220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Tom Johnson Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (828) 724-4105
CGID9813

Tom Johnson Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   7   8   9   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Stayed one night returning home. Was very impressed with campground and ease in and out. Came in on a Sunday. Glad I made reservations ahead since no one is there on a Sunday for checking in or to handle problems. We had good Wi-Fi on our site. Could only get 3 PBS stations and nothing else. No cable available. Breakfast and lunch available. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. Biggest complaint was there were people cleaning RV's and parked their trucks,trailers in the road. Had to drive around them on the grass in order to leave. Not very nice pulling a 39 foot unit. Other complaint is there should be someone available on Sunday. Large enough to at least have a volunteer there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
We stayed in the "rally" section with Escapees. Nice place for a rally. Only complaints are: sites do not have any extras - no fire ring, picnic table, cable or WiFi. WiFi is available in main service building which is closed in the evenings (you can still pick it up from the parking lot). Our group was treated very well by the owners and I would stay there again for another rally. I don't think we would stay there if not at a rally but it would be fine for a few nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This review is for the 66 paved sites and not the grass group camping across the road. No discounts on rate. Good clean RV park with very few amenities. Very easy in/out, all paved, 70x25' level concrete back-in sites with full hookups. Negatives: no picnic table, no fire rings, no wifi, no cable, no over the air channels received, satellite okay except the sites by the trees, nothing for kids to do, no pet area, Walmart & some fast food a few miles away but not much else. Grill available when service shop is open. Verizon 3G data, ATT 4G. River on edge of camp might be good for fishing. Overall, a good place if your intention is to explore Asheville & the Blueridge and just sleep here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We arrived on the Sunday before Memorial Day. No one was around to help us with anything and the gate was locked. We waited until someone keyed in the code to get out and slipped in. We knew our site number when we made the reservation so we just set up. Overall a nice campground on a small river but when we went the grass needed cutting badly. Probably a good spot if you were having your RV worked on. Okay for overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
We stayed here for the NC Spring Samboree. We stayed in the group event campground across the street from the "regular" campground, but had access to the amenities available there. The park owners and employees were very friendly. Because it is a group campground, the sites, which had full hookups, were on grass, which was mostly level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
First visit to the park. We were there for warranty work on our motor home. Nice big back in sites. They have a restaurant for breakfast and lunch at the service area. Very clean park. Biltmore Estate is 30 miles away. We were here for four days. Would recommend the park if you need service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
We were here for an Escapees Rally and the campground and surrounding businesses really took care of us. There was a lot of rain while we were there and the campground had a tractor ready in case we needed help leaving. This kind of support is exceptional and appreciated. The sites are all on a slight grade, nothing that can't be handled by any system, and they are all grass. Well maintained facilities with a large shelter for meetings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We needed a minor repair on our slide out, and decided to extend our stay to sight see the area. The sites are spacious, and some back up to a creek. Level concrete pads and paved roads make easy site setup. Hookup location is good and work as expected. This CG is not a 10 because; no picnic table at site, no Wi-Fi at site, and the only bath house is a long way from most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
We were here for the NC State bluegrass festival camped in a travel trailer on a grassy site with no shade. There was very easy access to the site, which was nearly level front-to-back, but had to level side-to-side about 2 inches (not too bad). The employees we encountered are fantastic and very helpful; trash pickup was every morning. The on-site grill serves breakfast and lunch and is reasonably priced. The place is kept very clean with twice-a-day cleaning of the bath houses. I would have rated this a 10 except for three things: the lack of shaded campsites, the lack of more bath houses and the fact that rain causes some of the non-paved spaces to be very soggy and sometimes unusable. There is a Lowe's, Food Lion, Wal-Mart shopping center very close by (about two miles away). I would definitely go there again, all things considered. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We loved this campground! With large back-in concrete sites and patios, 50 amp FHU's, paved interior roads and pristine landscaping, we had a great 2 weeks stay. Because the park is part of the Tom Johnson Service Center, it's not a family campground destination. However, this is the perfect location for visiting the Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville and Biltmore House. Would have rated this a 10 if the laundry was more than 2 washers and 2 dryers. We had to drive to Black Mountain to find a laundromat. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit the Blue Ridge Mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
