon Smart Phone (4G). Over 60 channels of cable TV included in price - no need to hook up our Dish Network during our stay. Water pressure was good. The park is a smaller park - which is what we like - quiet and very friendly people. It was busier than we thought it would be for this time of year - but now we know why...SUPER place to stay!! We will stay longer next year and will tell all of our friends about this hidden gem!! Caught two nice fish in one hour for dinner. Call for a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Nice little park, friendly people, but way over priced for what you get. Would rate higher if not so overpriced. Sign is hard to see when traveling down to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Clean and tidy park, some sites on the river. Very nice showers and reasonable laundry. Adequate gravel sites, mostly level. WiFi was too weak to work in the center of the park. We were able to get a slow signal via Verizon with a good booster/antenna. No ATT signal. Expensive for what you get, but typical for the Yellowstone area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This is a first class RV park. Management is exceptional. They are not only friendly but are truly there to help you. They even put on a Labor Day picnic for all guests! Good CG for big rigs with ample pull throughs. There are quite a few seasonals here but they are quite friendly as well. Toilets and showers are problematic as there is only one of each for men and for women. Laundry too, as there is only one washer and dryer for the camp. We really like this CG and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Small campground, well managed and well-maintained. It is located on the Yellowstone River and the views are breathtaking. Sites are acceptable sizes and very level. WiFi worked very well. Owners were very helpful. Bathrooms were very clean with unexpected homey décor. There are no discounts. No miscellaneous amenities such as playground, pool, etc so it's an adult park. We highly recommend this location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Right on the river. Sites are close, but useable. Internet needs another booster since RVs block the signal near the river. Extremely nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
As much as we liked this little park, it just doesn’t have the amenities to deserve a “9” rating. It is a Plain Jane park with no pool, game room, water slide or Bocce Court. That made it just fine for us since we just don’t use things like that. Management was as friendly and helpful as you could hope for. Our 45’ motorhome + toad fit just fine. The Yellowstone River was just a few yards from our coach and we had a nice grass spot and table to keep us quite content. We would defiantly stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone without kids who can’t live without a waterslide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
The good: stunning views of canyon walls on both sides of Yellowstone River; upriver view of snowcapped peaks; bicycle/walking path (former railroad right of way) across US89 that goes all the way into Livingston (3 miles). Site was gravel and level. The bad: worst water system in 2 years of RVing, down to a trickle when busy. Wi-Fi was highly dependent on direct line of sight to repeater. From middle of motorhome, signal was unusable. Owners are some of the nicest people we've met: even providing a 4th of July picnic to all. Price reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
The best part of this campground is the friendly and helpful owners. They really try to make the stay a great experience. We stayed in a shaded site and glad we did! The other sites were out in the open and could get quite warm. It's right on the Yellowstone river and the views are terrific. Peaceful benches where you can see wildlife and just zone out from your travel. We would highly recommend a stay and think you will richly remember the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Wi-Fi wasn't working that day. Nice park, quiet, wonderful owners. One can fly fish on the Yellowstone river. License needed of course. Good restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
We stayed two nights. Would have stayed another night if weather had not turned bad (snowing as we hooked up). Owner is very friendly and helpful. Very easy in and out pull-throughs for 40' rig towing car. Paperback book exchange. Small restaurant within easy walking distance; breakfast was good there. They don't take credit cards but did take a personal check. No club discounts. Would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. (Needed a heated pool for a 10) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Lovely park, the owners are so friendly! The laundry and showers are spotless, spotless, spotless. The owners gave us all sorts of ideas for scenic drives. The campground is spotless. I will stay here again, and suggest you do too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a small family owned and operated mountain park. This was our second visit and we will definitely be back. It is not a resort. It doesn't have a swimming pool or playground. What it has is a very comfortable and relaxing place to park while enjoying Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding area. It has a great view of the Yellowstone River which runs right behind the park. There is a small restaurant within walking distance. The laundry room is clean and within walking distance of each site. It has plenty of room for walking dogs, which is important to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a nice little park, and the owners do a very nice job of keeping it that way. We had made a mistake on our reservation, and arrived on the wrong day. No problem, they went out of their way to accommodate us. The only problem was not the owners fault. Because of heavy rains, and high water tables, the septic system could not be used, thus the restrooms and showers were closed. This did not cause a problem for us, and I'm confident that the problem did not last long. Scenery is beautiful and we plan on staying here again on our next visit to the Livingston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