Great location to reach the mountains. Everything on site including mechanics to help maintain your camper. Very Very nice people and location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
A very clean and neat park with paved sites. The staff, which turned out to be the folks at the RV Service Center, were extremely friendly and the cafe located on site is top notch. A good park to stay at while sightseeing the Blue Ridge Mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
We were here for a Rally. We have stayed in other Rally parks but this is by far the best. We were a little too closely packed in, but sometimes that is to be expected. The connecting campground, RV dealership and repair center appear to be first class. The only complaint: there are only two washers and dryers meant to handle a large rally field plus the campground. And they are in a little alley with no place to comfortably fold or hang clothes. That being the only issue, we would have no problem returning here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We stayed here for several nights to have a brake problem fixed on our coach. It was very nice and very clean. Bathrooms were spotless. Everything looked new and was very well kept. They had concrete pads. The WiFi worked in the building, but not at our site which was one of the closest to the building. They also have a rally campground which is huge. The service department is top flight also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
There are actually two parks, the beautiful 66 site park with full hookups, level concrete pads, and excellent shower and laundry facilities. There is also a rally park nearby which does not have 50 amp service. I'm reviewing the newer 66 site park. It is very big rig friendly with easy access. Spotless and well manicured grounds, excellent restroom and shower facility, and top quality hookups including cable. The down side is a lack of shade, swimming pool, or any sort of activities. It's a great place to stay while exploring area attractions, but don't expect to be entertained while in the park. All sites are back in, but huge and well spaced. Up the hill is the bath house with laundry, Tom Johnson RV service center, camping store, and RV show room. There are lots of shopping and eating possibilities near by in the Marion area. Verizon cell and data cards work well here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Although this is not a campground that would most likely keep the kids busy, it is a very nicely done campground. The pads are level and concrete. The Wi-Fi is great. The buildings are beautiful. Very friendly and professional staff. The setting was pretty and very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Our rate and rating is for the "new" RV sites with concrete pads, FHU, next to maintenance area where we had some maintenance done on the MH. Has sunny and large sites in a grassy field. Satellites and cell phone service is great. We were here during an annual bike race, who use part of the rally park area as headquarters. There were lots of bikes! (Not motorcycles). We have also stayed here as part of a motorhome rally. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
We stayed in the rally section while attending an Escapees RV Club rally. This section has a couple hundred sites on grass with full hookups and 30 amp power. There is a large pavilion for events and a large bonfire ring which the park lit 2 nights. They pick up the trash from your site in the mornings. The WiFi doesn't reach this area but Verizon air card worked well. No cable TV but open sites for satellite. This place worked well for a rally. Across the road is their full service campground and the facility has a cafe serving breakfast and lunch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
There are two Tom Johnson RV parks at Marion, NC. The Rally Park, which is what appears to being reviewed here and the NEW Deluxe RV Park next to the new service center. The rally park has 330 sites, not the "66" listed in this review list. The 2 are within sight of each other. Our sites in the Rally Park were full hook ups but no 50 amp service. The New RV Park has cement parking slabs and 50 amp service. We were part of a 84 rig rally and spent 5 nights. The staff was great. I believe the NEW Deluxe RV Park, which is not for rallies, has pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I would rate this a 10 if it had WiFi at the sites and or TV reception. We could only receive 3 PBS stations. It would be nice if they had a tower with an antenna and ran cable to the sites for over the air TV reception. The sites themselves are fabulous, concrete pads, with lots of space and grass all around. All are full hookup with 30,50 amp service. We stayed here 3 days while having service work done on our rig. We toured the Biltmore Estates, in Asheville, while here. We were going to ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway but found it closed due to storm damage done in the winter. The campground has two sides. One is a rally park and it is a great place also, very level and full hookups, adjacent to the Tom Johnson RV sales center. The campground laundry had two washers and two dryers for the whole campground, they worked quite well. My guess is most motorhomes have their own washer/dryers so they don't need more than these two. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
We were picking up our new MH so stayed at this park. It is new, paved sites, all back-ins and is very nice. No trees or shade, but the morning deer and turkeys in the field were nice to watch. No stuff for children. Showers were clean and nice. This would be an excellent stop when touring Asheville as it is only about a half-hour a way. There is a rally field across the way that is open during the summer and it is not as nice as the new section, and I believe only 30 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Very nice campground located at the Tom Johnson Service Center, adjacent to the dealership. All sites are back-in, 50 amp FHU, with concrete pads and patios. All roads are paved. Excellent cafe for breakfast and lunch at the service center. No shade, so satellite friendly, but no cable. Wi-Fi is at the service center, but the closest sites may be able to receive it. No playground or pool, pluses to us. Very clean and quiet. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$37
It is easy to see why Tom Johnson's peers voted him the best RV dealer in the US! Simply outstanding is the best way to describe this campground. There is a full-service dealership, including a 36 bay service department. There is a large "Rally Park" for big events. And, a top of the line campground. I met Tom Johnson, Jr. and got permission to hike his land. He is a class act and runs a class operation. There are lots of outdoor recreational activities in the area. Enjoy! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$8
This is a great park and one of the best service centers in the US. They just had a BBQ annual event. First come, first served: all free and just a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Campgrounds don't get any better than this one. The sites were level and the grounds were immaculate. We stayed here for about 2 weeks while we had our rig repaired. The service was fantastic, happy employees , Wi-Fi available in the lounge area, and the restaurant is great with two charming happy cooks, great breakfast and lunch. The entire visit was a pleasure. If you're anywhere east of Asheville, NC on I-40 this is certainly a nice stop, especially if you've got repairs to make on your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We loved our stay at Tom Johnson's. The campground is located right along a river, and we had views of Mount Mitchell right out our front window. There is a very nice clubhouse with comfy couches, 60" TV, free coffee all day, and a great cafe that servers excellent food for reasonable prices. Everyone is very friendly that works there. If you need to get service done on your RV, they'll work with your schedule to do the work during the day and move your rig back to your spot at night for you to stay in. Asheville is only 30 minutes away; Marion is about 5 minutes away. Very dog friendly. Our dogs never even had to be on a leash. We love it here, and will stay whenever we are in this part of NC. Were able to park our trailer in a separate lot for free within walking distance. Cost is usually $30/night, or $600/mo. One of the nicest RV parks we've stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This is a nice alternative to high priced, older campgrounds in Asheville yet it is a quick 30 minutes from here to the Biltmore and other attractions. The park is also a good place if you plan to explore the Blue Ridge Parkway and Mount Mitchell. Plenty of places to explore and take day trips. All sites are paved with ample concrete pads and patios. If you choose a site along the river, beware that the trees may obstruct satellite reception. Also, we found that you will only get 3 digital TV channels because the local stations cannot get signal through the mountains. If you have a satellite, no worries (except the river sites). The grounds are immaculate. Staff are friendly and you are treated like family. The cafe is wonderful and serves a hearty breakfast and lunches. The cafe is open Mon - Sat (summer hours). The facility has a spacious sitting area, fireplace, large screen TV, spotless restroom/showers and 2 washers/dryers. If you are coming for service, this is the best place to stay if you want to come a day or so before your appointment, relax, and take some day trips while they are servicing your rig. If you want a nice, spacious, inexpensive, friendly place to stay while visiting Western North Carolina, you'll want to stay here! We are staying here as our base for 6 weeks and will definitely return here again! (Also, there is a rally park next door for small or large groups). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
This campground is next to the brand new service center. The camp is spotless and well cared for. Excellent hookups with good quality 50 amp power, water, and sewer hookups. Wireless internet was not available at my site but works well up at the service center lounge area. The lounge is open during normal business hours and also has a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. Food was reasonable and pretty good. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. Brand new coin operated washers and dryers are also available. If you plan on arriving after 6pm, call ahead because the gates close and you will need an access code to open them for after hours arrivals. Campsites are level and well spaced. Easy access with plenty of room to maneuver for big rigs. Sites near the river have trees to provide shade; other sites are in the open. Campground is surrounded by tree covered hills which provides a nice view. The $27 rate reflects a 10% Good Sam discount. Strong signal for both my Verizon cell phone and internet air card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$27
We stayed here 1 night because we were having service done on our RV. It's in a quiet area far from the interstate. The sites are flat, large concrete pads with grass in between. The free wi-fi is available in and around the customer service area. The bathhouses were spotless, with large, strong showers. There wasn't much TV available off the air. The customer service area has a large-screen TV, comfortable leather furniture and rocking chairs, and a cafe. The price was with the Good Sam discount. There's a rally park across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com