What this small family-run park lacks in amenities is made up for by the beautiful location on the banks of the Yellowstone River. The owners are very helpful and friendly. WiFi was sketchy. We would definitely stay again as it is the type of small, scenic that appeals to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Beautiful park and very well maintained. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They want to make sure that you are happy with your site and stay. We were there over July 4th, they hosted a BBQ for their guests which I thought was very nice of them. If you want to stay at a small family owned RV park out of town a bit, then this is the park to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very neat, clean RV park right on the Yellowstone River. Gravel sites are level, we had a pull-through that accommodated our 41' motorhome pulling a 10' motorcycle trailer. Verizon Aircard reception was good. Verizon cell phone was good. AT&T iphone was poor, but usable. Very pleasant owners live on-site and immediately invited us to the 4th of July cookout they were giving for the campers. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
A nice clean park on a beautiful stretch of the Yellowstone River. The price we paid was for dry camping. We chose that because we were just stopping for the night and thought $37 a little high. (We could have stayed another night in Yellowstone with full hook-up for $39.) My only other complaint was the shower walls were made of pegboard (or something similar with little holes all over it), so it didn't feel very private if someone had come in to use the toilet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This is a very pretty, family run RV park situated on the banks of the Yellowstone river just 3 miles south of Livingston. I don’t mean near I mean right on a deep, fast flowing bend where you can observe passing raft trips, canoe expeditions and fish for trout. The facility is simple but well maintained and with the exception of internet, everything worked to satisfaction. The staff / owners were friendly and helpful. There’s a 4 mile paved bike path into town just across the street and a nice place for eating just 100 yards up the road. There are a number of season long residents staying here, and they were without exception cordial. I only hesitate to rate Rock Canyon a 9 or 10 because of the poor Internet performance. A number of the other residents shared this concern. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We stayed at this RV park for a month and it is the nicest, most clean, well maintained RV park we have ever stayed in. The owners go the extra mile to make you feel like family. The views are beautiful, the grounds are kept immaculate, and the restrooms and showers are also super clean! We enjoyed everything about our stay! We are coming back next year for the entire summer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
I’m not one to waste my time posting negative reviews online, but I must in this case: DO NOT STAY HERE. The father and son who run this RV park also live there. The son is the kind of a man that you could use as a blueprint to build an idiot and whose actions are the reason for this review. My family from another state visited me last summer and stayed at this park for 1 month. Each time I visited them the son would get in my face about where I was parking. That was annoying enough, but when he got in my relatives' face after he complained about the vicious doberman or pit bull or rottweiler (it was some kind of attack dog) with the people in the RV parked next to him the line was crossed. The dog was chained up but barked and lunged and tried to bite my relative and the child with him as they walked by on the way to the bathrooms. Naturally, my relative alerted the dogs’ owners to this serious problem. A short time later the son banged on my relatives’ RV door then proceeded to get unnecessarily nasty with my relative, accusing him of taking away business because the people traveling with the dog left before their reservation expired. They supposedly left because of my relatives’ complaint about their dog. Of course my relative was stunned that the son could be so stupid and reckless as to think making a buck was more important than guest safety and comfort ability. Nonetheless, he offered to pay the son for the lost reservation, which was one nights’ stay. Instead of accepting my relatives’ monetary offer and moving on, the son chose to refuse the money, and continued on verbally berating my relative. And all this after my relative helped this guy haul several heavy tree limbs and clean up debris after a bad storm damaged the RV park due to high winds. I don’t know what else to say but: steer clear of this place. Thanks for listening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We have stayed in this RV Park many times for over 10 years and have highly recommended it to many of our friends/family. It is a family operated RV park staffed by the parents and son/daughter in-law who all live on-site and are always very friendly and helpful to all 24/7. It is a beautiful smaller RV Park in a canyon on the Yellowstone River just outside of Livingston, MT. The facility is always immaculate and the groundskeeping is beautiful! We have stayed there over Memorial Day/4th of July/Labor Day and the family always hosts a wonderful BBQ for all holidays. They have helped us with our computer, helped us get a tire fixed and the list goes on for the many nice things they do for all. The parents/son and daughter in-law go the extra mile to make us feel like we are "family" and as a result of staying here, we have made many new friends as well. We are full-time RV'ers and this is our FAVORITE place! We would HIGHLY recommend this RV Park to anyone in the Livingston area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com